Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
                9/10 from 200 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janso100 11 reviews from this member

We stopped here for a walking weekend in july. The weather was great to start with on Friday (false dawns).

The site is immaculately clean and the toilet/shower block in the most modern I've seen on a campsite. The team is friendly and I noticed that the warden works in the boot inn as soon as he finishes on the campsite. The pods also look very appealing and I shall visit them during the winter months. The two pubs in walking distance are excellent.

The only down side to the site is the drain like smell coming from the stream that runs down the east side of the site but this is no fault of the site and may be a weather based thing. It made sitting outside your tent a little off putting but not over bearing.

Scafell pike is approx a 5 mile hike. We attempted the horseshoe of slightside scafell and scafell pike. All started so well with all three peaks clearly visible. It all went wrong when we reached the peak of slight side,gale force winds,driving rain and pea soup fog. In the interest of safety we aborted and descended:-(. We drove to wasdale the next day and completed early morning.

Overall a very pleasant stay apart from the weather on the Saturday and sunday but it doesn't rain in the pub as they say.!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oggie_gb 3 reviews from this member

We were at this site for the May half term and had a thoroughly great time. The team are extremely friendly and the boys spent hours playing with their kids plus others on site. There are 2 children's play areas and a fab well-stocked shop which even sold wine etc at reasonable prices. Everything has been very well thought out.

The only down side to all this was the water pressure which sometimes meant no water in peak times. We were assured this was being sorted out by the water company so should not be an issue in the future.

We would recommend this site to families and couples as it is very well managed (also a Camping and Caravanning Club site). The facilites were always clean and the bins were constantly being emptied.

Lots of great walks from the site too - we walked to Scafell Pike from the tent.

All in all a really top class site. Thank you.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bowmoore 4 reviews from this member

We stayed with friends over the Bank Holiday and would like to completely agree with the review by Scarymamma. Would just like to add that the wardens where fantastic as our daughter had a tick and they were brilliant with advice and even removed the tick the following morning. The shop was open even when officially closed which was always useful. The site did become windy despite being at the bottom of the pass. FANTASTIC, we will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scarymamma 5 reviews from this member

Eskdale campsite is in the Eskdale valley in the western lake district. It’s location is stunning and the site is flat, with the fells on one side and the village of Boot (a small collection of cottages, 2 nice pubs and a shop) on the other. There is a small stream running down one side of the site (great for the kids to paddle in) and a children’s activity/play area (there are plans to enlarge this from talking to the owners). The site has a ‘small’ feel to it, which we liked as it felt safer for the children. We were there on an extremely busy May half term/BH and it didn’t feel crowded at all.

The site facilities are EXCELLENT. The newly done facilities block houses a well stocked shop (camping essentials, fresh and frozen food, beers and wine(chilled if needed!)) and reception, mens and ladies toilets/showers, a family bathroom, laundry, and 2 wash up areas (one inside and one out). The facilities are superb – lovely clean white walls, slate floors, hi spec showers and fresh flowers. Great efforts are made to ensure that these were kept clean. There were queues in the morning for the showers – but we showered straight after our walk (mid-late afternoon) and never had to wait. Apparently there is an issue with water pressure affecting the showers but to be honest we had no complaints – the showers were better than many expensive hotels we’ve stayed at – the temperature stayed constant, but the pressure just dropped slightly occasionally. The owners are aware and getting it sorted soon.

There is fantastic walking in this area (Scafell Pike is a days walk from the site) and the site is just off the road to Hardknott Pass. The Ravenglass and Eskdale narrow gauge railway is 300m down the road towards Boot. You can get a return ticket to Ravenglass (on the coast), spend an hour or so exploring/walking in Ravenglass then catch the train back to Boot (Dalegarth station). The trip is about 40 mins one way and is a fun way of spending a drizzly Lakeland day. The Boot Inn (good food, real ales and beer garden with children’s play area) is a 5 minute stroll across a field.

NB – watch out for ticks, especially with kids and dogs who may go through long grass. Our dog came home with two ‘passengers’. Also, the site has two inches of top soil and then you hit stones - so pegging out took quite some time (and a bit of swearing!)

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

This is a great site in an accessible, yet one of the remotest parts of the lake district. Situated at the foot of Hardknott Pass, this site is a gem.

The site is spread over 2 paddocks. All the pitches are level and grassy but the soil is shallow so I recommend rock pegs or delta pegs - the default pegs will bend.

The facilities are excellent. The shop is very well stocked for such a remote site and the staff are friendly and helpful. I will visit this site again.

The pubs have already been mentioned - nothing more to add. If you are an angler, Burnmoor Tarn is a 3 mile hike (no road access) and offers free trout fishing. I caught nothing but the sun, though I could see loads of the little blighters!

If you want to get away from it all this site is perfect - no mobile phone signal [:)]

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbrian camper 6 reviews from this member

Living in Cumbria we tend shy away from camping on our doorstep, after visiting this site over the latest bank holiday we decided that we don't know what we've been missing. This is a beautiful site in a glorious setting. The toilet blocks are clean and modern although three showers means a bit of patience is required. The site was full yet at 11pm you could have heard a pin drop. The kids thought it was fantastic spending hours playing in the woods, making swords out of sticks (who needs a game boy). The two nearby pubs are 5 mins walk away and do decent food. There is loads to do, within half an hours drive of the site there's Muncaster castle which we spent all day at. We have to say that the weather was great which can make all the difference but be warned due to the nearby peaks the sun goes down about two hours earlier than other sites in the valley.

All in all a brilliant site, nice staff, clean and only half an hour from home. Cumbria here we come!

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ftams 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site found no probs, friendly helpful staff huge pitch sizes excellent toilet facilities. Friendly villagers brill pubs that allow dogs and serve food. Excellnet walking base. Splendid views and wildlife. Going back in june /july this year and again in August

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dezzie 16 reviews from this member

Fantastic Site. Toilet block, showers and Laundry area were spotlessly clean, and the family/disabled room was a brilliant addition to the site, especially if you have young children. The site owners could not do enough for you and were very helpful, even opening the shop if you needed something out of hours. Prices in the shop were reasonable too. The site has a great kids play area with a big trampoline in it for the kids to bounce on. Where we were pitched we couldnt have the car next to us, but it really didnt matter. The field was great for our little one to run about in without any impending danger around.
My only gripe isnt with the site. The site is the best ive stayed in. The Local tourist attractions seemed to be very overpriced - especially to families. In particular I felt that the 'all day' ticket on the Lal Ratty railway was far too expensive at £26 for a family, plus £2 for parking your car at the station and really there isnt a lot to do along the route for the kids to enjoy. Also at the end of each route, the cafe's are rather expensive if you are a family on a budget. Better to take a picnic! The other thing to look out for is the Hardknott pass. Dont even attempt it if you are not 100% confident in your vehicle. I got to the top and didnt know that there was a lot more to come - The hill back down was scary to say the least, and then another very steep hill up the way. These hills are clutch killers be aware. A
ll I can say is visit the Eskdale site, as its the real lake district, and its lovely to open your tent door in the morning and see that scenery. Theres a lot of great walking to be had and also a lot of beautiful villages around the area too.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dambuilder 1 review from this member

Well first visit (Fri 25th & Sat 26th April) to this site and what can I say but WOW even if the weather was not that good!

Martyn was great and very helpful, site in beautiful quiet surroundings with many walks on the doorstep, a well stocked shop and the facilities spotlessly clean at all times.

We cooked for ourselves on arrival Friday but as the weather was lousy after our walk on Saturday instead of a BBQ we went down to the Boot Inn. The staff here were very nice, the food was really good (basic selection for kids but enough) and the choice of real ale (7 I think but only tried 5 hiccup!) was unexpected.

We liked the site that much that we have booked for 2 more short breaks (in 4 weeks and then again 3 weeks after that) and are considering a week in August.

Anyway in conclusion I would recommend this site to anyone and probably will.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Retiredtranmere 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very enjoyable 4 nights at the Eskdale (Hollins Farm) site. The weather for the first two nights was absolutely awful, blowing a gale both nights, with trees being blown over and tents blowing away, but we stuck it out and the weather did improve.

The site is great. Wonderful views, very peaceful, toilets and showers spotless.

Two pubs within walking distance.

The Brookhouse, real ales nice food.

The Boot inn, real ales, didn't manage to try the food as it was always packed, but the menu looked good.

The Woolpack, real ales again but the restaurant we found quite strange they have this policy of only serving local produce and organic and they wont deviate from this no kids menu dont ask for mint sauce or mayo or you will get told in no uncertain terms that they dont provide it. It was also expensive and not much choice. Having said all that there was nothing wrong with the food.

The woolpack is a bit too far to walk from the site.

There are loads of walks without even having to drive away from the site. Although Scafell and Scafell Pike are probably just a bit too far to do direct from Boot presumably unless done during the summer.

We will definitely be returning here hopefully when the weather is a bit better.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Weeks Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks! Win a Clarke IG1200B 1.1kW Suitcase Generator worth £299

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Summer Motorhome & Caravan Show 8th to 10th June, Kent
Exclusive discount, plus win 5 pairs of Weekend Camping Tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4990 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977