Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 184 Reviews
                9/10 from 184 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  184 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Stayed for 4 nights this trip, once again it was nice to come back, a superb location. Sadly the weather was the worst we have camped in, despite last years weather.
We had torrential rain and high winds for the first 2 days, we were pitched by the river which rose by about 2 foot overnight, however the tent staye dry and firm and the river dropped. The wildlife here is wonderful(wobble box owners this is what you are missing out on) we had a family of tree creepers feet away, the riverbank rats were entertaining in the evening, we watched them raidng tents, bats flying overhead, dippers and grey wagtails. One of the nicest sites we know, just so peaceful.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights when the weather was really nice. The site is well kept and spacious. The showers were small for the size of the site (only one gents shower was working but you could use the disabled facility next door). It was not too much of a problem as the site was fairly quiet. The location is extremely nice and generally peaceful (although while we were there the council were doing roadworks from 7am - not good).

The local pub (The Badgers Holt)is very close and the food was very good.

Although we did not try them (lack of time) there appear to be a number of nice walks available from the site itself. A walk up to the end of the site to the weir is well worth while however.

Downside - We have a Cabanon tent which is 3.2 metres wide and is classed as a large tent for which you pay an extra £3 per night (even though there were only two of us). When asked why this was the owner said it was because of the effect on the grass. As he makes you move the tent if you are there longer than 7 nights this argument appears spurious (basically I think they just dont want large tents). They do not charge extra no matter what size caravan/awning etc. A bit of discrimination I think.

That apart it is a nice site in a lovely location.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oliver67 9 reviews from this member

I had been to this site the previous september and may before this and liked it. The badgers holt pub was reason as it was 100 yds away and served good food and beer. The site its self I think is in need of extra showers for the tenters as I feel caravan and motorhomes are looked after better for position to these toilets .When it rains it rains and it can get boggy. The stargazers will love this site no light polution.One sink in the mens over three years was still cracked.
The allowing dogs on site I did not like and feel it should be stopped.The shop could be improved with selling more items but this is one of the best sites you will use in this area and feel these gripes are mine and not everyones . The owners are lovely and are so helpful and kind and the sound of water on both sides of you is lovely.Over all 8 out of 10.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Buzzjordan 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for the first time and was very impressed. It was nice and peaceful, and set in a lovely location next to the river. The local pub is only about 100yds away does great food. The only downside was the lack of showers/toilet facilities, for a 48 pitch site. There was only 2 toilets and 2 showers for the men and one of these showers was unusable throughout our stay. The ladies had the added bonus of an extra shower. The nearest towns are Tiverton or Minehead, both approximatley 15 miles away, so it's perfect if you just want to get away from it all and relax. It's location on Exmoor means there are great walks from the site. Thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Big19540 2 reviews from this member

This really is an excellent peaceful adults only site. The facilities are kept very clean and tidy indeed with no faults at all, although the little shop is very basic with only limited opening hours. The pub (5 mins walk) is very good and serves very good value and tasty meals both lunchtimes and evening. The owner does guided tours around the millhouse on Sunday mornings which we found very interesting (he is gradually restoring it to its former glory). All in all if you want somewhere to relax or as a base to explore the beauty of Exmoor then this is the place for you.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs E 35 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time at Easter 2007 and loved it so much we returned for the August Bank Holiday weekend. The pitches here are huge - there's loads of room for your caravan, awning and car. The majority of the 50 pitches are on grass, sited alongside the River Exe or the mill stream.

The washblock has 3 showers in the ladies and 1 toilet although there is a separate toilet block with 2 toilets. We didn't use the small onsite shop as we usually stock up with provisions beforehand.

The 'Badgers Holt' pub is literally a 2 min walk from the site and serves reasonably priced pub grub in the evening. They also allow dogs in the bar area.

This site is well placed for exploring the surrounding area including Minehead and Watchet. Although our favourite days out include Tarr Steps and Wimbleball Lake.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pearlie 2 reviews from this member

Facilities were good and clean. Campsite was very clean and had recycling bins. The microwave came in handy for heating up water to make hot water bottles as it happened! It was a pleasant location although being a valley, could be quite cool and shady, but we did visit in April which as you know can be a cooler month. We did have one frosty night when we woke up to find everything sparkly white. The local pub was a welcome retreat in the evening. (Quiz night was brilliant)
If I had to make a criticism I would say that I thought this site was more for caravans and motorhomes. 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daisydoo 22 reviews from this member

We spent a week here and had a lovely time.  We had a very friendly welcome at reception which was part of the owners house and nothing seemed too much trouble.
We could choose from the pitches available and we settled for one next to the river (if you want late afternoon sun, pitch the other side!) 
A perfect site for a doggy holiday with a beautiful dog exercise area up to the weir - our dog certainly enjoyed a paddle or two in the river!
The owners have put together several walks and drives from the site which you can get copies of from the information hut.
We found the showers fairly small in comparison to other sites we have stayed on but very clean and sufficient for our needs.
We would definitely return here and will recommend it to all of our family and Friends.  The shop even sells homemade cakes!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gordons 1 review from this member

OH and I just spent a fabulous week here - probably the best campsite we have been to. Loads of space on our pitch (no. 43) next to the river and we managed to use a bench that looked a little lonely which was really handy. Some of the tent pitches further into the site were considerably smaller, though, but still a good size compared to other sites.

Shop open between 8.30 and 10 am and 5-6 in the evening - exactly when we wanted it, in fact, and we could freeeze our blocks for free. And we bought a glorious home made cheesecake on Friday. Get there quick!

Pub a minute away, good local ales and OK pub grub.

The site was full I think but still never a wait for showers - there are three for ladies, and two for men. And it never felt busy.

A joy to be there, beautiful surroundings from right outside the gate. We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teetime 15 reviews from this member

This was our first outing with a motor home and we couldn't have chosen a better place to go.  The site is set on an "island" with the river running along one side and the water that feeds the mill along the other.  We had a pitch with the river behind us and we were helped to make ourselves at home by the friendly site owners, who are motor-homers themselves.  This is a small site compared to some but lacking nothing for a lovely country break.  The toilet block was spotless and showers always had hot water.  There is a small shop which stocks the essentials and is open twice a day.  A short walk through the site took us to the weir where benches are provided so you can relax and watch the water flow past.  Following back along the leat brings you to the mill house, beautifully restored.  The owners are kind enough to set the wheel running every Sunday morning and invite campers into their home to see how it works.
Well worth a visit is the local pub, about 2 minutes walk from the site, where good food is on offer.  Another 2 minutes on is the Bridgetown cricket pitch mentioned in Wisden and we enjoyed watching the local team play - a fixtures list is on display at the information hut on site. Go and see the slope of the pitch and the thatched pavilion - so English!
This is an adult only site due to the proximity of the water - by the way there are brown trout and it is possible to fish on site-and  we fully intend to visit as often as we can. 

Previous     184 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Barbecue Package worth £249 Win a Clarke IG2000B 1.8kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 7th to 7th July, Derbyshire
Brilliant weekend, Book by 23rd June for discounted camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2791 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016