Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
              8/10 from 99 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 85 to 90                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RHC8 1 review from this member

Beautiful location, friendly staff, exceptional toilet & shower facilities. We return time after time to Luss Campsite it's one of the best for peace and breathtaking scenery. A short 5 minute walk into 'Take The High Road Village' Luss for morning coffee or lunch at the hotel.
We've already booked to visit 3 times in 2008 but this number WILL rise as we love this site so much.
The downside - the midges (but Avons Skin So Soft will sort them out).

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BORCIC 5 reviews from this member

In our 18months of motorhoming this is by far the best site we have visited location wise. Right on the banks of Loch Lomond and a short walk to Luss, there isn't much in Luss apart from the usual gift shops,but thats the attraction. The village shop sells most things (although if you run out of wine is a little expensive) and one pub. Showers on site were fantastic. The only drawback was the fence on the beach at either side of the site, this meant you couldn't walk into Luss on the beach you had to go round but we were cheeky and went down the side of the hotel.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dsfbeds 4 reviews from this member

Great location! Very poor site, I am a CCC member and was very dissapointed with the standard at this site. Stayed for two weeks August and September and toilets ranged from dirty to at times unuseable. Poor all round experience and of course the 'midges had a field day'.

Sorry CCC must do better !

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fetaolive 3 reviews from this member

Thisis a C&CC site and not wishing to cause any offence, our past experience as non-members has not been particularly positive. Not here though- we were directed to a loch side spot and permitted to pitch up our tent. The campsite is beautiful, with roving views of Loch Lomond and the surrounding mountains.
The toilet/shower block is spotless, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the reception area sells a few essentials. The nearby village of Luss is only a short walk away and has a great pub serving lovely food. One word of caution - midges - we were recommended an Avon product to help keep them at bay, and found the said product in the shop at Luss (on car park). Absolute blessing as nothing else worked. Other than the midges, the wildlife was wonderful.
We only stayed two nights as we were travelling back to Manchester but would have happily stayed for much longer.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cocteau 8 reviews from this member

Site is in a great location running along the banks of Loch Lomond on the opposite banks to Ben Lomond.  Short walk into very pretty village of Luss.  Ronnie really friendly and helpful.  Anne could do with smiling and at least appear to be making you welcome particularly when they are taking £24 a night for a family tent!  Facilities are average, shower drove me around the bend as they have those push timer taps which last about ten seconds however if you make use of your elbow and back it is possible to keep the shower running constantly, having said that the water was hot.
 
The only real thing that spoiled our stay was the noise from traffic on the A82 which runs the length of the campsite.  Our tent was at the loch's edge in a great spot but the traffic was unrelenting even at one in the morning. Don't underestimate this road as it's one of the main roads north from Glasgow.  Sadly despite the brilliant location we won't be back because of this.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jules1962 12 reviews from this member

On arrival at the site we were shown to our pitch (via a road full off pot holes) by the assistant warden who was very helpful, but after numerous attempts to level the caravan on a pitch that was water logged I went back to the reception & complained and we were going to go away but decided to persevere and managed to get the caravan somewhere near level using chocks & ramps.
We put the awning up after my partner had made lots of holes in the grass to try to drain the water away.
 
Well the next day could not have been so different, we woke to glorious sunshine and the site dried out really quickly.
 
This is a lovely site with the most powerful showers I have ever used, I just feel that the Caravan & camping club are not giving their members the facilities they expect as the one set of toilets / showers I used furthest away from reception need updating and also money needs spending on the road through the site as the pot holes are really bad and our car exhaust took a battering a few times & also more hard standing pitches are needed as the grass gets so sodden that the warden had to tape off quite a few pitches which means they are losing revenue.
 
Apart from those few things you could not ask for a more idyllic location right on the loch.
 
Also highly recommended is the takeaway Chillies in Balloch superb food and the prices are so good.
I would return to this site if improvements were made.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 85 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3728 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0488