Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
              9/10 from 207 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacko383 13 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 2 week break with 2 kids of 5 & 8 at this site and had to cut it short because of the weather and the fact that our pitch was water logged at front and back. It was our first major holiday touring and this site was recommended.

Positive comments:

It is a very well run site, staff in all areas were very polite and helpful and always with a smile. This is all to rare these days! Toilets and showers modern, lots of them and very clean.

When setting up we were missing a spring clip from an awning pole, a tiny thing but they had them in the shop! Fantastic.

The grassy entrance to our Cul de sac was sodden and after only asking once, the men were there an hour later spreading gravel to soak up the mud.

The pool area lovely and water clean and fairly warm.

Our water pump tripped the electric and reception had a couple of numbers for van repair men, one came within a couple of days which was a god-send!

Great choice of facilities, chippy ( a bit pricey), launderette (3 wash and 1+ dry), well stocked shop, vending machines and on site pub.

Great location for nearby towns/villages.

I would recommend Powderham Castle (24 family), we also did Kent's Cavern on a rainy day (25), Cockington for a cream tea was idyllic. Skip the beach at Dawlish Warren because it was stones and a bit scruffy. Make the well worth trip to Exmouth. The beach is long and sandy.If you get the sun!

Negative comments:

Not many, but the pitches are very small, just enough for van, awning, car and that's it. There was no room for the swingball or any ball games.

Entertainment at the pub was not really aimed at kids and the family room upstairs was really small. They got bored easily.

Pick your pitch carefully and take your time. The reps take you round on a golf buggy to choose a pitch. We were on the front terraces near the bottom and got water logged, get a pitch near the top here. Front field is good and Oak field. If you're in a tent the orchard was lovely and really close to everything.

Teenagers. A very small room for them to hang out with 2 pool tables and some bandit machines. What we saw coming back from the pub was a bit unsavoury! Groping and boozing. There are no activities for teens, no table tennis, no sports facilities of any kind apart from the pool. I wouldn't be happy bringing teens here.

We didn't rave about it enough to return here plus it's a 500 mile round trip from Cheshire.


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vanessa 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site and was very impressed even though the weather let us down. Toilets were very clean considering the amount of muddy shoes going in and out. Playgrounds were both good and pool was clean and well supervised.

Thought pitches were very close together but it was my first experience of 'large site' camping.

Staff very helpful and friendly, shop and bar reasonably priced and I'd definitely recommend this site to others.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicola12 2 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back from a week at Cofton, my first impression was that it looked very clean and tidy, and lots of families and children playing, which is good for anyone with kids.

The staff were very helpful, and managed to position my tent and my sisters next to each other, near the toilets on flat round, as per our request. The buggys took us around till we found a pitch we liked, and there was a lot of plots to choose from.

They hire out electric cables if you wish to hire one, which my sister did, this included a light, at a reasonable price plus a deposit, and even when my sister reported the actual EHU was not working the man came to fix it before my sister had even walked back.

The showers / sinks / washing up areas and toilets were always spotless, and never out of toilet roll. They even put fly spray in all bins regularly.

The play parks were small but kept the children entertained, and there is a hidden park in the woods behind the pool and horse's but small children would need an adult with them, as this is where a lot of teenagers hang out. There didn't seem to be any large spaces for games such as rounders or football, near where we were pitched, but there was one a short walk away.

I never went to the entertainment but my sister did every night, and it was always busy and had good entertainment on. The food and bar area was clean, with good food. The shop was extremely well stocked, with a lot of camping items you may have forgotten, and fresh bread and papers if you were there early. They hire our ice packs at 50p or 75p (I think) each, which could become costly if you were going for a long time. The reception was often busy with people booking in but the staff were helpful, and there was plenty of leaflets of things to do in the area.

The WI FI has several points around the camp and worked well, and we paid 4.50 for 6 hours, which you had 3 days to activate and 3 further days to use it, and you do not have to use it all in one go, as long as you log of each time.

We didn't go out to much, but Torquay was nice for a walk around, and nice coastal roads to drive around, but I would suggest if you go into Dartmoor to take a map as the roads are very narrow with little signs and you could easily get lost.

There is a large Tesco located about 7 miles away.

Also when we were leaving there was a lot of traffic queueing to get into reception up the roads into Cofton, and also through the village of Starcross as the roads are narrow, so I would suggest you either try to get there early, or later in the day.

Overall we found this site fantastic, and we will definitely be returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Golden sands carava 1 review from this member

I would just like to say that after reading some of the reviews about golden sands caravan park in dawlish, I started to panic as it sounded awful. When we as a family of 4 got there, I was relieved. It was a fab holiday. We were lucky with the weather which helped but the site was spotless. We stayed in a six birth chalet which although not massive, was clean and big enough to sleep and cook in and I've got a 13 and 14 year old.

The pool although not large, was connected both inside and out which made it feel bigger. The entertainment in the nights were superb and I would like to say the entertainment team were all very talented individuals. The evenings suited all ages from the team dancing and playing games with the very young children as well as adult games later in the evening which only the adults really understood but the children could still laugh at. To round the evening off the all singing and all dancing team were superb and again suited all.

While there we went down to the Dawlish Warren a couple of times and were surprised at what was there. A small fair, shops, fish shops, bar and restaurant and all next to a blue flag beach where you can still see your feet however far you go. Dawlish town is also a pretty little town with quaint little shops and lovely walks. A trip to Exeter is also worth it. There was lots to see and do around the area and we as a family would recommend it to anyone and in fact I am saving to go again next year and take friends with us.

Year 2008 team if you are reading this I would just like to thank you all for a fantastic holiday and keep up the excellent work as we are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Levitric 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site last week and I can honestly say that it was one of the best UK holidays that I have ever been on.

The site is absolutely fabulous, we were very close to a toilets block, laundrette and washing up point. All of these facilities were always spotless.

The pools were lovely and warm and were always looked after by a life guard.

The onsite pub was very nice indeed and was very reasonably priced for example a full English breakfast 3.75 or 2 adult drinks and 3 children's drinks for under a tenner.

The site as a whole was excellently maintained, there was always some sort of grass mowing or hedge cutting going on.

The local area is without a doubt just beautiful.

Our stay was topped of by being able to listen to an 80's night concert at the local Powderham castle half way through our stay.

The only down side was that our 8 year old and is bike had an argument with some wheely bins and he broke his collar bone, but hey we got to test out the local (Exeter) A and E department.

All in all thank you to you all at Cofton, we look forward to seeing you again in 2009.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue hancock 3 reviews from this member

WOW what a beautiful site. Toilets, showers, all kept pristine. Dishwashing and launderette super. Reception staff could not have been friendlier. Pub on the small side but nevertheless super. Pool supervised well.
I don't really know what more to add other than a superbly manicured site. Everywhere was so clean and tidy not a blade of grass out of place and a credit to the owners and staff. Going back in September and October.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisnirene 11 reviews from this member

Our 5th visit to this site, and it remains a good site, with ample facilities for all. A heated pool, bar/restaurant, games room all on site and well maitained level pitches.

On arrival in June we were allowed to choose our own pitch location and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The toilets were cleaned early in the morning and were kept open throughout the day, even whilst being cleaned. I did notice a slight drop in standards of site cleanliness from previous years, for example the large wheelie bins remained unemptied throughout our stay, resulting in carrier bags of rubbish at the side of them for 2 days. For a large site I would expect a little more, especially out of season.

There are 2 pubs off site within 15 mins walk and both do excellent food ( the Ship is cheaper and just as good ! ) Overall, a good site but little things could be better, however I would return but out of season when its fairly quiet.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Drfje 8 reviews from this member

First time at this site and will certainly visit again. The site is to be recommended. Beautiful heated pool and sun area, very good on site shop and reasonable pricing. Bar a little small but well stocked and again fairly priced.

Fishing lakes are tranquil, well stocked and a beautiful place to relax. On site take away very good and childrens play facilities available. On our visit the pool was supervised and closed at 6pm.

The touring pitches are terraced and very generously spaced. VERY VERY limited hardstanding area for the size of site but don't let this put you off. The toilet blocks are within easy reach of all areas and two of the blocks have launderette facilities.

The toilet and shower blocks are very very clean and modern, even having piped music!.

My only criticism of the site is that a B road runs through the centre of the site, there is to be fair little or no traffic along this lane, however the brochure nor signage on site warns you of this, so be careful with young children and bicycles etc. Again DO NOT let this put you off the site, as stated I hardly saw any vehicles on this lane other than vehicles attending the site, but there is always the potential.

Overall a first class site within easy reach of beaches, pubs, take aways, amusements, but if you are just after rest and relaxation there is no need to go off site.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vodkacoke 2 reviews from this member

Top Barn Field on a Rally.

This is the 4th time back at Cofton and cannot fault it at all.

Weather couldnt be helped, but considering the state our field ended up in, the shower blocks were immaculately clean with piping hot water throughout the week.

Facilities are just second to none and definitely recommend Cofton and will definitely be back.

If in that top field mind, remember to take some ant powder - for some reason the little critters are in their hundreds from the minute you arrive.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ayersfamily 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a full week at Cofton with our family in our frame tent with 2 children and our friends in their Motorhome and dog.

This was our first visit to Cofton and South Devon. The site is very large with clean modern toilet blocks spaced around the park altough there was no hot water for showers in the morning on 2 occasions.

There are play areas around the park for the kids and a zip wire and assault course in the woods.

The park itself and swimming pool always looked spotless, tidy and clean and the on site shop was well stocked with essentials and gifts.

The takeaway had a good variety of food and the on site pub served a good varied menu - but a bit short for seating inside on a rainy evening as was the family entertainment lounge considering the campsite of this size.

The pitches are all mainly terraced - when we booked we asked about the pitch sizes and was told 10 metres, as our tent is 7 metres long ond our friends motorhome 25 foot long. When we arrived there was limited choice of pitches and we ended up with 2 pitches next to each other only measuring 9 metres wide x 5 metres deep each. This meant we had to pitch our tent width ways as did our friends in the motorhome so not to block the road access. We had only inches of space between the front of our tent and the rear of their motorhome and just enough space to get the car on the pitch.

This was very annoying as some larger pitches around the park only had 2 man pup tents on them.

The staff in reception seemed very unhelpful when we put this to them, they knew what size units we were coming to stay in when we booked.

After 15 years of camping this site has the smallest pitches we have ever stayed on and we have camped at a lot of sites around the country.

All in all a beautiful well kept site, but the cramped pitches spoil it. Numbered allocated pitches would solve the problem.

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Champion 3100 Watt Inverter Petrol Generator Win a Win a One Week Stay at Vauxhall Holiday Park!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 13 18 October
Occupying eleven huge halls of the NEC, it is guaranteed to be an unmissable event. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2170 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015