Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 94 Reviews
              8/10 from 94 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 79 to 84                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ianjren 2 reviews from this member

This site is in a beautiful location right on the shores of Loch Lomond. The staff are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The showers are clean and well maintained at all times. Luss is small and there is not much there, but what is, is very quaint and appealing. We also managed the 9 mile bike ride to Balloch which was along a well signposted cycle route. (Off main road) From Balloch station, trains run regularly to Glasgow. The Lodge Hotel and restaurant (Calquhouns) next to the Campsite is a very special experience - gorgeous food and spectacular views in fabulous surroundings. The food is outstanding and although it's not cheap - you get what you pay for. A visit is strongly recommended.

Overall this is an excellent site well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RHC8 1 review from this member

Beautiful location, friendly staff, exceptional toilet & shower facilities. We return time after time to Luss Campsite it's one of the best for peace and breathtaking scenery. A short 5 minute walk into 'Take The High Road Village' Luss for morning coffee or lunch at the hotel.
We've already booked to visit 3 times in 2008 but this number WILL rise as we love this site so much.
The downside - the midges (but Avons Skin So Soft will sort them out).

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BORCIC 5 reviews from this member

In our 18months of motorhoming this is by far the best site we have visited location wise. Right on the banks of Loch Lomond and a short walk to Luss, there isn't much in Luss apart from the usual gift shops,but thats the attraction. The village shop sells most things (although if you run out of wine is a little expensive) and one pub. Showers on site were fantastic. The only drawback was the fence on the beach at either side of the site, this meant you couldn't walk into Luss on the beach you had to go round but we were cheeky and went down the side of the hotel.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dsfbeds 4 reviews from this member

Great location! Very poor site, I am a CCC member and was very dissapointed with the standard at this site. Stayed for two weeks August and September and toilets ranged from dirty to at times unuseable. Poor all round experience and of course the 'midges had a field day'.

Sorry CCC must do better !

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fetaolive 3 reviews from this member

Thisis a C&CC site and not wishing to cause any offence, our past experience as non-members has not been particularly positive. Not here though- we were directed to a loch side spot and permitted to pitch up our tent. The campsite is beautiful, with roving views of Loch Lomond and the surrounding mountains.
The toilet/shower block is spotless, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the reception area sells a few essentials. The nearby village of Luss is only a short walk away and has a great pub serving lovely food. One word of caution - midges - we were recommended an Avon product to help keep them at bay, and found the said product in the shop at Luss (on car park). Absolute blessing as nothing else worked. Other than the midges, the wildlife was wonderful.
We only stayed two nights as we were travelling back to Manchester but would have happily stayed for much longer.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cocteau 8 reviews from this member

Site is in a great location running along the banks of Loch Lomond on the opposite banks to Ben Lomond.  Short walk into very pretty village of Luss.  Ronnie really friendly and helpful.  Anne could do with smiling and at least appear to be making you welcome particularly when they are taking £24 a night for a family tent!  Facilities are average, shower drove me around the bend as they have those push timer taps which last about ten seconds however if you make use of your elbow and back it is possible to keep the shower running constantly, having said that the water was hot.
 
The only real thing that spoiled our stay was the noise from traffic on the A82 which runs the length of the campsite.  Our tent was at the loch's edge in a great spot but the traffic was unrelenting even at one in the morning. Don't underestimate this road as it's one of the main roads north from Glasgow.  Sadly despite the brilliant location we won't be back because of this.

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 79 to 84      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


10572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0859