Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clarelmiller 16 reviews from this member

When we arrived the site had encountered 10 solid days of torrential rain, so they had closed off most parts of the site, but we were shown to a very well drained and level pitch, with spectacular views. This site is extremely well kept and the owners / managers obviously take pride in their work.

The amenities include toilets, showers, parent and child room (which has 2 showers, baby bath tub and toilet), drying room and laundry, all of which are of a very very high standard. There is a well stocked shop on site where you can get local sausages, pies, fruit and veg, and you can order a newspaper at the weekends.

There are 2 pub restaurants within walking distance, both serve fantastic food, and a good selection of beers and malt whiskeys.

The Eskdale railway is also a short walk away, and is a good day out, but very expensive.

This is a fantastic site, the only downside for us was the drive to get there, as our car fully laden would not cope with the Hardknott pass, so was a long way round, but we would definitely return.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nordy600 6 reviews from this member

Brilliant!

After upsetting much of the bottom end of the site on the Friday we were allowed to stay on for the rest of the weekend as long as we kept the noise down.A bit rich seeing as there was a stag party on at the top end of the site!

Having said that, we behaved and enjoyed the rest of the weekend.

Simply the best toilet facilities I have seen on a campsite in a long time.

I would have preferred to slept in there than in my bedraggled old tent.

See you for New Years Eve!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 155 reviews from this member

Stayed here at short notice, having spent 3 days at the other CCC site nearby (Ravenglass - check its reviews as well, for things to do in the area). We wanted to be closer to the Eskdale Show (last Saturday in September), and called in on our bikes to book, having come up on the railway from Ravenglass.

Feels very unlike the usual CCC sites because there are no caravans or big second-home motorhomes due to the narrow local C-roads, and because the manager is laid back. An informal feel, no hardstanding (but plenty of electrics around the perimeter). Again, unusually for a CCC site, we were given the choice of where to go (you're usually told), but were of necessity limited by the ground conditions, soft after recent rain. A minor issue of 'defensible space' with a 'pitch where you want' site, so we used the wind screen to deflect people away from our door and to protect ourselves from the football being kicked about.

Pretty hills overlooking the site. Don't miss the inn that brews its own ale, near the base of Hardknott Pass. Dog walk in the woods by the site, or along the C-road which is quiet at night when the tourists have left. The Eskdale Show was a hour's walk away - we took the Spaniel down the cycle track along the riverside where she could swim - and it was a cracking day out, very different from Highland Shows we know up north because of the foxhound racing, Cumbria and Westmorland wrestling, Herdwick sheep, and a marquee packed with crafts, home baking competitions etc; all well worth staying on for, despite it meaning a very full day's journey home on Sunday!

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bryan w 1 review from this member

Just returned after a weeks holiday at this site, in a word FANTASTIC.
Facilities were spotless. As mentioned before fresh meat from site shop is excellent. Owners are friendly and very helpful. Beautiful walks direct from site. Stunning views. 2mins to friendly pub. Will be back next year. Stayed in camping pods last night as we decided to take monty 6 down while it was dry after 3 days of rain. Just as well as heavens opened again on Saturday.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Phiwinuk 3 reviews from this member

Stayed in one of the camping pods here. Really good, though only just enough room with 2 adults and 2 children. If the weather had been bad it would have been a tight squeeze. However the pods are great as long as you recognise their limitations.

The site itself is in a superb location, has great facilities and is really well run. Lots to do nearby. Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meandmyboys 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our first camping break. I was really impressed with the site, the toilet/shower block was really clean, good variety of food in the shop, and the local meat sold there was amazing. The play area is good for the little ones. We visited 2 pubs during our stay, and found both to be a lovely atmosphere as well as have nice beer and food.
There were some lovely walks, although with a 1 year old and 5 year old, we didn't venture far. The views are breathtaking. On our second night we had torrential rain, which had cleared by morning, we went out until after lunch, and when we had got back the ground had drained really well.

Our friends stayed in the camping pods, and were very impressed, there was only the 2 of them, and they thought any more would be over crowded, although its supposed to cater for 4 people.

All in all this was a great campsite, and I'm so glad we chose this one as our first camping trip.

We will certainly be going back again next year.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

After booking our August break early in the year I did the unthinkable and forgot to book somewhere for May bank holiday. After spending 2 or 3 days contacting every C&CC site in the NW & NE, followed by non C&CC sites, I was giving up hope of finding anywhere with availability, especially as there was less than 2 weeks to go.

Then I realised I had missed calling the C&CC site in Eskdale, and was amazed to find that the chap said he would fit us in, EHU and all!

I'd previously been over Hardknott/Wrynose many times but have to say I'd not noticed this site before, not that I'd been looking. And what a site it is, very well kept with clean facilities.

It was very windy on a couple of the days but we were in the first field as you drive in which has trees down one side, offering some protection.

We found it an excellent place to start our walks plus there is the added benefit of the Ravensglass railway to ride upon. The two local pubs offer a great selection of beers and the food is pretty good too.

No noise issues and wasn't at all overcrowded, even for bh weekend.

All in all a great site and one that we will return to in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianpw 1 review from this member

I wanted to write simply 'BOOK / GO' but realised that wouldn't be too helpful.

Staff, facilities, ground conditions, shop, local pubs, views are all excellent.

There are some great walks from here (we did Scafell and the path back led us straight to door of one of the local pubs)

Nearby are:

L'il Ratty steam train runs to Ravenglass

River Esk

Woods (loads of bats at night)

There are two areas to pitch. One has the site road running through it and the other doesn't. I don't know how much choice you get but if you will be coming and going in the car then maybe ask for the former. There are children's play facilities nearby that I didn't make use, but then again I'm 41.

Anyhow. My original idea might just have been better. If you are looking for that 'special' site that is clean, quiet but close to the best that the Lakes can offer. BOOK / GO.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wright4 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here after planning on staying at another site nearby which couldn't be pre-booked only to find it was full. When we arrived this site was also full but a camping pod was available, very reasonably priced and fun to stay in though not much room for 4 people but great for couples.
Staff were very helpful and were able to book us in for 2 more nights in our tent. Pitches were spacious and though site was full it didn't seem crowded. Toilets and showers were immaculate, very modern and heated. There was also a well stocked shop and plenty of sinks for washing dishes. There was also a room for drying off your wet walking boots. Our kids (age 12,6) enjoyed the play area which included swings and a trampoline.
The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of walks and places to visit including wastwater where the kids could swim in the lake, luckily the weather was gorgeous throughout our stay. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daz3223 7 reviews from this member

All previous reviews are highly accurate on this site. The only reason I am adding my comments is to fill in a few gaps as it may encourage you to visit this site sooner as it really is an excellent place to visit.

All the three pubs near by are CAMRA recommended and allow dogs in for all you pet lovers. The ingredients for the food, which is excellent, are locally sourced. The drive over Hardknott Pass is a right giggle but do not attempt with anything larger than a 4x4 or in winter as the road is very steep and twisting but the views take the breath away.

The railway near site is a narrow gauge track which regularly run small size steam loco's to and from Ravenglass. Train spotters will love this small line. And finally if you're like me and enjoy a good walk and great scenery this place is hard to beat as most of the lake district 'must see's' are only a short car ride or walk away.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UKs biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2344 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957