Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stumpythebear 13 reviews from this member

Very nice, clean and quiet site when we visited at the end of February. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent position in the northern lake district, with stunning views and lovely walks.

Family bathroom proved very useful as it was heated but the toilet/shower block, while very clean, was very cold. My only complaint is with the electric hook-up. The site is advertised as having electric hook-up, so I would expect to be able to use electrical appliances in a reasonable manner.

However, on arrival we were issued with a flyer that stated that the hook-up is basically only to provide lighting and that electric heaters, toasters, kettles were not allowed. We used our gas heater until, unfortunately, the thermostat failed, so we decided to go home. It might be more helpful if the website was explicit about the situation with the electric hook-up.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluejoyce 3 reviews from this member

Have just returned from the site thought the camp was really good, there was not many caravaners there so we had our pick of were to site our van. Very peaceful nice place to chill out. Toilets and showers were very clean didn't venture in the showers as the heating wasn't on and I'm not that brave, our vans showers good so we used that.
We can recommend a good place to eat its a small country hotel called the Brentwood we had a fabulous meal there and not that expensive, it had a nice bar with a log fire and the food was great. We had a nice time exploring the northern lakes, there was still snow on the hills. We would go back to this site again our dog had a great time as so did we.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davetvhuk 3 reviews from this member

Great site, tucked away in the Lakes, single track leads to the site, but local use it one way.

Facilities on site are clean and warm, there is a family room.

The bar is just what you expect in the Lakes. One of the best we have stayed on.

This is an ideal site for those who like walking and as the name suggests a quiet site.

Only draw back, because it is so popular bank holiday stay have a minimum days policy.

This is one site that you cannot miss visiting.

It also has POD's and a great camping field.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mellfell103 1 review from this member

I've stayed on this site several times now (first in a tent and latterly in a caravan): the situation is beautiful, the facilities well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. The shower block is kept very clean, with lots of hot water throughout the day,and central heating in the colder periods so you don't freeze to death when you come out of the shower. I haven't tried the family bathrooms but they seem to go down well with families (obviously!) and those who wish to avail themselves of a bath rather than a shower. The small shop sells most of the basic stuff you need and Penrith isn't too far away if you need to find a supermarket. The bar is very popular; lots of atmosphere in there on an evening, with folk jostling for position around the log fire. Not just adults in there - children and dogs are welcome too. Some of the pitches may get a wee bit boggy during the monsoon-like periods but it looks as though work is in progress (or it was last time I was there) to improve the drainage on site. The scenery round about is lovely - the views from Little Mell Fell and Gowbarrow are particularly impressive. I've tried and tested the walks on the information sheets provided . The Aira Force one is particularly to be recommended (suggest stopping off for a drink/something to eat at the Royal Hotel half way round; the tearoom at Aira Force is expensive and disappointing in my view).

So, all in all, a great place to stay. I'll definitely be visiting this site again in 2009.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Countdrac 1 review from this member

First time at the Quiet Site.

Tucked away between Pooley Bridge and Glenridding the site is not easy to find.

Certainly lives up to its name at the moment!

Writing this from within one of the sites camping pod, surrounded by a dusting of snow. The children love them and they certainly have enabled us to continue 'camping' even when the temp is below freezing outside.

Getting 2 adults and 2 children in a POD is just possible with rules!

As mentioned before the bar is great. Showers and baths hot, heating well used. Very helpful staff.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hulse1977 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here at the end of the awful weather in the summer of 2008. Pitch we stayed on was quite boggy but had expected worse. The views were fantastic and location great. A lot of the tent pitches were on a steep slope but we were lucky ours was hard standing with electric hook up. The family bathroom was fantastic for our young children and was kept very clean despite the mud around outside.

One down side was the site shop which didn't have any opening times, it was pot luck as to whether it was open or not. There was a very small bar on site but we didn't use it so couldn't comment. The walks around Ulswater were lovely and near by Rheghd centre was a nice trip for the children in bad weather. Overall nice site with good clean facilities

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anna0117 1 review from this member

This was my first time camping and I was apprehensive to put it mildly! I needn't have worried, the site was lovely with fabulous views of the fells from the tent area at the top.

We arrived on a Saturday evening and there were lots of families around which gave the site a really nice feel. There were also younger (like us) and older couples too so it seems to appeal to everyone.

The site is meant to be a quiet site, hence the name and it was apart from the first night were we had a group of five young people next to us who talked until well after 11pm and then started again just after 7 in the morning. They went on the Sunday however and the site was very peaceful after that.

There was a choice of flat pitch or slightly sloping so, it being our first time camping, we went for the flat pitch which was slightly more expensive. It also meant that we were positioned under the trees which also provided shelter when the wind picked up - I can see that the sloping pitches might be a bit exposed in bad weather.

The facilities were excellent and far surpassed my expectations. Plenty of lovely, free, hot showers which were very clean, there were also bathrooms for those who wanted a soak. The ladies had a hairdryer which cost 10p and a plug if you wanted to bring your own. There was also a washing machine and tumble dryer (1 to use each), a microwave and fridges. You can recycle almost everything onsite which was great. The small shop seemed quite well stocked and the onsite bar was very reasonable for drinks and full of character.

We went off-season but I can see that it would be necessary to book ahead at weekends and in the summer, particularly for caravans. Rightly so, it is a very popular site.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dave1978 5 reviews from this member

Great location over looking the lake with mountains in the background.

The highlight of this site has to be the pub which is a real treat - cosy and warm with open fires and lots of stuffed animals! It is truly unique and by far the best campsite pub we have ever experienced!

Site was on a very steep hill (not a massive surprise as in the Lake District) and in the upper field it was quite a trek down to the toilets and showers - we ended up driving down to the loo on a few occasions!

Site was quiet and very peaceful. Only slight complaint was that by the end of our stay the site was becoming crowded and there were so many cars in the upper field it started to resemble an NCP car park. This was over the weekend though and during the week it was much less crowded.

All in all a great site and would recommend as a base for the Northern Lakes. Will be back at some point I'm sure.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jdf326 2 reviews from this member

Good friendly site, well stocked site shop and Bar with child friendly games rooms. Shower, toilet and general washing facilities are good. Access to communal freezer, microwave and BBQ stands. Within easy reach of Penrith, approx. 6miles, to stock-up on those bits you forgot. Local eateries were a little expensive. Set in brilliant scenery, even with the weather closing in. Travelling a bit further afield (approx 45mins) with get you to Ambleside and Windermere.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandy163 8 reviews from this member

What a great site!

WEATHER DURING STAY - Mixed. Some very rainy days and some lovely sunny ones. Just to give you an idea of the weather as it does affect the conditions on site.

APPROACH - We, as advised, took the second lane (not the one by the pub) to approach the site. It's a long haul up a hill along a lane which at the very end becomes single track but nothing to worry about. Have been up worse! Sister accidentally went up first lane but arrived unscathed. In fact I would say that the first route is less steep as it's less of a direct route although it is a lot narrower. Cars leaving the site are asked not to turn left leaving the site thereby reducing the likelihood of people meeting you head on but some do ignore this. On the second route you pass two other sites on the way up the hill The Ullswater and The Cove which is directly opposite the entrance to The Quiet Site.

PITCH - We had a lovely pitch that had the benefit of the evening sun but by 7pm it had gone behind Lttle Mell Fell. Decent sized pitches for the tourers although some were smaller than ours. Ours benefited from being on gravel but the tents seemed to be on grass and from walking around the site the higher pitches were in a sorry state. However, the wardens were out each day with grit and a shovel trying their best to keep on top of it when it had been particularly wet, fencing off some areas completely. The pitches were in a tiered effect and some cars parked in the pull in below. This is not a huge site as we had expected and so we were pleasantly surprised.

VIEWS - from the upper pitches which had the morning sun you could see the hills the other side of lake Ullswater. From the bottom pitches you were looking up to Little Mell Fell. Lovely!

PLAY AREA - Fantastic although mushy when it had rained. Swing rope across from one raised platform to the other. Climbing nets, pipe which I'm reliably informed a crawl through led to the playhouse. Lots of room to play. Hardly saw the children in the mornings before we went out and once we came back. They were either on the bikes with their new friends on the tarmac access roads on the site, in the games room or on the huge play area.

PUB - Lovely. Very rustic. Our youngest was a bit put off by the animal heads and skins hung everywhere but soon got used to it. We were lucky enough to get seats right next to the huge open fire but only because we got there within minutes of opening. Families go to play cards, chess etc and their dogs are welcome. There's an area upstairs where children aren't allowed and a play room for small children on the other side upstairs. Down the corridor is a small play room with table hockey 1 and table tennis table where you provide the ball and there's a football table too. Behind this is a TV room though we never saw anyone use it. The pub was very popular and had a nice atmosphere. The site was quiet after 11pm if not before.

TOILETS/SHOWERS - There were plenty of nice toilets and showers and they were cleaned regularly. There were several sinks with large mirrors too. Better still were the family bathrooms which always seemed to be empty. They were large with sink, loo, bath, baby bath, potty, step, toys and floor standing towel rail. You'd easily take a buggy/pram in with you and two or three children. They were always immaculate with plenty of hot water.

SHOP - small but had practically everything you needed and often open past the 6pm closing time due to demand. Nice pocket money priced toys and games for the children there too.

AREA - Fantastic. Our first visit to the Lakes since we were small and this is definitely the area to go to. We hired a boat on Ullswater from Pooley Bridge and the scenery is breathtaking. Pooley Bridge is just down the road and is a pretty little village with food/camping/souvenier shops and pubs although the large one we thought looked the nicest with lots of hanging baskets went into liquidation while we were there.

Bowness on Winderemere was awful. We tried in vain to park and resorted to the park and ride we'd passed nearly two miles away. We parked, paid the 6 for the few hours we expected to be there then found there was no park and ride and had to walk. Each bus stop we passed said 'sorry no bus stops on this route at present'. Once into Bowness we had to navigate crossing the road where three roads meet and it was nigh on impossible. We hired a boat (as you do) on Windermere but it wasn't half as nice as Ullswater. The men we hired from obviously hated their jobs and were really quite rude. It was that bad we had to laugh after we'd left the jetty. Back on tera firma we paid 2 for a tray of chips which the swans harassed us for. At ten pence a chip we put up quite a defence I can tell you. We shopped at the Tesco Express then walked the couple of miles back in driving rain to our car. What a cheek 6 for parking that far from the town.

The drive to Windermere is spectacular across 'The Struggle' a series of 20% and 25% hills. We also drove to Derwent and some other lakes whose names escape me to the North east of Ullswater and that drive was better still.

Aira Force is lovely and magical and there's plenty of walks from the site including that one although due to hubbies chest infection that day we parked below Aira Force to shorten the walk - still a hike though.

The Bird of Prey centre was a big hit especially with our youngest who wanted to stay there forever and he got to handle an eagle owl too.

The Rheged Centre on the road to Penrith was a good day out. You pay 1.50 for unlimited entry to the wooden play area which is large and incorporates a small children's area. It had a climbing wall, rope climbing, huge curly slides and fortresses etc. Inside the Rheged Centre are small shops selling jewellery, local produce, old fashioned sweets, camping equipment, toys, books, cafes workshops, art etc. The building is very organic set on different levels and had a fascinating free 15 min show of the history of the Lakes which we found very interesting. Entry is free but you can pay 6 a person to watch a film there but we didn't and you could pay the same for a GPS hunt the day we went which looked fun but we'd missed the start time.

PARKING - We're members of the National Trust so were able to park at Aira Force for free. We did pass other NT car parks but not where we wanted to park. Expect to pay above the odds to park anywhere and to queue for a space - in August anyway. Lots of very small free laybys next to Ullswater which we would have made use of if the weather had been hotter but then I suppose they'd be full. From these laybys you do have direct access to put a canoe etc on the water though or to take a dip.

WILDLIFE/ENVIRONMENT - The lack of light pollution on this environmentally friendly site meant excellent star watching at night with the owls hooting eerily above. Bird of prey and small birds could be seen along with rabbits. The smell of the wood burner in the evening was nice and bird boxes are everywhere.

Would we go again. Yes.

THINGS THEY COULD IMPROVE ON

- Marked pitches so that everyone gets the same size. Perhaps low indigenous hedging could separate the pitches whose roots could help absorb some of the water from the ground.

- Drainage work on the upper pitches and play area.

Everything else was great. Very clean. Wardens very friendly and knowledgeable. Great atmosphere. Fantastic spacious play area. Highly recommended, will be back.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1257 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2468