Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
              8/10 from 212 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LAS1 5 reviews from this member

A beautiful site. Excellent facilities very well maintained. There is everything you would need all supplied subtly to be in keeping with the environment. It is not the cheapest site you will find but you do get more than on some other sites. Previous reviews have mentioned dirty toilet blocks well we never saw anything along these lines - they were lovely and clean and never even had a cobweb or spider to be seen (quite rare in camping toilet blocks I have found!) There were other guests that may have been more suited to a Haven type site but you could not fault the management for this as in all sites you never know who will turn up! It seems that some guests do not know 'camping etiquette'! What makes people think everyone wants to listen to their radio blaring from their car or their dogs barking at 10 pm at night? Despite this we would definitely visit again as these things were no fault of the management or site and the same guests could turn up anywhere!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Pollard Family 1 review from this member

We are a family with two young children, the dog took a holiday with Grandad. We loved this site. The pitch was on a slight slope, but that was okay. We have a large tent and had plenty of room around us. The bins were emptied every morning. The toilets and showers were cleaned thoroughly every day and always warm. The washing up facilities were satisfactory - hot water was a bit slow - and some people forgot to clean the sink out after them! There were two private (heated) bathrooms where you could spend a bit of time bathing the children or having a soak yourself. The shop was well stocked, the staff were always helpful. In the log shed near the shop, there was a microwave, fridge and freezer. Ball games could be played on a large grass area away from the tents near to the play area. Last but not least was the wonderful pub, great real ale, roaring fire, play room for the children, games room for the older children. Location was secluded, but there was easy access to the main roads. We are planning on going again this year.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Willia1@supanet 1 review from this member

This is a great location for walkers and we thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay.

The site was quiet and the facilities were far from stretched as a result. However, this did not mean they were always as clean as they should be!

The bar is wonderful and the log fire is a real treat- shame there was no real ale on tap due to low visitor numbers but this must be a real bonus in peak season.

The wardens were very friendly and helpful and our pitch was perfect- flat hard standing with good access though there are a number where this is not the case due to the hilly nature of the terrain. Overall it lived up to it's name but showers and toilets let it down- these are in need of some upgrading and to be cleaned more frequently and effectively.

By the way, if you have a dog this is heaven for them.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpano 13 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site in August and I must say we were quite disappointed. The pitches were small and untidy, mine was too small for an awning. And the toilets were old and not very clean. Oh and the electrics tripped out all the time. I have to say the staff were very nice though.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Husky100 1 review from this member

Just got back from this great, family, dog friendly site situated in beautiful surroundings.
There are four showers and could maybe do with a few more but we didn't have to queue at all and the site was very busy.
Staff very friendly. This was our second visit and we love it here.
The pub is wonderfully warm with a huge log fire (great for drying your wet socks). It does get busy but you can always find a seat. It would be great if the pub did chips or toasted sandwiches. There is also a playroom for the little ones (or little at heart), a games room and tv room for the teenagers.
We will have a flat pitch next time tho' we are now experts at getting our cooker at the right angle so our eggs stay in the pan! (it's not that bad honest).  Plenty of dogs on the site but not a sign of any poo or litter.  Bins emptied regularly.
We liked the fact that there are several walks straight from the site so no need to drive anywhere. Recommend the aira force walk and the walk round Little Mel Fell(great views from the top).
Will definitely be going there again and you should too.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anteater 1 review from this member

The owner raises head out of trench to say…. “BIG apologies to Di and Mick, It has felt a bit like Wembley Stadium here this week! The good news is that as I type the sweet smell of fresh tarmac is trickling thro my window indicating the end of a week I would rather forget! The work links the site to a newly formed reed bed, which is central to our commitment to do things in an environmentally friendly way. Normally this work is carried out in the closed season but could not be carried out on wet ground. Sorry again. DH

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DIANDMICK 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a four night stay at this site and overall it was very pleasant.

I thought the toilet/shower facilities were a little poor - very slippy floor, dirty sinks and the soap dispenser in the ladies was always empty.

The site unfortunately did not live up to it's name because there was building works going on the whole time we were staying so we awoke to diggers and building noise. It might have been useful to have been told this when we booked!

This is a great site if you want to be secluded and away from it all, as when it is quite it is very quiet.

Just one other thing to mention is the walk advertised in the site leaflet to Aira Force is not for the faint hearted, it has no warning on it to say how hard it is and I just felt it was a little dangerous.

Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bungus 2 reviews from this member

This site is tucked up on the hillside overlooking Ullswater, and to be honest we hadn't really calculated how far it was for walking to the nearest village (Pooley Bridge). The staff were very helpful especially getting us on the pitch (it was our first time touring and could have been embarrassing). We stayed in the easter and the tarriff was about £22 per night for car and caravan which I suppose is OK.

The on-site shop was great and open at all times but the main selling point of this site is the wonderfully old and rustic pub with its huge open fire. The shower facilities were OK: they were clean but could have done with longer shower curtains! Sounds silly but as a consequence the water went everywhere and you were required to mop the floor after you. The one thing I didn't like were the bins - they were full when we got there and still full when we left four days later. There is a games room for the kids but no special play area that I saw.

This site was especially favourable towards dogs who were the main company around the pub fire on an evening!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phoenix69 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit back to this site.  We really love it with very friendly owners. They have both standard and flat pitches for tents (I'd advise spending a little more on the flat pitches as the hill can be an annoyance when frying sausages). Site is very well kept and the facilities are great; two big bathrooms where you can have a soak or standard shower rooms are available to all. 
Lovely bar too! Nice drive from both Penrith & Keswick. Keswick having a lot of great camping shops, so expect to take home more than you took!

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alipatta 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from 24 hours at this wonderful site! Can't wait to get back there again. Apart from the stunning location, accessibility etc, the people are great and so helpful. Facilities are much improved since our last visit 4 years ago, with the addition of two family bathrooms complete with bath, toilet (with 2 way seat for juniors), potties, step stools etc. All immaculately presented. Didn't try showers as only there overnight.

The kids adventure play area is fabulous - our 2 and 4 year old boys had a great afternoon there. Everywhere is dead clean too - didn't see one bit of litter or dog poo anywhere. The bar opens at 8pm (a bit on the late side) and serves great local bottled beers (Tirrell Brewery yum yum) and okay stuff on the pumps. We were left in peace as they have a great playroom for smaller kids including lots of buggies, scooters, a playhouse, lego and other toys. The best thing is that the kids can be safe up there with no way to sneak past the adults in the bar. The people we struck up conversation with were all really nice too and there were plenty of nice kids around for our lads to play with. I can highly recommend this site and like I say, I can't wait to get back there.

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin £200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a HandiRack and HandiHoldall Combo Pack Win an OLPRO Abberley XL 4 Berth Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Motorhome and Caravan Show 17th to 22nd October
See all the new-for 2018 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977