Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 299 Reviews
              10/10 from 299 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  299 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BarnsleyBelle 12 reviews from this member

What an amazing find! The site is set in beautiful Somerset countryside overlooked by the magnificent Glastonbury Tor (which can be easily reached on foot in about 20 minutes). The facilities are superb with great attention to detail, excellently manicured and welcoming and friendly staff.

We took advantage of the very picturesque fishing pond which seemed to be brimming with fish, albeit relatively small ones.

The shop was well stocked selling local produce including cider and perry and home produced meats. They also had a good selection of wine and other alcoholic beverages.

Glastonbury is one of my all time favourite places and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stop-off enroute back from Devon and will certainly be back next year.

We would have given the location a 10 out of 10 had there been a local pub within walking distance but don't let that put you off; overall it's a very beautiful relaxing site which we would challenge anyone to find fault with.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alan001 2 reviews from this member

We visited The Old Oaks in July and had an absolutely fabulous stay.

Having booked at short notice, we were delighted with the large pitch we had in the Top Oaks area of the site. This was a hard standing (we were dubious about this in our tent, but were able to obtain an extra ground sheet from reception for a small deposit (refundable on return of the sheet)) and we were amazed how comfortable this actually was, it also meant that OUR footprint sheet was much cleaner at pack up time!

The site was spotless, with great recycling facilities within easy reach of our pitch. The shower/toilet blocks were very clean and well maintained, with unisex showers available for when the separate Male/Female bathrooms are being cleaned. The site is beautifully landscaped, and very peaceful, as well as offering fabulous views of the local countryside.

There is a lovely walk from the site to Glastonbury Tor, and down into the town, and of course the fabulous old oaks, Gog and Magog, are on the edge of the site itself.

All the staff were extremely helpful; there was an occasion when I left a piece of jewellery in the shower block - this was handed in to reception where I was able to retrieve it - a testament to both the staff and our fellow campers.

Special mention must be made of the great dog exercise facilities, which are fully enclosed, our lurcher was absolutely delighted to have some off leash run about time.

Other things we loved - Electric hookup for the tent, and the ability to go to reception in the evening and order a newspaper for the following day, as well as fresh bread from the local bakery (Burns the Bread) for breakfast!

We'll definitely be returning to The Old Oaks, highly recommended!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sgr2211 2 reviews from this member

We visited this park for a 3 night stay. First impressions of this park are good. It is nicely laid out with good pitches. It has some 'nice touches' that tend to blind you into thinking how good it is.

The sad fact is, the toilet/shower block is grossly inadequate for the size of the park and being so busy is not clean unless you go in after the cleaners. This park also suffers from noise in the shape of loud music from 11pm till 6am from a neighbouring farm that caters for youngsters. There is also a drumming ritual on the Tor that is most annoying.

There is a nice pond that offers very easy fishing as it is overstocked. The dog run is good and has a dog wash that is useful. There is sometimes a queue at the washing up point at busier times. Shop is OK if a little on the expensive side.

You can't hire a Bistro set as it says on the notice board. Overall my opinion is it should be downgraded from 5 stars until the planned toilet and shower facility upgrade is complete.

I feel this would be a nicer place in off peak times when the cleaners of the toilet/showers can cope.

The surrounding area is great for walkers and has something for everyone within quite easy reach if you have a vehicle. Morrison's super market is not too far.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 25 reviews from this member

Wow! There are caravan sites and then there is The Old Oaks! We booked the last 4 days of a 4 week holiday here to break the journey home from Cornwall and at the same time take the opportunity to visit Bath.

The sign at the top of the drive announced the site was full but we had booked! You just had to look at the reception building to know that we were in for a treat! Inside the greeting was warm and friendly.

At the back of reception was a well stocked shop which has free tastings as well as home made cakes every day!

We were shown to our super pitch in Walnut Circle which had water and waste as well as electric. What a brilliant pitch it was with an immaculate lawn area next to the hardstanding which felt like a garden! The site landscaping was stunning!

Wifi signal was excellent! Great TV reception. The toilet and shower facilities were spotless and despite the site being full we never had to queue.

Laundry looked spotless too. Excellent recycling. There is a walk from the site up to Glastonbury Tor.

Wells and it's cathedral are just a few miles away, as is Cheddar Gorge. Bath lived up to it's expectations. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket at Street, about 10 mins away as is Clarks Shopping Village - much nicer than some outlet villages.

Glastonbury has much to offer the hippy in you! The weather was glorious when we were there so it would have been great to have a little more time to just sit back, relax and enjoy the views of the Mendips Hills.

Will we go back? You bet we will and for longer!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joan Larkings 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for seven nights with our caravan. We were a bit apprehensive at first as it was not our first choice. As soon as we had driven up the drive and then checked in at reception we knew that it had been an excellent choice.

The site was spotlessly clean

All the wardens were exceptionally nice, helpful and friendly.

We were escorted to our pitch and the warden explained the layout of the site etc.

Our pitch was 'the orchard'. We had a lovely secluded spot with grass on either side of our caravan. There was a tree in the corner giving the pitch shade on one side, whilst the other side had plenty of sunshine. It was absolutely perfect for us and our 14 yr old boxer dog. Who does not like to be too hot.

The toilet block was very clean with plenty of hot water.

The Orchard had a mixture of caravans, and tents. We would highly recommend this site to anybody who wishes to visit the Somerset area.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulus76 4 reviews from this member

It's very difficult to find anything to say that hasn't already been said before about how good this site is. We loved it, the site is beautifully maintained and the pitches are a good size and well spaced and this is a very quiet site. It doesn't really matter whereabouts you are on the site, all areas are of equally high quality. We were on the Walnut Terraces and had no problems with our pitch, the Walnut Circle is popular and gets booked up quickly but the other areas around a green are just as nice.

Arrival here is excellent with a very warm welcome at reception and an information booklet that contains everything you need to know for your stay, ranging from where the nearest supermarkets are to local taxi numbers etc.

The only potential downside is that there are only 3 showers and 3 toilets in each washroom (plus 3 unisex ones) which could be difficult if the site is very busy, having said that the site was about 75% full during our stay and I never had to queue for a shower. I believe there are plans to add another amenities block soon.

Loved the site, loved the area and we will definitely be back soon.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coveney_d 3 reviews from this member

Me my husband and pooch stayed here I absolutely love this site its excellent they have everything including a bath !

Old oaks is at a perfect location for touring and a lovely walk to glastonbury tor and town.

On site is a fishing lake and small holding with chickens the staff are really friendly and they have a shop that sells everything from tent pegs to cider, home made cakes and bbq meat from their own livestock,

Its a really well laid out site and has a laundry room with use of a fridge freezer and microwave

They have yurts for rent and although their prices are high you don't mind paying them for such a lovely site

This is adults only so its really peaceful and quiet

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T4terrier 3 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful well run site surrounded by lovely countryside yet within walking distance of Glastonbury and the Tor.

We have stayed twice in the old orchard which is spacious and well laid out surrounded by apple trees. The toilets and showers are immaculate and the site has a laundry facility, a freezer for freezer blocks and a spacious pot wash area.

The whole site is very clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

There is a well provisioned shop and the home made cakes are gorgeous.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andysvwt5 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights and must say this site is one of the best. The staff were really nice and helpful,toilets and showers immaculate,and a well stocked shop which you can get essentials.The pitches are really big, spacious, and well maintained.It doesn't take long to realise how peaceful it is, so if that's what you want this is the place. Nice walk into Glastonbury if you want to as well which we did do and walked back.The surrounding countryside is also a pleasure to look at and breath in the fresh air. We will be going back to this site for many more years to come and hopefully stay longer sooner rather than later. Absolute stunner.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mephsy 5 reviews from this member

This has to be one of the best sites in the country. The location is peaceful and in the middle of the countryside (yet it is only 1.5 mile walk to Glastonbury). It has immaculate showers and toilet facilities, the laundry room is superb and the washing up facilities excellent - the water is piping hot. The wardens are friendly courteous and helpful and although it is a largish site it is divided into sections. Each pitch is huge (hardstanding) and is semi-enclosed with bushes so being over-looked is never a problem. Being adult only is a distinct advantage to me.

Are there any disadvantages? Only one. I'm going to have to book early to make sure I can visit again next year!

Previous     299 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4550 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1289