Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 207 Reviews
              8/10 from 207 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: I need sun 11 reviews from this member

Pleasantly surprised with this site as we usually go to 'higher quality' sites.
 
Only stayed for 1 night but found:
 
good points - brill views over bay, ok toilets, cheap goods in shop (in stewards' awning!), nearness to Silverdale which has good little shops/pubs (esp butchers & fruit/veg shop), good walks from site, good camping field & lots of space for kids to play.
 
bad points - untidy in nearby woods (lots of cans/bottles from late night camp fires). Noisy / rough (ish!) campers shouting late at night (I'm just a snob), not well lit.
 
Overall though I would definately stay again if only for location (inc art gallery opposite) & Silverdale itself.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

Have just spent another lovely weekend here and the weather was hot! turned a  bit chilly and breezy at night so take a fleece along with you. This site is so friendly, my grandson (5) really enjoyed the rope swing, and he made lots of friends. 
Very busy, pitched on the friday, by saturday afternoon it was chokka.  go early if you can.
This is a very relaxing site, the noise was not over the top and didn't bother us, everyone was just having a good time. The smell of bacon and eggs in the morning does wonders for you appetite, and the views just round it all off.  could do with 1 or 2 extra showers, but really ,nothing could spoil a stay at gibraltar farm. 
will go again. 5 star.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

Gibraltar Farm is lovely and only £10 per night (inc Hook-up). This is quite a basic farm site but lovely sea views from our caravan window. The toilets are clean and adequate and the Steward friendly and helpful. He organises special events in a big marquee some weekends. There are loads of places for kids to play including the sites own woods with tree swings, beach (a bit muddy and beware of the tides) and caves to explore. This is NOT a commercialised site or area in any way, shape or form. The whole district, it is designated "an area of outstanding natural beauty" is a great one for walking / nature lovers but not a lot of "organised" entertainment, shopping, etc.  It is, also, possible to visit the Lakes by car for the day. Carnforth is a short drive away and has a wider range of shops, including a brilliant secondhand bookshop, the re-vamped railway station, with displays about the film "Brief Encounters" which was filmed there, and 2 larger supermarkets.

There are lots of lovely walks nearby. Silverdale village has a small supermarket, 2 or 3 pubs and a few other shops. Nearby Arnside has some interesting shops lovely views and walks and a super "chippy."

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DAVVA 1 review from this member

Just got back from our first visit met some really nice people already rebooked to meet up again. Warden found to be very helpful & friendly, facilities basic but clean. Watching the sheep dogs rounding up the cows for milking & then bringing them back I found highly entertaining & amusing how sad am I. Just a really nice place to visit especially for the money. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windblown 9 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site. The site was quiet when we arrived , good choice where to pitch ( get there early if you can, soon filled up). Reasonably priced.  Great views of Morecambe bay and beyond. Got very busy as the day went on, and the weather changed for the worse very windy, bit chilly. Good site for children. No playground but plenty of space to play and really nice walks around the site, and surrounding area. No clothes washing facilities so not very good for a long stay. Toilets ok, didn't use shower facilities so can't really comment on them. We really enjoyed our one night stay even in a blowing gale. No unruly noise. Will visit this site again.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dicko4 11 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in a beautiful location. It has fantastic views and clean modern toilet / shower facilities. Our children especially loved the farm animals in the adjoining fields! All this only an hours drive from home. Ideal? Unfortunately, not. The noise is a big problem and goes on well into the early hours. This site attracts and allows large groups of young campers that carried on with the fun, long after we had retired to our sleeping bags. There doesn't seem to be any site control, although my husband and I and our two young children were told as we booked in, to keep the noise down after 11pm. It's a pity nobody is made to adhere to this rule.
Our friends decided to give the site another go last weekend, things were no better, in fact it was busier and noisier than the first visit.
It's sad to see such a lovely place in a very pretty, rural location, being used in this way.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fromthenorth 8 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend at Gibraltar farm.
A few things said on here are true. We found it to be quite noisy until 11pm but then all quiet. The toilet block is quite small with only one shower in the men's and two in the ladies, not really enough for a bank holiday weekend.
All that aside though, we loved the site. It has a beautiful setting. The tide on the rocky beach goes out at tea time revealing some great caves that our kids loved to explore with their torches. There are a couple of caves on the site too if you go exploring.
We found the stewards to be very friendly selling ice cream etc from their own caravan. They let us stay all day before we left for home which was nice.
All in all we had a lovely stay there and will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisuk1000 12 reviews from this member

Well....extremely noisy site well into the early hours and no site control whatsoever. The continuous chopping down of the trees is a criminal shame and has to stop, as they are being used for fires everywhere. There is no site control I witnessed the warden just ignoring all this in front of my very eyes. So it's not my imagination before someone tries to contradict me. The site staff may be nice but site control is about more than being pleasant!!

Site facilities are limited as the site size easily overwhelms them, so you will have to wait forever just to wash your dishes. Toilets okay but shower? well lets move on. Fresh water close by.
Nice area for walking, beach and parking at Silverdale. Kids ice creams available at the site caravan/store. Plenty of space for them to play safely...ish as lots of stone throwing and the odd rogue beer bottle being smashed.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GraemeStuart99 11 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic. It is well sign posted when you get to Silverdale, the steward is very helpful and chatty.  Yes it can be a bit noisy but my 2 & 4 year olds slept OK and after 11pm it quietens down quite a lot.  The setting of the site is amazing good fields and woods surround the site the children can run around in the vast space for ages.  The beach is a 5 minute walk away and on a clear day the view of Morecambe Bay is stunning with its sunset.  There is no shop but siverdale in 15 mins walk and there are shops there also the shower & toilet block are small but that is not a problem.  As I live half an hour away I will be here when ether possible.
 

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smudgers_mum 1 review from this member

We have only been camping for a year, but in 2005 we tried many different sites and I have to say this is by far the best site we have ever been to. The views and surrounding area are beautiful, lovely for walks picnics. There is plenty of room for playing games like rounders football and flying kites.
 
This is the only site we've ever been to without a playground and for some reason it's just not missed, kids disappear for hours entertaining them selves popping back for dinner. There's no pressure to spend a load of money because there simply isn't anything to spend it on.
 
It's in driving distance to tesco which is useful if you don't take a fridge and also walking distance to local shops, pub and little post office. The warden is great but so is the lady (his wife maybe?) she's really friendly and a good laugh.
 
WE LOVE GIBRALTAR FARM and we will never go anywhere else again, try it what's the worst that could happen????

Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7847 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.3984