Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 299 Reviews
              10/10 from 299 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  299 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan and Motorhome Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hampshirehoyles 5 reviews from this member

A beautifully campsite in a lovely location. The best site we have been on in the UK.

Every pitch is very large, most are hard standings and fully serviced. All the pitches are spread out in large circles, around the sides of a field, separated by shrubs and flowers. In the middle of each field is a large green space. Dogs are not allowed on the green space, but have their own dog walk area with a dog wash cabin attached to it.

The friendly wardens of this site work shifts in pairs and their units are sited one to each field and they are always ready to chat.

Every day there are home made cakes to die for that you can buy by the slice. The portions are huge and enough for 2 people. You can order a freshly made cake or pie to take home.

Bread and milk can be ordered the night before and there is no extra charge. The small shop is well stocked, as is the freezer and fridge full of their own organic meat. Spotlessly clean site. Fantastic views, beautifully decorated clean toilets and showers. We will go back, as will the friends we have told about this friendly site

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hymer644 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from two nights at this beautiful site. It is immaculate! The toilets and showers are clean and well cared for. The washing facilities are second to none. The whole site is well laid out and beautifully landscaped. A new shower/toilet block is being erected at the moment.

The shop is well stocked. We bought a half lamb which is also very good.

We cannot fault this site in any way. It is by far the best we have ever been to. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be returning and would definitely recommend it.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bosoha 4 reviews from this member

We only stayed one night while visiting the nearby motorhome show, but it was enough to be left with a great impression.

The staff and facilities all top class, the atmosphere relaxing and the staff so helpful, we will be returning.

The toilet block facilities were excellent and my wife found the disabled and family shower rooms a boon. The shop was well stocked and we enjoyed the home made 'cake of the day'.

The parking area we had was fully serviced and well cared for with plenty of space with great views. A well thought out site and efficiently run.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jodie29 1 review from this member

Have just returned home from 5 wonderful days at the Old Oaks, read all the reviews before we went and was really looking forward to seeing if it lived up to it's expectations.

It excelled them all! What a fantastic place to stay, the staff were all so friendly and helpful, the park itself was immaculate and so beautifully landscaped.

Definitely the best caravan park we have ever been to in 30 years of caravanning. We had a super pitch with glorious views over the Mendip hills, a stunning sight to wake up to every morning.

And the dog walk was just the best ever, plus numerous walks from the site too, can't praise this park highly enough and can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

This is the second year we have stayed at this fantastic site. Staff are always friendly and helpful. The shop is well stocked and there is always a choice of home made cakes. Newspapers and bread can be ordered at no extra charge.

The majority of pitches have lawned area in front giving a sense of space. We found the site very quiet with no noise experienced at the time of our stay.

The only downside to this magnificent site is there are not enough toilets/showers considering the size of the site. I queued most mornings at different times. We returned this year as a new facility block was planned to be built over last winter. It has been postponed to this winter.

We love this site but will not return next year unless the new facilty block has been built.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MJBS 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here to break our journey from Kent to Devon. We used M3/A303 but if we had wanted a quicker journey, M4/M5 would be best, as the site is relatively close to the M5. The site is immaculate, and well laid out.

Toilet block was quite busy at times, but did not have to wait. There are also 2 unisex bathrooms with shower and toilet which can be used when the main block is cleaned.

We stayed in the Top Oaks, it has a huge open lawned area, that, in my mind could do with some trees and shrubs to break up the open space.

The owners take recycling very seriously, which is a good point, but to recycle, it does mean a bit of a walk; recycling is not available at every rubbish bin area.

The entry road is about one mile in length, and does have some narrow parts to it. We often met fast moving locals using this road. On the day of departure, we found it quite difficult to turn left onto the A361, as our unit has a shipping length of over 27 feet.

Places that are worth a visit include Wells with its magnificent cathedral, plus a drive through Cheddar Gorge is worthwhile.

One drawback; we stayed here for 4 days and on each of those, there was the almost constant drone of low flying large military type helicopters and on one occasion this noise was replaced by a low flying fighter jet. I can only assume there is an RAF base nearby.

Would we return? Yes, we would.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pontyus 5 reviews from this member

Beautifully laid out and maintained. Great facilities and a very warm welcome.

The site is located down a b road in some very nice farmland. Good local footpaths abound. Very good shop and reception area and great facilities.

There are some tipi units owned by the site and these looked great. I guess very popular during the Glastonbury Festival. Well positioned for visiting the lovely towns in and around the area.

Only slight negative its a bit of a trek into Glastonbury on foot on a busy main road.

No wonder this is a 5 star site. Superb

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BillEmm19 1 review from this member

We camped in tent and really enjoyed our stay. The facilities are great and we made use of the microwave (and Tesco) to prepare a good cheap evening meal. It was easy to walk to the tor or Glastonbury town and return to the quite and friendly site. During our stay I managed to leave my watch in the shower room and we forgot our ground sheet thinking it was already packed. Both items were returned (ground sheet sent on) illustrating the the quality of fellow campers and staff - highly recommended, quite and safe.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris otoole 2 reviews from this member

My good lady and I stayed here for ten days in august and we wish we had booked for longer. It is the best site we have ever stayed on in ten years of camping. We have a very big tent;six and a half meters by five and a half and sometimes have trouble finding suitable sites to accommodate it. No problems at the oaks. We could have pitched two of them. The pitch was enormous. Apart from just a few the pitches are hard standing which we prefer. No worries if it rains and is definitely warmer underfoot. Facilities are kept spotless as are the grounds. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The on site shop has all the essentials and you can order fresh bread and your daily newspaper. Glastonbury is a nice little town with some very nice friendly pubs. There is also Morrisons for the bigger shop and if you prefer to eat in. Cannot praise this site highly enough and will definitely be returning. Chris and Gail

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lpandde 3 reviews from this member

This site is amazing. We absolutely loved it!

The shop has everything you could need including freshly made cakes!

There is a bathroom, 2 shower rooms and extensive shower/toilet/washbasin facilities. All of which are maintained to the highest standard, always clean.

Super washing up facilities, laundry, freezer and microwave.

The fishing lake is well stocked, so easy to fish for a beginner.

It is a super walk to thee Tor, and there are other walks worth doing also.

Excellent facilities for dog owners.

There is lots to do in the surrounding area, although we did have to drive to everything, we visited the Haynes motor museum, fleet air arm museum, longleat safari park (a must!), cheddar gorge and Street (a must for a shopper!)

The people on site were always very friendly and helpful, even bringing boards for us to use on the grass so that we didn't get a muddy tent!

Site is beautifully kept. I didn't believe the reviews but this site far exceeded expectations!

I would have given this site 10/10 if there was some sort of social area such as a pool or bar, but that is all that lets it down

Previous     299 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win tickets to the NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show - 21st to 26th February
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, holiday lodges and 1000's of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1289