Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 214 Reviews
                8/10 from 214 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  214 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debsngeorge 1 review from this member

We would recommend this site to anyone who just wants to chill out we could not fault it. The toilet block was ok, although I never got to use the showers because I used the family bathroom which was very well equipped, it even had a potty for younger kids. The staff were very helpful suggesting places to go and visit. The pub was so cozy with a very friendly atmosphere. The shop was little but had everything you needed. We will be booking again for next year.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevmed 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to this site and what a fantastic time we had. The shop was very well stocked although small. We never had to queue for the showers which always had hot water. The bar is second to none although if you want a place around the log fire you have to go in early. There was plenty for the kids to do with the large play area which had an adventure playground on it. There was also a games room which the kids used in the evening where they would meet up with other kids that they had made friends with.

On our first visit to this site last year we did the walk around Little Mel but this visit we had planned to do the Aira Force walk. We were not disappointed, the Aira Force walk provides some excellent views over Ullswater and is a must, the waterfalls themselves were beautiful. We did the full 8 mile walk with a stop off at a pub I think was called the Royal for a well earned drink.

Pooley Bridge is only short drive away and has a few shops and a couple of pubs that served food.

We are planning another visit in August before the kids go back to school, we can't wait!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VangoMan72 2 reviews from this member

This is a superb campsite in a great location. The small bar on site is beautiful with reasonable bar prices and a very cosy feel to it. However I did have some reservations.

The site claims to have a 'No Groups' policy and a ban on ball games in the tent field (kids playground is about 30 seconds away in a private play area), but despite this there were kids playing football and cricket between the tents in what was a very busy main field. Given that the field slopes slightly meant that any ball games end up hitting our tent. There was also a section of family groups who were up all hours talking. There seemed to be no evidence of these site rules being enforced, and sadly it didn't live up to its name of The Quiet Site.

The toilet facilities were also inadequate for the number of people present.

We may have been unlucky as we did go in the half term holidays. We will definitely return though during a quieter time when there are fewer kids, and we will be sure to book one of the level standings on the edge of the field for a bit more privacy, rather than having to go onto the sloping centre.

Overall a great location - just be sure to go outside of the kids holidays!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crank63 5 reviews from this member

Been to this site now 4 times, it is the best I have been to loved it. The flat pitches are best as the field has a slight slope the shop is small but ok. The bar is the best. Loved every minute. The site is in a good location for walks and there are a few pubs around but you need to drive. Would go back time and time again. All the staff are friendly, great place

Date of Visit: December 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stu.jackie 5 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for 3 nights at new year, we paid £27 per night, very expensive, there were 3 fresh water taps near the touring vans, not one was working, you had to go down a steep hill with your water containers, that was ok for me, but what about someone who is getting on in years, not much fun. The heating in the site pub was turned off, there was a log fire but for a room of that size it was not enough. On a bright note the one member of staff we did see was a chap called Frazer, and he bent over backwards to do what he could for us, a real star.

However we did have a smashing new year and that was down to the people we met who all chipped to make a real nice time for new year. There were 30 plus empty pitches, all hardstanding, I think that alone must tell the owners something when you consider that new year caravanning is getting more and more popular. I can see how it could be pleasant site in the summer, big play area for the children etc, but this site is not cheap.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eileen Morley 4 reviews from this member

We found this to be a very pleasant site with some nice walks nearby.

The toilet block was rather dated with push-button pre-set showers. Unfortunately, I'm a delicate flower and found the water in the shower rather too hot for me. I wouldn't have liked to shower a child. However, there are family bathrooms too.

The management were extremely helpful and we rather liked the bar area which was much nicer with a good crowd in.

I do agree with another reviewer that it is very pricey. We paid £25 per night (with a dog)for a hard standing pitch with awning and electricity. For that price I would have expected a fully-serviced pitch.

The adventure playground looked great though I'm a bit too old to try it out (maybe if no-one was watching!)

All in all, we had a good time but don't think we'd return.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speedytam 1 review from this member

We visited this site weekend of 21st September 07 and had a great time. The people who ran the site could not have been more helpful. Took us straight up to our pitch, and showed us exactly where everything was on-site. Main thing for us was that the site had facilities for kids (3 families camping together - 7 kids in tow!). They didn't let us down. Big field with climbing frame / rope swing - wooden play hut, plenty of space to run round - only rule was no ball games in or around caravans or tents, which is perfectly understandable!

Toilet facilities are a bit outdated but worked perfectly well, decent showers with plenty hot water but they do have a couple of separate bathrooms with baths in them!

Bar on-site which was really nice with a log fire - games room with table tennis and also a pool table in the main bar with other games available, so again kept kids occupied. Bar doesn't do meals but we went into Pooley Bridge which wasn't too far away.

The surrounding area is lovely, went on a very long walk which ended up being 5 'country' miles but well worth it!

Definitely will return to this site and stay longer next time so that we can visit more of the Lake District.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Soph123 8 reviews from this member

We stayed 2 nights hadn't read any reviews before our trip

Have to say it just didn't do any thing for us.

Our views were of the camper and caravan either side and to the front static caravans the road run along the rear .

We did2 of the walks which were OK but nothing like we were expecting for our first visit to the lakes.

The bar is different but lacked any atmosphere when we were there ,wouldn't come anywhere near best site bar for us .

The toilet block was nice enough but nothing more than you would expect

Then there's the price of £25 per night far to high for what was on offer .

Luck as it we came across another site near brothers water which was just what we were looking for, beautiful walks following Crystal clear streams leading to mountain ridges. A brilliant bar with choice of ales ,great food and £7cheaper what more can I say.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Canvas Chris 2 reviews from this member

This site seems to get more reviews than any other in the lakes. So I thought I would take my family here for our summer break. And I have to say that for my young family it was near perfect!

This is a smallish site for tents, caravans and motor caravans.† The site is aimed at young family's with children's bathrooms, playrooms (young and older) play fields with swings and rustic playground etc.†

It is not a large commercial site and I can†imagine that a family arriving here that expects laid on entertainment, uniform facilities and a teenagers theme park may feel let down.

If however you want to spend some quality time among some of the best behaved campers I have experienced then pay this site a visit.

They are opening for camping and caravans until January next year. Anybody fancy a Christmas visit?!

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clare05 1 review from this member

Spent another lovely weekend at 'The Quiet Site.'† Having a seasonal pitch is a great bonus, it really is a home from home.† My husband and I have spent several weekends this summer at this site and never tire of it.† A great advantage is the warm welcome that we and our dogs always get.† The extra treats they get at the bar are much appreciated by Ted and Toby!† The walks from the site are beautiful and very manageable.† If you enjoy getting out and about this site is definitely for you.† I highly recommend it.

Previous     214 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1598 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977