Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
              9/10 from 194 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simonwwfc 2 reviews from this member

Excellant site could not fault it. We went 1st week in August and it was very busy. We asked for adjoining pitches and was told that we may struggle but they took us around the fields in any case to have a look. We did manage to get 2 pitches next to each other which was a bonus. The site is extremely clean and well laid out. It is in a very good location and only a short drive from Dawlish Warren. Starcross is within walking distance and has a few pubs serving very nice food.

All in all a lovely break and will almost definitely be visiting again in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MOLUSC 12 reviews from this member

The weather was great when we arrived here for our 3 day stay,the kids made the most of this and jumped into the outdoor pool within an hour of arriving-they loved it.

The scenery surrounding the site is fantastic and there is loads for the kids to do on site(pool play areas,fishing)

The shop was well stocked and you can buy bait and some fishing tackle from reception.

There is a good takeaway on site if you have had enough of cooking or BBQing.Or you can try the bar (swan)for a decent meal,plenty for the kids to choose from as well.

Dawlish warren is not too far away and has a small fairground and a nice beach-there is also a good sized car park with plenty of spaces (easy to park the motorhome)

Dawlish is also a stones throw away and has a beach and plenty of boat trips leaving the jetty.

BEWARE THERE IS NO PARKING FOR MOTORHOMES-DO NOT TRY THE CARPARK NEAR THE RAILWAY STATION (even if a carpark attendent from another carpark suggests it is a large car park),you will find that it narrows the further you go down,and there is hardly any room to turn round,i struggled and had an inch each side,dont put yourself in a stressfull situation like this if you dont have to.

Anyway back to Cofton

The toilet block was spotless and the showers were nice and hot.

All in all one of the best sites I have visited.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 85janice 4 reviews from this member

We stayed for bank holiday week with our two children aged 2 and four who had a great time. It was a lovely week, we arrived bank holiday Monday and as many people had departed after the bank holiday weekend we were told to pitch our tent any where we liked. We chose the orchard which I would recommend as only tents were allowed, it is convenient for the excellant showers and toilet block which was always very clean.

Other reviews mentioned trouble with teenagers but we never witnessed any of this.

The swimming pools were a big hit and warm, the playgrounds were tidy but a little bit too old for our toddlers but they managed it. The chip shop had excellant fish and the restaurant food was good but very small portions.If you take a walk out of the gate at the top of the orchard the quiet road leads you to a little harbour and two good pubs, the children loved catching crabs as the tide came in.The shop is well stocked with friendly staff. Dawlish itself is very nice, Dawlish Warren much more commercial. A visit to Babbacombe beach is a must, only accessible by foot or rail car, very pretty with good facilities.I would highly recommend this site but I suspect in the height of the summer season early booking advisable.

Would return again.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kwthfamily 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Cofton which we visited for our summer holiday. We chose the site after reading the reviews on here and we were not disapointed.
The site was very well organised and maintained. We were pleased with our pitch which was spacious and the views were lovely. All the facilities were within a very short walk.
The showers were very clean and always worked well with a good temperature, although the site was full we never had to queue once on the 8 mornings that we were there.
The pub/club on site was lovely, food was good, beer was good and entertainment was spot on.
The takeaway on site did a wide variety of food which was to a good quality.
My daughter absolutely loved the pool and for once it does actually look like it does in the brouchure. I don't think I have ever seen such a well looked after pool and surrounding area on a campsite before!
There were plently of playgrounds including an adventure one which we didn't make it to in the end.
The location was brilliant there is so much to see and do in this area for a young family.
There are two local pubs which are within easy walking distance which both do excellent food.
We really can't think of a bad thing to say about this site or about our holiday other than it went too quickly.
If you are looking for a good family site in this part of Devon we would highly recommend this one.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Light Infantry 9 reviews from this member

We spent an absolutely brilliant 10 Days on this site. I have travelled all over Europe in search of a good holiday and believe it or not we found the best one in the UK on this site. The amenities and facilities are first rate. The restaurant served excellent food and the open air pool was excellent. Every night there was a good quality turn on in the Families lounge with extra disco for kids and a Line dancing night and Karaoke night.

The pitches are well spaced out . We had a pitch right next to the Play area and Takeaway shop/games room/laundry/toilet block. The smells from the Takeaway was not noticeable (something which unneseccarily worried me when we were given the pitch), The play area is policed by Security at night and no noise was heard after 9pm.

The weather after the first day was 24 degrees and we just stayed on the site the whole time with no need to travel around for things to do.

I also broke my shoulder whilst on the site and the Site Manager and 1st Aider both offered me the greatest of customer care and nothing was too much for them. Ambulance was called, cash machine filled up so I could get cash to get back to the site from Exeter Hospital, sling applied by first aider.Nothing was too much for them.

Even though I broke my shoulder it did not spoil my holiday on this site. I would recommend it to anyone with kids for a Holiday it would be better than Spain or the South of France.Anytime. We met great couples we had a neighbours.

Something to mention was the Family Bathroom. For a fully £10 deposit for the key it allowed us as a family to do the necessary especially with the problem with my shoulder. It meant my wife could "Bed bath me in private" and very nice it was too.

AN EXCELLENT SITE, WELL RUN, FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF, 1ST CLASS AMENITIES AND FACILITIES. EXCELLENT PITCHES.WELL DONE COFTON

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizzie72 1 review from this member

Beautiful site,toilets were really clean and the showers,which even had music playing in them.Good shop on site and the swimming pool was lovely.Only drawback was we forgot our gas bottle and everywhere we priced they wanted £35 at least! The fish shop on site was great and reasonably priced.I would go there again.Lovely clean and quiet site.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnhopkin 7 reviews from this member

We arrived and the weather changed for the better and we had excellent weather for the period of our stay here. The campsite is excellent with very good facilities. The pool was fantastic. We had a excellent time throughout the week.
I have however one moan. We were pitched quite close to the kids playground, which was good most of the time because it meant our kids could go and play there and we could keep an eye on them. However, at 10.30 - 11.00 pm when the little kids had all gone to bed, a large number of teenagers congregated there. This wouldn't have been a problem, but their language and behaviour was definitely innappropriate. We were going to say something to the management but the neighbouring campers beat us to it. They were moved to a different pitch and also the noise abated (I think due to the kids being moved on by the staff) and we didn't have any problems after that.
 
Overall an excellent campsite and ideal for families. The entertainment also impressed, with the children being involved in the really wild roadshow disco show thing and having the time of their lives. The surroundings are very impressive and we had a good wander to the seaside through the woods.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Pearson 9 reviews from this member

Cofton is a great site, very well kept, very tidy, fantastic shower / loo blocks ( they are cleaned EIGHT times a day ), good shop, good bars, nice food, lovely pool area with sunbathing terraces around it. The take away chippie  also does indian and chinese food, this is without doubt the best take away we have ever come across. The staff are friendly and offer great service, the food is excellent and all served with a smile.
We came here after visiting Cornwall, we didn't like the seaside  towns on this coast, too commercial, whereas Cornwall was more laid back and unspoilt. But the site cannot be faulted. The pitches are virtually level but done on terraces, as the overall site is in a bowl shape, so be ready to pedal hard back up the hill in the morning with the paper !

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wydeee 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip and we loved it!
 
Very impressed with Cofton Country Holidays site.  It is very big but has enough facilities for everyone.
 
The toilets are modern and very clean and always had toilet paper, the showers were also very clean. The toilet/shower block rush starts at about 7:30am, but if like me you are up before then it's virtually empty. The showers are nice and big and reasonably powerful. They also had 6 washing up sinks on the side of the shower block nearest us.
 
The pitches (we had 9 in 2 tents) we were allocated had plenty of room, no extra charge for gazebo, windbreak etc. We didn't arrive until 7:45pm without booking and still managed to get electric hookup and 2 pitches together. Check in was very quick.
 
They have an excellent take-away, they do everything from fish and chips to chicken madras, the food is really nice.
There is a shop that sells everything you can think of but is slightly expensive for some things. It's open 8:30am until 8pm.
But don't forget your gas bottle, we had to pay £46 for one!
 
The swimming pools are really nice, they have a large pool and toddler pool, a life guard on watch at all times and plenty of room for sitting round or sunbathing etc. And next to the pool they have small paddock with donkeys in.  They also have a Pub/ Clubhouse which is very nice but the drinks are a bit expensive but aren't they always on campsites/caravan parks!
 
The site is in very easy reach of Dawlish, Dawlish Warren and Teignmouth.  Torquay, Paignton and Brixham are a bit further but still easy to find.
 
We really enjoyed this holiday and would definitely recommend this campsite for family holidays.   5 stars ***** from us. 

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mandie@home 8 reviews from this member

Back to an old favourite for us this Whit week.
 
We choose a pitch down by the lakes this year, lovely.  The toilet / shower block was not too much of a walk but I have always thought they are centrally placed.  Being in a motor home we did have difficulty with the filling of the fresh water tank and could not drain of the waste water tank.
 
There is a good fish and chip shop which also doubles as a take away cafe in the morning.  There is also a good sized launderette and a games room a couple of arcade games / slot machines and a pool table.
 
Over the road on the other half of the site there is the reception, very well stocked shop, the pub and the swimming pool.  There is also a park area and field area for playing games.  Proceed up the hill along the public foot path and you find the animals and a little further you have the woods.
 
If you walk along the road that splits the site in half you end up in Cockwood - there are a couple of pubs here that serve food.  If you feel energetic than a walk to Starcross will find more pubs and shops - we have never needed to though.
 
The fishing was very good, given that this was the reason for choosing the site - it was brilliant.  If you wish to get out and about you are just up the road from Dawlish Warren, Dawlish with Torquay slightly further afield. There are regular buses from Cockwood bridge to Exeter and Torquay and the railway station is a little further in Starcross. 
 
My only suggestion to Cofton is PLEASE provide facilities for motor homes.

Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win £200 of Cool Prizes from Outwell Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game & Country Fair 25/04 to 26/04
Masses of fun and displays at the The Norfolk Showground - day tickets or you can camp over for the weekend.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7100 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0605