Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Our third year at Exe valley, this time we stayed for a week, a wonderful welcome from Paul with the new addition of tea/coffee and a biccie. Weather held out for us and the site is so well situated for exploring Exmoor. A real gem, pitched by the river, sitting out in the evening under the stars with owls and bats all around.Priceless. Details of walks and drives available, overall a fab site and one we hope to return to time and time again; the facilities are spotless but more toilets needed. Already looking forward t next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruth+Ted 4 reviews from this member

This was our first trip in our new motorhome having previously used tents! What a difference! We were thrilled with the facilities on this site. The pitches are fantastic and the field is surrounded by a beautiful river (albeit, difficult to fish as it is very fast). The site is managed by the nicest of people who welcome you with a lovely tea or coffee and go through the procedures thoroughly! Any problems, they will try their best to fix. The toilet block, shower and laundry facilities are superb - kept spotlessly clean. The shop is basic but we didn't really need to use it.

Only small criticism - a few more pitches with hard standing would be great!

We didn't enjoy the food at the Badgers Holt Inn (contrary to public opinion)- the beer was good but the food is typically microwave to table and a bit too expensive! Good wines though, at good prices! Staff were a bit grumpy!

Some fantastic walks around with outstanding views! Take an Ordnance Survey Map as some of the walks can be quite difficult and the manager's own guides can be a bit misleading! We managed to get stuck in a field surrounded by cows and bullocks!

Overall, a great site and we will be back - thank you!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debgreen 30 reviews from this member

We've just returned from 10 days here - our first visit - and were delighted with the site, it's facilities, the size of the pitches and the care taken to look after an excellent site. Tea and biscuits on arrival - very civilised. The weather was mostly glorious, with a few heavy down-pours. The ground coped very well and drained quickly.

The loos and showers (3 loos, showers & basins per sex) were spotless, with powerful, hot & free showers - which is a bonus. The dishwashing/laundry area was also spotless and well looked after. Only used the shop once (for milk) but it seemed to have the basics. A paper-ording service would be useful, as it's a long drive if you want one. Information room was well stocked with menus, walk/drive info, and a public pay phone (v. Important as our mobiles didn't work and we needed to call the local vet - only Orange works, apparently).

We ate out most nights and used the local 'Bager's Holt' three times, the Royal Oak, Wood's and the Thai in Dulverton (these two a bit more expensive but it was hubby's birthday and our anni). All were excellent. The pub is friendly, with good service and reasonably priced food. We had a three-hour trip with Barle Land Rover Safaris on Sunday morning with a very knowledgeable drive - Alison - which was a fab way to see and get a feel for Exmoor. Highly recommended (dogs can go too).

There is a beautiful tiny cricket ground within easy walking distance, which we visited when not visiting local rugby clubs to see the Lion's Tests. My only small complaint is the road noise (and the noise from from people seemingly rebuilding the insides of their 'vans in the evening - what were you doing?) seems to echo around the valley. Otherwise the site is peaceful and calm, with lots of birds and good dog walks etc. Will visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quintonjan 6 reviews from this member

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful site, the toilets and showers were immaculate.

The site is ideally located for touring south Somerset and north Devon. We were lucky enough to see some wild ponies in the Exmoor national park. We visited Lynton and Lynmouth and Minehead and Porlock, all within easy reach. We travelled out every day as the weather was atrocious.
The Badgers Holt inn is just a few minutes walk away and their food was excellent and the friendly service was a bonus! The site owners were very helpful and insisted we had a free coffee before setting up our caravan. All employees on site will give you names of places to visit and directions.
This was only our second holiday since buying our caravan and it knocked spots off our first choice! As it is 'adults only' site it meant most of the people on site were in our age group and the peace and quiet not disturbed by noisy children. Peaceful bliss.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oliver67 9 reviews from this member

Now the plumber has fixed the showers great The toilet block and showers are not enough for the pitch numbers but it does not matter as everything bar the dogs on site is great!
The site is lovely but alas when it rains it rains, we did have better drains this time and I noticed the water was not as bad on the pitches. Great site I will be back!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AlandSuzy 7 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site in the heart of Exmoor. I honestly can't think of anything significantly at fault with either the site or the location.
We were there for the late May bank holiday weekend and although the site was busy it was relatively quiet (I guess partly due to the lack of children) and relaxing.
The facilities are very good with just enough showers / toilets (although if you arrive at the wrong time you might have to wait 5 minutes for a shower) and a good sized washing up/kitchen area with microwave and washing machine / dryer.
We loved the pub opposite the campsite. The food was superb as was the wine (an excellent value for money New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc).
You can walk up onto the moors direct from the campsite - we managed to walk to Dunkerry Beacon and Winsford Hill, but both of these can be reached by car if you prefer.
I would definitely recommend this site and will certainly consider going back at some point in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Val and Martin 2 reviews from this member

Wow what can I say the weather wasn't that kind to us but this site is just so peaceful and so very well kept. The added bonus just up the road is a fantastic pub serving the most fantastic well price food and is also run by really nice people

We will be back, just loved it.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glyndelahay 2 reviews from this member

There aren't many sites that when you arrive offer you coffee/tea, this one did. After booking in we were given the choice of any vacant pitch. We chose one next to the river.
A very peaceful site even with the A396 running along side site. The owners have certainly taken care of this site and on Sunday mornings invite campers to visit the water mill to see it working.The shop is handy for milk bread (frozen) and eggs etc.
Would we visit this site again? we have booked another week in July.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparry1163 14 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from two idyllic days right next to the river Exe. The weather was glorious and this no doubt enhanced this wonderful site.

Easy to find and get into, owners were helpful and we had our pick of the available pitches, all of which were large and well positioned.

Peaceful despite being next to a main road, you will be aware of nothing but the river and bird song. If the night is clear you will get a brilliant view of the stars.

The river is a constant hive of activity for the local birdlife and seems pretty well stocked with fish. Fishing on site is free, alas we didn't have our rods with us.

Plenty to see and do around the area, we took a bus which stops right outside the campsite into a lovely local village.

Plenty of walking to suit all abilities, we walked into Windsford and had a great meal in the Royal Oak. The local Pub, just outside the site gates , The Badgers Holt, was friendly enough, and seemed to have a reasonably priced and comprehensive menu.

The site has a small shop which would cater for most essential needs, opening times are limited but you are asked to go to the Mill house if you have and other enquiries or problems, the Owners always seemed to be on hand yet not intrusive.

The toilets were adequate and spotlessly clean, I have seen far plusher toilet blocks but as I cant say we go away camping to sample the bathrooms services we have no complaints.

Recycling on site and plenty of water points. At 10.50 a night we thought we had to be a bargain. We will certainly return and would recommend this adult only site

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Stayed 8 nights and this excellent site, fortunate to get good weather throughout.

Friendly greeting on arrival, and allowed to pick any pitch from those free, although pitches can (and are) reserved in advance. Grassy pitches, all backed by a river or mill-stream, are generally a very good size, especially in depth, and although some do slope a bit they are big enough for one to find a flat spot to pitch a tent - even our Outwell Vermont had loads of room. Tents of all sizes mix with caravans and motorhomes in this eclectic site.

The site is very picturesque and well laid out with well demarked pitches: although there are over 40 pitches in all, this is not apparent and the place has a cosy feel. It is also well situated for touring Somerset and Devon.

Toilet facilities are in two adjacent blocks, very basic but kept clean. Showers are free, with copious hot water at all times (and have temperature controls, not those buttons which need to be pressed every 20 secs). Handwash is also provided. A word of warning though; the lights are timed and go off after about 5 mins if motion sensors aren't activated - and the cubicles don't have sensors! Fortunately I had a head-torch handy, but I would advise night-time loo-users to move with alacrity.

A room for washing-up, vegetable preparation, washing clothes etc. Is an very good facility, again with copious free hot water.

A small shop opens for two hours per day - once in the morning and again at tea-time. It has the basics, but is complemented by a lady just outside the site who sells excellent home or locally produced meat and groceries.

The site owners have very thoughtfully produced a series of circular walks (3 - 5/6 miles or so) from the site, and a series of scenic drives (30 - 75 miles). For a donation of 10p to charity each, we did a couple of walks and a drive - brilliantly clear and easy to follow, really impressed (so take your hiking boots).

Similarly in the same information hut they have compiled lists of good pubs (and menus), and info for fisher-folk and bird watchers.

The village pub is very close to the site and must be given a mention. It's traditional, snug (small bar & dining room) and very friendly indeed. Food is excellent and very well priced, with a 'specials' board that changes regularly. The 3 hand-pulled Exmoor Ales are to be savoured!

I was amazed at how quiet this site was. So many places look the part yet are spoiled by inconsiderate campers/groups making noise until the early hours. Exe Valley was an oasis of peace and quiet, whether by good policing, it's child-free status or because of the sort of people who choose to come here.

Tents over 3m wide attract a 3 per night surcharge, which angers some (let's face it, how many tents don't exceed 3m these days?). Even with this fee however. We paid less that 20 per night AND got one night free as a discount - not bad for high season and EHU. Were I the owner I would turn this pricing policy around - a standard tent price which assumed a big tent, with a discount for small tents.

Apart from small quibbles I have outlined, this is an outstanding site and one that I wholeheartedly recommend. I would certainly return if camping this way again.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4699 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1040
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window