Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
              9/10 from 194 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joan hemming 4 reviews from this member

What a great site, we have just spent our 1st week ever at Cofton park, (we normally stay in dawlish warren at Peppermint but enormous price rise forced us out, their loss ) We will definitely come here again, nice friendly staff all over the park, clean & tidy, nice new shower & toilet blocks & plenty of them. I was surprised the Club & bar were not bigger but it didn't cause a problem for us we always managed to find a seat & had 2 enjoyable meals there. The outdoor swimming pool area was very good. The only down side would be the lack of roadway to pull your unit onto the grass terraces which were wet when we got there & caused 1 or 2 problems for people. Cant wait for this time next year to go back.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ang/Ken 18 reviews from this member

Took a seasonal pitch here for the 2005 Season from May to end Oct. Lovely clean park, but the park is growing and the facilities are not being increased to cope. We found the shop & bar very stretched at busy times. The bar also closed before the site closed at the end of the season. There is a mix of statics for hire, touring pitches & seasonal pitches. On the whole the site is clean and reasonably quiet for the number of pitches they now have. Would revisit.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Sue7h 1 review from this member

We have just come back from our stay at Cofton, we arrived the Friday before August Bank holiday and stayed for a week & had beautiful weather for most of the holiday. We pitched in the Orchard which is ideal for tents and near to the main amenity block. The site is lovely and well cared for, toilets and showers are cleaned more than once every day although the mens toilets were left in a state by some campers !

The shop was well stocked and very reasonably priced. Unfortunately, our visit was spoilt by a group of local youths. There didn't seem to be any security dealing with the group or the incidents they caused, which made us feel quite vulnerable in a tent. I hope that Cofton increases the security on their site

Reviewer: Davidp92 1 review from this member

July 2005
Fantastic, lovely site run by lovely people. Couldn't do enough for us and the facilities are the best I have ever seen. Can't praise it highly enough. Go there if you can, you'll not be sorry.

Loads of hook ups
level sites of generous size
lovely swimming pools
excellent location, secluded yet close to amenities
nice friendly bar and restaurant
great on site shopping
4 fishing lakes!
fast food take away
spotless toilet and washing facilities
on site laundry room with driers and irons

I had 32 people with me,(Boys'Brigade),we used the rally field early July before the high season and every single one of them wants to go back...........enough said.

Reviewer: X Gem x 1 review from this member

August 2005
We went to Cofton Holiday Park and it was lovely. We were in the overflow field which when we got there was an excellent place to be. We had about 10 tents around us in the whole 5 days that we were there and we surprised as it was the second week of the summer holidays!! We have quite a large tent and the our standard pitch was plenty big enough. The shop was excellent and stored everything we needed. The bread was great. I nearly burnt myself on it, it was so hot and by the time we got home to the overflow field it was still warm!! The pool was great and plenty of room to sit around it either by it on the grass or outside the bar which was quite handy. From the overflow to the pool it took about 8 mins and to the toilets about 5. the toilets and showers were clean and when choosing a shower pick shower 2 (definitely the best !!)

If you eating out nearby I suggest the Anchor Inn. The food there was beautiful. I suggest the hanging meals (seafood or meat) as they were brilliant. I won't spoil the surprise though ;) They do about 30 different mussels dishes (tasty) and they have a range of meat dishes for those who aren't to keen on seafood. It isn't cheap but well worth it. You mite want to reserve aswell as it gets very busy very early.

Overall we would definitely be coming back here again

Excellent !! : )

Reviewer: IAN2112 1 review from this member

August 2005
What a great site ! everything was impressive .Firstly they were able to accomodate us at short notice in the busy period of early august.On arrival after booking in we were escorted to our pitch,good large pitches are in all areas of the campsite and our pitch gave us beautiful views of surrounding countryside.The overall cleanliness was excellant and the grass was well kept,other plus points were a well stocked shop,great pub and great pool to cool off when the sun shone.Also try the fish&chips at the takeaway, TASTE SENSATION !!!

Reviewer: Jafa 3 reviews from this member

June 2005
We had superb weather so I suppose that added a gloss to this site, but I am very impressed. It was also before peak season so it was quite quiet, although at the weekend when more people were there it was still very pleasant.

The pitches were of a good size and not too cramped. Plenty of fields for us to choose from, although in peak season you are escorted to your pitch so there's no option to choose.

The grounds were immaculate, grass kept well cut and the borders full of flowers. Before cleaning early in the morning the toilets may have been a bit dirty, but once the cleaner had been around they were spotless.

Plenty of showers, never had to wait. In peak season I imagine you'd have to wait to use the dishwashing sinks.

Plenty of hot water - in fact it was too hot!!

Pool area was lovely. Shop stocked lots of useful supplies, from beach things, camping/caravan items, food, etc and the prices were reasonable - in fact the beach items were cheaper than at the beach.

The site covers a large area and there are walks in the woodland towards Easton House that overlooks the estuary/Exmouth and Dawlish Warren.

Children are catered for with a games room and outdoor play equipment.

There is so much to do in this area that I hope to return and this site will be my first choice.

I suppose I have to mention one thing that annoyed us, but it is nothing to do with the site......the seagulls creating so much noise at 4 am!!!

Reviewer: Homefromhome 1 review from this member

May 2005
here goes...excellent site for us. Not too hi de hi. If you want that, try dawlish warren sites. Went Bank Holiday, so it was busy, but we got there early so pitched in main site, not overflow. (looks like overflow field may be getting a new toilet block, not before time by the sound of it). We had the small toilet block which did get busy, but showers were hot and free so can't really complain for a BH weekend(TIP, the middle of the three showers is the best). The new shower block looked a lot better if your on the slope. Onsite shop was more than adequate, selling all you need plus fresh baked onsite bread and croissants. Great out doors swimming pool, although it was cold (1st day open when we visited). not that i went in brrrrr. Nice patio bar area plus some kids evening entertainment and the obligatory lolly and sweet prizes, plus a family room and bar. Food was adequate but if you fancy something other than pies chips and steaks, try a walk to the anchor pub(via the church rd). Food looks lovely but it was so busy we couldn't get in. Also Powderham Castle has a terrific food store (lots of local meats, fruit, veg and jams etc...ideal for a bit of alfresco dining on site). It also hosts jousting 6 days a week which includes a fair bit of audience participation for about 14 coins of the realm for a family of 4 or 14 quid to you and me. Down with that dastardly black knight. And somebody put that jester out of his misery. Meanwhile...
Onsite fishing lakes are great, not that much was being caught when i fished. I lost 4 big carp... honest. but a 26lb carp was caught the day I fished, by a 14 year old. I saw the picture pinned up in the bar, although i think it was 46lb by the end of the evening and it was this big <----O----->
Plenty of other things to do and see. Decent sized pitch and putt locally. If you've got kids and fancy a bit of shopping, try trego mills near newton abbot. Its a massive shop(s)/warehouse selling everything under one roof in mainly one shop.(includes plenty of tatt and quite a few bargains, a Johny junks paradise), but the unexpected bonus was that there is a mini adventure park there which the kids loved and was good value. (4.99 gives them 7 rides - go carts, bumper boats, dodgems etc.. plus unlimited slides, plus if you go on some rides in twos you only get charged for one). An unexpectedly good time was had by all.
... all in all a great few days, although this was helped by the good weather. If you want loud music and late nights then go to brean. We will be returning soon.

Reviewer: Gimmeegrace 1 review from this member

May 2005
Just got back from bank holiday weekend at Cofton. As other reviewers have said, one of the best sites we have stayed on. However, next time I would choose a pitch near the main ameneties block - orchard style - rather than the larger fields. We chose the 10 acre because it felt more spacious, but were really badly disturbed by noisy neighbours who didn't want to stop their party at 1.30am. Compained to management the next day who did speak to neighbours, but the neighbours were still noisy til well after midnight the following two nights (I bought earplugs!) This was probably just bad luck, the rest of the site seemed very quiet.

Excellent campsite shop not only selling good variety of food and drink, but amazing array of toys, novelties, books and camping equipment. Dad, make sure your wallet's full!

Best aspect of site: fishing lakes and delightful country church and churchyard.

Had a brilliant carvery meal with locally sourced produce at the Smugglers Inn on the road between Dawlish and Teignmouth. Best service I have ever had in a pub restaurant, and delicious (not adventurous) pub food, including good real food for children!(No turkey dinasaurs!) Very family friendly, small garden although no play area. Very good value.

Reviewer: SammyJaneR 12 reviews from this member

March 2005
We stayed at this site during the Easter holidays. It was our maiden voyage in our new VW camper (Upgrading from tents) and this site was excellent. We had a hardstanding pitch next to the fishing lakes and enjoyed watching the ducks and geese from our van. The facilities are excellent and the site is within walking/cycling distance of Dawlish. We will definitely stay here again.

Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 200 of Cool Prizes from Outwell Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game & Country Fair 25/04 to 26/04
Masses of fun and displays at the The Norfolk Showground - day tickets or you can camp over for the weekend.

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6355 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015




Easter Hunt
Win an Awning
Follow the clues, find the answer, and have a chance to win a fantastic Easter prize - a caravan awning worth 169!




0.1016