Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maxandpaddy 12 reviews from this member

Shhhhhhh ! we have all found a perfect site!  if we don t tell anyone else no one will come and clutter up this more than perfect site!
 
Joking aside, having just pitched the caravan on my drive back I felt driven to put a glowing report on this heavenly site having done a 8 hour journey home!  
 
Again a long journey down,  but after 20 odd years of hayle and the surrounding area,  a change was in need on site  choice. and oh what a site !.  Firstly a M&S food-hall! on approach,  do things get any better! sorry lilde! the site, lets get detailed now. Slight slope but with a caravan not an issue,excuse to get out the level chocks. Reception was friendly, professional and informative, "obviously waiting for the change in tempo once leaving!" , chilled. Clear indication on the main feature, the direction to beach, a small walk and then onto the most glorious of views to Godfrey lighthouse. ( a view that has never changed in 20 years but never fails to move me, from a little lad to, a grow man with his own caravan) the electrics worked superbly and the overall ambiance on site was of family s /surf doods/ surfdood dads escaping the grinding nine to five! stressed out scousers and anyone else that owned a tent or van , quite , well lovely and uplifting."We hasten to add that we had spent a week in Skegness before so this was a vast improvement!"  loos and amenities were exceptionally clean functional, and well designed. The site was not too big to be intrusive and pitch size over the norm that we have been to. the area well I would if kids involved , take them to the beach and just enjoy time together,we  had horrendous weather throughout but the place and pitch as I allways said made the difference!  company as well of course! 
 
Negatives:Thinking i,m quite a jolly old soul by now eh! a small critique on parents with small kiddies! I have a very heavy a dangerous BMW that can kill ,i was doing 5mph and kids on bikes in the dark on site don't mix. I m a"VERY"careful driver but not interested in "SO" Chilled out parents that they forget childrens saftey
 
weather, the site IS windy if the Celtic sea at full-mast but due to the superb owners informed us every day of the changing weather, DO peg things down as the lovely people from Devon found out ! gazebos dont mix with the site when windy!
 
if I dont stop typing the site will give me a free week!hint hint!seriously take the family and go, its simple we have already booked for 2008 ,they havent started booking for 2009 but we would if we could!   xx max and paddy, pitch 33 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scarab15 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from this great campsite.pitches were large and and the campsite was well maintained.
there was a lot of space for the kids to run around and it was only a short walk to a fantastic surfing/body boarding beach.walking back from the beach the sunset cafe 'well worth a visit after a hard day on the beach'.
the toilets and showers were always clean. the shop was well stocked and wet suites and body boards could be hired.
if you did not want to cook,there was always the visiting fish and chip van or pizza van or you could try the homemade curries. The red river pub is opposite the campsite great for a change although the food is a bit pricey.10 minutes down the road you now have marks and Spencer, boots, next, costa coffee, lidl and the co-op.i will definitely be booking again for next year.cant forget the proprietors mike and clair always there to help.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krakinka 11 reviews from this member

This was my family's first 'proper' camping holiday - I've been trying to persuade them for years & finally they are converted! 
 
The site is fantastic - 1st rate showers/family bathrooms/toilets & a well stocked shop/reception that pretty much caters for all needs.
 
Pitches are spacious & either based around the recreation area or the outskirts - if you have young children I would suggest asking for a pitch skirting the recreation area so that a) you are closer to the toilets & b) away from the main car routes. A 5mph speed limit is stated all over the campsite but unfortunately 1 or 2 (childless) campers were unable to adhere to this :-(
 
There is free use of freezers for ice packs - just make sure you name your packs & put them in a named bag else they may go walkabout (as ours did unfortunately).
 
The site is well maintained & the owners, Clair & Mike are always around & about if you have any queries. 
 
Takeaway vans come on-site for delicious meals - we had pizza on Tuesday, curry on Wednesday & fish & chips on Sunday - all excellent & value for money :-)  I can also recommend the cream teas which are served 3pm-5pm everyday in the farmhouse garden - freshly baked scones & the best cup of tea I had in the whole 10 days - YUM!  Not surprising I put on a good few pounds!
 
Gwithian beach is easily reached by a walk through a field & a stroll downhill although I wouldn't recommend it for the less mobile as its uphill on the way back!  Not good when you're loaded down like a carthorse! 
 
I adore this area of Cornwall & by the end of our trip we were all sad to be coming home - even my husband (the previous non camper!) was talking about booking ready for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TENPIN 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two week stay at Gwithian Farm. On the whole this is a decent site, in fact having visited other sites whilst there this is an excellent site.
 
The location is great, a lovely 10/15 minute walk through the dunes (exiting through the gate by the farm house) and you are on a fabulous beach with waves to die for. The exit through the upper field is a little more fraught due to traffic.
There is only one access road onto the site which is a little narrow and also acts as both footpath and, bike lane making things a bit hairy at times.
Disappointingly it has no children’s playground i.e. Swings, slides, climbing frame etc. What it does have is a field in the middle of the site where ball games may be played but we found the location off putting because the area is surrounded by tents
Our pitch was not level (the same for the majority) and it also had a few craters in it. Because our tent is quite long we had to pitch diagonally to fit it on and go with the slope.
The ablutions block is great compared to others we viewed. It is clean and spacious and only a few years old. There are 12 showers altogether (6 male 6 female) with ample hooks and a shelf on which to arrange your belongings. However the water pressure was inadequate at peek times and the spray nozzles with the exception of one in the family shower room did not deliver a full jet of water. Queueing for a shower was a regular occurrence with the site at full capacity. The family shower room does require some form of drainage installed on the lower level as it was frequently flooded. The  eight toilets on the female side had only two that contained a sanitary bin which was not adequate.
You will find only one chemical waste point on site which is basically an open drain with a broken grill at the bottom and a hose pipe. The best set up we have seen was at Warcombe Farm campsite where they had two open toilet cubicles with no seats etc, a hose and of course the all important flush.
We used the washers and dryers, there are two of each costing 2.50/50p for ten minutes respectively. Sadly there is no deep sink in which to remove stains or hand wash.
The washing up area located undercover at the rear of the toilet block houses 6 sinks. The hot water in these was not hot enough and the sinks were very shallow.
The site shop was well stocked, had papers every day and supplied wet suits and boards at quite reasonable prices. The shop opened at 8.45am-12.30pm closing until 4.30pm-6.30pm.
There is a Normid supermarket in Hayle and also a Lidl plus a large Boots and M&S just opposite MacDonalds off the main roundabout on the A30 as you enter the town. Only a 6 mile trip down the A30 from there and you have a Morrisons store and a B&Q.
Overlooking the superb beach we found the lovely Sunset Café which serves food all day until turned 7pm and gives you 20mins internet access for a pound. 

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grumpysimon 21 reviews from this member

Have just returned from 2 weeks at Gwithian Farm (July - August 07) First week was very wet (was the week of all the floods) second week was lovely weather.
 
Can't praise the site or owners highly enough. Good size pitches and even when the site was completely full it didn't feel cramped. Very safe site for children, ours are 5 and 2 and due to strict policing of the 5mph driving policy I had no worries about their safety.
 
The walk over the dunes to the beach is great - obviously not suitable for pushchairs but my 2 year old on my back loved it as I bounced her around over the dunes.
 
Toilets and showers are the best I have encountered - clean, spacious, instant and plentiful hot water. If only every campsite had facilities like this!
 
Even with all the rain the campsite stayed remarkably dry. Clair and Mike work hard to run a top quality family campsite and it shows - it is just that. The setting is great; lovely views, fantastic beach, great walking and all the usual touristy things.
As previous reviews have said, you can hire wetsuits, boards etc from the shop, the cream teas are fab, don't know about the pub, vans bringing fish and chips, pizza, curry etc are good if you don't want to cook. The ice cream van comes around at about 6ish in the evening (just when your kids may be eating their tea!)
 
Book early and stay for as long as you can. We will return, probably in '09 as off to France next year. After 2 weeks there, one of which was wet we could have easily stayed another 2 weeks.
 
If you want to camp in West Cornwall, have children and can get a pitch then you must go to Gwithian Farm.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jac123 1 review from this member

Really loved this place!  Chose Gwithian for first camping trip with our kids (4 and 2) who just loved it. 
 
It's a beautiful location, just a short stroll to the Gwithian beach which is fantastic, and a nicely laid out campsite - it doesn't feel too big yet I didn't feel we were crammed in too much either.
 
Mike and Claire who run the site are great - gave us lots of tips on where to go on beach/for eating out etc
 
Really clean showers/toilets, which always had hot water, launderette - and a useful shop.
 
Most importantly it had the atmosphere we were after - lots of families, quiet at night and thankfully no entertainment/bingo/karaoke etc!
 
Highly recommend this one!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drew28 2 reviews from this member

We spent a week at this lovely site. There was plenty of space for the children to play games and run around. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The toilets and showers were very clean and the family bathrooms were great. The large sandy beach was a short walk away, great for body boarding and rock pooling. The pizza and fish and chip van visited once a week, this was a welcome break from cooking. We are definitely returning.   

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shino 1 review from this member

On the whole a great campsite with well maintained new facilities and a well stocked shop. Good sized pitches and lots of water points. You can also hire wetsuits, body boards and surf boards from the site. Van visits nearly every evening through the week of either fish & chips, pizzas, fresh fish or homemade curries, and bacon butties on Saturday mornings.
 
Great pub just across the road, dog friendly with lovely staff and great food.
 
Very slight negatives would be due to the sites elevated position the wind can play havoc with your tent, the walk to the beach is  fairly short but over hefty sand dunes and then down some very steep steps. This walk would not be suitable for families with pushchairs/wheelchairs, although I do believe you can take the road route to walk which will take longer but be a little easier.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoare 1 review from this member

Date of visit 6th July - Friday 20th July
What more can we say.
Get down to Gwithian Farm! Having spent 3 fantastic holidays at Gwithian Farm I felt Compelled to post a review as we are all experiencing one of the worst summers,with the lack of Sun!
My partner and I were very reluctant to book a camping holiday, but we did and again at Gwithian Farm. The process of booking couldn't be easier. Clair and Mike the proprietors are magicians, athletes, professional tent erecters, multi taskers, what more can one do with a pair of hands in one day.
With storm force 9 gales and continued rain, they still keep a genuine smile on their faces, Clair, Mike and Mick can do it all, just ask and you will get!

We were there during full capacity at one point, with the sites new and immaculate toilet & washing facilities holding up well with capacity to spare. The pitches are the biggest we have ever pitched on 10m x 10m is the norm but ours seemed enormous even with our tented village erected on it, our car could easily be parked adjacent to the tent.
I hired a wet suit and body board from the on site shop and ventured into waves of 5-6 feet on the miles of clean EEC awared beaches. 5 minutes walk from the site with areas patrolled by life guards, the experience was so fantastic, on the advise of mike I purchased my own wet suit and board from a surf shop called "Down the line" in Hayle.
The guys in the shop could not have been more helpful, with my second week experiencing a some what "Flat" period I ventured to "Fishing Cove" with my new found mate Andy, where we had the most amazing time swimming in crystal clear water with a bull seal and its family.

On site the camping grass areas were continually being cut by Mick and his trusty mower. The 16amp electric hook up worked perfectly, I had a fully functioning fridge, 800w halogen heater, flat screen TV, laptop, oven and grill and kettle all working simultaneously,(Dont tell Mike and Clair) with no tripping out, what more can one ask for, and its FREE electric!.
There is an on site shop selling all the basics and more, with a newly opened Marks and Spencer, Next, Boots, Costa Coffee, Co-Op and a lidl food emporium all within 10 minutes drive away.

For those who don't fancy cooking there various catering vans which visit the site, fish and chips, pizza's, curry nights and bacon rolls on Saturday morning, perfect when your packing up your tent and dont want to cook and have any washing up.

All in all there are many camping sites which can learn from Gwithian Farm, so what are you waiting for, book up and enjoy, we have and will be there again in September 07 with 08's booked already.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel16 8 reviews from this member

This must be the most relaxing site we have been to in Cornwall and we have been to quite a few. The site is well laid out with a number of electric and non electric pitches. We arrived on the day of the Gwithian Surfing competitions and while the site was nearly full, it was not cramped and the 10mx10m pitches are quite adequate.
The shop is basic but holds the essentials. There is a large new block which houses the ladies and gents, showers, washing up facilities, family washroom/shower etc all of which are kept very clean.
There are no entertainment facilities on site so I would not recommend it to families with young teens who need to be kept occupied, but it has good space for younger children to play and for the older teenagers, the beach is only a 10 minute walk away.

There is a nice pub over the road from the site but since it was competition weekend there was not even standing space by 7.00pm on the Saturday although it was fairly quiet on the Sunday. We were however told to make a booking if we wanted to eat as it can get busy and it is only a small local pub.
We were really pleased with our visit to the site, the willingness of the owners to stand and chat even though they probably had more important things to do, and the quiet and tranquility of the site as a whole. While we were only there for a long weekend we will certainly be going back quite soon.

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over £1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6250 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1328