Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
              8/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tulipcat 13 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite in a small group of friends. As we arrived unannounced the steward did not give us a very warm welcome, and directed us away from the main campsite. We were quietly drinking a few beers into the small hours but there were other groups in the same field who were doing the same and causing no bother. Later the steward came to check on us and explained his hostile welcome was because he has been subject to abuse in the past and that we would be welcome in the future if we phone first. The facilities are basic but this is a great spot, easy to find, and suitable for families, and people wanting some peace-as previously mentioned we were directed away from the main site so as not to cause disturbance.The ground is good, and the site well sheltered. I've heard this place gets busy in height of summer which I can well imagine. Worth a visit.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muppetflower 2 reviews from this member

I am looking forward to going back to Gibraltar Farm. I must say I would not like to go at weekends and Bank holidays, I stopped once at the weekend it was packed queues for toilet same for showers and kids everywhere playing cricket with a hard ball coming right for our unit it hit twice that was enough for us. I like children I have 3 of my own and grandchildren. So if you like a bit of peace and quiet avoid busy times But it is a lovely place lovely views of Morcambe bay

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mafutd 2 reviews from this member

Great site, but can get busy at peak times, lovely area and views, I`ve been several times and enjoyed it every time, go once, enjoy!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

The site was so packed there was not a hope of trying to keep to the 6m rule, and when they opened yet another field I feared for the ability of the facilities to cope and what would the night bring.

Happily it just worked.

Lovely site. No EHU for tents (I don't use it anyway). Just a little too crowded for me.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zozzer 21 reviews from this member

First Visit

Following the Silverdale signs, the site is well signed posted. We arrived mid afternoon amidst torrential rain, and were met by a steep winding decent into the campsite. Various signs told us to book in with the steward upon arrival. However the steward was not on site, but had left a mobile number. A quick call and we were told to take any pitch we fancied.

To be honest our first thoughts did not think much of the site. TV recpetion is very poor even with our own ariel and amplifier. What had we let ourselves in for. Fortunately the steward has a selection of ariels at low cost.

After the rain had settled down and the sun came out, we decided on a short walk through the woods to Morecambe bay. This was shear delight. Perfect peace and quiet, not a screaming child in sight. It was transquility personivide. We reach the bay and climb to a higher vantage point. The view is spectacular and we wallowed in it between showers. We watched the tide come as we stood and were shocked at it's furocious progress. It was a raging torrent surging back up the river channel. A word of warning for the children don't let them go to the bay alone, it IS dangerous.

Back to main site.

Showers were basic but hot and cleaned daily. They are not heated, so late in the season you don't hang around. Being only one male shower and two female, I can see queues developing in the hot summer.

Whilst the majority of the site was clean, there was the odd item of rubbish in the woods, which says more about campers/caravanners than the people who run the site. Having said that, the large wire rubbish basket did not look as if it had been emptied for weeks.

The site was not overcrowded, and there were no problems with problems at night.

Would we use the site again, most DEFINITELY.

I would love to stroll through the woods when there is a carpet of snow on the ground. Sadly it's closed in winter.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trevor Siggs 1 review from this member

In a lovely part of the county, great for walks etc. Farm campsite within 1/2 mile of local village amenities. Clean toilets, helpful steward, basic amenities. Better for families rather than old farts ( like ourselves) but still worth a visit. Just make it out of school holiday time.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DARRANB 3 reviews from this member

We Have stopped here now on two occasions in October 2006. Both times found it hard to leave as the views were really pretty, and the campsite
very peaceful. The Steward and the farmer are very helpful and friendly, if you need help or assistance they will gladly help. We take our two
dogs with us, and even the dogs enjoy the campsite, with the woods near-by, and the walk to the Royal Hotel Pub, where they get treated by the chef with left over meat. A great campsite all in all, cannot wait to return at some point. Highly recommended if you want to relax and have a good time camping. The Toilet Blocks and Showers were very clean, Highly recommended for back packers on a budget as it only cost 8.00 per night.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daisybev 12 reviews from this member

Spend 3 nights at this beautiful site at the end of Sept/ 1st Oct and had beautiful views to go with the sunny weather.

The site is a working farm and the cows pass through everyday, The stewards have a very strict NO FIRES policy in forces and patrol the site every night in high vis jackets to ensure the noise levels are kept to a minimum. The prices are excellent and the facilities are also spot on.

The steward and his wife are very friendly and never once did I see litter or broken bottles, let alone bottle flinging comps going on.?

I do know this site gets packed in the summer months and boy now I know why its spot on. Go enjoy and say I sent you.lol

Shops just down the road approx 5-10 mins stroll, a garden centre and art gallery and 2 tea rooms. You can also walk along the front although it is muddy and quite dangerous if the kids slip away unnoticed.

But the farm is safe and fun and great camping, I will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grisleymyers 1 review from this member

The friendly stewards called Lynda and Mike give rides to the kids on their quad bike. They're always there to lend a hand when the campers stay on James' land.

They sell goodies from their awning where the kids queue every morning, waiting to spend money in the shop on coke, cornettos or an ice pop.

Bertha is their trusty fire who comes out when campers retire, their dog called Lucy likes the spot in front of the fire where it's hot hot hot!

This camp site is the best we know, you should really give it a go, see for yourself what fun it is, Gibraltar Farm is the Biz!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topper100 2 reviews from this member

Visited site with family for four days. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised after reading the previous reviews. For nightly charge the site is extremely good value for money. Views are outstanding, the sunsets are great. Toilet facilities are immaculate - albeit a couple more showers would be beneficial. The steward was extremely helpful. Plenty of room for children to play although it would be better with a proper playground. The food at the village pub is outstanding and I would recommend it. We had a gorgeous meal and the service was second to none. All in all a good little site we will return.

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0972