Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Millsy52 3 reviews from this member

We booked this site because my wife said it looked nice, well it was a really well cared for site, the wardens were really helpful in every respect, there was a shop that sold everything from cotton to Chardoney, much to Christines relief. They also had a visitor centre that housed easy chairs and a pool table.

The Saturday we arrived late September was a really sunny warm day so we ventured into a walk to Glastonbury via the Tor (An ancient monument). It took us around 40 minutes with our Yorke in tow, a very pet friendly town with lots of pubs, but beware it is weird, loads of witches shops, a wizard walking down the High Street with a blue miniature pony on a lead! Our theory is the locals went to a concert in the 1960's and stayed and live on a diet of cider and wacky baccy!

Brilliant place, you must visit the Old Oak and use it as a base, especially in the 'Summer' We are going again next year, please try it, we think it is probably the best in the West country

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

What I have seen of other 5 star sites, this should be 10 stars as I have yet to stay at a site that is anywhere near this site.

On arrival staff are so friendly and helpful to ensure you have a wonderful holiday.

The new facilities are out of this world. The grounds are well maintained and the scenery is outstanding.

A visit to Wells is a must and the wife loved shopping in Street.

Looking forward already to our holiday in 2013.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Krispywhite 19 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to the old oaks but will definitely not be our last, we stayed for 4 nights, the wardens were all very pleasant and smiling all the time nothing was to much for any of them,

This camp site is perfect from the arrival of the maingate, check in was quick and the warden took us to our pitch on his pushbike, the pitch being large clean and level the whole site was spotless toilet/shower's were to a very high standard and gardens and lawns were beautiful.

The site location has many places to visit close by ie Shepton mallett, well's, chedder, and much more you can even walk up the glastonbury tor from the site this being a must the view is terrific.

The only problem for us was we had to leave, but we will be goig back for sure.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stellar66 1 review from this member

A very tranquil and well maintained site set in beautiful rolling countryside. We booked 2 nights and extended it to 3 on arrival as the weather was so good. Staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating.

Excellent facilities, a fabulous all mod cons new toilet/shower block. Very impressed with the campsites efforts to encourage recycling, also very dog friendly. Especially enjoyed the walks we took from the campsite up the Tor as well as into Glastonbury town centre. Would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 2salukimum 2 reviews from this member

Wow, what a great site. Yes, adults only so peace and quiet were the order of the day. Plenty of pitch space, each one having it's own hedge around. The newly built facilities are 5 star. Toilets and showers spotless and no queueing!

The dogs were so well catered for with on site walkies, shower unit with hot water, laundry facilities for pet bedding etc. Brilliant idea! Reception and well stocked shop full of local produce sourced from within an 8mile radius. Treat yourself to a slice of cake-of-the-day, now that's got to be a bonus! Wonderful walks with Glastonbury Tor very close to the site. On site lake with fishing for the so inclined. We shall be returning very soon, thoroughly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lone-Wolf 3 reviews from this member

Hadn't visited this site for some years, but I was quickly reminded why this is my favourite campsite in England. If anything it has actually improved since my last visit. It now has camping cabins for those seeking more space or comfort. The shop seems to have improved as well and I was tempted into making a number of purchases - something I don't normally do in site shops. The toilet block was immaculate as always. Add to this the usual friendly service and I left a very happy camper! If you want a peaceful location within walking distance (via footpaths) of Glastonbury Tor and the town centre, then look no further.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: On the move 2 reviews from this member

Wow! we have been touring the south of england and visited this sight on the way back home. We only stayed for 1 night but will definitely return.

The campsite wardens are very friendly, the hardstanding pitches are spacious and the whole sight has a very welcoming feel to it.

The most impressive thing is the facilities, brand new beautiful block in the style of an old farm house, decorated and furnished as if you were at home,

the washing up area is at the front all indoors with proper sinks and drainers,

the showers are in individual bathrooms each with a vanity unit, private toilet and corner power shower all with very modern chrome fittings.

In the womens toilet room there are additional showers and a hairdryer and plugs for the all important straighteners. The facilities were spotlessly clean at all times. You have to see them to believe them, my husband commented that they were comparable to a 5* hotel!

There is a shop on sight which is well stocked and the wardens run a shuttle bus into Glastonbury centre twice a day.

We walked to the tor then into Glastonbury which took us 30 mins. The site also has an enclosed dog exercise area which is nicely lawned and a good size.

At the side of the dog walking area there is a dogs shower room with a warm shower for your dog!

This is an excellent site with lots of nice finishing touches.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Minty1661 2 reviews from this member

A very good site, we had a super pitch with all facilities and found it excellent. Nice and quiet, good tv reception, good wifi coverage.

Great shop with the bits you need because you forgot to pack something. Easy to get to with good directions given on website. Nice walks to the tor and glastonbury well worth a visit.

Wells is in easy drive and a lovely place to visit, spotting the swans was good as you got a good tour around the city.

Would definitely go again!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Benrivo 12 reviews from this member

If you visit The Old Oaks you can be sure of tranquility. The pitches are well spaced with screening at either side. There is more than enough room for your unit and plenty of room to sit and admire the view.

The site is lovingly tended and there is not a single piece of gravel out of place. A very attractive site which seems popular with dog owners, the latter being catered for by dog walking areas.

The 'Piece de Resistance' is the amenity block! Never have I seem such fantastic facilities. No expense has been spared and seeing is believing! Needless to say they were spotless! 5 Star seems inadequate to describe them!

The only negative of the site for me was the location. The walk to Glastonbury, which although it was only 2 miles in length, was rather arduous being uphill for quite a distance. I am not elderly and am reasonably fit but did find it hard work! We tried other routes but none seemed to be that easy! It would have been nice to have a leisurely stroll to a local pub but we didn't find any in the vicinity.

If it is peace and quiet you are after then this site will not disappoint. The wardens are very helpful and it feels as though of thought has gone into the planning of this site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kent4711 24 reviews from this member

Brilliant. A perfect place for a relaxing break. Large well screened level pitches. New modern facilities block (1 of 2) Well stocked shop & info room with book/magazine exchange & pool table.

TV reception was good watched the Olympic Games opening ceremony. Small lake for fishing. Bike Hire. You can book transport to surrounding towns as the site is not on bus route.

You can walk into Glastonbury up & over the hill via base of the Tor & walk to the top of it for amazing views. 2 other footpaths we tried were in parts muddy with summer overgrowth of nettles etc on 1 which made us turn to a different route as in shorts. Morrisons & Co-op(in High street)in Glastonbury.

Good flat walk around Cheddar reservoir (we parked near rugby club) then drove up Cheddar Gorge then east to A39 & back to campsite via Wells which we visited another day. A good weeks holiday with sun all week.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3186 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1406
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window