Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maggie57 9 reviews from this member

Just arrived back home after staying at this lovely site for a week. We were lucky enough to have a very good sized pitch on hardstanding. We were on the lower level and had lovely views of Little Mell Fell. The tents and tourers higher up on the site had the best views of Lake Ullswater and the surrounding area, but because of the wet weather it was quite muddy higher up on the grass pitches. The children's play area was very good and screened off by trees so that even the caravans nearest to the play area were not disturbed by any noise. The site bar was really 'old worldy' and very atmospheric with a roaring wood fire burning each night. The small site shop seemed to have the essential items that are needed by campers with big stores like Morrisons being not too far away in Penrith (about 7 miles). We would definitely recommend this site to anyone. There are numerous walks all around the area and the village of Pooley Bridge, which is only a short drive away (about 10 minutes) was very nice. There were several pubs there, a small convenience store with post office and two or three gift shops and an outdoor clothing and accessories shop. We went on a motor boat ride on the lake and had one of the cheapest pots of tea going (£1.00 for two people)at the boat hiring kiosk. We would definitely return to this beautiful site again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buttercupw 12 reviews from this member

In brief – An overpriced, understaffed site offering outdated inadequate facilities – Offering poor value for money.

I booked our visit to this ‘five star’ site expecting quality service and facilities. We were very disappointed. We have only ever stay on four and five star sites so we are able to make a clear comparison with other sites.

(i) The washing facilities were wholly inadequate for the number of people staying on the site. There is one toilet block, which quite frankly had seen better days and would benefit from a deep clean and replacement of the tired, outdated, broken equipment. By 8.30 am the paper towels had run out, the one bin in the ladies was full and the soap dispensers were either empty or running low and difficult to get soap from. The showers dispensed water so hot it was quite frankly uncomfortable. By 9.00 pm toilet paper was running low or out completely in some of the cubicles – we were told by one member of staff that she’d be filling them up all the time and that she ‘ couldn’t work 24/7’

(ii) The fees are too much for the facilities and services offered – much better value can and is found on other sites.

(iii) Emptying your waste water is a ridiculous carry on – you have to take it all the way to the bottom of the hill – depending on where you have been sited this can be some distance - and with a full and heavy container it can be uncomfortable too.

(iv) On arrival you have to book in at the site shop and if you arrive at the same time as others you will be in for a quiet a wait as they do not seem to have the staff to meet the demand of booking in and serving in the shop. There were times when the shop was shut and children were told to wait outside whilst staff took another customer to their pitch.

(v) Pitch size and steepness of pitch vary greatly – it’s a bit of a lottery.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joro 2 reviews from this member

My family and I (we have 2 young children) stayed here for a week. It was very enjoyable and family friendly - both kids loved the playground, and there was 3 family bathrooms - excellent for anyone with small kids! The weather was kind to us, also! I would recommend the site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colin15250 5 reviews from this member

We have just had a very enjoyable weekend here. The shop maybe small but there is everything needed for a meal, or shower if you forget anything.

The kids play area is super and we had to drag ours away from it to go for walks. Which there are plenty in this area and the shop has plenty of them for you to peruse at your leisure.

The shower block has probably the hottest showers I have ever had on a camp site (or even at home).

The only small niggle was the slight slope we were on, but oh well mustn't grumble, as all the other things made up for it, especially the pub.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tabs-R-us 7 reviews from this member

We filled in the booking sheet and sent it off complete with the size of tent.

We also asked for electric hook up and paid extra for a flat pitch.

No problem there.

However!

The flat pitch with hook ups are mainly gravel, our tent would not fit on the pitch provided due to the site being designed in stepped terraces. Eventually after a wonder round with the staff we eventually managed to squeeze onto a separate terrace. Fortunately the new addition of the tent footprint prevented damaged our groundsheet from the stones.

The slight slope can be quite bad in places but the higher up the hill you go the flatter and better the view (but no hook up!) If you don’t have a good tent, being exposed to the elements up on the hill may be a big factor when the weather turns.

This may paint a bad picture BUT ITS NOT

When the staff realised their mistake and hadn’t looked at the size of the pitch we required they couldnt do enough until we were sorted. It is a lovely site, quiet by name and quiet by nature we only spent 3 nights here but by the time we left we had gotten to know the staff quite well.

The bar and beer are both fantastic although it did remind me of the slaughtered lamb pub in American weawolf in London

Stick to the Paths!) Where did they get that bear skin and other stuff?

The shop is old style “So what” still had everything you needed. The toilet and shower block could do with a face lift “So what” it didn’t matter, for me it just seemed to work I will defiantly go back you cant beat being made welcome from good staff.

There was a good play area for the kids to one side of the site

The website and shop also issues local walks they are hand drawn and fun to use instead of the regular maps if you go for the 8 miller I do recommend the detour to the pub mentioned on the map

Very good pub lunch

Other pubs!

There is a Taxi service and the numbers are in the phone box if you want to pop down to Pooley Bridge for a few pints etc. But, get your hand deep into your pocket. The cabs come from Penrith and if you want to travel 3 mille you will have to pay for the entire trip (from Penrith). If you don’t mind the extra money ensure you book the journey back at the same time as you will not get a cab back unless the driver knows he’s going to get the full whack. You certainly don’t want to walk it.

Better still Don’t bother and stay in the campsite pub

There is nothing fancy about this campsite but you do feel comfortable here with most of the folk having stayed before. It may be a few pounds more but it’s worth it. Also, due to its solitude and 2200hrs curfew you won’t get noisy gangs of youths up all night.

The site over the road!

As my wife and I enjoy our tent tour checking out what other folk have, “you know what I mean we all do it”

We thought we would look over the road at the other site. Well, if you can sleep on a steep hill this is the place for you jeepers! Don’t be late getting a pitch here or you’ve had it. Enough said.

Marks out of 10 from us 8 / 10

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Val A 27 reviews from this member

I'd agree with some of the comments here - the site is a little steep, but not so bad we've been on, the facilities are a little dated, but I've seen much worse at other sites, and I can imagine it being noisy in peak season because of the 'bowl' effect of the surroundings. It was quiet when we were there, though.

Perhaps what's not been mentioned, certainly in the recent reviews, is that it's possible to get a bargain pitch here, by using Camping Cheques. The site accepts CCs between 1st September and 19th December for those who want to go this year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mackenzie4 11 reviews from this member

On the plus side this site is in a lovely spot with beautiful views (lots of fell walking if that's your thing), a great play park for the kids and a cosy bar, however, the touring park is on a precariously steep slope, the facilities are sadly dated and inadequate and the motorhome service points poor. At £28 per night it is over priced and, unfortunately, it's name 'The Quiet Site' is a bit of a misnomer with kids screaming and running wild about the park and adults talking loudly 'til all hours!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debsngeorge 1 review from this member

We would recommend this site to anyone who just wants to chill out we could not fault it. The toilet block was ok, although I never got to use the showers because I used the family bathroom which was very well equipped, it even had a potty for younger kids. The staff were very helpful suggesting places to go and visit. The pub was so cozy with a very friendly atmosphere. The shop was little but had everything you needed. We will be booking again for next year.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevmed 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to this site and what a fantastic time we had. The shop was very well stocked although small. We never had to queue for the showers which always had hot water. The bar is second to none although if you want a place around the log fire you have to go in early. There was plenty for the kids to do with the large play area which had an adventure playground on it. There was also a games room which the kids used in the evening where they would meet up with other kids that they had made friends with.

On our first visit to this site last year we did the walk around Little Mel but this visit we had planned to do the Aira Force walk. We were not disappointed, the Aira Force walk provides some excellent views over Ullswater and is a must, the waterfalls themselves were beautiful. We did the full 8 mile walk with a stop off at a pub I think was called the Royal for a well earned drink.

Pooley Bridge is only short drive away and has a few shops and a couple of pubs that served food.

We are planning another visit in August before the kids go back to school, we can't wait!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VangoMan72 2 reviews from this member

This is a superb campsite in a great location. The small bar on site is beautiful with reasonable bar prices and a very cosy feel to it. However I did have some reservations.

The site claims to have a 'No Groups' policy and a ban on ball games in the tent field (kids playground is about 30 seconds away in a private play area), but despite this there were kids playing football and cricket between the tents in what was a very busy main field. Given that the field slopes slightly meant that any ball games end up hitting our tent. There was also a section of family groups who were up all hours talking. There seemed to be no evidence of these site rules being enforced, and sadly it didn't live up to its name of The Quiet Site.

The toilet facilities were also inadequate for the number of people present.

We may have been unlucky as we did go in the half term holidays. We will definitely return though during a quieter time when there are fewer kids, and we will be sure to book one of the level standings on the edge of the field for a bit more privacy, rather than having to go onto the sloping centre.

Overall a great location - just be sure to go outside of the kids holidays!

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over £1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6585 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1836