Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gibraltar Farm Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Gibraltar Farm Camp Site
Gibraltar Farm
Jenny Browns Point
Silverdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA50UA   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01524 701736

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m 1m  1m  1m   1m  1m 

Pitches: 50
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 209 Reviews
              8/10 from 209 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Reviews:  209 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GraemeStuart99 11 reviews from this member

This site is fantastic. It is well sign posted when you get to Silverdale, the steward is very helpful and chatty.  Yes it can be a bit noisy but my 2 & 4 year olds slept OK and after 11pm it quietens down quite a lot.  The setting of the site is amazing good fields and woods surround the site the children can run around in the vast space for ages.  The beach is a 5 minute walk away and on a clear day the view of Morecambe Bay is stunning with its sunset.  There is no shop but siverdale in 15 mins walk and there are shops there also the shower & toilet block are small but that is not a problem.  As I live half an hour away I will be here when ether possible.
 

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smudgers_mum 1 review from this member

We have only been camping for a year, but in 2005 we tried many different sites and I have to say this is by far the best site we have ever been to. The views and surrounding area are beautiful, lovely for walks picnics. There is plenty of room for playing games like rounders football and flying kites.
 
This is the only site we've ever been to without a playground and for some reason it's just not missed, kids disappear for hours entertaining them selves popping back for dinner. There's no pressure to spend a load of money because there simply isn't anything to spend it on.
 
It's in driving distance to tesco which is useful if you don't take a fridge and also walking distance to local shops, pub and little post office. The warden is great but so is the lady (his wife maybe?) she's really friendly and a good laugh.
 
WE LOVE GIBRALTAR FARM and we will never go anywhere else again, try it what's the worst that could happen????

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cheryl44 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from a bank hol weekend at Gibraltar farm. Was very busy, facilities not bad for the price you pay, showers and toilets cleaned numerous times during the day and needed to be for the amount of people on the site. Only two showers but I timed it right for both days and never had to wait. Definitely a place for families with children, my 7 year old was on his own and made lots of friends but not sure if it would suit people who want a bit of peace and quiet. Would go again if only for the views as it was fabulous.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lhrabbits 1 review from this member

We headed for Silverdale last weekend and decided to stay at the first campsite we came to - and Gibraltar Farm was it! The scenery was superb and it was a clean and well equipped site. We only experienced one problem, and that was with a large family who were camping quite close to our tent. Unfortunately, during the course of the night, they must have felt the cold (don't we all!). This culminated in a mass family exodus into their 4 wheel drive - where they kept the engine running/revving all night so they could keep warm! This was noisy and we had little sleep. However, we won't let it put us off and intend to go back to Gibraltar Farm this weekend!

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pg111 4 reviews from this member

Following a fabulous Halloween and Bonfire party we are now getting ready for the forthcoming season and I just had to look up reviews for Gib Farm. Cannot believe that people can gripe because this site is now popular. It is NOT a noisy site (certainly not whilst I have been there and that has been numerous weekends)although extremely busy at bank holidays etc. The stewards bend over backwards to help. Obviously some people expect the impossible. All I can say is go with the majority of reviews and you will not be disappointed. A very friendly and well run camp site. Basic facilities ie no club house but infectious hospitality from the management.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Groovy chick 1 review from this member

Having been a visitor to this site for the past 30 years I have seen quite a few changes. The site is excellent for first time users and those more seasoned. The one downfall is that as with anything else good things come to an end and with the introduction of a site steward and the use of computers more people have found this site and so noise and partys are part of this site now. I have never had a bad visit with the exception of our last as the steward was rather surley. But for those who have never been with tne exception of this man you wont find better.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Exdreddedcath 2 reviews from this member

The site has the most beautiful setting of any campsite I have ever stayed at (once we managed to find it!!!). The views of Morecambe Bay at sunset are not to be missed, and the access to the coastal footpath is superb.

The site owner was really helpful and had a great range of interesting things for sale from the 'site office' (caravan). Facilities were good too and rates were very reasonable.

The only problem we had on both nights of our stay was the noise!! Despite the website stating on the front page that 11pm was the cutoff point there was no-one out stopping the parties which went on till about 3am each night. I would recommend taking some earplugs with you!

Away from the site the village had everything we needed. As we were catering for vegetarians we were disappointed with the pub/hotel nearest the site, but the menu of the next pub along (near the shop) was brilliant.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Fullerfamily 10 reviews from this member

Great site lots of open space for kids to play. Nice walks with an abundance of wildlife to see. Kids loved the rope swings, warden was very hospitable every site should have him. Toilet block very clean showers have to be the best we have come across on our camping trips. A1 site highly recomended. Only downside was the early morning wake up by the cows mooing.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Rating:
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

Quite hard to find not very well signposted but once you find it what a gem! Nothing on the site except toilets and showers which were kept clean all the time. There are electric hook-ups but not many, best to book in advance if you want this facility. Large site if you don't need electric though.

The surrounding area though is lovely. We spent the August Bank Holiday there, about 12 of us. You can walk through the field to the beach, a rocky beach. We took some tinnies and a bottle of wine and lit a fire on the beach, it was lovely.

The warden sells cans of pop and ice cream from his awning but there is a shop and pub in the village about a ten minute walk.

The warden tries to keep everybody happy during their stay. An "olympics" was organised along with a children's disco and a table top sale the weekend we were there. All were very well attended.

In other reviews on this site it was noted they had problems with noise late at night, we didn't experience anything like this, by midnight all was quiet.

As it's only about an hour away from home we will be returning again. Keep up the good work.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Jules32 5 reviews from this member

Great site, fantastic views, electric hook-ups available, nice clean toilets,helpful friendly wardens. I loved the woodland setting which led to the sea, We were caravanning but I would have loved to be in a tent for the weekend We will definitely be going back and back and back....

Previous     209 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4707 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0950