Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
              8/10 from 107 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 79 to 84                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennie09 1 review from this member

We stayed here in our tent over the bank holiday at the end of May but ended up with a pitch at the end of the campsite (due to it being a large pod tent) which was very close to the A82 and therefore very noisy from the road.
We also had a tent and caravan between us and Loch Lomond so we didn't have a great view. Some pitches are very close to the loch edge with stunning views but most seemed to be with electric hookups or for smaller tents. There also didn't seem to be as much road noise along the loch edge.

There had been quite a bit of rain prior to our visit and while we were there and although muddy in a couple of places the grass was just very wet rather than muddy which was good. The road through the campsite has been resurfaced as well so easy to drive through.

The toilets and showers were good and very clean. There is a small shop on the campsite and a well stocked shop in the village. The meal that we had at the Village Rest on Sunday night was OK but not brilliant.

The village of Luss is lovely to walk round and there's a 6 mile walk up Beinn Dubh from the village which on a good day will provide fantastic views of Loch Lomond and the surrounding area. We went up there when it was raining and with clouds skimming the hill tops and still saw great views. It can be extended into a longer walk as well. The beach along side the campsite is lovely and clean with beautiful views over the loch.

For child friendliness I can't really comment as we don't have kids, however there was a small play area with a slide and some swings. I'm sure the beach would keep them entertained for hours though and there was a number of kids there who seemed very happy.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mischka 32 reviews from this member

We chose this site for our first outing with our first ever caravan.

The site staff were all very friendly and helpful. The loos and showers were spotless. The lochside setting is beautiful but there is some road noise.

In Luss the shop was very well stocked , both food and some camping kit. The Colquhoun Arms is shut for refurbishment, reopens in May.

All in all a lovely site, would recommend it.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyjan 2 reviews from this member

This is the best site I have visited in 3 years of caravanning (being newbies we have never been at home). It's right on the shores of the fantastic Loch Lomond.

The staff are very very friendly a credit to this site, Julian one of the staff couldn't be more helpful a star. The showers are clean and well maintained at all times.

Luss is small place but a shop and a pub is all you need. Midges yeh! yeh! yeh! don't let them get to you just enjoy your stay. Will be returning again and again. Andy and Jan.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H 55 6 reviews from this member

Easy to find the site, just after the village of Luss, off the main road. Beautiful location, pitches for small tents with Loch view, large site with excellent facilities. Electric hook up available around the site and tent / caravans mixed together rather than segregated as they are on many sites.
Shower block regularly cleaned, never any need to queue for shower. Small play area for children, 2 shower blocks with 6 showers each, toilets and wash cubicles. Each block also had washing facilities - large room with 3 sinks / draining areas. Facilities seemed really new and are by far the best we have experienced.

Other visitors friendly - several came to help us move our half erected tent when the owner came to tell us we had pitched it too close to the adjacent caravan!Staff helpful - even gave us tin foil to bbq fruit in!

Several small beach areas on the site which people were using for bbq's but there were far too many midges by the water for us. Cycleway along the Loch from just outside campsite. Luss is a pretty village with a spar type shop for all your basic needs. There were quite a lot of midges as the weather was hot but Avon skin so soft seemed to help (and is sold at the small site shop). Only downside was some road noise at night but you are right next to A82.

Excellent facilities and warm reception mean we would stay there again even given the road noise.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sueandjohn82 1 review from this member

Yes it rained, Yes the midges had a feast on the husband BUT we had a wonderful time!

To be greeted after a 6 hour journey with a warm welcome from the wardens only enforced our belief that we had chosen the right site for our holiday. The facilities were always spotless, the wardens and helpers cheerful (despite the dreadful weather on a couple of occasions) and the site itself very well maintained. Perhaps the only downside was the state of the potholes on the site roads, however, as a fellow camper informed us it had rained every day for a fortnight so there wasn't much chance of any real maintenance being carried out in those two weeks.

The village of Luss is very easy to walk to and we can recommend the Village Rest for a really good meal. Did not eat at the Colquhoon Arms but enjoyed a convivial evening there.

We would certainly return to this site again.

PS and the views of the loch were lovely as well.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edwards653 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wonderful weeks holiday at Luss. The site was great, toilets were spotless and showers never to busy. Water points were close at hand and there was plenty access down to the beach area that runs the full length of the site.

The attendant's were very friendly, giving us a choice of pitch when we arrived and they were never far away with a friendly hello!

Luss itself was very nice, a couple of pubs and a great wee shop which had everything we needed. The site is pretty much bang in the middle between Balloch and Arrochar so it's well placed for sightseeing trips. The weather was fantastic when I was there, the only downside were the dreaded midge's, but a few sprays of skin so soft from the site shop soon sorted that out!

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this site to anyone, and i'll certainly be back!

Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 79 to 84      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.1016