Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandy163 8 reviews from this member

What a great site!

WEATHER DURING STAY - Mixed. Some very rainy days and some lovely sunny ones. Just to give you an idea of the weather as it does affect the conditions on site.

APPROACH - We, as advised, took the second lane (not the one by the pub) to approach the site. It's a long haul up a hill along a lane which at the very end becomes single track but nothing to worry about. Have been up worse! Sister accidentally went up first lane but arrived unscathed. In fact I would say that the first route is less steep as it's less of a direct route although it is a lot narrower. Cars leaving the site are asked not to turn left leaving the site thereby reducing the likelihood of people meeting you head on but some do ignore this. On the second route you pass two other sites on the way up the hill The Ullswater and The Cove which is directly opposite the entrance to The Quiet Site.

PITCH - We had a lovely pitch that had the benefit of the evening sun but by 7pm it had gone behind Lttle Mell Fell. Decent sized pitches for the tourers although some were smaller than ours. Ours benefited from being on gravel but the tents seemed to be on grass and from walking around the site the higher pitches were in a sorry state. However, the wardens were out each day with grit and a shovel trying their best to keep on top of it when it had been particularly wet, fencing off some areas completely. The pitches were in a tiered effect and some cars parked in the pull in below. This is not a huge site as we had expected and so we were pleasantly surprised.

VIEWS - from the upper pitches which had the morning sun you could see the hills the other side of lake Ullswater. From the bottom pitches you were looking up to Little Mell Fell. Lovely!

PLAY AREA - Fantastic although mushy when it had rained. Swing rope across from one raised platform to the other. Climbing nets, pipe which I'm reliably informed a crawl through led to the playhouse. Lots of room to play. Hardly saw the children in the mornings before we went out and once we came back. They were either on the bikes with their new friends on the tarmac access roads on the site, in the games room or on the huge play area.

PUB - Lovely. Very rustic. Our youngest was a bit put off by the animal heads and skins hung everywhere but soon got used to it. We were lucky enough to get seats right next to the huge open fire but only because we got there within minutes of opening. Families go to play cards, chess etc and their dogs are welcome. There's an area upstairs where children aren't allowed and a play room for small children on the other side upstairs. Down the corridor is a small play room with table hockey £1 and table tennis table where you provide the ball and there's a football table too. Behind this is a TV room though we never saw anyone use it. The pub was very popular and had a nice atmosphere. The site was quiet after 11pm if not before.

TOILETS/SHOWERS - There were plenty of nice toilets and showers and they were cleaned regularly. There were several sinks with large mirrors too. Better still were the family bathrooms which always seemed to be empty. They were large with sink, loo, bath, baby bath, potty, step, toys and floor standing towel rail. You'd easily take a buggy/pram in with you and two or three children. They were always immaculate with plenty of hot water.

SHOP - small but had practically everything you needed and often open past the 6pm closing time due to demand. Nice pocket money priced toys and games for the children there too.

AREA - Fantastic. Our first visit to the Lakes since we were small and this is definitely the area to go to. We hired a boat on Ullswater from Pooley Bridge and the scenery is breathtaking. Pooley Bridge is just down the road and is a pretty little village with food/camping/souvenier shops and pubs although the large one we thought looked the nicest with lots of hanging baskets went into liquidation while we were there.

Bowness on Winderemere was awful. We tried in vain to park and resorted to the park and ride we'd passed nearly two miles away. We parked, paid the £6 for the few hours we expected to be there then found there was no park and ride and had to walk. Each bus stop we passed said 'sorry no bus stops on this route at present'. Once into Bowness we had to navigate crossing the road where three roads meet and it was nigh on impossible. We hired a boat (as you do) on Windermere but it wasn't half as nice as Ullswater. The men we hired from obviously hated their jobs and were really quite rude. It was that bad we had to laugh after we'd left the jetty. Back on tera firma we paid £2 for a tray of chips which the swans harassed us for. At ten pence a chip we put up quite a defence I can tell you. We shopped at the Tesco Express then walked the couple of miles back in driving rain to our car. What a cheek £6 for parking that far from the town.

The drive to Windermere is spectacular across 'The Struggle' a series of 20% and 25% hills. We also drove to Derwent and some other lakes whose names escape me to the North east of Ullswater and that drive was better still.

Aira Force is lovely and magical and there's plenty of walks from the site including that one although due to hubbies chest infection that day we parked below Aira Force to shorten the walk - still a hike though.

The Bird of Prey centre was a big hit especially with our youngest who wanted to stay there forever and he got to handle an eagle owl too.

The Rheged Centre on the road to Penrith was a good day out. You pay £1.50 for unlimited entry to the wooden play area which is large and incorporates a small children's area. It had a climbing wall, rope climbing, huge curly slides and fortresses etc. Inside the Rheged Centre are small shops selling jewellery, local produce, old fashioned sweets, camping equipment, toys, books, cafes workshops, art etc. The building is very organic set on different levels and had a fascinating free 15 min show of the history of the Lakes which we found very interesting. Entry is free but you can pay £6 a person to watch a film there but we didn't and you could pay the same for a GPS hunt the day we went which looked fun but we'd missed the start time.

PARKING - We're members of the National Trust so were able to park at Aira Force for free. We did pass other NT car parks but not where we wanted to park. Expect to pay above the odds to park anywhere and to queue for a space - in August anyway. Lots of very small free laybys next to Ullswater which we would have made use of if the weather had been hotter but then I suppose they'd be full. From these laybys you do have direct access to put a canoe etc on the water though or to take a dip.

WILDLIFE/ENVIRONMENT - The lack of light pollution on this environmentally friendly site meant excellent star watching at night with the owls hooting eerily above. Bird of prey and small birds could be seen along with rabbits. The smell of the wood burner in the evening was nice and bird boxes are everywhere.

Would we go again. Yes.

THINGS THEY COULD IMPROVE ON

- Marked pitches so that everyone gets the same size. Perhaps low indigenous hedging could separate the pitches whose roots could help absorb some of the water from the ground.

- Drainage work on the upper pitches and play area.

Everything else was great. Very clean. Wardens very friendly and knowledgeable. Great atmosphere. Fantastic spacious play area. Highly recommended, will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maggie57 9 reviews from this member

Just arrived back home after staying at this lovely site for a week. We were lucky enough to have a very good sized pitch on hardstanding. We were on the lower level and had lovely views of Little Mell Fell. The tents and tourers higher up on the site had the best views of Lake Ullswater and the surrounding area, but because of the wet weather it was quite muddy higher up on the grass pitches. The children's play area was very good and screened off by trees so that even the caravans nearest to the play area were not disturbed by any noise. The site bar was really 'old worldy' and very atmospheric with a roaring wood fire burning each night. The small site shop seemed to have the essential items that are needed by campers with big stores like Morrisons being not too far away in Penrith (about 7 miles). We would definitely recommend this site to anyone. There are numerous walks all around the area and the village of Pooley Bridge, which is only a short drive away (about 10 minutes) was very nice. There were several pubs there, a small convenience store with post office and two or three gift shops and an outdoor clothing and accessories shop. We went on a motor boat ride on the lake and had one of the cheapest pots of tea going (£1.00 for two people)at the boat hiring kiosk. We would definitely return to this beautiful site again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buttercupw 12 reviews from this member

In brief – An overpriced, understaffed site offering outdated inadequate facilities – Offering poor value for money.

I booked our visit to this ‘five star’ site expecting quality service and facilities. We were very disappointed. We have only ever stay on four and five star sites so we are able to make a clear comparison with other sites.

(i) The washing facilities were wholly inadequate for the number of people staying on the site. There is one toilet block, which quite frankly had seen better days and would benefit from a deep clean and replacement of the tired, outdated, broken equipment. By 8.30 am the paper towels had run out, the one bin in the ladies was full and the soap dispensers were either empty or running low and difficult to get soap from. The showers dispensed water so hot it was quite frankly uncomfortable. By 9.00 pm toilet paper was running low or out completely in some of the cubicles – we were told by one member of staff that she’d be filling them up all the time and that she ‘ couldn’t work 24/7’

(ii) The fees are too much for the facilities and services offered – much better value can and is found on other sites.

(iii) Emptying your waste water is a ridiculous carry on – you have to take it all the way to the bottom of the hill – depending on where you have been sited this can be some distance - and with a full and heavy container it can be uncomfortable too.

(iv) On arrival you have to book in at the site shop and if you arrive at the same time as others you will be in for a quiet a wait as they do not seem to have the staff to meet the demand of booking in and serving in the shop. There were times when the shop was shut and children were told to wait outside whilst staff took another customer to their pitch.

(v) Pitch size and steepness of pitch vary greatly – it’s a bit of a lottery.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joro 2 reviews from this member

My family and I (we have 2 young children) stayed here for a week. It was very enjoyable and family friendly - both kids loved the playground, and there was 3 family bathrooms - excellent for anyone with small kids! The weather was kind to us, also! I would recommend the site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colin15250 5 reviews from this member

We have just had a very enjoyable weekend here. The shop maybe small but there is everything needed for a meal, or shower if you forget anything.

The kids play area is super and we had to drag ours away from it to go for walks. Which there are plenty in this area and the shop has plenty of them for you to peruse at your leisure.

The shower block has probably the hottest showers I have ever had on a camp site (or even at home).

The only small niggle was the slight slope we were on, but oh well mustn't grumble, as all the other things made up for it, especially the pub.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tabs-R-us 7 reviews from this member

We filled in the booking sheet and sent it off complete with the size of tent.

We also asked for electric hook up and paid extra for a flat pitch.

No problem there.

However!

The flat pitch with hook ups are mainly gravel, our tent would not fit on the pitch provided due to the site being designed in stepped terraces. Eventually after a wonder round with the staff we eventually managed to squeeze onto a separate terrace. Fortunately the new addition of the tent footprint prevented damaged our groundsheet from the stones.

The slight slope can be quite bad in places but the higher up the hill you go the flatter and better the view (but no hook up!) If you don’t have a good tent, being exposed to the elements up on the hill may be a big factor when the weather turns.

This may paint a bad picture BUT ITS NOT

When the staff realised their mistake and hadn’t looked at the size of the pitch we required they couldnt do enough until we were sorted. It is a lovely site, quiet by name and quiet by nature we only spent 3 nights here but by the time we left we had gotten to know the staff quite well.

The bar and beer are both fantastic although it did remind me of the slaughtered lamb pub in American weawolf in London

Stick to the Paths!) Where did they get that bear skin and other stuff?

The shop is old style “So what” still had everything you needed. The toilet and shower block could do with a face lift “So what” it didn’t matter, for me it just seemed to work I will defiantly go back you cant beat being made welcome from good staff.

There was a good play area for the kids to one side of the site

The website and shop also issues local walks they are hand drawn and fun to use instead of the regular maps if you go for the 8 miller I do recommend the detour to the pub mentioned on the map

Very good pub lunch

Other pubs!

There is a Taxi service and the numbers are in the phone box if you want to pop down to Pooley Bridge for a few pints etc. But, get your hand deep into your pocket. The cabs come from Penrith and if you want to travel 3 mille you will have to pay for the entire trip (from Penrith). If you don’t mind the extra money ensure you book the journey back at the same time as you will not get a cab back unless the driver knows he’s going to get the full whack. You certainly don’t want to walk it.

Better still Don’t bother and stay in the campsite pub

There is nothing fancy about this campsite but you do feel comfortable here with most of the folk having stayed before. It may be a few pounds more but it’s worth it. Also, due to its solitude and 2200hrs curfew you won’t get noisy gangs of youths up all night.

The site over the road!

As my wife and I enjoy our tent tour checking out what other folk have, “you know what I mean we all do it”

We thought we would look over the road at the other site. Well, if you can sleep on a steep hill this is the place for you jeepers! Don’t be late getting a pitch here or you’ve had it. Enough said.

Marks out of 10 from us 8 / 10

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Val A 28 reviews from this member

I'd agree with some of the comments here - the site is a little steep, but not so bad we've been on, the facilities are a little dated, but I've seen much worse at other sites, and I can imagine it being noisy in peak season because of the 'bowl' effect of the surroundings. It was quiet when we were there, though.

Perhaps what's not been mentioned, certainly in the recent reviews, is that it's possible to get a bargain pitch here, by using Camping Cheques. The site accepts CCs between 1st September and 19th December for those who want to go this year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mackenzie4 11 reviews from this member

On the plus side this site is in a lovely spot with beautiful views (lots of fell walking if that's your thing), a great play park for the kids and a cosy bar, however, the touring park is on a precariously steep slope, the facilities are sadly dated and inadequate and the motorhome service points poor. At £28 per night it is over priced and, unfortunately, it's name 'The Quiet Site' is a bit of a misnomer with kids screaming and running wild about the park and adults talking loudly 'til all hours!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debsngeorge 1 review from this member

We would recommend this site to anyone who just wants to chill out we could not fault it. The toilet block was ok, although I never got to use the showers because I used the family bathroom which was very well equipped, it even had a potty for younger kids. The staff were very helpful suggesting places to go and visit. The pub was so cozy with a very friendly atmosphere. The shop was little but had everything you needed. We will be booking again for next year.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevmed 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to this site and what a fantastic time we had. The shop was very well stocked although small. We never had to queue for the showers which always had hot water. The bar is second to none although if you want a place around the log fire you have to go in early. There was plenty for the kids to do with the large play area which had an adventure playground on it. There was also a games room which the kids used in the evening where they would meet up with other kids that they had made friends with.

On our first visit to this site last year we did the walk around Little Mel but this visit we had planned to do the Aira Force walk. We were not disappointed, the Aira Force walk provides some excellent views over Ullswater and is a must, the waterfalls themselves were beautiful. We did the full 8 mile walk with a stop off at a pub I think was called the Royal for a well earned drink.

Pooley Bridge is only short drive away and has a few shops and a couple of pubs that served food.

We are planning another visit in August before the kids go back to school, we can't wait!

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3445 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0977
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec