Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gordons 1 review from this member

OH and I just spent a fabulous week here - probably the best campsite we have been to. Loads of space on our pitch (no. 43) next to the river and we managed to use a bench that looked a little lonely which was really handy. Some of the tent pitches further into the site were considerably smaller, though, but still a good size compared to other sites.

Shop open between 8.30 and 10 am and 5-6 in the evening - exactly when we wanted it, in fact, and we could freeeze our blocks for free. And we bought a glorious home made cheesecake on Friday. Get there quick!

Pub a minute away, good local ales and OK pub grub.

The site was full I think but still never a wait for showers - there are three for ladies, and two for men. And it never felt busy.

A joy to be there, beautiful surroundings from right outside the gate. We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teetime 15 reviews from this member

This was our first outing with a motor home and we couldn't have chosen a better place to go.  The site is set on an "island" with the river running along one side and the water that feeds the mill along the other.  We had a pitch with the river behind us and we were helped to make ourselves at home by the friendly site owners, who are motor-homers themselves.  This is a small site compared to some but lacking nothing for a lovely country break.  The toilet block was spotless and showers always had hot water.  There is a small shop which stocks the essentials and is open twice a day.  A short walk through the site took us to the weir where benches are provided so you can relax and watch the water flow past.  Following back along the leat brings you to the mill house, beautifully restored.  The owners are kind enough to set the wheel running every Sunday morning and invite campers into their home to see how it works.
Well worth a visit is the local pub, about 2 minutes walk from the site, where good food is on offer.  Another 2 minutes on is the Bridgetown cricket pitch mentioned in Wisden and we enjoyed watching the local team play - a fixtures list is on display at the information hut on site. Go and see the slope of the pitch and the thatched pavilion - so English!
This is an adult only site due to the proximity of the water - by the way there are brown trout and it is possible to fish on site-and  we fully intend to visit as often as we can. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue Lloyd 1 review from this member

This adult site is a wonderful place to stay.  It's so relaxing with the water flowing and the birds singing and a weir which was stunning. The big advantage was having no children running wild and screaming their heads off as you sit quietly minding your own business!
We only had a short stay at the campsite but it is one to remember.  Everyone was so friendly and helpful and checking-in was so quick and easy.
The facilities were excellent with all mod-cons available for use and the shower/toilet facilities were great, always clean and plenty of toilet roll (!) and having the music playing each time I visited this block was also a pleasure.
There are lots of twists and turns on the road getting to and from the campsite but it is well worth it and it was ideal for getting to many destinations such as Minehead, Dunster, Ilfracoombe, Woollacombe and Barnstaple as well as Taunton and Tiverton. We also had a day at Lyme Regis and Sidmouth which was easy to reach.  I'd definitely recommend it to any of my friends; a truly beautiful setting for having a break.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nici 1 review from this member

This site is absolutely fantastic! It is peaceful, friendly and all the facilities are immaculate (and I'm fussy!). The owners were very helpful in sorting out where we were to pitch and given that we had to get two big tents on to one pitch due to a mix up we ample room as the pitches are so spacious. The site was full but there was never a queue for showers (ladies) although there was for the gents at peak times. We will be back time and time again. If I'd known campsites could be as good as this I would have taken up camping years ago!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Just back from a wonderful site, pitched beside the river. We sat in the evening, the babbling water and a nightingale singing, bliss. One of the best sites we have been to, the facilities were great, piped music in the loos, free hot water and plenty of it. Re cycling bins, emptied regularly. The seat by the weir is a lovely touch by the owners, a truly wonderful site.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lert75 3 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site.  Incredibly large and private pitches.  We pitched with our back to the road and our front looking at our own little patch of river.  We arrived early and were even given our pick of the pitches available.  Admittedly we did have some of the best weather last year which always helps in a tent, but the layout of the site is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful holiday.
 
The facilities are basic but very clean and free with constant hot water and the on site shop has all the basics and if you're quick, home made apple pies and scones - they'll even let you freeze your cooler blocks in the shop freezer!
 
We booked for a week and couldn't bear to come home so we stayed for 10 days, and even then it was a wrench to go.  If only the site was 2 hours away instead of 6 we'd be there every chance we got.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Viv and terry 20 reviews from this member

Can only reiterate the positive comments.  The owners are very helpful and are experienced campers. They have used their extensive knowledge to set up this site to meet virtually every basic camping need plus a bit more but without changing the simplicity or beauty of the site.
 
If you go, walk around to the cricket pitch around the corner the setting is beautiful. 

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rikster 6 reviews from this member

Wow! what a lovely site. The owners live in a beautiful watermill which on Sunday mornings, I believe, is set in motion. The pitches are beside either the fast flowing River Exe (the reason for this site being adults only) or the millstream. There`s no rules as to which way you pitch your unit provided you take your neighbours into consideration. At the far end of the site is a weir with a couple of well placed benches, where at this time of year salmon could be seen jumping against the flow. Our neighbouring campers told us they saw an otter too.

The facilities were immaculate and even had Radio 2 playing in the showers. Another rarely seen nice touch was the hand basin with hot water & soap at the chemical disposal point. There are also a couple of mountain bikes for hire by the day at a very reasonable price.
The very friendly & helpful owners seem to have thought of everything, including a microwave in the laundry & food preperation room, handy for campers without electric.

This really is a very nice site located in a wonderfully scenic area on the Eastern side of Exmoor National Park with Dulverton , Dunster, Minehead, etc just a short drive away. This site is on our favourites list and we`ll definatly be returning in the future.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: DerekP 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at this adult only site for ten too short days. When we first arrived we both felt some reservations about the site. Had we made a mistake? It did not take long to realize we had not. The owners are both very friendly & helpful. The shop has all the basics needed to make your stay work. If you ask Ken, his wife makes first class fruit pies, try them if you get the chance.

The facilities are good & well maintained; most of the pitches were large so you are not living on top of your neighbours. There is also plenty of wildlife to watch if you keep your eyes open. The peace & quiet on the site can not be beaten, especially when sitting alongside the river with the bar-B going what more could you ask for?

The location is good for all activities, there is a local pub that offers good food but it is, a little expensive. Dulverton has a good range of shops & tea shops well worth the visit. We intend to revisit this site as soon as we can for hopefully another relaxing stay.

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Steve + Jean 2 reviews from this member

We loved this site, especially the adults only rule as it led to a peaceful, pleasant and untroubled stay. Site is small but well laid out and mainatined, with a mix of specific sites for tents and caravans. Welcome on arrival was excellent, and the showers and facilities were always clean with no waiting even though the site was close to full for most of our stay.

Pitches are well spaced, some more sloping than others, but the location of the site at the foot of the valley alongside the River Exe is superb.
Excellent food is available at Tarr Steps Inn and a number of other pubs in villages close by. Overall an excellent site well worth visiting.


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth £225! Win a Coolbox Cool ‘n’ Store Package worth over £235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5518 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977