Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandwich Leisure Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01304 612681

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  10m  10m  1m  5m   5m 

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 126 Reviews
              8/10 from 126 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 91 to 96                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HappyCampers08 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here in May 2008. The toilet block was good, but the first morning, the water ran out & didn't come back for over an hour - not very impressive for 5*. The owners then sat on the door for the rest of the weekend telling everyone that they could have a maximum of 10minutes. They also wouldn't allow our children in the toilets or showers unless accompanied by an adult. Apparently this was for their own protection, but I think that's for us to judge & was very inconvenient.

The site was however very well set out, clean and generally tidy, although there was some building work involving new concrete pitches going on. We particularly liked the fact that each serviced pitch had its own light, power & water supply. There is a small playground which would be good for children aged 8 & under.

Sandwich is a pleasant town & is a short distance from the sea if you take a bike or like walking. The Fish & Chip shop Ossie's is highly recommended for their generous portions.

So mostly a good trip, although the staff could have been friendlier!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dawn+dave 13 reviews from this member

Great Campsite. Staff were very nice and also very helpful. The pitch that we had was huge and there was plenty of room. Good play park for the kids.

Showers and toilets were kept very clean, showers were very powerfull they were great, although there can be a queue first thing in the morning for them as some people stayed in them for a long time and the water tank went dry so people were turned away for an hour so that the tank could fill up.

A frendly pair of Ducks joined us for breakfast every morning!

There is a laundry on site which is opened up during the day. There is no shop on site but the supermarket is only 5 minutes walk away which is open at 8am and 10am on Sundays.

The campsite is only 15 minute walk into town but I suggest to get a town map as with the little streets you would get lost !

There are lots of places to go and see English Hertiage like Dover Castle also if you go to Canterbury the kids would love Canterbury Tales.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kizzy1 5 reviews from this member

Went on a very wet April weekend, we had a hard standing fully serviced pictch so no problems, but the ground was very boggy and glad we had a 4 x 4.
Work being carried out on the site by new owners so playground was shut, this didn't effect us but might be a problem for families.
Toilet block best I've seen, very clean and modern really good showers warm with plenty of hot water. Owners very welcoming and the site is secure.
Only 5 min walk to Sandwich Town which is a lovely old town and well worth a visit, supermarket, pubs, cafe's all you need there.
Would only stay here on a fully serviced pitch as the others are not very well laid out, but will be going again hopefully the weather will be better and the on going site works finished.
As stated in previous reviews make sure you follow the directions given as you will not get a touring unit through the town.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kev5176 2 reviews from this member

Having this as our first outing with our van this was always going to be a learning experience.

The Site is well signposted, is close to the town and its shops - the co-op has the monopoly in the area so expect some rather high shopping bills.

OSSIES fish and chip shop is a great chippy and supplied a copius amount of food for a good price

Getting to the site can involve some rather tight and small streets, so use the alternative route

The site is situated within 12 miles each way of ramsgate/ margate or dover folkestone (channel tunnel.

The pitches are good although uneven and we went the last week of october. The ground never dried out.

Fully serviced pitches are good value for money.

The only downside I found was the state of amenities block - most of the toilets were locked out of use and it was a cold uninviting environment.

The site has just been taken over by new owners apparently and they have a fetish it appears for plant machinary, they were working on new concrete pitches in the last week ( a pity they couldnt wait until the tourers had closed) so there was a small amount of unpleasant noise.

The main ramsgate - london via dover railway line runs adjacent to the site, the noise of the accelerating and decelaration of the trains I feel add to the feel of the site.

The site is very secure, friendly neighbours and was a great site which I feel would be lots better in the summer

Would I visit again ?? yes

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xxstephanie1xx 1 review from this member

I came here on the last week of august and stayed in a tent.
There are very good things but also bad things that I have to say about this camp site.
When we arrived at Sandwich Leisure park we did not get a very friendly welcome.It wasn't until we went into the reception that we felt that we were wanted there.

The Toilet block was nice and spacious but the showers were warm and not hot and the only hairdryer was not working. The ladies toilets were not open all of the 4 days that I was there so we had to use the family room.

The washing up place was very good, there was plenty of room.
We payed 40 pound a night for 2 tents to stay in the campsite but we got told of for sitting on a bench being quiet, what else is it there for?

It is only a 5 minute walk from the campsite to the nice town and just a handy shopping market 2 minutes away. The town has plenty of pubs and a lovely riverside but it is not an ideal place for shopping as there are not many shops.

I did enjoy my stay other than the not so good bits I mention above.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gemma1675 46 reviews from this member

This site is located centrally in Sandwich.† A lovely town with plenty of pubs, takeaways, shops and restaurants.† Easy walking distance to a supermarket.

The pitches are arranged primarily in groups of four - two at the back and two at the front of a bay.† This would be great if you were with a group of three others, but not ideal when you are on your own.† It causes problems with access for the rear pitches especially.†

The loos are very nice, clean and plentiful.

The ground was pretty boggy.† It was a dry bank holiday weekend but the ground never seemed to dry out.† Some of the pitches had†large muddy puddles around them!

A train line runs alongside the site but we never found it to be disruptive.

We would come back to the site, because of the wonderful location, but we would ask for one of the pitches which isn't grouped as a four.

If you are towing to this site be sure to check the site's website for the alternative directions avoiding the narrow streets of Sandwich town centre.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 96      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0879
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window