Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Eskdale Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Eskdale Campsite
Boot
Holmrook
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TH   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 019467 23253  or  019467 23270

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m 5m  1m   1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03 To 14/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 200 Reviews
              9/10 from 200 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  No Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  200 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susan and Ray 1 review from this member

Our first outinging in our folding camper could have been a disaster if we had gone to any other camp. Martyn and his team were fantasitc and helpful with novices like ray and I, the site was perfect for walkers and views breathtaking at the foot of the Hardnot pass. The facilities were very clean and plentiful and a well stocked shop.
Close to the miniture railway line to Ravensclass, local pubs good food, local brews, friendly locals. We recommend this site to anyone, families, walkers, couples, dogs are welcome too. A big thankyou to Martyn it was a pleasure meeting you.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linwolf 6 reviews from this member

First class facilities and well stocked shop. Very good food at the nearby Boot Inn, also nice trip on the minature railway to Ravenglass, the station at Dalegarth is within a short walk of the campsite.

The stunning area of Wastwater is a short drive away and is well worth a visit.

Can't find anything negative to say about this site or the location.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise39 2 reviews from this member

What can I say. This is the best site I have ever visited. And we have been doing this for 20 years plus. The location for one well gods garden I would say well thats what I would imagine it to be like. The showers/toilet block is so imaculate at all times.And attention to detail fantastic. Ie fresh flowers placed in there each day.There as been no expence spared or corners cut any were. This young couple work so hard and it shows in what they have both achieved. Nothing is two much trouble for them no matter what time day or evening. The laundry is very good a washer /dryer/and a little spin dryer you dont often see them these days. But they are great to just do a bit off hand washing and spin for 20p its great. Nice big hand washing sink.Water is piping hot all the time. There are 2 rotery washing lines for you to peg out your clothes. This is a nice toach your not forced to use the dryer. The dish wasing area inside and out but the out is still under cover it gleams at all times spotless. This couples attention to detail is fantastic.They have thought off everything there is kithchen roll dispencer .In dish washing area clean white dish clothes at all times. The elson point for waste is state off the art. And I've never seen one look so good and smell so clean. Shop well stocked for all your needs. All areas off the site are well maintaned.Its a little retreat to recharge your batteries. The only down side is you never want to leave. Walks from the site are breath taking and the views. I just cant find one single negative thing to say it is spot on .And this young couple with young family deserve to do well. And they care about campers.It shows in every aspect off what they have achieved on the site.Well done is all I can say and thankyou for providing and enviroment that as made us feel relaxed and rested. Not easy when you are full time shift workers

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachelina 5 reviews from this member

2nd time for us this year, fantastic site and discovered the Boot Inn just down the road, highly recommended for good food, playground for kids and good beer

Kids love dabbling in the stream, lovely quiet, clean, friendly site, free showers and hairdryer!

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rachelina 5 reviews from this member

My first time camping ever and what a site!, stunning surroundings, quiet peaceful location, well stocked shop, lovely showers/toilet block, what more could you ask for? will definitely return even if it is a pain going over the Hardknott Pass (takes an hour to do 10 miles!)

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sanhozay 10 reviews from this member

Modern, up-to-date site at the foot of the Hardknott Pass in Eskdale. Formerly Hollins Farm (which seems to cause some confusion) but now the C&CC Eskdale site.

Staff generally friendly and helpful, although the man who checked us in was a bit stand-offish. Maybe because we arrived before the usual check-in time or maybe it was because it was the day after the Bank Holiday weekend and he was sick of campers. We didn't get a choice of pitch and were quite exposed to wind; others who arrived later were given a free choice. Well stocked shop selling food, including local meat, and camping supplies.

Toilet/shower/washing up/laundry facilities are first class. No additional charge for showers. Spotless, cleaned by staff thoroughly and kept clean by providing campers with fresh cloths and a bucket and mop in the showers.

Pitches are generally quite flat, reasonably sheltered by trees on either side and never too far to walk to the facilities. No noise after 11 o'clock is the policy and it was adhered to - except by a fox one night.

Excellent pubs nearby within easy walking distance. The Brook House Inn is about 50 yards down the road and has a great pint of Landlord. The walking around the area is, of course, fabulous. Easy access to Wasdale or back up the Hardknott. Longer routes to the Scafells are available from Boot.

Overall one of the best I've stayed at and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kjord79 7 reviews from this member

First visit here and we will definitely be returning.  The campsite managers couldn't have been more helpful, I messed up my booking when I rang but he sorted it with no problem.  When we got there he realised that friends of ours were there too and did his best to place us near them, and when he realised that where he put us meant our electric hookup wouldn't reach he lent us an extension cable so we could still pitch near them.  He also informed us which way the wind blew in the valley and so which wold be the best way to pitch our tent.

The site itself is lovely, absolutely beautiful scenery surrounding it and well looked after and kept clean. The toilets and showers were always spotless when I went in them and there was a mop and bucket there to use after yourself. There was also plenty of hot water for both showers and dishwashing. The dishwashing facilities also had a payphone in there (there were both outside and inside areas to wash up) which was very useful as there was no mobile signal being in the middle of the cumbian mountains!  There was also plenty of information about the local area and activities, walks etc were all mentioned.  Just behind the information room is also a drying room for clothes if they were wet from walking and also 2 washing lines to use.  The thing I found most useful was the list of menus from all the local pubs in the area.  We ended up going to the Boot Inn as it was very welcoming towards our new puppy.  The food was excellent and the staff really friendly.  
The shop onsite is licensed and also sells local produce including delicious cakes from the local bakery.   

The quiet times between 11pm and 7am were kept to and there was a direct line to he wardens outsde reception if there were any problems. 
They also had a trampoline for children and a small area with swings in and room for ball games etc.  Along with a family bathroom this made it a lovely site for a family. 
The only thin that could have made it better for us was a designated dog walk, but then maybe i'm just picking faults as situated where it is, there were plenty of places to walk the dog! 
There is also a miniature railway within easy distance walking of the site and hardknott pass was a 'fun' road to drive. 
We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cumbrian Ceilidh 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site, not too crowded and great flat pitch. Situated just off Hardknott pass - very easy to find.
 
Facilities first class and kept spotless, also a family bathroom which is a great idea. On site shop for all the essentials, and meat and bread from local suppliers.
 
Kids loved the play area in the woods and trampoline was a winner!
 
5 minute walk to L'al ratty and Boot Inn pub - lovely grub!
 
Will definitely use this site again. Great for families.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: N3vm0 1 review from this member

Fabulous site. Very quiet, clean and plenty of space for all.

Good on-site shop for all the emergencies, including some very tasty local meat produce.

Facilities first class - immaculate.

The Boot Inn proved to be our favourite eating / drinking place. No more than a few minutes walk.

Guaranteed to be returning very soon!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tinatunes 1 review from this member

This is the first time we have used a campsite in England and we were pleasantly surprised. On arrival we were slightly after the latest check in time and reception was closed but before we could even get out of the car one of the staff was waiting to book us in. Book in procedure was both quick and easy. We were give a brilliant location on the corner of a field with walls to two sides of the tent. The facilities were extremely clean and tidy with fresh cut flowers being put in the ladies toilets daily. There was a play area for the children with a trampoline and swings. There was an excellent washing up area both inside and outside and together with an excellent laundry room. We would highly recommend this site. Well done to the owners for their standards.

Previous     200 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Pop up Utility tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show 20 to 25 February 2018
UK’s biggest showcase of caravans, motorhomes, tents snf camping equipment. We've got 20 Tickets to Give Away! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2147 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0996