Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Max+paddy 1 review from this member

Just got back from a great weekend at the Quiet Site. This was our very first camping weekend in our motorhome. Site was very clean and tidy, the bathrooms were clean and had plenty of hot water, they even had family bathrooms which were very clean and ideal for anyone with a couple of kids and even baths for babies.
Our pitch was right next to the play ground which was ideal for our 8 year old, we never seen him all afternoon. We went for a walk from one of the maps we received when we got there. We did the 4 mile walk which took us about 2 hours, it was a bit muddy in places but we had great fun, and even took sandwiches for our picnic lunch.
On site there is bar which is a converted barn, there are a lot of animal skins and heads on the wall (bit scary) but we didn't mind as there was a huge log fire and a room where the kids went off to play. On site there is a little shop which sells basic provisions in case you forgot anything.
Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stumpythebear 13 reviews from this member

Very nice, clean and quiet site when we visited at the end of February. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent position in the northern lake district, with stunning views and lovely walks.

Family bathroom proved very useful as it was heated but the toilet/shower block, while very clean, was very cold. My only complaint is with the electric hook-up. The site is advertised as having electric hook-up, so I would expect to be able to use electrical appliances in a reasonable manner.

However, on arrival we were issued with a flyer that stated that the hook-up is basically only to provide lighting and that electric heaters, toasters, kettles were not allowed. We used our gas heater until, unfortunately, the thermostat failed, so we decided to go home. It might be more helpful if the website was explicit about the situation with the electric hook-up.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluejoyce 3 reviews from this member

Have just returned from the site thought the camp was really good, there was not many caravaners there so we had our pick of were to site our van. Very peaceful nice place to chill out. Toilets and showers were very clean didn't venture in the showers as the heating wasn't on and I'm not that brave, our vans showers good so we used that.
We can recommend a good place to eat its a small country hotel called the Brentwood we had a fabulous meal there and not that expensive, it had a nice bar with a log fire and the food was great. We had a nice time exploring the northern lakes, there was still snow on the hills. We would go back to this site again our dog had a great time as so did we.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davetvhuk 3 reviews from this member

Great site, tucked away in the Lakes, single track leads to the site, but local use it one way.

Facilities on site are clean and warm, there is a family room.

The bar is just what you expect in the Lakes. One of the best we have stayed on.

This is an ideal site for those who like walking and as the name suggests a quiet site.

Only draw back, because it is so popular bank holiday stay have a minimum days policy.

This is one site that you cannot miss visiting.

It also has POD's and a great camping field.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mellfell103 1 review from this member

I've stayed on this site several times now (first in a tent and latterly in a caravan): the situation is beautiful, the facilities well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. The shower block is kept very clean, with lots of hot water throughout the day,and central heating in the colder periods so you don't freeze to death when you come out of the shower. I haven't tried the family bathrooms but they seem to go down well with families (obviously!) and those who wish to avail themselves of a bath rather than a shower. The small shop sells most of the basic stuff you need and Penrith isn't too far away if you need to find a supermarket. The bar is very popular; lots of atmosphere in there on an evening, with folk jostling for position around the log fire. Not just adults in there - children and dogs are welcome too. Some of the pitches may get a wee bit boggy during the monsoon-like periods but it looks as though work is in progress (or it was last time I was there) to improve the drainage on site. The scenery round about is lovely - the views from Little Mell Fell and Gowbarrow are particularly impressive. I've tried and tested the walks on the information sheets provided . The Aira Force one is particularly to be recommended (suggest stopping off for a drink/something to eat at the Royal Hotel half way round; the tearoom at Aira Force is expensive and disappointing in my view).

So, all in all, a great place to stay. I'll definitely be visiting this site again in 2009.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Countdrac 1 review from this member

First time at the Quiet Site.

Tucked away between Pooley Bridge and Glenridding the site is not easy to find.

Certainly lives up to its name at the moment!

Writing this from within one of the sites camping pod, surrounded by a dusting of snow. The children love them and they certainly have enabled us to continue 'camping' even when the temp is below freezing outside.

Getting 2 adults and 2 children in a POD is just possible with rules!

As mentioned before the bar is great. Showers and baths hot, heating well used. Very helpful staff.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hulse1977 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here at the end of the awful weather in the summer of 2008. Pitch we stayed on was quite boggy but had expected worse. The views were fantastic and location great. A lot of the tent pitches were on a steep slope but we were lucky ours was hard standing with electric hook up. The family bathroom was fantastic for our young children and was kept very clean despite the mud around outside.

One down side was the site shop which didn't have any opening times, it was pot luck as to whether it was open or not. There was a very small bar on site but we didn't use it so couldn't comment. The walks around Ulswater were lovely and near by Rheghd centre was a nice trip for the children in bad weather. Overall nice site with good clean facilities

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anna0117 1 review from this member

This was my first time camping and I was apprehensive to put it mildly! I needn't have worried, the site was lovely with fabulous views of the fells from the tent area at the top.

We arrived on a Saturday evening and there were lots of families around which gave the site a really nice feel. There were also younger (like us) and older couples too so it seems to appeal to everyone.

The site is meant to be a quiet site, hence the name and it was apart from the first night were we had a group of five young people next to us who talked until well after 11pm and then started again just after 7 in the morning. They went on the Sunday however and the site was very peaceful after that.

There was a choice of flat pitch or slightly sloping so, it being our first time camping, we went for the flat pitch which was slightly more expensive. It also meant that we were positioned under the trees which also provided shelter when the wind picked up - I can see that the sloping pitches might be a bit exposed in bad weather.

The facilities were excellent and far surpassed my expectations. Plenty of lovely, free, hot showers which were very clean, there were also bathrooms for those who wanted a soak. The ladies had a hairdryer which cost 10p and a plug if you wanted to bring your own. There was also a washing machine and tumble dryer (1 to use each), a microwave and fridges. You can recycle almost everything onsite which was great. The small shop seemed quite well stocked and the onsite bar was very reasonable for drinks and full of character.

We went off-season but I can see that it would be necessary to book ahead at weekends and in the summer, particularly for caravans. Rightly so, it is a very popular site.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave1978 5 reviews from this member

Great location over looking the lake with mountains in the background.

The highlight of this site has to be the pub which is a real treat - cosy and warm with open fires and lots of stuffed animals! It is truly unique and by far the best campsite pub we have ever experienced!

Site was on a very steep hill (not a massive surprise as in the Lake District) and in the upper field it was quite a trek down to the toilets and showers - we ended up driving down to the loo on a few occasions!

Site was quiet and very peaceful. Only slight complaint was that by the end of our stay the site was becoming crowded and there were so many cars in the upper field it started to resemble an NCP car park. This was over the weekend though and during the week it was much less crowded.

All in all a great site and would recommend as a base for the Northern Lakes. Will be back at some point I'm sure.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jdf326 2 reviews from this member

Good friendly site, well stocked site shop and Bar with child friendly games rooms. Shower, toilet and general washing facilities are good. Access to communal freezer, microwave and BBQ stands. Within easy reach of Penrith, approx. 6miles, to stock-up on those bits you forgot. Local eateries were a little expensive. Set in brilliant scenery, even with the weather closing in. Travelling a bit further afield (approx 45mins) with get you to Ambleside and Windermere.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Inflatable HandiRack Roof Rack and Waterproof HandiHoldall Win a Superb Outwell Picnic Package

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Original15 - 16 July 2017
Newark & Notts Showground - exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7964 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977