Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Padstow Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Site Reviews

Padstow Touring Park
Padstow Touring Park
Padstow
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL28 8LE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01841 532061

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  5m  1m  1m  1m  1m  5m   1m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 164 Reviews
              9/10 from 164 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (17)

Reviews:  164 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cherylod 2 reviews from this member

My boyfriend and I have just stayed on this site, which his parents visit every year.
 
It is a lovely and well maintained site, with lovely views (it is quite high up, and pretty windy) over Padstow.
 
The toilets and showers were free and clean, although a little cold on the cooler days and only about 6 showers in total for both men and women, which isn't really substantial enough for the number of people using them in peak season.  The new shower block must be at the other end of the site to where we were pitched!
 
The site is fairly quiet and the pitches are well spaced.  We didn't use the laundry facilities or the playground, but the shop has limited basics which is useful.  There is a Tesco about a 5 minute drive away however, and Padstow is about a 10 minute drive. 
 
Padstow is a lovely harbour town, with nice shops and places to eat.  Rojanos is a lovely Italian, and Margot's is a gorgeous little restaurant, but you have to book at least 3 months in advance to eat there in the summer months!
 
All in all, a lovely site, and one I would recommend. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: The Atkiss 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here, the site itself was really good the toilets and showers( the ones in the actual toilet block were much better than in the shower block) were always clean. The shop was very basic but Tescos is only about 5 mins away by car.

The only real big problem we had was on the Saturday we arrived we had torrential rain so much so the ground sheet let in water. I hear you scream at the screen that the weather is not the fault of the park owner, which I absolutely agree but as the weather got warmer there wasn't, in my opinion sufficient drainage to allow the excess water to run away. So come Thursday the stench from under the ground sheet was unbearable leading to us having to put the tent down a day early. What really made it worse was on the day we left the maintenance men who came round to 'sand' the muddy patches informed us that it always happens! but none the less we had a good stay there its well located for Padstow town and as Ive said all the amenities are well looked after. I will be informing the park of my little grip and perhaps they could sort out some better drainage system in future.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amyl 1 review from this member

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. We found the staff friendly. We were given a pitch number but were advised that we could pitch our tent elsewhere if we preferred a different spot. 
 
The toilets and showers were always clean. There appeared to be two toilet/shower blocks. The block nearest our tent had four female and male showers. There was no additional charge for the showers. On first using the shower, I found the water was not very warm at all but then used a different shower and the temperature was fine.  However, we both thought the water pressure was not very powerful.  We found that we didn't have to queue for a shower but there were queues at times. There were adequate dish washing facilities. There was also a freezer, washing machine and dryer.  
 
On leaving the site, there was no pavement. However, from the site there was a footpath across fields to a road with a pavement. However, we visited after the heavy rain in June/July and you really needed walking boots to cross the fields. There was a bus service that passed the site. Padstow was around a five minute drive away. The car parks operate a 24 hour charging system, so be sure to have plenty of change; 40-50p for an hour, £2 for 2-4 hrs and £3 all day. 
 
We found Padstow to be very pleasant and enjoyed our short stay. I would recommend trying the fish and chips from Stein's shop; a little pricey but very nice! 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zappyt 3 reviews from this member

This is the best campsite we have ever been to. Lovely facilities that just keep getting better. Quiet, relaxing and within easy walking distance of Padstow. 
 
There were plenty of toilets and showers (we went in August) and the new block will be a bonus when we go back this year. The facilities were clean at all times and the showers were free and always hot.
 
The owners live on site and are very helpful and they have made so many improvements. 
 
The views over the countryside are outstanding and the location is so unspoilt.  Clearly marked pitches with more than adequate space and backing on to hedges so no open fields.
 
Highly recommended

Date of Visit: January 2007 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: PadstowTouringP 2 reviews from this member

New for 2007
We are pleased to announce that we are currently building an additional amenities block.  This will include extra toilets, showers, a laundry and underfloor heating for the winter months. It has been a long struggle with the planning department but these extra facilities should be up and running for the 2007 season.
We have also become a WIFI hot spot, so it is now possible to connect to the Internet whilst on holiday.
We have been awarded the Silver David Bellamy Conservation Award, an amazing achievement for our first attempt and we hope to build on this success.  The hundreds of trees and shrubs that we have planted since taking over in 2004 are growing fast and have created a haven for wildlife and of course campers too.
The Barnes Family - Padstow Touring Park

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grant.lyon 15 reviews from this member

We spent a few days here in August and found the site to be well kept and the toilets clean. It is a large open site (a little windswept) that felt very spacious. Pitches are clearly marked the power supply is reliable and the small shop is ok. The staff are nice and the grounds are well kept.

Padstow is a lovely place with loads of shops, pubs, takeaways and restaurants. It is well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pikelets2 4 reviews from this member

The location is fantastic and it really is only 10 mins to Tesco and 20 to Padstow centre walking. All the pitches were flat. Lovely to have free showers and freezing of freezer packs.

Our pitch felt very cramped and right next to one of the roads through the campsite which wasn't good with a crawling baby. The road was busy all day until quite late at night with people coming and going to their pitches and the toilet block. It was also used as the main route to the play area by groups of noisy children. So glad we weren't any closer to the play area as it would have been virtually impossible to get our baby to sleep before 10pm. Make sure you ask for a pitch away from the road and play area.

The showers were free but not always hot so couldn't use with baby.
The washing facilities I felt were inadequate with only 2 washing machines and 1 tumble dryer. 1 of the washing machines added its own powder so most people didn't want to use that one. I used the one where you had to add your own powder, once the cycle had finished I found that my clothes were still covered in powder. I spoke to a member of staff who didn't seem at all interested.

There were 2 lots of sinks in each toilet block for dishwashing but out of 5 in our block only 3 were working for most of our stay. 1 of them only has a cold tap!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hailhail88 1 review from this member

This is a nice site not far from Padstow, however apart from its location, its not the place to go during peak season.
The toilet block whilst clean is not sufficient for the volume of people. We found that most of the time the showers were pitifully slow and underpressured. There are not enough of them to cope with a full site. I have no doubt that for most of the year they are fine and I would return again, just not in peak season.

If you do stay here, try to ensure that you are not allocated a spot to the right of the main toilet block, we were and whist I appreciate we are in the countryside being woken by 1/2 a dozen cockerels @ 04:00 every day is not that much fun (the hen house is just the other side of the hedge you are camped next to!

Not much the owners can do about that, just make sure its not you camped there!

Having said all of that I would return because it is a nice clean site and close to Padstow etc, I just woudn't go in August again. :-)

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gwentvanman 3 reviews from this member

All of the previous comments are correct but I have a few new observations! I personally think that although the facilities for this site are clean and tidy, there are now not enough to cope with the amount of pitches now on this site. On talking to people who have stayed on the site every year since 1994 they have told me that the amount of tents and tourers has increased dramatically whilst the facilities have remained the same. It is a shame as this site has the potential to be a 5 star site in my opinion! Oh and as previously mentioned.it is VERY windy!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M.Green 3 reviews from this member

This is a wonderful site, the owners are always happy to help and are very friendly. The toilets and showers are kept immaculate with regular cleans throughout the day. An easy walk in to Padstow makes this an ideal location. The site is quiet with no noise after 10pm, which is perfect. Many more hedges have been planted since our last visit and the site looks very well cared for. We'll certainly be back next year.

Previous     164 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (East)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 9 - 11th June
Kent - Hundreds of traders and dealers and weekend camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6441 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2813