Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 299 Reviews
              10/10 from 299 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  299 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan and Motorhome Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minty1661 2 reviews from this member

A very good site, we had a super pitch with all facilities and found it excellent. Nice and quiet, good tv reception, good wifi coverage.

Great shop with the bits you need because you forgot to pack something. Easy to get to with good directions given on website. Nice walks to the tor and glastonbury well worth a visit.

Wells is in easy drive and a lovely place to visit, spotting the swans was good as you got a good tour around the city.

Would definitely go again!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Benrivo 12 reviews from this member

If you visit The Old Oaks you can be sure of tranquility. The pitches are well spaced with screening at either side. There is more than enough room for your unit and plenty of room to sit and admire the view.

The site is lovingly tended and there is not a single piece of gravel out of place. A very attractive site which seems popular with dog owners, the latter being catered for by dog walking areas.

The 'Piece de Resistance' is the amenity block! Never have I seem such fantastic facilities. No expense has been spared and seeing is believing! Needless to say they were spotless! 5 Star seems inadequate to describe them!

The only negative of the site for me was the location. The walk to Glastonbury, which although it was only 2 miles in length, was rather arduous being uphill for quite a distance. I am not elderly and am reasonably fit but did find it hard work! We tried other routes but none seemed to be that easy! It would have been nice to have a leisurely stroll to a local pub but we didn't find any in the vicinity.

If it is peace and quiet you are after then this site will not disappoint. The wardens are very helpful and it feels as though of thought has gone into the planning of this site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kent4711 22 reviews from this member

Brilliant. A perfect place for a relaxing break. Large well screened level pitches. New modern facilities block (1 of 2) Well stocked shop & info room with book/magazine exchange & pool table.

TV reception was good watched the Olympic Games opening ceremony. Small lake for fishing. Bike Hire. You can book transport to surrounding towns as the site is not on bus route.

You can walk into Glastonbury up & over the hill via base of the Tor & walk to the top of it for amazing views. 2 other footpaths we tried were in parts muddy with summer overgrowth of nettles etc on 1 which made us turn to a different route as in shorts. Morrisons & Co-op(in High street)in Glastonbury.

Good flat walk around Cheddar reservoir (we parked near rugby club) then drove up Cheddar Gorge then east to A39 & back to campsite via Wells which we visited another day. A good weeks holiday with sun all week.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jennyr50 8 reviews from this member

Best site we've stayed at in the UK. Friendly, efficient wardens. Well stocked shop including option to order newspapers. Yummy homemade cakes.

New toilet/shower block awesome. Always spotlessly clean with loads of hot water.

Flat, spacious pitches. Well spaced out and many with impressive views of the surrounding countryside. Having several distinct camping 'areas' made for a peaceful stay even though the site was pretty full. First time we have pitched our tent on hard standing - would recommend you try it.

Immaculately maintained grassy areas around the site.

Good walking locally - many walking routes to borrow available in information room.

Nearby Wells (Cathedral and Bishop's Palace) and Glastonbury (Rural Life Museum) well worth a visit.

All in all, a wonderful few days away at a site we shall return to.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Postie27 3 reviews from this member

Well what more than can be said about this site. It gave my husband and I the perfect two week holiday.

It has everything that camping and caravanning people need. Everything is just excellent.

The existing toilet block and the new one is just excellent, the staff are very friendly, the site is immaculate with beautiful plants, shrubs, and trees and the views are outstanding.

The shop and information room are brilliant.

The daily boards with lovely cakes being sold were so tempting, fresh daily bread, papers, meat both fresh and frozen, everything you needed.

The walks are lovely and our puppy thought so too, and the dog walk is perfect even to the cleansing gel on the gate, an excellent thought for dog owners. The area is just lovely, so much to do and see. The weather was not its best but we had some good days too and the pitch we had in the top oaks was superb. WE SHALL RETURN.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SHARON89 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great week at this site

we stayed on a fully serviced pitch for a week in The Top Oaks pitch 14, it was great in every way.

Did not use the facilities had we have our own in the caravan. The site is very clean and the wardens are all great.

The food hamper I ordered in advance was very good, I will do it again when we go next time.

The pitches are large. We shall be off again to this great site, as since we have came home we have changed our van to a new Bailey just waiting to take delivery so here we come !

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Badger54 11 reviews from this member

We visited in May 2012 and were knocked out by the quality of this site and have just returned for a few nights to round off our very wet holiday in the West Country.

It can often be a disappointment to return to somewhere you like but this site has just made even better with the completion of the new shower and toilet block. A superb facility that puts others to shame. Overall, it is virtually impossible to find anything to criticise about Old Oaks.

I have just thought of something that would improve the site - - free wi-fi. Some sites do offer it and it is certainly something that would have kept me happier in all the rain.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

A very good adult only site. The book in was quick & smooth and we were taken to our pitch in the top meadow adjacent to the new toilet block.

The pitches are huge and are they are all hard standings around a green which gives an overall feeling of space. Toilet/shower facilities are good and will be even better once the new toilet block is complete, it looks absolutely fantastic, built in local stone. Although workmen were on site daily, sometimes until after 7pm clearly trying to get it finished asap. They did not cause us a problem.

The site has its own enclosed dog walk, complete with dog shower & hand sanitizer - fantastic!

There are also good walks around the site so the dog was more than happy. You do need transport however as the site is a little isolated about 3 miles from Glastonbury. Having said that there are plenty of places to visit within a reasonable car journey.

Overall one of the best sites I have visited.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David222 3 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site with spacious, well drained pitches, good toilet & washing up facilities, and a well-stocked shop. It was generally quiet too.

WiFi functioned extremely well, although I hadn't realised you had to pay extra (even if the daily/weekly fee was OK).

Well situated within walking distance of Glastonbury Tor.

There are plenty of National Trust properties in the area, and this was very useful since the weather wasn't brilliant.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalkypilot 26 reviews from this member

A simply lovely adults only site. Friendly, helpful staff; well-stocked shop (food, drinks and more); beautifully landscaped pitch areas; quiet and peaceful; excellent, clean facilities; lovely views. Add in bicycle hire, fresh bread each morning, their own eggs. And you're getting towards perfection.

Only slight downside is that there didn't seem to be pubs in easy walking distance, but if we'd been staying here for longer, I'm sure we'd have made more and better use of the excellent shop to prepare our own meals.

Already on our list to return!

Previous     299 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win tickets to the NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show - 21st to 26th February
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, holiday lodges and 1000's of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3113 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1270