Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 192 Reviews
              9/10 from 192 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  192 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue hancock 3 reviews from this member

WOW what a beautiful site. Toilets, showers, all kept pristine. Dishwashing and launderette super. Reception staff could not have been friendlier. Pub on the small side but nevertheless super. Pool supervised well.
I don't really know what more to add other than a superbly manicured site. Everywhere was so clean and tidy not a blade of grass out of place and a credit to the owners and staff. Going back in September and October.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisnirene 11 reviews from this member

Our 5th visit to this site, and it remains a good site, with ample facilities for all. A heated pool, bar/restaurant, games room all on site and well maitained level pitches.

On arrival in June we were allowed to choose our own pitch location and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The toilets were cleaned early in the morning and were kept open throughout the day, even whilst being cleaned. I did notice a slight drop in standards of site cleanliness from previous years, for example the large wheelie bins remained unemptied throughout our stay, resulting in carrier bags of rubbish at the side of them for 2 days. For a large site I would expect a little more, especially out of season.

There are 2 pubs off site within 15 mins walk and both do excellent food ( the Ship is cheaper and just as good ! ) Overall, a good site but little things could be better, however I would return but out of season when its fairly quiet.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Drfje 8 reviews from this member

First time at this site and will certainly visit again. The site is to be recommended. Beautiful heated pool and sun area, very good on site shop and reasonable pricing. Bar a little small but well stocked and again fairly priced.

Fishing lakes are tranquil, well stocked and a beautiful place to relax. On site take away very good and childrens play facilities available. On our visit the pool was supervised and closed at 6pm.

The touring pitches are terraced and very generously spaced. VERY VERY limited hardstanding area for the size of site but don't let this put you off. The toilet blocks are within easy reach of all areas and two of the blocks have launderette facilities.

The toilet and shower blocks are very very clean and modern, even having piped music!.

My only criticism of the site is that a B road runs through the centre of the site, there is to be fair little or no traffic along this lane, however the brochure nor signage on site warns you of this, so be careful with young children and bicycles etc. Again DO NOT let this put you off the site, as stated I hardly saw any vehicles on this lane other than vehicles attending the site, but there is always the potential.

Overall a first class site within easy reach of beaches, pubs, take aways, amusements, but if you are just after rest and relaxation there is no need to go off site.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vodkacoke 2 reviews from this member

Top Barn Field on a Rally.

This is the 4th time back at Cofton and cannot fault it at all.

Weather couldnt be helped, but considering the state our field ended up in, the shower blocks were immaculately clean with piping hot water throughout the week.

Facilities are just second to none and definitely recommend Cofton and will definitely be back.

If in that top field mind, remember to take some ant powder - for some reason the little critters are in their hundreds from the minute you arrive.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ayersfamily 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a full week at Cofton with our family in our frame tent with 2 children and our friends in their Motorhome and dog.

This was our first visit to Cofton and South Devon. The site is very large with clean modern toilet blocks spaced around the park altough there was no hot water for showers in the morning on 2 occasions.

There are play areas around the park for the kids and a zip wire and assault course in the woods.

The park itself and swimming pool always looked spotless, tidy and clean and the on site shop was well stocked with essentials and gifts.

The takeaway had a good variety of food and the on site pub served a good varied menu - but a bit short for seating inside on a rainy evening as was the family entertainment lounge considering the campsite of this size.

The pitches are all mainly terraced - when we booked we asked about the pitch sizes and was told 10 metres, as our tent is 7 metres long ond our friends motorhome 25 foot long. When we arrived there was limited choice of pitches and we ended up with 2 pitches next to each other only measuring 9 metres wide x 5 metres deep each. This meant we had to pitch our tent width ways as did our friends in the motorhome so not to block the road access. We had only inches of space between the front of our tent and the rear of their motorhome and just enough space to get the car on the pitch.

This was very annoying as some larger pitches around the park only had 2 man pup tents on them.

The staff in reception seemed very unhelpful when we put this to them, they knew what size units we were coming to stay in when we booked.

After 15 years of camping this site has the smallest pitches we have ever stayed on and we have camped at a lot of sites around the country.

All in all a beautiful well kept site, but the cramped pitches spoil it. Numbered allocated pitches would solve the problem.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynne baker 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from Cofton camping Park.

2 Adults, 2 Children 8 & 5.

What a fantastic site. Set in beautiful countryside, with great views from your pitch. It is all terraced so you are looking over everyone else.

Beautiful swimming pool, all landscaped and grassed all round for sunbathing (given the chance!)

Very clean toilets/shower blocks. Kept to a very high standard all the time. Never had to queue for a shower even though it was bank holiday.

Staff all very helpful & friendly.

2 brill pubs within 10-15 minutes walk(great food in both) well worth a walk.

The play areas & woodland walks for the kids were fantastic and thoroughly used by our 2. The only problem was getting them out!

All in all a brilliant site. No complaints at all.

Will definately be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jarheads 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely camp site. Top marks !

Reception: Very friendly and helpful staff. Open all day and early evening.

Toilets- Very, Very Clean, very spacious and lots of toilets available, there is even music playing.

Showers - Very clean - lots of them, very spacious (hairdryer available (at no cost)

Family Bathroom- Very clean and spacious - lovely big bath with shower over- baby changing facilities( you have to pay a £10.00 deposit for the use of the key for the duration of your stay)

Shop- Very good - ran low on the alchohol though. But caters for all your general needs.

Bar - Nice food available - and wide choice of lager/cider etc.

Childrens entertainment- Playground - pool - donkeys and alot of space to run around- GREAT !

The lakes are lovely to fish on even for the childrens using the whips and sweetcorn( they caught lots of fish)

Close to town centre and beach.

Will be going back for 2 weeks in summer - can not wait

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jul207 4 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay. The weather was kind to us with a few sunny days. An ideal family site with a playground and an assault course and a outdoor pool.(Which did have 2 ducks in residence)We stayed in the Orchard. The pitch did slope slightly, but nothing to complain about. At the time only seven other campers in this field.

Toilets/shower blocks were kept nice and clean. Plenty of electrical hook ups. Well equipped shop, but items didn't seem to show any prices. Assistant was helpful though.

Managed the woodland walk and the walk into Dawlish a few times. Up hill on the way back. Had a nice evening walk to the pub a few hundred yards away.

Dog exercise field nearby, but a bit on the steep side. The grass was quite long which made exercising the dog slightly difficult. Dog friendly beaches at Dawlish Warren, an area just past groyne number 3 and at Dawlish there was a dog friendly stretch too.
Definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonwwfc 2 reviews from this member

Excellant site could not fault it. We went 1st week in August and it was very busy. We asked for adjoining pitches and was told that we may struggle but they took us around the fields in any case to have a look. We did manage to get 2 pitches next to each other which was a bonus. The site is extremely clean and well laid out. It is in a very good location and only a short drive from Dawlish Warren. Starcross is within walking distance and has a few pubs serving very nice food.

All in all a lovely break and will almost definitely be visiting again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MOLUSC 12 reviews from this member

The weather was great when we arrived here for our 3 day stay,the kids made the most of this and jumped into the outdoor pool within an hour of arriving-they loved it.

The scenery surrounding the site is fantastic and there is loads for the kids to do on site(pool play areas,fishing)

The shop was well stocked and you can buy bait and some fishing tackle from reception.

There is a good takeaway on site if you have had enough of cooking or BBQing.Or you can try the bar (swan)for a decent meal,plenty for the kids to choose from as well.

Dawlish warren is not too far away and has a small fairground and a nice beach-there is also a good sized car park with plenty of spaces (easy to park the motorhome)

Dawlish is also a stones throw away and has a beach and plenty of boat trips leaving the jetty.

BEWARE THERE IS NO PARKING FOR MOTORHOMES-DO NOT TRY THE CARPARK NEAR THE RAILWAY STATION (even if a carpark attendent from another carpark suggests it is a large car park),you will find that it narrows the further you go down,and there is hardly any room to turn round,i struggled and had an inch each side,dont put yourself in a stressfull situation like this if you dont have to.

Anyway back to Cofton

The toilet block was spotless and the showers were nice and hot.

All in all one of the best sites I have visited.

Previous     192 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4039 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1250