Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Padstow Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE   See Map
Tel: 01841 532061
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 172 Reviews
                9/10 from 172 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Refills   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  172 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poppy35 1 review from this member

We spent two weeks on this campsite in August and enjoyed every minute.

The facilities are excellent, always clean and well maintained. There are plenty of toilets and showers, washing up sinks, a laundry, and a freezer for ice packs. The shop is well stocked and open everyday. We even had fresh croissants and bread delivered in the morning from the local bakery.

There is so much to do in the area, Padstow is beautiful and we loved Harlyn beach (golden sands and safe for the kids). There are loads of places to eat or you can have pizza or chinese delivered to the site.

Our pitch had wonderful views over miles of countryside and although the weather had been terrible in July the ground was well drained. The pitches are a good size and back on to headges so you have shelter and privacy.

The site only allows couples and families so there is no noise after 10pm and no clubhouse.

The whole family enjoyed the holiday and we booked for next year before we left so we are looking forward to our stay in 2008.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ROBH56 6 reviews from this member

We too have just returned from this park last week end after spending a great 7 nights here.

Cannot add to what has been written by the last reviewer. The new block behind reception was probably one of the best we have encountered with so much room etc and the other block will be extended in plenty of time for next summer.The site is so well managed with no mess found anywhere and recycling bins in most locations.We have not been here before so cannot comment when it is full during the summer months but this is excellent for a week or so at the end of the year or indeed throughout the winter.Again the location is superb and if you dont fancy the walk down get back onto the main road and turn left towards Tesco's, go straight on until to nearly reach the bottom and park in the residential road then walk through to the harbour where there are plenty of chances to hire a bike and do the fantastic Camel trail.

We and our friends could not have picked a better location or site for this time of the year.

We towed back to Cheltenham last saturday without a stop in less than four hours.

Would love to do this again next autumn.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M.Green 3 reviews from this member

A beautiful campsite that is maintained to the highest standard and has wonderful facilities. There are plenty of toilets and showers and every year that we go back there are more. All facilities are always kept clean and there is always hot water. We've been back many times and we love the area. We always go in peak season and find there is a quiet family atmosphere. We have a family tent and the pitches are well spaced out and sheltered.

Highly recommended, we'll be back next year!

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zappyt 3 reviews from this member

After just returning from a wonderful stay at Padstow Touring Park I thought I must write a review.

With the site located only 1 mile out of Padstow it's an easy walk 10 minutes to Tesco's by footpath then onto the pavement that leads you into Padstow which is a lovely place to visit with lots of great places to eat drink and relax and for those of you with a bit more energy you also have easy access to the camel trail.

The site it self offer's 3 shower and toilet blocks roughly 14 showers and one block currently being extended to add more facilities also the new heated shower block is a real treat much nicer than some hotels I’ve stayed in! There is also a play area for children and a well stocked shop which also takes orders for freshly baked bread, pasties etc to be delivered to the site. The pitches are a nice size ours had a lovely view across the fields.

All in all we had a great stay and would recommend a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Toady503 16 reviews from this member

Just back from spending a couple of days at this site staff very friendly and helpful were alocated a pitch number but was told if you didnt like it you could take any one that was vaccant. Nice level pitches, the showers and toilets could do with updating but we found they were adequate.
Padstow is a lovely place with lots of restaurants and pubs to eat and drink in. We biked the camel trail which was very good. Tesco only ten minutes walk away across the field.
We enjoyed our stay here and will return again next time we are in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rutty 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned from 2 weeks at this site, and thought I'd leave a more up to date review. The site is easy to find, and you are quickly booked in and shown to your pitch.
We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were surprised to see many empty pitches. As mentioned in a earlier review the site is very exposed and we struggled to pitch our Monty 6 in what seemed a force 10 gale.
The pitches themselves vary in size. We did struggle to fit our tent on the pitch we were given, with it opening straight onto the road (no room for canopy). Exploring the site you come across two shower / toilet blocks, one seems set up for people using caravans, the other bigger block seemed set up for campers. It comprised of a chemical disposal, wash / laundry room, which contained chest freezer, two washing machines, one dryer and 5 sinks, 4 of which had hot and cold water.
 
There was a horrid smell around this toilet block, and I felt very sorry for the people who had pitches nearby.
The men's toilets comprised of three cubicle's, three urinals,  two showers and long row of sinks. The main problem was lighting with a single central light over the urinals, this meant you were often showering and other things in very dim light. There was a second shower room for men which contained two showers although one was fixed to the wall very low so could only be used by very small people or children. Speaking to a few fellow campers they did feel that there was lack of facilities for a campsite of this size, but on the plus side they were well maintained, free of charge and had constant hot water.
 
The site also has a children's play area, were the kids were running wild, they do allow dogs but under very strict control, pity they don't have the same strict controls for the children as footballs and water bombs hit the tent frequently.
 
Getting into Padstow couldn't be easier, a path leads straight there and takes about 30 minutes. The camp shop opens at 8.30 and closes at 6.30. It is very basic, and doesn't stock papers, luckily Tesco is only a 10 minute walk. The staff who we spoke to were all very friendly and helpful. In my opinion It is an average site, ideal as a base for getting around Cornwall, they could do with sorting the pitches out as over the bank holiday weekend we found tents pitched very close around us. More protection should provided from the wind either by planting trees or repositioning pitches. I doubt I would book again. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Buzz57 1 review from this member

This was our 4th visit to Padstow Touring Park, and to be honest it may be our last.
The site it's self is fairly level, but the pitch we were given required us to raise one wheel by 8" therefore requiring mountaineering equipment to get in and out of the motorhome. So we decided to set up sideways on the pitch as this only required raising by 4". We were with friends so we made do to save the hassle of being split up.
Once set up we chilled out and enjoyed our 4 night stay.
Padstow offers plenty to do; Cycling, Water sports, Walking and provides plenty of places to eat (Rick Steins for amazing food at amazing prices).
Even though new shower facilities had been promised there was no sign of them, being a Bank Holiday weekend and the site being fully booked the facilities were stretched to the limit at times and very messy.  The old shower block certainly could do with updating or replacing. If a new shower block is in the planning it can't come to soon. Until then we will not be returning, which is a pity because we love the area.
This site has the potential to be one of the best in the South West. Sort the shower blocks and provide more level hard-standing pitches. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PBustin 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this site over August Bank Holiday. The site was very busy as expected and previous comments re lack of showers/toilets are very valid, I had to wait at 07:30 am for a shower. Very noisy as allocated a space next to adjoining farm access road (K row) which was used by heavy tractors etc from 06:00 on.Comments about noisy cockerel very valid. No new shower block as mentioned by new owners operating as yet.
On the whole a good site but needs to upgrade facilities particularly showers etc. Nice and clean site generally. Windy.
You pay a lot for what you get but I would use again as it's very well situated.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cherylod 2 reviews from this member

My boyfriend and I have just stayed on this site, which his parents visit every year.
 
It is a lovely and well maintained site, with lovely views (it is quite high up, and pretty windy) over Padstow.
 
The toilets and showers were free and clean, although a little cold on the cooler days and only about 6 showers in total for both men and women, which isn't really substantial enough for the number of people using them in peak season.  The new shower block must be at the other end of the site to where we were pitched!
 
The site is fairly quiet and the pitches are well spaced.  We didn't use the laundry facilities or the playground, but the shop has limited basics which is useful.  There is a Tesco about a 5 minute drive away however, and Padstow is about a 10 minute drive. 
 
Padstow is a lovely harbour town, with nice shops and places to eat.  Rojanos is a lovely Italian, and Margot's is a gorgeous little restaurant, but you have to book at least 3 months in advance to eat there in the summer months!
 
All in all, a lovely site, and one I would recommend. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: The Atkiss 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here, the site itself was really good the toilets and showers( the ones in the actual toilet block were much better than in the shower block) were always clean. The shop was very basic but Tescos is only about 5 mins away by car.

The only real big problem we had was on the Saturday we arrived we had torrential rain so much so the ground sheet let in water. I hear you scream at the screen that the weather is not the fault of the park owner, which I absolutely agree but as the weather got warmer there wasn't, in my opinion sufficient drainage to allow the excess water to run away. So come Thursday the stench from under the ground sheet was unbearable leading to us having to put the tent down a day early. What really made it worse was on the day we left the maintenance men who came round to 'sand' the muddy patches informed us that it always happens! but none the less we had a good stay there its well located for Padstow town and as Ive said all the amenities are well looked after. I will be informing the park of my little grip and perhaps they could sort out some better drainage system in future.

Previous     172 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Colibri Lux Sleeping Bag and Sim Bundle worth over £270 Win East Anglian Game & Country Fair Camping Weekend Tickets!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 28 to 29 April
Thetford. Weekend Camping available. Plus win tickets in our competition ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0960