Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 300 Reviews
              10/10 from 300 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  300 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalkypilot 26 reviews from this member

A simply lovely adults only site. Friendly, helpful staff; well-stocked shop (food, drinks and more); beautifully landscaped pitch areas; quiet and peaceful; excellent, clean facilities; lovely views. Add in bicycle hire, fresh bread each morning, their own eggs. And you're getting towards perfection.

Only slight downside is that there didn't seem to be pubs in easy walking distance, but if we'd been staying here for longer, I'm sure we'd have made more and better use of the excellent shop to prepare our own meals.

Already on our list to return!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Leigh 2 reviews from this member

The best site we've encountered.

The site offers such a lot, but in a discrete yet professional and tasteful way. We simply could not find fault during our six-night stay, despite several days of atrocious weather. Worthy of particular mention are the very helpful, friendly and warmly-welcoming staff and owners.

The pitches are flat, spacious and allow some privacy from neighbours, yet not too far from each other as to feel detached. In fact the whole site is delightfully laid-out, superb gardening, and thankfully well-drained given the wet stuff encountered whilst we were there. It's likely most if not all pitches would would have excellent views of the delightful and relaxing countryside.

For us, a key strength of this site are the very many 'small touches', which taken collectively make a huge difference. For example they communicate very well (eg posters to highlight something). And one of the best bits are the fantastic home-made cakes!

Toilet blocks are very clean, with a full range of facilities like dishwashing and laundry. Although they had not quite completed a new additional block whilst we were there, the existing one did the job perfectly well. Many pitches are full-service (although we used a standard one); there are many fresh and grey-waste points nearby, and recycling is very well organised.

Outside the site, decent eateries are not easy to find within a short distance, although we did manage a good Italian in the town. However, the site shop does offer excellent locally-sourced food and drink.

Would definitely return!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sparry63 19 reviews from this member

Just stayed as a stop over on our way to meet up with friends and the campsite is as good as ever. Stayed here a few years ago and was the first adult only site we had stayed at, and the park was impressive then, it has continued to improve a new amenity block is due to open.

Site is easy to get to and well signposted.

Reception is friendly, helpful and you are shown to you pitch.

The pitches are vast, and privacy is further enhanced by skilful planting.

There is an excellent pool room/ social room with lots of information about surrounding areas. There is a well stocked shop which has all the basics plus some camping bits and bobs. Try some of them local cider and perry.

There is a great enclosed dog walk with dog wash room and plenty of great walks just off site. The Glastonbury tor is an easy walk up the hill for anyone reasonably fit. But beware with the recent rains the footpaths were muddy.

Only down side to site is there is no local pub, but that wouldn't stop us from going again. We recommend this site to anyone who wants to try adult only.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 24 reviews from this member

One of the best sites I've visited. The reception was very friendly and it went on from there. The hard standing pitches are large and separated from each other by mature shrubs and small trees. The site shop is small but excellent, check out the bread and cakes.

They also stock a good selection of camping bits, the gent on the next pitch needed some heavy duty pegs, the shop had them at a very reasonable price. The site is quiet, well lit at night and well maintained in all respects. The toilets and showers were excellent and another larger upgraded block is nearing completion.

Glastonbury Tor is a 45 minute walk, Glastonbury and a Morrisons' Supermarket just a few minutes drive.

Wells is a great place to visit, take an organised tour of the Cathedral, (they are good) and visit the Bishops Palace Gardens.

Unlike some we rather liked Burnam on Sea, lots of sand, the unusual lighthouse on stilts and the RNLI have a hoovercraft rescue 'boat'.

Quick thought coming from the east some SatNavs may take a very cross country route for the last few miles, make sure you have fuel.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Badger54 11 reviews from this member

Very impressive site, I saw nothing that I felt needed maintenance, repairing, or upgrading. Every little thing seems to have been thought through from the hooks for dog leads outside all the buildings to the quality of the shower, washing up and laundry facilities. Plenty of space on pitches, a good little shop for groceries and the inevitable bit of camping equipment that you are short of, and even a library of books and magazines. Very helpful staff too. We will certainly return - -for a few days in July if they have space.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The merry campsters 1 review from this member

This is a great campsite, which is incredibly well looked after and wonderfully laid out giving everyone lots of private space.

The toilet/shower block is immaculate. We would highly recommend this site to anyone without children.

The site has wonderful walks to the tor, which are very special to do in the evenings.

If I had to nitpick we were by the drive way and were woken every morning at 7.30 by the wardens etc going about their duties. But then we are light sleepers.

The site is well away from any main roads and you hear no road noise in the day or night.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 23 reviews from this member

Super adults only site. Very friendly and welcoming.

Pitches are very generous and the site is extremely neat and tidy. Dog friendly; exercise area on site, including washing facility with a hot shower. Plenty of good walks from the site.

Toilets and showers were first rate. The site was fairly quiet, but there is a new shower block under construction, which should be more than adequate in busy times.

There is no bar or restaurant on site and Glastonbury is quite a walk. For an evening meal or drink out you would probably want to drive.

The fishing lake looks good, but I didn't try it. Good tv reception.

First rate site that we would visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bevie21 4 reviews from this member

We have visited this site twice now and we are going back again this August. We love it. In fact, I can't think of any complaints.

Nice big pitches, very clean facilities, friendly staff and I must add - yummy cakes!

The site has beautiful views (I would think most pitches get a share) and it's situated in a lovely area with good walking.

Well worth climbing the Tor to walk off the cake and take in more views.

Would recommend to anyone, especially if you fancy a bit of time away from the kids.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paintermac 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from our second visit to this superb site. We do not normally return to any site as we like to visit somewhere different on each outing in our caravan but this one made us break our rule.

The site is perfectly placed to visit all the interesting places in Somerset and surrounding areas. It is beautifully maintained with immaculate toilet and washing facilities, impeccably manicured grounds and pitches.

There is a good dog walk with dog shower including hot water.

We chose a Super Pitch with its own water, EHU and grey waste. We were positioned right next to a warden's pitch and we found them very friendly and helpful as are all the staff.

The pitches are well arranged in a circle and separated by hedges which makes for a degree of privacy plus the site is adults only so there are no noisy children.

They have a well stocked shop for those emergency forgotten items and there is a Morrisons Supermarket just a few miles down the road for your big shop.

My wife paid 2 visits to Clark's Village for retail therapy as it is only 15 minutes away by car. She says she saved a fortune, I say she spent one.

We find it impossible to give any 'buts' about this lovely site and highly recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: World Traveller 3 reviews from this member

This was not our first visit and as usual from our arrival to departure the helpfulness and friendliness of all personnel was top-rate. The facilities are always clean, warm and efficient. This year will see the opening of another large facility block. There is a well stocked shop on site, newspapers and fresh bread can be ordered. As an adult only site it is peaceful in a beautiful rural setting with lovely scenic views. New this year is a minibus service[by a local firm]especially useful for motor home owners. There is a walk to Glastonbury Tor and a good Dog walk. Glastonbury has many attractions and further on is Street with Clarkes outlet village.

Previous     300 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2978 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.7227