Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 201 Reviews
              9/10 from 201 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  201 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peggybabcot 8 reviews from this member

With the newspapers reporting the worst August wind speeds in 12 years and this being only our second camping trip we were rather apprehensive to say the least. Barmouth is a lovely unspoilt and non-commercial seaside town with stunning views to the Welsh hills. Hendre Mynach boasts that it's the closest site to the town and a gentle 15-20 minute walk along the prom takes you there.
The only thing that separates the campsite from the beach is a railway track with several trains passing daily including a steam train at around 11.05am
Our pitch was well sheltered and backed onto the railway line and surprisingly the trains didn't bother us including the 6.10am or the 10.20pm (I think they were the first and last trains anyway!) It wasn't until we took our tent down that we realised the true cost of the steam train. We had been showered with hot ash from the steam engine and discovered the remains stuck to our tent roof and when we brushed it off we were left with a hole the size of a 5p piece where it had melted the fabric. I'm really miffed as it was only the second time we'd used our Monty 6 and already it needs a repair!
This aside the location of the site was wonderful and you could even tell whether the tide was in or out by listening carefully. The staff were really lovely and very friendly. The showers and toilets were fine but I did feel there weren't enough showers for the number of campers on site. That said I only queued once all week but maybe that had more to do with what time we got up! LATE!
There was a shop and cafe on site as well as a kids playground which all proved useful. The nearest supermarket was the Co-Op in Barmouth with major supermarkets like Tesco, Lidl & Aldi much further afield in Porthmadog.
Other than the steam train incident I found this site great and had the weather been better, the location makes it a fantastic place for a beach holiday with kids. I'd go again but keep away from the railway is my advice.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JaneBT 1 review from this member

Not long got back from our first visit to this area and campsite and couldn't have wished for a better introduction to Barmouth! We camped on the flat side (there is a sloping area over the other side) where there was a specific area for tents only - conveniently the closest to the beach!

The site was lovely and clean with all the facilities that we needed. There is a children's playground(always full - even in the rain!), a shop (sells the basics but it did us) and off licence (much to the OH's delight) and a cafe/takeaway (reasonably priced fried food only - but we were on holiday!)

The toilets and showers were lovely and clean and (very importantly) always had toilet paper in them! Although we didn't use it, there is a launderette and baby changing facilities next to showers / toilets (sorry, can't comment on these) and pot washing / chemical disposal facilities around the other side - so you can kill a few birds with one stone just visiting the loo.!

We were literally, a stone's throw away from the beach - a very short walk (unfortunately across a railway line, so when my little one is older I don't know how happy I would be to let her go on her own) and you are there! There is also a cafe and another takeaway just outside the site near the beach. Barmouth itself is a short walk down the promenade (or you can take the land train that runs fairly regularly).

All in all, I would definitely recommend this site and would definitely pitch there again!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justinvikki 3 reviews from this member

Nice Campsite.

Was like a mirage after we spent a lot of that day driving around trying to find somewhere Suitable to stay as most sites had very few facilities around Borth,Fairbourne and Barmouth.

Possibly the cleanest toilets,showers and wash area that I have ever seen! Well thought out with pegs to hang your clean cloths on and a little wooden bench to sit on. Proper shower curtain too. Flow of water from shower is not that strong but nice and warm.They do lock the doors to the shower area at 10pm but as long as you are aware of that before you go it is no problem.

Nice little shop and takeaway there. Nice clean level pitches. 5 mins from the sea which you can hear swishing through the night which I find very pleasant. Nearest pub is about a 20min walk along the sea front in to Barmouth itself. This is quite a way but if it's a warm evening its not too bad.

Price is per tent also,not how many occupants, which is nice.

All in all a very nice Campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Cliffbrown 5 reviews from this member

We arrived on Thursday after a couple of days torrential rain but the pitches were dry. The reception staff where very helpful, giving us a sheltered pitch beside a wall. The site is just as propercamper described.
We only stopped two nights but found some very nice pubs and eating places. Mermaids chippy was fab and an Italian type cafe over looking the harbour was very nice. The last Inn is the pub in the harbour that allows dogs in, there is another on the main road, cant remember the name it had seating out the front and an area around the back and dogs are welcome here also.
The wifi on site was 6 for 24 hours, it is run by an independant company, I couldnt get connected, the help line is only available mon - fri 9 - 5, not much help on a weekend, but the very nice people in receiption refunded my 6.
A very nice site in a very beautifull area, if you get the weather.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Propercampers 1 review from this member

Probably the best campsite we have all been to in the past year. The weather helped as the sun shone. We had picked a quiet 5 days but usually packed for August and all bank holidays.

Toilet and shower facilities were very clean,only problem was the showers were like standing in the rain not very powerful but this would not put us off going again.

Shop was very well stocked with most products you would need.They won't freeze your ice blocks but you can hire for a small deposit and charge.Take away cafe available if you choose not to cook.

Play area for kids was good with the ususal swings and slides.

Pitches with hook up are flat (makes a real difference when sleeping!). Train line was right behind us - 1st train at 6.20am and last train at 10.20pm kids slept through though!Trains not really the big problem we encountered flies at dusk and these stayed until we went to bed on a couple of nights. We used ingenious methods to keep them off our heads including a shower cap as citronella didn't work.

Really close to the beach you need to walk over the railway line and the beach was there.

Nice pub just a short walk away on the front that serves food.Other places to get food - good Indian takeaway - yes we did this one night at the campsite and also a fish and chip shop called The Mermaid who were shocked to get an order for 11 fish and chips.

A couple of the seafood shops sell bait and crabbing lines a perfect way to keep the kids amused and the spit was a cracking place to catch them.

Overall a perfect site whether you want to sit and chill or get out to see a bit of Wales - we'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Velvet Kitten 23 reviews from this member

So far this year this is our 3rd visit to this site. It is in a beautiful location and is the closest site to Barmouth - a straight walk down the promenade - they have an access path to the prom.

The site staff were friendly and helpful. We have used both the hardstanding pitches and grass pitches and they are both good. We prefer the grass though - they are almost all level and each has a water point or at least one between two. The toilet and shower blocks are clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. There is a laundrette area and dishwashing areas. The site has a well stocked shop and take-away and also operates an off licence just in case you run out of the hard stuff. There is a park for the little ones outside one of the toilet blocks - there is a skate park just on the prom - we took the skateboards for the kids - my eldest son used this alot.

The camping area for tents is pretty level and there are lots of space so you are not crammed in. Tents and Caravans are pitched together for family groups. The site is immaculate and worth a visit.

Barmouth is a lovely town with a museum and lots of places to drink and eat out. We have found this site fantastic to sit and unwind and forget everything. They have also just had WiFi installed for those that still need a UKCS fix whilst away.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PillingerA 4 reviews from this member

The toilets were really first class and some of the best we've seen. This was the first weekend of opening and it did show, the shop had nothing in and it did spoil our night. If you have limited mobility and need a wheelchair don't come, I am sure the promenade is lovely but couldn't navigate through the campsite gate and over railway to find it, be warned! Referring to some comments about the owners lack of personality, we completely agree. Smile and the world smiles with you.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kazand 3 reviews from this member

Views outstanding with the sea one way and the mountains the other. Campsite fantastic, staff very friendly and helpful. Pitches level, plenty of hook ups, Shower and toilet blocks very clean. Brilliant shop on site. We had a very pleasant stay here with our 2 dogs, beach is beautiful and dog friendly, lovely walk into Barmouth along the sea front, some great shops. Looking forward to going back in 2008.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swanderer 1 review from this member

Great site, very clean throughout, especially the shower areas. Well stocked shop with toys, foods, books, beach accessories, etc. Walk to the beach was about 10-15 minutes. Barmouth itself is a nice town - good food in the hotels, large beach, amusements, etc. Generally a very friendly place we would definitely recommend and will be visiting again in future.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anitathorp 4 reviews from this member

The campsite was a perfect pitch. The showers and washing facilities were far above standard. Staff onsite were friendly and helpful.Although it rained and it was only the second time we had been camping, we enjoyed it so much that I am taking the kids with me next time!

Previous     201 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5507 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977