Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
              8/10 from 208 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Muppetflower 2 reviews from this member

I am looking forward to going back to Gibraltar Farm. I must say I would not like to go at weekends and Bank holidays, I stopped once at the weekend it was packed queues for toilet same for showers and kids everywhere playing cricket with a hard ball coming right for our unit it hit twice that was enough for us. I like children I have 3 of my own and grandchildren. So if you like a bit of peace and quiet avoid busy times But it is a lovely place lovely views of Morcambe bay

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mafutd 2 reviews from this member

Great site, but can get busy at peak times, lovely area and views, I`ve been several times and enjoyed it every time, go once, enjoy!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

The site was so packed there was not a hope of trying to keep to the 6m rule, and when they opened yet another field I feared for the ability of the facilities to cope and what would the night bring.

Happily it just worked.

Lovely site. No EHU for tents (I don't use it anyway). Just a little too crowded for me.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zozzer 21 reviews from this member

First Visit

Following the Silverdale signs, the site is well signed posted. We arrived mid afternoon amidst torrential rain, and were met by a steep winding decent into the campsite. Various signs told us to book in with the steward upon arrival. However the steward was not on site, but had left a mobile number. A quick call and we were told to take any pitch we fancied.

To be honest our first thoughts did not think much of the site. TV recpetion is very poor even with our own ariel and amplifier. What had we let ourselves in for. Fortunately the steward has a selection of ariels at low cost.

After the rain had settled down and the sun came out, we decided on a short walk through the woods to Morecambe bay. This was shear delight. Perfect peace and quiet, not a screaming child in sight. It was transquility personivide. We reach the bay and climb to a higher vantage point. The view is spectacular and we wallowed in it between showers. We watched the tide come as we stood and were shocked at it's furocious progress. It was a raging torrent surging back up the river channel. A word of warning for the children don't let them go to the bay alone, it IS dangerous.

Back to main site.

Showers were basic but hot and cleaned daily. They are not heated, so late in the season you don't hang around. Being only one male shower and two female, I can see queues developing in the hot summer.

Whilst the majority of the site was clean, there was the odd item of rubbish in the woods, which says more about campers/caravanners than the people who run the site. Having said that, the large wire rubbish basket did not look as if it had been emptied for weeks.

The site was not overcrowded, and there were no problems with problems at night.

Would we use the site again, most DEFINITELY.

I would love to stroll through the woods when there is a carpet of snow on the ground. Sadly it's closed in winter.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Trevor Siggs 1 review from this member

In a lovely part of the county, great for walks etc. Farm campsite within 1/2 mile of local village amenities. Clean toilets, helpful steward, basic amenities. Better for families rather than old farts ( like ourselves) but still worth a visit. Just make it out of school holiday time.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DARRANB 3 reviews from this member

We Have stopped here now on two occasions in October 2006. Both times found it hard to leave as the views were really pretty, and the campsite
very peaceful. The Steward and the farmer are very helpful and friendly, if you need help or assistance they will gladly help. We take our two
dogs with us, and even the dogs enjoy the campsite, with the woods near-by, and the walk to the Royal Hotel Pub, where they get treated by the chef with left over meat. A great campsite all in all, cannot wait to return at some point. Highly recommended if you want to relax and have a good time camping. The Toilet Blocks and Showers were very clean, Highly recommended for back packers on a budget as it only cost 8.00 per night.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daisybev 12 reviews from this member

Spend 3 nights at this beautiful site at the end of Sept/ 1st Oct and had beautiful views to go with the sunny weather.

The site is a working farm and the cows pass through everyday, The stewards have a very strict NO FIRES policy in forces and patrol the site every night in high vis jackets to ensure the noise levels are kept to a minimum. The prices are excellent and the facilities are also spot on.

The steward and his wife are very friendly and never once did I see litter or broken bottles, let alone bottle flinging comps going on.?

I do know this site gets packed in the summer months and boy now I know why its spot on. Go enjoy and say I sent you.lol

Shops just down the road approx 5-10 mins stroll, a garden centre and art gallery and 2 tea rooms. You can also walk along the front although it is muddy and quite dangerous if the kids slip away unnoticed.

But the farm is safe and fun and great camping, I will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grisleymyers 1 review from this member

The friendly stewards called Lynda and Mike give rides to the kids on their quad bike. They're always there to lend a hand when the campers stay on James' land.

They sell goodies from their awning where the kids queue every morning, waiting to spend money in the shop on coke, cornettos or an ice pop.

Bertha is their trusty fire who comes out when campers retire, their dog called Lucy likes the spot in front of the fire where it's hot hot hot!

This camp site is the best we know, you should really give it a go, see for yourself what fun it is, Gibraltar Farm is the Biz!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topper100 2 reviews from this member

Visited site with family for four days. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised after reading the previous reviews. For nightly charge the site is extremely good value for money. Views are outstanding, the sunsets are great. Toilet facilities are immaculate - albeit a couple more showers would be beneficial. The steward was extremely helpful. Plenty of room for children to play although it would be better with a proper playground. The food at the village pub is outstanding and I would recommend it. We had a gorgeous meal and the service was second to none. All in all a good little site we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MissEddie 2 reviews from this member

What a superb campsite. As with some others I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here, however, after reading the more positive ones we decided this was the campsite for us. We had been wanting to visit this area for some time as frequent visitors to the Lake District this was an area we had not visited and despite the cloud and occasional drizzle we were not disappointed. The village is only a short walk from the site with all you could need, local pubs, (serving good food) and shops. There are plenty of local walks and cycle routes, an ideal base for those walkers and cyclists wanting to avoid the peak season crowds of the Lake District. The site itself has the most wonderful views over Morecambe Bay, not at all noisy even though there were many children with it being the school holidays. The toilet blocks were always clean and well stocked with toilet roll. We will definitely be going back soon, missing eating breakfast in the morning looking out over the bay already. Hooray for Gilbraltar Farm, we love it!

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5798 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977