Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
              9/10 from 188 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnhopkin 7 reviews from this member

We arrived and the weather changed for the better and we had excellent weather for the period of our stay here. The campsite is excellent with very good facilities. The pool was fantastic. We had a excellent time throughout the week.
I have however one moan. We were pitched quite close to the kids playground, which was good most of the time because it meant our kids could go and play there and we could keep an eye on them. However, at 10.30 - 11.00 pm when the little kids had all gone to bed, a large number of teenagers congregated there. This wouldn't have been a problem, but their language and behaviour was definitely innappropriate. We were going to say something to the management but the neighbouring campers beat us to it. They were moved to a different pitch and also the noise abated (I think due to the kids being moved on by the staff) and we didn't have any problems after that.
 
Overall an excellent campsite and ideal for families. The entertainment also impressed, with the children being involved in the really wild roadshow disco show thing and having the time of their lives. The surroundings are very impressive and we had a good wander to the seaside through the woods.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Pearson 7 reviews from this member

Cofton is a great site, very well kept, very tidy, fantastic shower / loo blocks ( they are cleaned EIGHT times a day ), good shop, good bars, nice food, lovely pool area with sunbathing terraces around it. The take away chippie  also does indian and chinese food, this is without doubt the best take away we have ever come across. The staff are friendly and offer great service, the food is excellent and all served with a smile.
We came here after visiting Cornwall, we didn't like the seaside  towns on this coast, too commercial, whereas Cornwall was more laid back and unspoilt. But the site cannot be faulted. The pitches are virtually level but done on terraces, as the overall site is in a bowl shape, so be ready to pedal hard back up the hill in the morning with the paper !

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wydeee 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip and we loved it!
 
Very impressed with Cofton Country Holidays site.  It is very big but has enough facilities for everyone.
 
The toilets are modern and very clean and always had toilet paper, the showers were also very clean. The toilet/shower block rush starts at about 7:30am, but if like me you are up before then it's virtually empty. The showers are nice and big and reasonably powerful. They also had 6 washing up sinks on the side of the shower block nearest us.
 
The pitches (we had 9 in 2 tents) we were allocated had plenty of room, no extra charge for gazebo, windbreak etc. We didn't arrive until 7:45pm without booking and still managed to get electric hookup and 2 pitches together. Check in was very quick.
 
They have an excellent take-away, they do everything from fish and chips to chicken madras, the food is really nice.
There is a shop that sells everything you can think of but is slightly expensive for some things. It's open 8:30am until 8pm.
But don't forget your gas bottle, we had to pay £46 for one!
 
The swimming pools are really nice, they have a large pool and toddler pool, a life guard on watch at all times and plenty of room for sitting round or sunbathing etc. And next to the pool they have small paddock with donkeys in.  They also have a Pub/ Clubhouse which is very nice but the drinks are a bit expensive but aren't they always on campsites/caravan parks!
 
The site is in very easy reach of Dawlish, Dawlish Warren and Teignmouth.  Torquay, Paignton and Brixham are a bit further but still easy to find.
 
We really enjoyed this holiday and would definitely recommend this campsite for family holidays.   5 stars ***** from us. 

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mandie@home 8 reviews from this member

Back to an old favourite for us this Whit week.
 
We choose a pitch down by the lakes this year, lovely.  The toilet / shower block was not too much of a walk but I have always thought they are centrally placed.  Being in a motor home we did have difficulty with the filling of the fresh water tank and could not drain of the waste water tank.
 
There is a good fish and chip shop which also doubles as a take away cafe in the morning.  There is also a good sized launderette and a games room a couple of arcade games / slot machines and a pool table.
 
Over the road on the other half of the site there is the reception, very well stocked shop, the pub and the swimming pool.  There is also a park area and field area for playing games.  Proceed up the hill along the public foot path and you find the animals and a little further you have the woods.
 
If you walk along the road that splits the site in half you end up in Cockwood - there are a couple of pubs here that serve food.  If you feel energetic than a walk to Starcross will find more pubs and shops - we have never needed to though.
 
The fishing was very good, given that this was the reason for choosing the site - it was brilliant.  If you wish to get out and about you are just up the road from Dawlish Warren, Dawlish with Torquay slightly further afield. There are regular buses from Cockwood bridge to Exeter and Torquay and the railway station is a little further in Starcross. 
 
My only suggestion to Cofton is PLEASE provide facilities for motor homes.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skelton 2 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping experience, and we weren't disappointed!
We arrived quite late in the day so we were checked in quite quickly and shown to our pitch by men on quads. There are numerous fields that you can pitch your tent on. Ours was on a hill with evened out platforms all the way up.
There are pitches with electric hook up.
There are about 4/5 shower/toilet blocks dotted around the campsite(as it is fairly large). Each block had around 5/6 showers & an abundance of toilets,also there were reasonable sized cubicles that you could change in & do your hair/makeup.
They did get quite busy around 7am onwards, so if your an early bird like me you'll be in & out in no time.
There is a well stocked shop on site, which in my opinion should open alittle earlier. There is also an onsite pub which does food (sorry i did'nt sample any of the quisine, as we ate out.)
In one corner of the camp there were around 5 well stocked fishing lakes that can be fished if you are staying on the site.
I will be bringing my rod and net next time we stay here!
 
There are lots of attractions around Dawlish, so you'll never be board. If you like a bit of a challenge then visit Sheldon 18 hole golf course/pitch & putt. Anyone can do this, not just the proffesionals. It is played on the side of a hill and has great views on Teignmouth.
The beach is about 3/4 miles away, so you'll need to take your car, but there is plenty of parking.
Also if your looking for good food, try the Smugglers Inn, which is on the main road from Dawlish to Teighnmouth,they serve excellent food. You'll need to book for the evening to avoid dissapointment. They do an awesome Carvery every day(lunch & evening).
 
All in all, this park is very clean & tidy. The only down fall that I found was that people were quite noisey late at night, but apart from that I would still recommend it!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K1r5ty70 4 reviews from this member

We have been visiting Cofton now for about 5 years on and off.
The site is great and the fasilites excellent - good to see that at last they have built a new toilet and shower block on Barn Owl (about time too!)
We have been in previous years with friends but have never been lucky enough to camp next to each other, this is because they don't reserve certain pitches! Can't help thinking that if they numbered their pitches they would make their life so much easier - it would relieve the queing on arrival to be shown to a pitch and would mean you could guarantee being next to friends - Come on Cofton surely this makes sense!
Great pool, bar food excellent, childrens playgrounds good, entertainment good, only downside is the size of the family room which on cold damp evenings is not big enough to accommodate many families.
All in all an excellent site and great for a family holiday.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stolliday 8 reviews from this member

Had a great time and would recommend this site

Good points - good size pitch, toilet/shower blocks were clean & tidy. The kids loved the swimming pool. There is woodland walk from the site which has some excellent views over looking Dawlish Warren & the estuary. It was peak season so the site was full but I am glad to say all facilities coped.

Bad points - not a lot wrong with this site. Would recommend that you don't pitch in the field right next to entrance road (left hand side) as traffic noise starts from 5am (not sure what was about at this time but it seemed a bit much considering)

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: H2puv 5 reviews from this member

Just spend 2 weeks at this site for the very first time & we would definitely go back, fantastic site, very clean toilet facilities which is a must on a campsite so big, the pool area was great & there was a life guard on from open til close daily. The take-away is a must, as cooks everything you can imagine from fish & chips to Mexican food the only downside was it was sooo busy from open til close so be prepared to wait. but you know what they say (You can't rush quality!) All in all the site was great & to be totally honest there were only 2 things that let it down. With having small children they could be doing with a speed limit on the site & the site buggies were the worst for speeding up & down & the pool area should have a shower facility to use on getting in & out.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynzillyd 4 reviews from this member

I feel a little bit guilty writing this review as there are so many positive things written before me. I am afraid I booked our holiday at this site after such poitive reviews, but was so disappointed. Here is how I would review it:

POSITIVES: Very clean well kept site. In a prime location with plenty to do nearby. Laundry facilities were plentiful and in good working order and the staff were helpful and friendly. The pool area was very nice, and the site was in walking distance of Cockwood and Starcross where there were some nice pubs over looking the estury. The security was tight at the entrance with a person standing guard most of the time.

NEGATIVES: Pitches were small, we felt crammed in. The tents and caravans were pitched next to each other so it got pretty crowded on the main grass track for on coming vehicles. Dogs were allowed everywhere, and some owners allowed them to soil anywhere, not to mention the barking. There was nowhere for the kids to play ball games or cycle so we had balls hitting our caravan on several occassions and kids riding all over the roads. The 3 play areas were great for kids over 5, but nothing for toddlers. The pool was so over crowded with kids you couldn't even get a big toe in. It was standing room only at the bar/patio area if you arrived after 6pm, people were spilling over onto the road with their pints! There was little or no entertainment. We discovered it was 'weather permitting' because it was centered round the seating areas outside as inside was too small. There were older kids, (about 16) swigging cider out of bottles and smoking just loitering about. The shop was too small, even having 3 tills the queue still stretched the full length of the place. There were very few chemical disposal points, I had to drive to empty ours because it was too heavy to drag or carry the distance for me! The older shower blocks were poor, we ended up showering in our van.

We paid about £19 per night for 17 nights but didn't use the facilities, (except for the elsan and laundry). There are no refunds allowed so we were stuck. We will go for less commercialised parks from now on that give you more space, peace and quiet so we can enjoy the leisure facilities without feeling like you are on holiday with 400 others.

Sorry Cofton, you weren't my cup of tea.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kayleighc123 5 reviews from this member

What a brilliant site. Stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed the stay. Facilities are superb and the staff are friendly and welcoming on arrival! Toilets and showers were always clean, but the shower I used were not the best in power but always had hot water. The campsite shop has everything you need and more. Even though the queue is coming out of the door in the morning it goes very fast and the selves are never empty! The site is always clean has a great fish & chip shop! I personally did not use the swimming pool but when having a drink in the bar the pool looked very clean but was very busy when sunny/warm.

I would recommend going to see Scott May's Daredevil stunt show in Dawlish Warren on a Thursday! Really good and great for the whole family - but remember your camping chairs as you have to stand up! Dawlish Warren and Dawlish beach/town is also very nice for a day out, Teignmouth and Shaldon are also very close with lots to do! Great little zoo/wildlife park at the top of Shaldon by Nessi Beach/ Smugglers tunnel.

Great site and area would definitely return for a longer stay - Recommend to all!

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0586