Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
              9/10 from 188 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ayersfamily 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a full week at Cofton with our family in our frame tent with 2 children and our friends in their Motorhome and dog.

This was our first visit to Cofton and South Devon. The site is very large with clean modern toilet blocks spaced around the park altough there was no hot water for showers in the morning on 2 occasions.

There are play areas around the park for the kids and a zip wire and assault course in the woods.

The park itself and swimming pool always looked spotless, tidy and clean and the on site shop was well stocked with essentials and gifts.

The takeaway had a good variety of food and the on site pub served a good varied menu - but a bit short for seating inside on a rainy evening as was the family entertainment lounge considering the campsite of this size.

The pitches are all mainly terraced - when we booked we asked about the pitch sizes and was told 10 metres, as our tent is 7 metres long ond our friends motorhome 25 foot long. When we arrived there was limited choice of pitches and we ended up with 2 pitches next to each other only measuring 9 metres wide x 5 metres deep each. This meant we had to pitch our tent width ways as did our friends in the motorhome so not to block the road access. We had only inches of space between the front of our tent and the rear of their motorhome and just enough space to get the car on the pitch.

This was very annoying as some larger pitches around the park only had 2 man pup tents on them.

The staff in reception seemed very unhelpful when we put this to them, they knew what size units we were coming to stay in when we booked.

After 15 years of camping this site has the smallest pitches we have ever stayed on and we have camped at a lot of sites around the country.

All in all a beautiful well kept site, but the cramped pitches spoil it. Numbered allocated pitches would solve the problem.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynne baker 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from Cofton camping Park.

2 Adults, 2 Children 8 & 5.

What a fantastic site. Set in beautiful countryside, with great views from your pitch. It is all terraced so you are looking over everyone else.

Beautiful swimming pool, all landscaped and grassed all round for sunbathing (given the chance!)

Very clean toilets/shower blocks. Kept to a very high standard all the time. Never had to queue for a shower even though it was bank holiday.

Staff all very helpful & friendly.

2 brill pubs within 10-15 minutes walk(great food in both) well worth a walk.

The play areas & woodland walks for the kids were fantastic and thoroughly used by our 2. The only problem was getting them out!

All in all a brilliant site. No complaints at all.

Will definately be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jarheads 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely camp site. Top marks !

Reception: Very friendly and helpful staff. Open all day and early evening.

Toilets- Very, Very Clean, very spacious and lots of toilets available, there is even music playing.

Showers - Very clean - lots of them, very spacious (hairdryer available (at no cost)

Family Bathroom- Very clean and spacious - lovely big bath with shower over- baby changing facilities( you have to pay a 10.00 deposit for the use of the key for the duration of your stay)

Shop- Very good - ran low on the alchohol though. But caters for all your general needs.

Bar - Nice food available - and wide choice of lager/cider etc.

Childrens entertainment- Playground - pool - donkeys and alot of space to run around- GREAT !

The lakes are lovely to fish on even for the childrens using the whips and sweetcorn( they caught lots of fish)

Close to town centre and beach.

Will be going back for 2 weeks in summer - can not wait

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jul207 4 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay. The weather was kind to us with a few sunny days. An ideal family site with a playground and an assault course and a outdoor pool.(Which did have 2 ducks in residence)We stayed in the Orchard. The pitch did slope slightly, but nothing to complain about. At the time only seven other campers in this field.

Toilets/shower blocks were kept nice and clean. Plenty of electrical hook ups. Well equipped shop, but items didn't seem to show any prices. Assistant was helpful though.

Managed the woodland walk and the walk into Dawlish a few times. Up hill on the way back. Had a nice evening walk to the pub a few hundred yards away.

Dog exercise field nearby, but a bit on the steep side. The grass was quite long which made exercising the dog slightly difficult. Dog friendly beaches at Dawlish Warren, an area just past groyne number 3 and at Dawlish there was a dog friendly stretch too.
Definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonwwfc 2 reviews from this member

Excellant site could not fault it. We went 1st week in August and it was very busy. We asked for adjoining pitches and was told that we may struggle but they took us around the fields in any case to have a look. We did manage to get 2 pitches next to each other which was a bonus. The site is extremely clean and well laid out. It is in a very good location and only a short drive from Dawlish Warren. Starcross is within walking distance and has a few pubs serving very nice food.

All in all a lovely break and will almost definitely be visiting again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MOLUSC 12 reviews from this member

The weather was great when we arrived here for our 3 day stay,the kids made the most of this and jumped into the outdoor pool within an hour of arriving-they loved it.

The scenery surrounding the site is fantastic and there is loads for the kids to do on site(pool play areas,fishing)

The shop was well stocked and you can buy bait and some fishing tackle from reception.

There is a good takeaway on site if you have had enough of cooking or BBQing.Or you can try the bar (swan)for a decent meal,plenty for the kids to choose from as well.

Dawlish warren is not too far away and has a small fairground and a nice beach-there is also a good sized car park with plenty of spaces (easy to park the motorhome)

Dawlish is also a stones throw away and has a beach and plenty of boat trips leaving the jetty.

BEWARE THERE IS NO PARKING FOR MOTORHOMES-DO NOT TRY THE CARPARK NEAR THE RAILWAY STATION (even if a carpark attendent from another carpark suggests it is a large car park),you will find that it narrows the further you go down,and there is hardly any room to turn round,i struggled and had an inch each side,dont put yourself in a stressfull situation like this if you dont have to.

Anyway back to Cofton

The toilet block was spotless and the showers were nice and hot.

All in all one of the best sites I have visited.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 85janice 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for bank holiday week with our two children aged 2 and four who had a great time. It was a lovely week, we arrived bank holiday Monday and as many people had departed after the bank holiday weekend we were told to pitch our tent any where we liked. We chose the orchard which I would recommend as only tents were allowed, it is convenient for the excellant showers and toilet block which was always very clean.

Other reviews mentioned trouble with teenagers but we never witnessed any of this.

The swimming pools were a big hit and warm, the playgrounds were tidy but a little bit too old for our toddlers but they managed it. The chip shop had excellant fish and the restaurant food was good but very small portions.If you take a walk out of the gate at the top of the orchard the quiet road leads you to a little harbour and two good pubs, the children loved catching crabs as the tide came in.The shop is well stocked with friendly staff. Dawlish itself is very nice, Dawlish Warren much more commercial. A visit to Babbacombe beach is a must, only accessible by foot or rail car, very pretty with good facilities.I would highly recommend this site but I suspect in the height of the summer season early booking advisable.

Would return again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kwthfamily 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Cofton which we visited for our summer holiday. We chose the site after reading the reviews on here and we were not disapointed.
The site was very well organised and maintained. We were pleased with our pitch which was spacious and the views were lovely. All the facilities were within a very short walk.
The showers were very clean and always worked well with a good temperature, although the site was full we never had to queue once on the 8 mornings that we were there.
The pub/club on site was lovely, food was good, beer was good and entertainment was spot on.
The takeaway on site did a wide variety of food which was to a good quality.
My daughter absolutely loved the pool and for once it does actually look like it does in the brouchure. I don't think I have ever seen such a well looked after pool and surrounding area on a campsite before!
There were plently of playgrounds including an adventure one which we didn't make it to in the end.
The location was brilliant there is so much to see and do in this area for a young family.
There are two local pubs which are within easy walking distance which both do excellent food.
We really can't think of a bad thing to say about this site or about our holiday other than it went too quickly.
If you are looking for a good family site in this part of Devon we would highly recommend this one.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Light Infantry 9 reviews from this member

We spent an absolutely brilliant 10 Days on this site. I have travelled all over Europe in search of a good holiday and believe it or not we found the best one in the UK on this site. The amenities and facilities are first rate. The restaurant served excellent food and the open air pool was excellent. Every night there was a good quality turn on in the Families lounge with extra disco for kids and a Line dancing night and Karaoke night.

The pitches are well spaced out . We had a pitch right next to the Play area and Takeaway shop/games room/laundry/toilet block. The smells from the Takeaway was not noticeable (something which unneseccarily worried me when we were given the pitch), The play area is policed by Security at night and no noise was heard after 9pm.

The weather after the first day was 24 degrees and we just stayed on the site the whole time with no need to travel around for things to do.

I also broke my shoulder whilst on the site and the Site Manager and 1st Aider both offered me the greatest of customer care and nothing was too much for them. Ambulance was called, cash machine filled up so I could get cash to get back to the site from Exeter Hospital, sling applied by first aider.Nothing was too much for them.

Even though I broke my shoulder it did not spoil my holiday on this site. I would recommend it to anyone with kids for a Holiday it would be better than Spain or the South of France.Anytime. We met great couples we had a neighbours.

Something to mention was the Family Bathroom. For a fully 10 deposit for the key it allowed us as a family to do the necessary especially with the problem with my shoulder. It meant my wife could "Bed bath me in private" and very nice it was too.

AN EXCELLENT SITE, WELL RUN, FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF, 1ST CLASS AMENITIES AND FACILITIES. EXCELLENT PITCHES.WELL DONE COFTON

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizzie72 1 review from this member

Beautiful site,toilets were really clean and the showers,which even had music playing in them.Good shop on site and the swimming pool was lovely.Only drawback was we forgot our gas bottle and everywhere we priced they wanted 35 at least! The fish shop on site was great and reasonably priced.I would go there again.Lovely clean and quiet site.

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4343 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.1055