Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Traciem 1 review from this member

Having returned last night from a 2 week stay at Gwithian, I can confirm I agree with most reviews of this wonderful site! Clair & Mike are the most accommodating, friendly, funny and helpful people you could ask to meet. On arrival at the site, they allowed us to pitch early, explained everything, gave us so much information on everything you could possibly wish to know. The weather for the past fortnight has been mixed but we braved the storms and the winds and now a day later I am home and on my 12th load of washing day dreaming of where I would prefer to be and the reality of work again tomorrow.
Gwithain Farm offers a central location to most areas of Cornwall, a short drive to St.Ives and such like, the beaches are outstanding and fantastic for body boarding, the visiting food vans and location of a nice friendly pub opposite makes the whole thing more inviting! Whilst on holiday we looked around at other local sites and found absolutely nothing compared! So much so that whilst we were there we rebooked for 2009 and Clair honoured us with this years prices! The shower blocks are huge, spacious cubicles and in 14 days not once did I have anything less than hot running water!Even a bath and family room too!

We spent our holiday with 2 sets of friends all located by Clair on adjacent pitches and all of us have rebooked for next year. I cannot compliment this site enough and would highly recommend a visit by anyone who wants a nice relaxed holiday in this area of Cornwall. Keep up the good work Clair and Mike and your hard working crew, you are doing a fantastic job and before I forget the Cream Teas were to die for. See you next year. Unless I can get back sooner of course. Tracie & The gang!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Big Yin 1 review from this member

Just home from a two week break at one of the best sites we have been too (if only the weather had been kinder). The shower block is superb, cleaned regularly but on the down side the lack of water pressure at peak times made showering difficult. The rest of the site is very well laid out with a central area for games on the top field.

The beach is only a short 10 minute walk away (downhill there - but uphill on the way back and after spending hours on the beach seems longer!).

The owners could not do enough for you any information you needed was readily given. There are also three freezers available for you to freeze ice packs plus there was another freezer with some ice packs that you borrow for the day free of charge. A great idea was the notice board with information on regarding weather, surf and local attractions which was updated daily plus in the window of the shop was a 5 day local weather forecast which helped to plan our time. There is plenty to do and see in the surrounding area.

We loved our time so much we have already booked to return next year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JulesE 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a great week at Gwithian Farm. It was a last minute booking and so pleased we made a great choice. Weather was super, that naturally helped but from arrival Clair and her husband were very helpful and friendly. Campsite: Excellent. Facilities: Superb - ample toilets, showers all spotless. Great family bathroom allowing us to get clean with the boys rather than cramming into a cubicle [although cubicles at this site are fab - really large!}

On site shop: well stocked and all you need in an emergency but lots of useful stuff like beach equipment, maps and general great advice. Grounds & Pitch - spacious and superbly manicured. General child safety: Good, there is good space away from internal roads which proved a good choice for us.

We would highly recommend and most definitely plan to visit again. A top notch site!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Country Girl 21 reviews from this member

OK I give in.

We had 10 days here of changeable weather and have been back home for about 3 weeks. The problem is I keep going off in daydreams about the area - it's really got under my skin.

There are several campsites along the road between Hayle and Gwithian but they are well screened and I would imagine they cater for all tastes. If you like doing beach stuff and like a well run, spacious, laid back site with no club / amusements then this site could well be for you.

It's as though Claire visited other sites and took away the good ideas and incorporated them in her own place, there are lots of thoughtful touches which make for a great holiday. They've done a good job here and are really helpful and friendly. When you book in she bombards you with local info, places to visit and eat etc.

The beaches are truly fantastic and we walked the dogs along them at 6 in the morning and 10 at night - there was just usually us and a few hardy surf dudes around, this is the bit I'm really missing!

The area isn't commercialised which is what we liked and it was really dog friendly. The other surprising bit is that my daughter who needs a gluten free diet was well catered for in the various pubs / cafes we visited.

If you like car boots there's a great one behind the M&S food place on Sundays.

Not a cheap campsite but well worth it.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: HIER 3 reviews from this member

My husband, my 7 year old son and myself have just returned from a week at this campsite and will definitely be returning asap!

On arrival we checked in and were shown a map of the site which gave all info of pitches, showers etc. On site there is a small shop selling daily newspapers with basic groceries and gifts all reasonably priced. Nearby there is a Lidl and Co-op supermarket. You can also hire wetsuits from on site shop. They also have in the window the daily and 7 day forecasts for you to keep check of. There are a few goats and guinea pigs to see and a table tennis table for the kids also an enclosed gas bbq section with picnic benches to hire. The pitches are well spaced out so although the site was full you dont feel on top of each other. There are also some scattered lattice fences around the site with plants and shrubs surrounded which just adds to a bit of privacy.

Showers are free and very clean especially as the site was full, only had to queue the once which was between 6-7pm and my only grumble would be, is that when everyone was in the showers at this time the water pressure wasnt particularly good. Family shower room available with 2 showers sink and toilet. Also a separate room with a bath in which is great for little ones.

On sunday evenings a chip van comes to site and cooks to order. 2 days a week there is a lady who sells her own made jewellery which was beautiful. Tuesday evening is fresh fish for sale and Wednesday evening it is homemade curries for sale which smelt delicious! There is also an ice-cream van which comes around every night. So mums you can take a night off from cooking! Opposite the site is a pub which we didnt try but serves breakfasts and evening meals also the farmhouse sells cornish cream teas in the afternoon but with the weather so warm we didnt get back from the beach in time to sample these.

We had a fabulous time and the site is ideally placed to get around and about. Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tarquin_rach 4 reviews from this member

Upon arrival was made to feel immediately welcome by Clair who gave us a map of the area and details of where to eat / visit, etc.

Pitch was spacious, toilet & shower block immaculate and showers free, also family shower room and a bath. There is a small shop on site stocking basics but you can also hire wet suits and body boards for a small fee (very reasonable). There is also an area to shower off wetsuits.

Campsite did not a have playground, but did have a large area where you could play ball, cricket, etc. And also had goats, guinea pigs (kept my 2 amused for hours) and a table tennis table. A gas BBQ was for hire with several picnic tables although we didn't try this out preferring to opt for a bbq by our tent.

Across the road there was a pub but we didn't try and at the farmhouse cream teas were offered between 3 & 5pm. We always intended to go for cream tea but sadly never got back to the site in time as there is so much to do in the surrounding area.

The beach is accessible from the campsite and is approx. 15 minute walk. All beaches in the area are fantastic and immaculate. Lots of cliff / coastal walks. We were lucky with the weather and spent a lot of time down on the beaches.

There is a well stocked information room and facility to freeze ice packs for free. Campsite is suitably placed to visit majority of Cornwall's attractions.

All in all we had a fantastic, relaxing time and will definitely be revisiting in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mooby 1 review from this member

Literally just back from a week at this campsite - we're definitely going back!

The ground is very well tended and drains well, although the trees and shrubs recently planted haven't matured and it's a tad windy when it gets up. The facilities are new and spotlessly clean, the showers are hot, free and roomy although don't put your bag on the bench close to the shower as they do spray a bit! The shop is great for stocking essentials and we even bought a bag of ice for 1.50. There are goats and guinea pigs for the little ones to look at and the gas BBQ can be hired for 5. Didn't have the cream tea in the garden though as the weather wasn't co-operative!

The Red River Pub is just across the road, well sited as the only pub in the village. It's largely very quiet at night (neighbours permitting) although there is a road that runs alongside the camp that can be busy. You can access the beach from the site - up through the top gate and round the field, but you can also go through the village and across the dunes each way takes about 15 minutes.

It's close to all the major towns to visit and we travelled to Eden Project in less than 45 minutes.

Simply amazing.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Badgers 12 reviews from this member

I love reading the reviews sooo much that I decided it's about time I joined up!

What can you say - the site has a lovely welcoming feel as you drive on. The owners are friendly & helpful, giving us a map of the area and info on where we could go to eat/drink/walk etc with our dogs.

Pitches are spacious, well laid out and well tended. Even though site was busy when we arrived it didn't have that 'cramped' feel. Facilities are spotless, no matter what the time of day and there are plenty of them so us ladies don't have to queue! A separate area is provided to wash your wetsuits. There is a communal BBQ and seating area available for use for a small charge and a shop on site, although we didn't use them. There is also a lovely garden area to enjoy a cream tea, but the weather changed before I got the chance to sample one!

The whole area is fab for walking, either over the dunes or across the beach. Hayle is a walkable 3-4 miles away and St.Ives approx 15 min drive but beware of the seagulls - everything you have heard about them is true!

A good, dog friendly pub is literally across the road at the entrance to the site serving decent food - if maybe a little over priced but then they do have the manopoly! There are a couple more 'trendy' bars just a short walk over the dunes for the younger visitor and plenty of places to eat and drink in Hayle.

So, would I go back? Yeah I would, my kids(4 legged kind!) had a fantastic holiday so that's good enough for me!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taurus 2 reviews from this member

This site is truly superb in everyway. Location, access to beaches, well maintained facilities, a local pub which serves very good food at a reasonable price with a selection of cask ales. What ever the weather you will be sure of a good time. A credit to the owners Mike and Clair.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicholafisher 12 reviews from this member

Stumbled upon this site while touring Cornwall in a hired campervan. Very friendly staff, the site is very well kept in a lovely location. The facilities are excellent, very clean, modern and lots of space. Showers and hairdryer are free. Nice walk through the dunes to the beach.

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3833 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1826