Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsravi 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in a pod over the glorious end of May bank holiday weekend.

Beautiful site with stunning scenery though the journey (from London) took 8 hours. I had mistakenly thought that once we got off the M6 we'd be there in no time! How wrong I was. We avoided the Hardknott pass but still the roads were very up and down, and both my kids were sick. No matter, the trip was worth it.

The pods are great, quite close to each other so you get to know your neighbours well. Big enough for a double inflatable bed, two ready beds as well as backpacks, shoes etc. Warm enough but not as warm as other reviews led me to believe. You get a little heater when you get the keys to your pod and we used it a lot.There is a blind for the door so you have some privacy when you need it.

Lovely staff,and very helpful (we managed to forget our bed pump and then ran our car battery flat too). The shop is very small and quickly ran out of bread so I'd take lots of your own food as apart from the pub (The Boot Inn) there is nothing around. The Boot Inn has a great menu and seems very family friendly but as we were on a budget we decided not to eat there.

Lots to do around the site; Muncaster Castle is a must!

Only very slight gripe - not enough showers for the ladies (3) but it was ok, we just queued and got talking to each other. The facilities were spotless.

Perfect for little kids, and a very friendly site. I'd definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wetnwild78 4 reviews from this member

What a fab site!

Very helpful staff, ideal location for exploring the western lakes.

Good flat pitches, although it had been very wet they had worked hard to make the best of it.

Well stocked shop, great pubs nearby and superb walking from the doorstep.

Have been three times and will go back!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davenhelen 1 review from this member

Stayed for a week with excellent weather, staff were very friendly and helpful working very hard too keep this site to a very high standard (owner even changed my puncture despite me calling the RAC).

Kids loved the swings and the trampoline. Location is fantastic with loads to do aswell as walking! Lal Ratty, Eskdale cycle path (Beacon in Whitehaven worth a visit) Annual Beer festival at the 3 pubs was also fantastic and despite the site filling up it was not rowdy at all.

Love the location/ site and will come back again possibly in in a pod!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kymspencer 3 reviews from this member

Before I start a word of advice - if you own a small car with a small engine, do not take the Hardknott Pass to get to this site! I love driving, especially on country roads, but in a 1380cc Fiesta full of camping gear, going up a single track road at a 60 degree incline with your car screaming in first gear, praying no-one is coming the opposite way because if you stop you'll never start again is a hair raising experience!

After all that though, once my partner and I made it to Eskdale, it was all worth it. The views from the site are stunning, it really does feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. The owners are lovely and gave a really warm welcome, showed us around and put is in a lovely little spot. The facilities are great, very clean and plenty of showers - we never had to queue despite the site being nearly full. There is lots of space for washing up, and a little shop onsite that seems to sell anything you could think of. We went to go hiking in the area, and the site is a brilliant base for all sorts of walks including Scafell Pike, and we saw plenty of cyclists in the area as well. There are a couple of pubs in the area within walking distance too.

The best bit of the site was the camping pods - little wooden 'tents' that you can hire out with their own porch and french doors. We didn't use them but they looked great - especially if you're trying to convince reluctant friends into trying camping!

Overall this is a fantastic site, and we will definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The_Muso 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here as part of a long distance walk (Inn Way). I had tried to pre book but despite being unable to (due to the proximity to the bank holiday) I was told they never turn away backpackers, which is good to know. The site was like a bowling green, level, dry, sheltered with a good scattering of electric points and picnic benches. Owner was very helpful on arrival despite us arriving after reception hours and the little shop provided us with all we needed to cook up a feast in the morninig.

Good things: Great pitches, very good showers and toilets etc. Laundry and drying room (although the drying room didn't seem to be massivly effective the night we were there). Great attitude of owner - had no problem with an all male group. Plenty of wash up space.

Bad things: The only slight issue was the hot water didn't last that long, perhaps we timed it wrong and were too late and too early in the morning. Overall this wasn't a major issue.

Pub wise, the Boot Inn was great for food and beer and they even made us lunches in the morning to take with us. The Brook House had shut by 10pm so can't comment. Everyone we spoke to advised us to steer well clear of the Woolpack.

Overall, this site was spot on in every way. Given its quiet location and proximity to the hills and the coast (and the train) I will definitely be coming back.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mitchells123 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this site and can't wait to go back again.

As all reviews before, site is extremely clean, staff are very helpful, scenery fantastic, shop well stocked, Boot Inn wonderful food & great beer. Great base for fell walking but most of all a really good place to get away from it all and relax. This campsite is very well run and organised making the camper feel at ease unlike some other sites we've been to.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Picksleys 3 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site! Our first 'proper' camping trip - and the site owners could not have made it easier. The showers and toilets were immaculate and free! Could do with a few more at peak times but plenty of hot water all through the day so we went off-peak.

Nice little shop, reasonably priced.

Trampoline went down well with the 9 and 5 year old and lovely wood play area.

Camping pods look fun - we are thinking of braving New Years Eve there.

Would not recommend Hardknott Pass for the faint hearted or anything less than a 4 x 4 - have not met anyone who came that way and didn't go back a different way. Scenery was awesome though!

Steam train to Ravensglass worth a visit although not much at Ravensglass itself.

Boot pub 2 mins walk from site and good selection of food and beers with a lovely play area. All in all would definitely recommend this lovely site - just what we imagined camping to be like! Thankyou to all the staff for making it so enjoyable.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerrie454 1 review from this member

Absolutely excellent campsite !

We arrived on Sunday of a bank holiday and having tried a couple sites before we got that far (all full) and this site also said full. We tried our luck anyway & a really friendly & helpful chap said he'd squeeze us in.

Lovely site, tents / motorhomes not tightly squeezed together, good play area & trampoline for kids, as well as a wood to play in.

Showers, toilets, shop & washing facilities all very modern & ultraclean - free showers actually stay on until you turn them off ! lol !

Only down side was the 'no fires' rule, though he was very understanding whilst explaining it was to save the grass (even if you have something to raise it up) and also to stop noise from going on too late.

All-in-all a very nice campsite (if a little out of the way), a very nice pub nearby and you can walk up Scafell Pike straight from the site.

Would definitely stay there again !

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Titchrilley 3 reviews from this member

We used this site for a weeks fell walking. It is an excellent campsite. We were able to put our 2 two man tents on one pitch and even leave the car here while we were out on the hills.

The wash room and toilet facilities were immaculate.

The owner was helpful in showing us to our pitch and recommending a good pub for the evening.

I will definitely come back. But next time I will drive the long way round rather than taking 'Hardnott Pass' as this is not really a good route for a fully laden car.

We didn't see much of the local area as we were only interested in rock and rain.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: IM/CH 1 review from this member

We have visited this particular site about 5 times now over the last two years, we have never been disappointed.

The last two visits we made here we stayed in the Pods, if, like me, you love camping but have a partner who doesn't they are ideal. More than enough room for a family of four to sleep, with a porch area to sit, eat, drink and admire the views.

The facilities are top notch and the family shower room is a big attraction for us, two showers which are part of one cubicle, one toilet and sink and baby changing all in one room. Those of you with toddlers will know what a real help this is when it comes to shower time, all three of us just jump in together.

The play area for kids could be a little bigger but the trampoline is obviously a big hit.

The Eskdale to Ravenglass steam train is a must if you have kids or are a bit of a kid at heart and lunch at the 'Ratty' in Ravenglass is recommended.

There are two pubs very close to the campsite, we recommend the 'Brook House' for food and drink but the 'Boot Inn' has a great outside drinking area and play area.

If you fancy a walk you are spoilt for choice and you would need two holidays to do them all.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0996