Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lindaq 2 reviews from this member

This is our third visit to Gwithian and again we can not fault it, if you don't need bars/discos then this is the site for you. The showers and dishwashing areas are second to none, no need to bring your 20ps! We still haven't tried the cream teas, but it is always busy between 3-5.
As another reviewer commented there is nothing better than listening to the sound of the waves and the birds - so true. The best time for my girls was playing in the sand pit and trying to count the guinea pigs - what more can you ask for?! Will be back soon! :)

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tristin H 2 reviews from this member

Loved this site,first time here this year and was not disappointed. We used to spend a lot of time down this end of Cornwall (pre-kids) and we thought it time we re-visited and aren't we glad we did.

The site is perfect, no noisy bar (although there is a lovely place to eat and drink just opposite the entrance), no club house (brill), the best toilets, showers I have seen for a long time - if ever.

Spacious, clean pitches and a what feels like a safe site. Claire and Mike were great, very friendly and accommodating.

Beaches very close. Dog loved it. For the first time we felt our dog was welcome. He loved the sand dunes and beach and long coastal path walks we done.

We have booked to return at the end of May for another week. Can't wait.

Good points include, St Ives, Penzance, Lidl, Tesco, beaches, walking and cycling and of course peace and quiet.

The Huq's, the ones with the mad Pointer!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alamo1953 1 review from this member

Well where do I start, our first visit to Cornwall and we couldn't have picked a better location. Upon our arrival Claire and Mike were very helpful and selected a pitch for us that was perfect. So having set up our 'quite large' tent with electric hookup we both set out to look around and get our bearings. The facilities are second to none and together with a lovelly area, we knew straight away that we had discovered a little piece of heaven, why we'd not been down here before is beyond me. The short walks to the 'immense' beaches were awesome, sometimes we'd go late in the evening to watch the surfers and to see the sunset and sometimes early in the morning, to just sit and watch the world go by and dream about staying for good.

A short drive away (10 minutes) is St Ives, with a fanatastic chippy on the way (massive portions) and a Tesco's store a bit further on for all the other requirements, although the bread we got from the site shop was fanatastic and we're now buying the same back home. It was lovelly to lay in our tent and listen to the waves breaking on the beach during the night, and to hear the early morning birdsong, together with regular visit's from a pair of Robin's and the occasional baby rabbit. All in all, my wife and I absolutely loved the place and having only been back in Nottingham (yes, Nottingham, 325 miles and 6 hours away) for a day, we're already looking to return in June or July or August, and if my wife gets here way, all three of them.

To some up:

Site - 10/10, Claire & Mike - 10/10, Amenities 11/10, Area 10/10 & Value for Money 10/10.

Thanks for a brilliant 4 days. We will be back, armed with some 'surfing' gear, and to coin a commercial TV phrase.

'If Carlsberg made Camp Sites .'

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simondiablo900xp 1 review from this member

Visited this site 4 times over last 2 years and have never been disappointed. The last visit was in August this year, and as always, had a great time.

The facilities on the site are second to none. The shower and toilet block is great…. It is almost on an industrial scale! There are also family rooms which are great if you have little ones. Again, the washing-up area is also really good with plenty of sinks.

Mike and Clair, the owners, run the site really well. The whole atmosphere is really relaxing and very laid-back and they just let you get on with it. However, they will not take any cr*p, which is very re-assuring.

You are only a 10 minute walk to a flat, massive, fantastic beach which is great for surfing and body boarding or just having fun on the sand. You can also hear the waves breaking when you are laid in your tent at night………….It sounds fantastic!

We have never had a bad meal in the pub across the road (Red River Inn). Can definitely recommend a restaurant in Hayle called Pizza Patio. However, we don’t rate the fish and chip van very highly that visit’s the site. The cream teas that you can buy on the site are really good.

All in all, a fantastic site and can’t wait until we visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steandjen 1 review from this member

We've just returned from a 2 week holiday at Gwithian Farm Campsite and I think we can honestly say that it was one of the nicest campsites we've been to in a while. After travelling 400 miles to get there, it was nice to find that it was very reasonable (only £9 a night) and the facilities were spot on. New, clean, free and plentiful! Lots of daddy long legs though, much to the disgust of my fiance, but hey, you can't have everything.

Access to the beach was good and perfect for an evening stroll. Also, as it was towards the end of the season there was plenty of space to fly our kite from Cornish Kites in Mullion. We were even allowed to take up 2 pitches, mainly so that we didn't have to camp on the less grassy, worn areas. Nice beer from the pub just outside the campsite and even some great live entertainment in the pub too. One benefit to the site were the high hedges near the edge which we tucked our tent behind to hide from the wind. One lightweight nylon tent pitched in the middle was not so lucky. Definitely a good idea having an old yet trusty cotton tent. All in all there isn't anything particularly bad to say about Gwithian as it was peaceful (in the main - only the last night did we have a bunch of roudy surfers who I politely told to shut up), spacious, well located for access to south west cornwall and very well looked after. We'll definitely be visiting again in the future. Thanks for a lovely holiday!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Abimarauder 2 reviews from this member

Once again after our fourth visit can we say Claire & Mike what an excellent job you do in making our stay on your site so good . The facilities are very good & the site is always clean & tidy. We could not ask for any more to make our stay more enjoyable I mean you only have to read the previous reviews to see that this is the best campsite we have been to, WELL DONE. P.S. We are already planning our next visit as I write this review.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisaj33 1 review from this member

Nice site but expensive for what it is. (a big field) Nice shower block and toilets, washing up facilities lots of sinks but luke warm water. The washing machines are rubbish so don't bother.

Also if you are in the non electric field it is pitch black on a night and I mean pitch black make sure you take a torch.

As someone else said there are no facilities for kids which we knew we chose this site because we could take our dog but the only downside of this is dogs are supposed to be on leads at all times unfortunately 99% of the owners ignored this which spoilt it for us.

Lovely quiet site if you don't have kids this is ideal. If you have kids st ives bay holiday park (just down the road) where we normally go has 2 clubs a swimming pool and kids playgrounds plenty of shower blocks and is half the price.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kickingking 1 review from this member

Just spent a week at the campsite and found it excellent in all its facilities from pitches to the shower blocks that where constantly cleaned, to the the shop, which was well stocked with hire equipment and groceries, all of Cornwall's attractions are very accessible and the beaches are as good as any you will find abroad(Praa Sands 10/10).
 
Only thing to watch out for is "The Monster Stunt Show" we had four children with us and decided that for the last day we would head off to Flambards(Excellent), visit the Travel lodge in Hayle for a family meal then finish our last night with the monster show, What a disappointment this should be called the great rip off show as there was no trucks or motorbikes and it consisted of 3 kids on bmx riding over wooden ramps.  

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliesarah 1 review from this member

Well a very enjoyable holiday !  Just spent 2 weeks at the site and thoroughly enjoyed it !
 
Great facilities and loved the family shower and bath rooms!  Very strict noise rules which was nice !
 
Great idea with the food trucks visiting!  Fish and chips on Sunday, Pizza on Tuesday, Curry on Wednesday, Spaghetti Bolognaise on Friday and Bacon rolls on Saturday morning!  All very nice and mostly cooked to order !
 
Walk to the beach is ok if you don't have a pushchair or v young children.
 
Def recommend the site and my son loved the surfing !
 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mzzy 10 reviews from this member

First went here in 2004 and we liked it then, but now with all the new improvements - new loo block and better marked pitches, we love it!
 
There is a short path to the nearby beach, as long as you can clamber over the wall! Or a short drive with large car park to Godrevy beach which is just like being abroad!
 
Nearly every night there was some kind of takeaway van, fish and chips, pizza, curry we decided it would be rude not to test the food out! It was all nice and not too expensive either.
 
Just down the road in Hayle you have lots of supermarkets for any shopping you need and a new M & S, Next so no need to worry if you have forgotten anything!
 
Definitely recommend a visit and we will be going back again soon!

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2861