Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ronnoc 3 reviews from this member

I had been recommended this site by two colleagues, one who visits it regularly. I was expecting a lot and was rather left deflated.
I'm a bit more experienced camping than my colleagues and I have to say the site is quite ordinary, comparable to many other sites I've visited. The washing facilities are ok, the pitches are rather 'man-made' unless you use the middle area which has a horrendous slope and there is no shaded areas. The shop is small and the adventure play area needs some attention. This all has to be weighed against it being one of (if not the) most expensive site I've stopped at.
On the plus side, and they are big plus' it is in the Lake District which is fabulous, with interesting walks right from the camp's gate. Also the barn/pub facility with a log fire is great, especially on a cold spring night!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 0001 10 reviews from this member

Stayed at the Quiet Site in August 2007 and love the place.  It was our first visit and there is no doubt we will go again.
The site is ideally situated for the northern lakes and has excellent access from the M6/A66. I would recommend this route even if coming from the south as to travel through the lakes will take quite some time (Kirkstone Pass) if as like us you want to get there and set up.  For about the last mile you have to go up a single track road with passing places which is uphill, now don’t forget you are in the lakes, this is the norm.  You will get the caravan up there OK.  When leaving the site you are encouraged to turn right therefore keeping the road clear.

The site is quiet during the day as most visitors go off site so if you are staying on the site or surrounding area you will have plenty of space.
The pitches are of a good size but be careful as a few pitches are on gravel and whilst we stayed, there was a tent on this, ask for a grass pitch. 
Our grass pitch was on very hard ground which wasn’t a problem as we had enough pegs to replace the ones we bent setting up, take sturdy pegs!
There is a well stocked shop on site which is open 9-6 and you can get pretty much what you need.  The site pub is excellent, an old world pub with real fire roaring, quaint seating and a large play room for the kids which my daughter loved.  Lots of kids in there which keeps them away from the adults if that’s what you want, although there is an adult only section as well. 
No food is served in the bar but this is due to them allowing dogs in, as this is such a dog friendly site we thought it was a fair trade off.
The toilets and showers are ok, they are not the newest all singing and dancing but they are adequate and clean.  As there are four showers in each block at busy times you may have to queue.  What is good about this site and I haven’t seen elsewhere is they have three separate family bathrooms with bath, sink and toilet which are pretty modern.
The play park is good and is situated on a vast field where families played football and cricket, this did seem a bit boggy under foot but was ok. The site have free hand drawn maps of local walks, we did the 2 mile a few times and the four mile walk around Little Mell Fell just the once, but went to the peak.  If you do this walk its worth the extra 10 minutes.  Both walks we took a 4 year old with no problems.  I would recommend taking a OS map to get the most from the area.
The dish washing and laundry facilities are good however two of the 3 sinks near the laundry take an age to get a bowl of hot water as it trickles from the tap.  Use the sink in the laundry room if you can or the ones closest to the ladies which are ok.
Mobile phone reception on O2 was excellent, TV reception was none existent with a portable aerial, others had proper aerials which seemed to be the way ahead. This is a dog friendly site and there was a lot of well behaved dogs with responsible owners, in 5 nights we did not see any dog mess.
We paid £24 each night which we thought was far too much for the site but that said we will go again as the site wasn’t full of idiots.
Visit Keswick and Aira Falls, if you go to Aira Falls don’t miss out on the lake side opposite the café, we spent hours there playing in Ullswater, take a towel and chair and enjoy.  

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynstan 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a wonderful 5 night stay facilities are very good, clean apart from other campers who think they are paying for someone to clean up after them in the showers leaving their empty toiletries packaging etc in showers and on vanity units!
I would say that the owners maybe need a little help at busy times of the year, they seemed to be trying to do everything single handed very well I might add.
I thought the use of recycling bins were excellent.
The adventure playground beats anything provided by haven and the likes my kids loved it
As others have said the bar is unique, log fire plenty of games for the kids, pool table ,table tennis and a lovely room for the younger children full with plenty to keep them occupied.
The views lovely, sited at the bottom of little mell with a view of ullswater in the distance plenty of places to visit without travelling too far. I would recommend Rhegad providing something for everyone, free admission.
Glenridding is a lovely village at the end of ullswater, we drove out for an evening meal in a pub by the lake, recommended. Also we took the ullswater steamer from pooley bridge to glenridding and  had the best homemade fruit scones I have ever tasted at fellbites cafe.
I look forward to return visit in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Candmashton 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 4-day break and I would definitely go back!  Had a fantastic time.
 
The campsite itself was very good, with the shower blocks being clean and regularly cleaned. (electrical point was a bonus for my hair straighteners!) and there was 3 bathrooms which were free of charge and they were impressive, even toys for the kids bathtime.
 
Great walks locally, Aira Force is definitely worth a visit
 
The pub was great, oldie worldie, is how I would describe it. However, the barman could be a bit more cheerful!
 
The games room / table tennis was a definite hit with the men, didn't see them for hours.
 
We found the staff friendly, however, part of our party didn't arrive until a couple of days after us, and they found the staff to be quite off-hand with them.
 
All-in-all, really would recommend this campsite to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tracy35 17 reviews from this member

Excellent all round. Friendly, very well run site. Great walks locally, and the pub.well, you just have to see it for yourself! Roaring log fire - even on a muggy June evening! Lovely!

Very clean facilities, site in general spotlessly clean.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Busy bee 1 review from this member

Have just got back from the Quiet Site & must say I was very impressed!  We had a very enjoyable visit. The showers were hot & clean & regularly checked.
The warden & her family were very nice indeed & she really did her best to make our stay as pleasant as possible, which we very much appreciated.
My two sons were always in the park & loved the rope swing.
We will definitely be back. A very nice place to eat by the way is the Punch Bowl at Askham the food was great & the service excellent. The Steam boat at Pooley Bridge was a lovely day out. Try Aira Force for a fabulous walk we had small children with us & they all managed it quite easily.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5Fathers 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at the 'Quiet Site', what a fantastic place!
 
This was our first camping trip in our Monty 6 with our three kids 6,4,and 2.  The 'Quiet Site' was perfect for all of us.  I have never felt more relaxed!
 
On arrival the staff were very friendly and showed us to our pitch which had beautiful views over surrounding hills and countryside.  The facilities were excellent, we never had to wait for toilets or showers and there was plenty of hot water,  more importantly they were always clean.  The family bathrooms were a great touch!  The bar in the evening had a relaxed atmosphere with plenty to keep the little ones occupied.
 
Everybody on the site seemed like minded.  All were friendly and considerate which is very important to us.  As the name suggests it was very quiet at night.
 
The site has a huge play area for kids. Ours spent he early evening exploring its tunnels, rope swings etc.
 
The site has a strict no ball game policy around the pitches which was perfect for avoiding herds of migrating kids trampling all over your pitch and knocking over your cooker!
 
All round excellence, we hope to return soon, well done to those who own and run the site!
 
I would just like to add that we went to a sailing school a couple of miles down the road at Genridding.  If you are into sailing or being on the water in any way this is the place to be.  Speak to Steve when you get there, a South African with a fantastic teaching style and sense of humor to match. We took out a drascombe lugger style day sailor for the day and had great  fun!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wellwood 1 review from this member

A great family site, the table tennis and table football proved a real hit with the children in the evenings while the log fire in the bar hit the spot with the adults.  There was a lovely big area for kicking a football (a must for my son) and adventure play equipment as well.  A well stocked shop was on site and the showers were always hot and we never had to wait for one (clean loos as well!).
Very friendly staff and a nice quiet location all goes to make this the best site we've been to in the Lakes - we'll definitely be back!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loops23 1 review from this member

What a delightful experience ! Gorgeous site, very clean, well equipped, friendly staff, beautiful position and views, great facilities for kids - toddlers through to teenagers, 2 family bathrooms - again making life much easier with small children, most interesting campsite bar I've ever been to - lovely old beams.

And the owner is making every effort to run an environmentally friendly site - something that we should all support and encourage.

There are lots of good walks that you can start right from the site (you can download walk maps from their website) and the local area is FULL of very interesting things to do -both for adults and kids, the site is well equipped with local information.

We will definitely be visiting again - very soon !

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crank63 5 reviews from this member

Just back from a three day pre easter break at this great little site. Set in a fab location a mile or two from ullswater we were made feel very welcome by all the staff.
This was our first time camping so we wanted somewhere quiet and this site does exactly what it says on the tin.
The best feature of this site, and it's been mentioned before is the bar. On first entering I thought we'd walked onto a Hammer film set. It's taxidermy central! The log fire was great seeing as April in ullswater was as cold as a penguins foot.
We will be going back again in June we loved it that much,when it's a bit warmer.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2426 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0957