Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Badger54 14 reviews from this member

We visited in May 2012 and were knocked out by the quality of this site and have just returned for a few nights to round off our very wet holiday in the West Country.

It can often be a disappointment to return to somewhere you like but this site has just made even better with the completion of the new shower and toilet block. A superb facility that puts others to shame. Overall, it is virtually impossible to find anything to criticise about Old Oaks.

I have just thought of something that would improve the site - - free wi-fi. Some sites do offer it and it is certainly something that would have kept me happier in all the rain.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

A very good adult only site. The book in was quick & smooth and we were taken to our pitch in the top meadow adjacent to the new toilet block.

The pitches are huge and are they are all hard standings around a green which gives an overall feeling of space. Toilet/shower facilities are good and will be even better once the new toilet block is complete, it looks absolutely fantastic, built in local stone. Although workmen were on site daily, sometimes until after 7pm clearly trying to get it finished asap. They did not cause us a problem.

The site has its own enclosed dog walk, complete with dog shower & hand sanitizer - fantastic!

There are also good walks around the site so the dog was more than happy. You do need transport however as the site is a little isolated about 3 miles from Glastonbury. Having said that there are plenty of places to visit within a reasonable car journey.

Overall one of the best sites I have visited.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David222 3 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site with spacious, well drained pitches, good toilet & washing up facilities, and a well-stocked shop. It was generally quiet too.

WiFi functioned extremely well, although I hadn't realised you had to pay extra (even if the daily/weekly fee was OK).

Well situated within walking distance of Glastonbury Tor.

There are plenty of National Trust properties in the area, and this was very useful since the weather wasn't brilliant.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chalkypilot 26 reviews from this member

A simply lovely adults only site. Friendly, helpful staff; well-stocked shop (food, drinks and more); beautifully landscaped pitch areas; quiet and peaceful; excellent, clean facilities; lovely views. Add in bicycle hire, fresh bread each morning, their own eggs. And you're getting towards perfection.

Only slight downside is that there didn't seem to be pubs in easy walking distance, but if we'd been staying here for longer, I'm sure we'd have made more and better use of the excellent shop to prepare our own meals.

Already on our list to return!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Leigh 2 reviews from this member

The best site we've encountered.

The site offers such a lot, but in a discrete yet professional and tasteful way. We simply could not find fault during our six-night stay, despite several days of atrocious weather. Worthy of particular mention are the very helpful, friendly and warmly-welcoming staff and owners.

The pitches are flat, spacious and allow some privacy from neighbours, yet not too far from each other as to feel detached. In fact the whole site is delightfully laid-out, superb gardening, and thankfully well-drained given the wet stuff encountered whilst we were there. It's likely most if not all pitches would would have excellent views of the delightful and relaxing countryside.

For us, a key strength of this site are the very many 'small touches', which taken collectively make a huge difference. For example they communicate very well (eg posters to highlight something). And one of the best bits are the fantastic home-made cakes!

Toilet blocks are very clean, with a full range of facilities like dishwashing and laundry. Although they had not quite completed a new additional block whilst we were there, the existing one did the job perfectly well. Many pitches are full-service (although we used a standard one); there are many fresh and grey-waste points nearby, and recycling is very well organised.

Outside the site, decent eateries are not easy to find within a short distance, although we did manage a good Italian in the town. However, the site shop does offer excellent locally-sourced food and drink.

Would definitely return!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sparry63 19 reviews from this member

Just stayed as a stop over on our way to meet up with friends and the campsite is as good as ever. Stayed here a few years ago and was the first adult only site we had stayed at, and the park was impressive then, it has continued to improve a new amenity block is due to open.

Site is easy to get to and well signposted.

Reception is friendly, helpful and you are shown to you pitch.

The pitches are vast, and privacy is further enhanced by skilful planting.

There is an excellent pool room/ social room with lots of information about surrounding areas. There is a well stocked shop which has all the basics plus some camping bits and bobs. Try some of them local cider and perry.

There is a great enclosed dog walk with dog wash room and plenty of great walks just off site. The Glastonbury tor is an easy walk up the hill for anyone reasonably fit. But beware with the recent rains the footpaths were muddy.

Only down side to site is there is no local pub, but that wouldn't stop us from going again. We recommend this site to anyone who wants to try adult only.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel Rickard 25 reviews from this member

One of the best sites I've visited. The reception was very friendly and it went on from there. The hard standing pitches are large and separated from each other by mature shrubs and small trees. The site shop is small but excellent, check out the bread and cakes.

They also stock a good selection of camping bits, the gent on the next pitch needed some heavy duty pegs, the shop had them at a very reasonable price. The site is quiet, well lit at night and well maintained in all respects. The toilets and showers were excellent and another larger upgraded block is nearing completion.

Glastonbury Tor is a 45 minute walk, Glastonbury and a Morrisons' Supermarket just a few minutes drive.

Wells is a great place to visit, take an organised tour of the Cathedral, (they are good) and visit the Bishops Palace Gardens.

Unlike some we rather liked Burnam on Sea, lots of sand, the unusual lighthouse on stilts and the RNLI have a hoovercraft rescue 'boat'.

Quick thought coming from the east some SatNavs may take a very cross country route for the last few miles, make sure you have fuel.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Badger54 14 reviews from this member

Very impressive site, I saw nothing that I felt needed maintenance, repairing, or upgrading. Every little thing seems to have been thought through from the hooks for dog leads outside all the buildings to the quality of the shower, washing up and laundry facilities. Plenty of space on pitches, a good little shop for groceries and the inevitable bit of camping equipment that you are short of, and even a library of books and magazines. Very helpful staff too. We will certainly return - -for a few days in July if they have space.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The merry campsters 1 review from this member

This is a great campsite, which is incredibly well looked after and wonderfully laid out giving everyone lots of private space.

The toilet/shower block is immaculate. We would highly recommend this site to anyone without children.

The site has wonderful walks to the tor, which are very special to do in the evenings.

If I had to nitpick we were by the drive way and were woken every morning at 7.30 by the wardens etc going about their duties. But then we are light sleepers.

The site is well away from any main roads and you hear no road noise in the day or night.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffgame 24 reviews from this member

Super adults only site. Very friendly and welcoming.

Pitches are very generous and the site is extremely neat and tidy. Dog friendly; exercise area on site, including washing facility with a hot shower. Plenty of good walks from the site.

Toilets and showers were first rate. The site was fairly quiet, but there is a new shower block under construction, which should be more than adequate in busy times.

There is no bar or restaurant on site and Glastonbury is quite a walk. For an evening meal or drink out you would probably want to drive.

The fishing lake looks good, but I didn't try it. Good tv reception.

First rate site that we would visit again.

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5621 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1641