Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
              9/10 from 191 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kwthfamily 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Cofton which we visited for our summer holiday. We chose the site after reading the reviews on here and we were not disapointed.
The site was very well organised and maintained. We were pleased with our pitch which was spacious and the views were lovely. All the facilities were within a very short walk.
The showers were very clean and always worked well with a good temperature, although the site was full we never had to queue once on the 8 mornings that we were there.
The pub/club on site was lovely, food was good, beer was good and entertainment was spot on.
The takeaway on site did a wide variety of food which was to a good quality.
My daughter absolutely loved the pool and for once it does actually look like it does in the brouchure. I don't think I have ever seen such a well looked after pool and surrounding area on a campsite before!
There were plently of playgrounds including an adventure one which we didn't make it to in the end.
The location was brilliant there is so much to see and do in this area for a young family.
There are two local pubs which are within easy walking distance which both do excellent food.
We really can't think of a bad thing to say about this site or about our holiday other than it went too quickly.
If you are looking for a good family site in this part of Devon we would highly recommend this one.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Light Infantry 9 reviews from this member

We spent an absolutely brilliant 10 Days on this site. I have travelled all over Europe in search of a good holiday and believe it or not we found the best one in the UK on this site. The amenities and facilities are first rate. The restaurant served excellent food and the open air pool was excellent. Every night there was a good quality turn on in the Families lounge with extra disco for kids and a Line dancing night and Karaoke night.

The pitches are well spaced out . We had a pitch right next to the Play area and Takeaway shop/games room/laundry/toilet block. The smells from the Takeaway was not noticeable (something which unneseccarily worried me when we were given the pitch), The play area is policed by Security at night and no noise was heard after 9pm.

The weather after the first day was 24 degrees and we just stayed on the site the whole time with no need to travel around for things to do.

I also broke my shoulder whilst on the site and the Site Manager and 1st Aider both offered me the greatest of customer care and nothing was too much for them. Ambulance was called, cash machine filled up so I could get cash to get back to the site from Exeter Hospital, sling applied by first aider.Nothing was too much for them.

Even though I broke my shoulder it did not spoil my holiday on this site. I would recommend it to anyone with kids for a Holiday it would be better than Spain or the South of France.Anytime. We met great couples we had a neighbours.

Something to mention was the Family Bathroom. For a fully £10 deposit for the key it allowed us as a family to do the necessary especially with the problem with my shoulder. It meant my wife could "Bed bath me in private" and very nice it was too.

AN EXCELLENT SITE, WELL RUN, FRIENDLY HELPFUL STAFF, 1ST CLASS AMENITIES AND FACILITIES. EXCELLENT PITCHES.WELL DONE COFTON

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizzie72 1 review from this member

Beautiful site,toilets were really clean and the showers,which even had music playing in them.Good shop on site and the swimming pool was lovely.Only drawback was we forgot our gas bottle and everywhere we priced they wanted £35 at least! The fish shop on site was great and reasonably priced.I would go there again.Lovely clean and quiet site.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnhopkin 7 reviews from this member

We arrived and the weather changed for the better and we had excellent weather for the period of our stay here. The campsite is excellent with very good facilities. The pool was fantastic. We had a excellent time throughout the week.
I have however one moan. We were pitched quite close to the kids playground, which was good most of the time because it meant our kids could go and play there and we could keep an eye on them. However, at 10.30 - 11.00 pm when the little kids had all gone to bed, a large number of teenagers congregated there. This wouldn't have been a problem, but their language and behaviour was definitely innappropriate. We were going to say something to the management but the neighbouring campers beat us to it. They were moved to a different pitch and also the noise abated (I think due to the kids being moved on by the staff) and we didn't have any problems after that.
 
Overall an excellent campsite and ideal for families. The entertainment also impressed, with the children being involved in the really wild roadshow disco show thing and having the time of their lives. The surroundings are very impressive and we had a good wander to the seaside through the woods.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Pearson 7 reviews from this member

Cofton is a great site, very well kept, very tidy, fantastic shower / loo blocks ( they are cleaned EIGHT times a day ), good shop, good bars, nice food, lovely pool area with sunbathing terraces around it. The take away chippie  also does indian and chinese food, this is without doubt the best take away we have ever come across. The staff are friendly and offer great service, the food is excellent and all served with a smile.
We came here after visiting Cornwall, we didn't like the seaside  towns on this coast, too commercial, whereas Cornwall was more laid back and unspoilt. But the site cannot be faulted. The pitches are virtually level but done on terraces, as the overall site is in a bowl shape, so be ready to pedal hard back up the hill in the morning with the paper !

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wydeee 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip and we loved it!
 
Very impressed with Cofton Country Holidays site.  It is very big but has enough facilities for everyone.
 
The toilets are modern and very clean and always had toilet paper, the showers were also very clean. The toilet/shower block rush starts at about 7:30am, but if like me you are up before then it's virtually empty. The showers are nice and big and reasonably powerful. They also had 6 washing up sinks on the side of the shower block nearest us.
 
The pitches (we had 9 in 2 tents) we were allocated had plenty of room, no extra charge for gazebo, windbreak etc. We didn't arrive until 7:45pm without booking and still managed to get electric hookup and 2 pitches together. Check in was very quick.
 
They have an excellent take-away, they do everything from fish and chips to chicken madras, the food is really nice.
There is a shop that sells everything you can think of but is slightly expensive for some things. It's open 8:30am until 8pm.
But don't forget your gas bottle, we had to pay £46 for one!
 
The swimming pools are really nice, they have a large pool and toddler pool, a life guard on watch at all times and plenty of room for sitting round or sunbathing etc. And next to the pool they have small paddock with donkeys in.  They also have a Pub/ Clubhouse which is very nice but the drinks are a bit expensive but aren't they always on campsites/caravan parks!
 
The site is in very easy reach of Dawlish, Dawlish Warren and Teignmouth.  Torquay, Paignton and Brixham are a bit further but still easy to find.
 
We really enjoyed this holiday and would definitely recommend this campsite for family holidays.   5 stars ***** from us. 

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mandie@home 8 reviews from this member

Back to an old favourite for us this Whit week.
 
We choose a pitch down by the lakes this year, lovely.  The toilet / shower block was not too much of a walk but I have always thought they are centrally placed.  Being in a motor home we did have difficulty with the filling of the fresh water tank and could not drain of the waste water tank.
 
There is a good fish and chip shop which also doubles as a take away cafe in the morning.  There is also a good sized launderette and a games room a couple of arcade games / slot machines and a pool table.
 
Over the road on the other half of the site there is the reception, very well stocked shop, the pub and the swimming pool.  There is also a park area and field area for playing games.  Proceed up the hill along the public foot path and you find the animals and a little further you have the woods.
 
If you walk along the road that splits the site in half you end up in Cockwood - there are a couple of pubs here that serve food.  If you feel energetic than a walk to Starcross will find more pubs and shops - we have never needed to though.
 
The fishing was very good, given that this was the reason for choosing the site - it was brilliant.  If you wish to get out and about you are just up the road from Dawlish Warren, Dawlish with Torquay slightly further afield. There are regular buses from Cockwood bridge to Exeter and Torquay and the railway station is a little further in Starcross. 
 
My only suggestion to Cofton is PLEASE provide facilities for motor homes.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skelton 2 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping experience, and we weren't disappointed!
We arrived quite late in the day so we were checked in quite quickly and shown to our pitch by men on quads. There are numerous fields that you can pitch your tent on. Ours was on a hill with evened out platforms all the way up.
There are pitches with electric hook up.
There are about 4/5 shower/toilet blocks dotted around the campsite(as it is fairly large). Each block had around 5/6 showers & an abundance of toilets,also there were reasonable sized cubicles that you could change in & do your hair/makeup.
They did get quite busy around 7am onwards, so if your an early bird like me you'll be in & out in no time.
There is a well stocked shop on site, which in my opinion should open alittle earlier. There is also an onsite pub which does food (sorry i did'nt sample any of the quisine, as we ate out.)
In one corner of the camp there were around 5 well stocked fishing lakes that can be fished if you are staying on the site.
I will be bringing my rod and net next time we stay here!
 
There are lots of attractions around Dawlish, so you'll never be board. If you like a bit of a challenge then visit Sheldon 18 hole golf course/pitch & putt. Anyone can do this, not just the proffesionals. It is played on the side of a hill and has great views on Teignmouth.
The beach is about 3/4 miles away, so you'll need to take your car, but there is plenty of parking.
Also if your looking for good food, try the Smugglers Inn, which is on the main road from Dawlish to Teighnmouth,they serve excellent food. You'll need to book for the evening to avoid dissapointment. They do an awesome Carvery every day(lunch & evening).
 
All in all, this park is very clean & tidy. The only down fall that I found was that people were quite noisey late at night, but apart from that I would still recommend it!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K1r5ty70 4 reviews from this member

We have been visiting Cofton now for about 5 years on and off.
The site is great and the fasilites excellent - good to see that at last they have built a new toilet and shower block on Barn Owl (about time too!)
We have been in previous years with friends but have never been lucky enough to camp next to each other, this is because they don't reserve certain pitches! Can't help thinking that if they numbered their pitches they would make their life so much easier - it would relieve the queing on arrival to be shown to a pitch and would mean you could guarantee being next to friends - Come on Cofton surely this makes sense!
Great pool, bar food excellent, childrens playgrounds good, entertainment good, only downside is the size of the family room which on cold damp evenings is not big enough to accommodate many families.
All in all an excellent site and great for a family holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stolliday 8 reviews from this member

Had a great time and would recommend this site

Good points - good size pitch, toilet/shower blocks were clean & tidy. The kids loved the swimming pool. There is woodland walk from the site which has some excellent views over looking Dawlish Warren & the estuary. It was peak season so the site was full but I am glad to say all facilities coped.

Bad points - not a lot wrong with this site. Would recommend that you don't pitch in the field right next to entrance road (left hand side) as traffic noise starts from 5am (not sure what was about at this time but it seemed a bit much considering)

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1172