Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tarquin_rach 4 reviews from this member

Upon arrival was made to feel immediately welcome by Clair who gave us a map of the area and details of where to eat / visit, etc.

Pitch was spacious, toilet & shower block immaculate and showers free, also family shower room and a bath. There is a small shop on site stocking basics but you can also hire wet suits and body boards for a small fee (very reasonable). There is also an area to shower off wetsuits.

Campsite did not a have playground, but did have a large area where you could play ball, cricket, etc. And also had goats, guinea pigs (kept my 2 amused for hours) and a table tennis table. A gas BBQ was for hire with several picnic tables although we didn't try this out preferring to opt for a bbq by our tent.

Across the road there was a pub but we didn't try and at the farmhouse cream teas were offered between 3 & 5pm. We always intended to go for cream tea but sadly never got back to the site in time as there is so much to do in the surrounding area.

The beach is accessible from the campsite and is approx. 15 minute walk. All beaches in the area are fantastic and immaculate. Lots of cliff / coastal walks. We were lucky with the weather and spent a lot of time down on the beaches.

There is a well stocked information room and facility to freeze ice packs for free. Campsite is suitably placed to visit majority of Cornwall's attractions.

All in all we had a fantastic, relaxing time and will definitely be revisiting in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mooby 1 review from this member

Literally just back from a week at this campsite - we're definitely going back!

The ground is very well tended and drains well, although the trees and shrubs recently planted haven't matured and it's a tad windy when it gets up. The facilities are new and spotlessly clean, the showers are hot, free and roomy although don't put your bag on the bench close to the shower as they do spray a bit! The shop is great for stocking essentials and we even bought a bag of ice for £1.50. There are goats and guinea pigs for the little ones to look at and the gas BBQ can be hired for £5. Didn't have the cream tea in the garden though as the weather wasn't co-operative!

The Red River Pub is just across the road, well sited as the only pub in the village. It's largely very quiet at night (neighbours permitting) although there is a road that runs alongside the camp that can be busy. You can access the beach from the site - up through the top gate and round the field, but you can also go through the village and across the dunes each way takes about 15 minutes.

It's close to all the major towns to visit and we travelled to Eden Project in less than 45 minutes.

Simply amazing.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Badgers 12 reviews from this member

I love reading the reviews sooo much that I decided it's about time I joined up!

What can you say - the site has a lovely welcoming feel as you drive on. The owners are friendly & helpful, giving us a map of the area and info on where we could go to eat/drink/walk etc with our dogs.

Pitches are spacious, well laid out and well tended. Even though site was busy when we arrived it didn't have that 'cramped' feel. Facilities are spotless, no matter what the time of day and there are plenty of them so us ladies don't have to queue! A separate area is provided to wash your wetsuits. There is a communal BBQ and seating area available for use for a small charge and a shop on site, although we didn't use them. There is also a lovely garden area to enjoy a cream tea, but the weather changed before I got the chance to sample one!

The whole area is fab for walking, either over the dunes or across the beach. Hayle is a walkable 3-4 miles away and St.Ives approx 15 min drive but beware of the seagulls - everything you have heard about them is true!

A good, dog friendly pub is literally across the road at the entrance to the site serving decent food - if maybe a little over priced but then they do have the manopoly! There are a couple more 'trendy' bars just a short walk over the dunes for the younger visitor and plenty of places to eat and drink in Hayle.

So, would I go back? Yeah I would, my kids(4 legged kind!) had a fantastic holiday so that's good enough for me!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taurus 2 reviews from this member

This site is truly superb in everyway. Location, access to beaches, well maintained facilities, a local pub which serves very good food at a reasonable price with a selection of cask ales. What ever the weather you will be sure of a good time. A credit to the owners Mike and Clair.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicholafisher 12 reviews from this member

Stumbled upon this site while touring Cornwall in a hired campervan. Very friendly staff, the site is very well kept in a lovely location. The facilities are excellent, very clean, modern and lots of space. Showers and hairdryer are free. Nice walk through the dunes to the beach.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindaq 2 reviews from this member

This is our third visit to Gwithian and again we can not fault it, if you don't need bars/discos then this is the site for you. The showers and dishwashing areas are second to none, no need to bring your 20ps! We still haven't tried the cream teas, but it is always busy between 3-5.
As another reviewer commented there is nothing better than listening to the sound of the waves and the birds - so true. The best time for my girls was playing in the sand pit and trying to count the guinea pigs - what more can you ask for?! Will be back soon! :)

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tristin H 2 reviews from this member

Loved this site,first time here this year and was not disappointed. We used to spend a lot of time down this end of Cornwall (pre-kids) and we thought it time we re-visited and aren't we glad we did.

The site is perfect, no noisy bar (although there is a lovely place to eat and drink just opposite the entrance), no club house (brill), the best toilets, showers I have seen for a long time - if ever.

Spacious, clean pitches and a what feels like a safe site. Claire and Mike were great, very friendly and accommodating.

Beaches very close. Dog loved it. For the first time we felt our dog was welcome. He loved the sand dunes and beach and long coastal path walks we done.

We have booked to return at the end of May for another week. Can't wait.

Good points include, St Ives, Penzance, Lidl, Tesco, beaches, walking and cycling and of course peace and quiet.

The Huq's, the ones with the mad Pointer!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alamo1953 1 review from this member

Well where do I start, our first visit to Cornwall and we couldn't have picked a better location. Upon our arrival Claire and Mike were very helpful and selected a pitch for us that was perfect. So having set up our 'quite large' tent with electric hookup we both set out to look around and get our bearings. The facilities are second to none and together with a lovelly area, we knew straight away that we had discovered a little piece of heaven, why we'd not been down here before is beyond me. The short walks to the 'immense' beaches were awesome, sometimes we'd go late in the evening to watch the surfers and to see the sunset and sometimes early in the morning, to just sit and watch the world go by and dream about staying for good.

A short drive away (10 minutes) is St Ives, with a fanatastic chippy on the way (massive portions) and a Tesco's store a bit further on for all the other requirements, although the bread we got from the site shop was fanatastic and we're now buying the same back home. It was lovelly to lay in our tent and listen to the waves breaking on the beach during the night, and to hear the early morning birdsong, together with regular visit's from a pair of Robin's and the occasional baby rabbit. All in all, my wife and I absolutely loved the place and having only been back in Nottingham (yes, Nottingham, 325 miles and 6 hours away) for a day, we're already looking to return in June or July or August, and if my wife gets here way, all three of them.

To some up:

Site - 10/10, Claire & Mike - 10/10, Amenities 11/10, Area 10/10 & Value for Money 10/10.

Thanks for a brilliant 4 days. We will be back, armed with some 'surfing' gear, and to coin a commercial TV phrase.

'If Carlsberg made Camp Sites .'

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simondiablo900xp 1 review from this member

Visited this site 4 times over last 2 years and have never been disappointed. The last visit was in August this year, and as always, had a great time.

The facilities on the site are second to none. The shower and toilet block is great…. It is almost on an industrial scale! There are also family rooms which are great if you have little ones. Again, the washing-up area is also really good with plenty of sinks.

Mike and Clair, the owners, run the site really well. The whole atmosphere is really relaxing and very laid-back and they just let you get on with it. However, they will not take any cr*p, which is very re-assuring.

You are only a 10 minute walk to a flat, massive, fantastic beach which is great for surfing and body boarding or just having fun on the sand. You can also hear the waves breaking when you are laid in your tent at night………….It sounds fantastic!

We have never had a bad meal in the pub across the road (Red River Inn). Can definitely recommend a restaurant in Hayle called Pizza Patio. However, we don’t rate the fish and chip van very highly that visit’s the site. The cream teas that you can buy on the site are really good.

All in all, a fantastic site and can’t wait until we visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steandjen 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a 2 week holiday at Gwithian Farm Campsite and I think we can honestly say that it was one of the nicest campsites we've been to in a while. After travelling 400 miles to get there, it was nice to find that it was very reasonable (only £9 a night) and the facilities were spot on. New, clean, free and plentiful! Lots of daddy long legs though, much to the disgust of my fiance, but hey, you can't have everything.

Access to the beach was good and perfect for an evening stroll. Also, as it was towards the end of the season there was plenty of space to fly our kite from Cornish Kites in Mullion. We were even allowed to take up 2 pitches, mainly so that we didn't have to camp on the less grassy, worn areas. Nice beer from the pub just outside the campsite and even some great live entertainment in the pub too. One benefit to the site were the high hedges near the edge which we tucked our tent behind to hide from the wind. One lightweight nylon tent pitched in the middle was not so lucky. Definitely a good idea having an old yet trusty cotton tent. All in all there isn't anything particularly bad to say about Gwithian as it was peaceful (in the main - only the last night did we have a bunch of roudy surfers who I politely told to shut up), spacious, well located for access to south west cornwall and very well looked after. We'll definitely be visiting again in the future. Thanks for a lovely holiday!

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5710 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1270
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec