Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 94 Reviews
              8/10 from 94 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 85 to 90                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jules1962 12 reviews from this member

On arrival at the site we were shown to our pitch(viaaroadfull off potholes)by the assistant warden who was very helpful, but after numerous attempts to level the caravan on a pitch that was water logged I went back to the reception & complained and we were going to go away but decided to persevere and managed to get the caravan somewhere near level using chocks & ramps.
We put the awning up after my partner had made lots of holes in the grass to try to drain the water away.

Well the next day could not have been so different, we woke to glorious sunshine and the site dried out really quickly.

This is a lovely site with the most powerful showers I have ever used, I just feel that the Caravan & camping club are not giving their members the facilities they expect as the one set of toilets / showers I used furthest away from reception need updating and also money needs spending on the road through the site as the pot holes are really bad and our car exhaust took a battering a few times & also more hard standing pitches are needed as the grass gets so sodden that the warden had to tape off quite a few pitches which means they are losing revenue.

Apart from thosefew things you could not ask for a more idyllic location right on the loch.

Also highly recommended is the takeaway Chillies in Balloch superb food and the prices are so good.
I would return to this site if improvements were made.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kellogs 3 reviews from this member

Second time staying at this site. The warden couldn't be more helpful when we arrived and found us a fantastic location right on the edge of the loch. The toilets/showers are fine, very clean and always lots of hot water. The site is just a short walk into Luss which has a good pub for food. The site itself if quiet and peaceful with views which make camping worthwhile.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parsnip519 1 review from this member

We stayed for 5 nights at easter this year and it was fantastic. The facilities are clean and very well kept, and the showers are fantastic for warming up and very powerful. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the area is fantastic. This is the first campsite my partner and I camped at 3 years ago and we return as much as we can as it is one of the best sites we've been to.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oakydoaky 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 days. It was everything I expected. We are members of the Camping and Caravan Club and had pre-booked a site. When we arrived the site was fully booked, I'm so glad we had already booked.
The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lovely site near to the loch shore. The kids had great fun skimming stones and paddling. Pity about the midges but to be expected and we were well prepared with sprays and concoctions.
Toilets were kept to CCC standards, spotless and brilliant power showers. Perhaps could do with more water taps around thepark.
Children's playpark was basic enough, but at least there was one.
Luss is lovely and quaint. The village pub was great, family friendly and the food wasdelicious. And reasonable.
Balloch is the nearest town, about 15 minutes by car. Good supermarket, petrol,and base for cruises along the Loch.
We had a lovely relaxing time here. Back to nature and felt 'chilled out' after a couple of days. Next time we are in the area we will definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lpeedy 24 reviews from this member

This site is in a fantastic location on the shores of Loch Lomond. We were lucky to be given one of the pitches right on the shoreside so we permanently had a stunning view. The facilities are spotless and the grounds are very well maintained. It is only a short walk to Luss itself which is a very pretty little village. The pub there does excellent food. This site is pricier than other sites in the area, although I guess you are paying for the Lochside location. The only downside is the noise from the road and from the hotel which is very popular for weddings throughout the week. We mentioned the hotel noise to the owner, as it did go on until quite late, and he said it was a problem that they were having but unfortunately could do nothing about. I think this only affected the pitches at the entrance to the site so you should be ok further down.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Widget 5 reviews from this member

Beautiful site with extremely clean facilities right on the shore, so if you have one take your canoe/kayak! The hotel next door is very nice if expensive, unfortunately there was a fire while we were there celebrating hubby's birthday so we had to eat at the Colquhoun Arms hotel in the Village which was absolutely fantastic! Food brill and only came to 30 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

The only bad point I can think of is that the site is right next to the main Balloch - Crianlarich road so there was quite a bit of road noise. However, the noise seemed to quieten down after 11pm and we slept soundly all night. It was lovely to peep out of the windows in the morning and watch the rabbits hopping around outside. Oh, and if you get chance visit the Sealife centre at Balloch - a great day out!

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 85 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5807 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508