Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
              8/10 from 90 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 85 to 90                 Previous 6         Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lpeedy 24 reviews from this member

This site is in a fantastic location on the shores of Loch Lomond.  We were lucky to be given one of the pitches right on the shoreside so we permanently had a stunning view.  The facilities are spotless and the grounds are very well maintained. It is only a short walk to Luss itself which is a very pretty little village.  The pub there does excellent food.  This site is pricier than other sites in the area, although I guess you are paying for the Lochside location.  The only downside is the noise from the road and from the hotel which is very popular for weddings throughout the week.  We mentioned the hotel noise to the owner, as it did go on until quite late, and he said it was a problem that they were having but unfortunately could do nothing about.  I think this only affected the pitches at the entrance to the site so you should be ok further down.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Widget 5 reviews from this member

Beautiful site with extremely clean facilities right on the shore, so if you have one take your canoe/kayak! The hotel next door is very nice if expensive, unfortunately there was a fire while we were there celebrating hubby's birthday so we had to eat at the Colquhoun Arms hotel in the Village which was absolutely fantastic! Food brill and only came to £30 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

The only bad point I can think of is that the site is right next to the main Balloch - Crianlarich road so there was quite a bit of road noise. However, the noise seemed to quieten down after 11pm and we slept soundly all night. It was lovely to peep out of the windows in the morning and watch the rabbits hopping around outside. Oh, and if you get chance visit the Sealife centre at Balloch - a great day out!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kahns 38 reviews from this member

This is one of the best C&C club sites we've stayed on. It's members only which probably indicates how popular it is.
 
The location is slap-bang on top of Loch Lomond. We were on a completely level hard standing close to the shore. Unfortunately, the trees blocked-out most of the views over the loch and the Trossachs beyond, but a walk of 20 yards took us onto a small private beach.
 
Facilities rank among the best. The toilet block was immaculate - clinically clean, modern and wonderfully maintained.The shower is possibly the best I've ever had away from home - it's like a power-shower. Mops are available; it's a pity a lot of campers don't know how to use them - some need training in camp site etiquette and usage. All a motor-homer needs is available and easily accessible. Everywhere is smart, tidy, pretty and lovingly tended.
 
And we didn't feel that we were regimented in neat lines. The site is subtly divided into areas and we had a good mix of caravans, motor-homes and tents. Mobile signals were pretty good; our TV couldn't pick up a good picture so reception is a little dubious, but who cares?
 
The road is a little noisy, but that settles down later in the evening and didn't spoil our stay at all. The wardens were excellent, very helpful and friendly.
 
A fantastic site for a longer stay or as a stop-over to and from the Highlands.

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fleck2 8 reviews from this member

This is a beautifull site right on the banks of loch lomond. The heated showers are nice. The hotel next door is great for a drink at night, there's also a friendly pub in luss village, take a torch though. we only stayed one night but will be returning this summer

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Nealo 1 review from this member

Situated right next to the waterfront of Loch Lomond - Stunning views. Very tidy site with very clean toilets/showers etc.Small shop on site selling the essentials - including some fantastic spray to keep those pesky midgies away (recommended by the locals). Village of Luss is beautiful, with gorgeous houses and a pier. Reasonably priced. Will definitely go back.

Reviewer: Netherleeman 1 review from this member

April 2004
This was our first trip of the year. A great start too. This is a most beautiful site owned by the Camping and Caravanning Club.

We are not members, but you don't have to be for tents. I believe caravanners must be members or join though.

This site is in the most idyllic location right on the shore of Loch Lomond looking across the Loch to the majestic Ben Lomond.

It is the cleanest site you can imagine. Very well run and extremely friendly. The toilets and showers were immaculate.

As there are no static caravans and with it being not too big, it has a really nice feel to it. It is only 15 minutes up the road from Balloch where there are many visitor attractions and is adjacent to the village of Luss (where 'Take the High Road' was filmed).

A super family site - with the best views in the world!

Previous     90 Review in total, now showing 85 to 90     Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5640 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0430