Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
              9/10 from 180 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big19540 2 reviews from this member

This really is an excellent peaceful adults only site. The facilities are kept very clean and tidy indeed with no faults at all, although the little shop is very basic with only limited opening hours. The pub (5 mins walk) is very good and serves very good value and tasty meals both lunchtimes and evening. The owner does guided tours around the millhouse on Sunday mornings which we found very interesting (he is gradually restoring it to its former glory). All in all if you want somewhere to relax or as a base to explore the beauty of Exmoor then this is the place for you.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs E 35 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time at Easter 2007 and loved it so much we returned for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The pitches here are huge - there's loads of room for your caravan, awning and car. The majority of the 50 pitches are on grass, sited alongside the River Exe or the mill stream.

The washblock has 3 showers in the ladies and 1 toilet although there is a separate toilet block with 2 toilets. We didn't use the small onsite shop as we usually stock up with provisions beforehand.

The 'Badgers Holt' pub is literally a 2 min walk from the site and serves reasonably priced pub grub in the evening. They also allow dogs in the bar area.

This site is well placed for exploring the surrounding area including Minehead and Watchet. Although our favourite days out include Tarr Steps and Wimbleball Lake.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pearlie 2 reviews from this member

Facilities were good and clean. Campsite was very clean and had recycling bins. The microwave came in handy for heating up water to make hot water bottles as it happened! It was a pleasant location although being a valley, could be quite cool and shady, but we did visit in April which as you know can be a cooler month. We did have one frosty night when we woke up to find everything sparkly white. The local pub was a welcome retreat in the evening. (Quiz night was brilliant)
If I had to make a criticism I would say that I thought this site was more for caravans and motorhomes. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

We spent a week here and had a lovely time.  We had a very friendly welcome at reception which was part of the owners house and nothing seemed too much trouble.
We could choose from the pitches available and we settled for one next to the river (if you want late afternoon sun, pitch the other side!) 
A perfect site for a doggy holiday with a beautiful dog exercise area up to the weir - our dog certainly enjoyed a paddle or two in the river!
The owners have put together several walks and drives from the site which you can get copies of from the information hut.
We found the showers fairly small in comparison to other sites we have stayed on but very clean and sufficient for our needs.
We would definitely return here and will recommend it to all of our family and Friends.  The shop even sells homemade cakes!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gordons 1 review from this member

OH and I just spent a fabulous week here - probably the best campsite we have been to. Loads of space on our pitch (no. 43) next to the river and we managed to use a bench that looked a little lonely which was really handy. Some of the tent pitches further into the site were considerably smaller, though, but still a good size compared to other sites.

Shop open between 8.30 and 10 am and 5-6 in the evening - exactly when we wanted it, in fact, and we could freeeze our blocks for free. And we bought a glorious home made cheesecake on Friday. Get there quick!

Pub a minute away, good local ales and OK pub grub.

The site was full I think but still never a wait for showers - there are three for ladies, and two for men. And it never felt busy.

A joy to be there, beautiful surroundings from right outside the gate. We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teetime 15 reviews from this member

This was our first outing with a motor home and we couldn't have chosen a better place to go.  The site is set on an "island" with the river running along one side and the water that feeds the mill along the other.  We had a pitch with the river behind us and we were helped to make ourselves at home by the friendly site owners, who are motor-homers themselves.  This is a small site compared to some but lacking nothing for a lovely country break.  The toilet block was spotless and showers always had hot water.  There is a small shop which stocks the essentials and is open twice a day.  A short walk through the site took us to the weir where benches are provided so you can relax and watch the water flow past.  Following back along the leat brings you to the mill house, beautifully restored.  The owners are kind enough to set the wheel running every Sunday morning and invite campers into their home to see how it works.
Well worth a visit is the local pub, about 2 minutes walk from the site, where good food is on offer.  Another 2 minutes on is the Bridgetown cricket pitch mentioned in Wisden and we enjoyed watching the local team play - a fixtures list is on display at the information hut on site. Go and see the slope of the pitch and the thatched pavilion - so English!
This is an adult only site due to the proximity of the water - by the way there are brown trout and it is possible to fish on site-and  we fully intend to visit as often as we can. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue Lloyd 1 review from this member

This adult site is a wonderful place to stay.  It's so relaxing with the water flowing and the birds singing and a weir which was stunning. The big advantage was having no children running wild and screaming their heads off as you sit quietly minding your own business!
We only had a short stay at the campsite but it is one to remember.  Everyone was so friendly and helpful and checking-in was so quick and easy.
The facilities were excellent with all mod-cons available for use and the shower/toilet facilities were great, always clean and plenty of toilet roll (!) and having the music playing each time I visited this block was also a pleasure.
There are lots of twists and turns on the road getting to and from the campsite but it is well worth it and it was ideal for getting to many destinations such as Minehead, Dunster, Ilfracoombe, Woollacombe and Barnstaple as well as Taunton and Tiverton. We also had a day at Lyme Regis and Sidmouth which was easy to reach.  I'd definitely recommend it to any of my friends; a truly beautiful setting for having a break.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nici 1 review from this member

This site is absolutely fantastic! It is peaceful, friendly and all the facilities are immaculate (and I'm fussy!). The owners were very helpful in sorting out where we were to pitch and given that we had to get two big tents on to one pitch due to a mix up we ample room as the pitches are so spacious. The site was full but there was never a queue for showers (ladies) although there was for the gents at peak times. We will be back time and time again. If I'd known campsites could be as good as this I would have taken up camping years ago!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Just back from a wonderful site, pitched beside the river. We sat in the evening, the babbling water and a nightingale singing, bliss. One of the best sites we have been to, the facilities were great, piped music in the loos, free hot water and plenty of it. Re cycling bins, emptied regularly. The seat by the weir is a lovely touch by the owners, a truly wonderful site.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lert75 3 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site.  Incredibly large and private pitches.  We pitched with our back to the road and our front looking at our own little patch of river.  We arrived early and were even given our pick of the pitches available.  Admittedly we did have some of the best weather last year which always helps in a tent, but the layout of the site is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.
 
The facilities are basic but very clean and free with constant hot water and the on site shop has all the basics and if you're quick, home made apple pies and scones - they'll even let you freeze your cooler blocks in the shop freezer!
 
We booked for a week and couldn't bear to come home so we stayed for 10 days, and even then it was a wrench to go.  If only the site was 2 hours away instead of 6 we'd be there every chance we got.

Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4269 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0938