Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 182 Reviews
              8/10 from 182 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Photos (3)

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gillb 3 reviews from this member

We've just had 5 great days at this site. The boys were happy to be able to run about, play cricket or football or go into the woods at the bottom. We parked so that we were near to the field where campfires are allowed and the boys (8 and 12) loved this, we cooked sausages, onions and sweetcorn one night - great fun! Remember the skewers and tin foil! Most evenings they had a sausage or two to cook! The campfires made the holiday for them!

We enjoyed the free and easy style of this site - e.G. That the kids could play without being frowned at which helped us relax. The facilities are basic but we knew that and it wasnt a problem, worth it to us to have two happy kids!

It is a working farm and one day we saw a calf just one hour old and there are lots of chickens running around. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to you if you have kids or prefer a basic site without big brother owners on your back with a list of rules! The only rule was that fires should be in the one field designated for fires. Cheap too at £12 a night including electric hook up.

There is a Morrisons in Cromer about 7 miles away and a local post office a mile or so away. BeWILDerwood is about 40 minutes away and fantastic - recommend this if you are in the area - zip wires, big slides and tree bridges etc, a boat trip and adults can go on most things too! Also they didnt try to sell things to the kids, happy for you to bring a picnic and at £10 each we thought it was great value.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foliage 1 review from this member

Me 3 kids of 12, 10 and 3 and elderly parents of 70+ who havent camped before!
 
This was our first visit to Breck farm and we were pleasantly surprised that this type of site is still available.
The weather predicted that this week was going to be the best of 2007 so 2 weeks before, this was the only site on the north Norfolk coast with any availability (having seen Pinehills at Wells go down hill in the last few years).
On arrival we were directed to the far field as we wanted to have the option of having a camp fire.
The site was pretty quiet due to the weather forecast being wrong and strong winds and rain are now forecast.
We found that the facilities were VERY basic but this was a small price to pay (baby wipes are always usefull) for the back to basics camping holiday that we had.
Great fun was had by all, even when on Friday afternoon/evening another 20+ tents pitched up in the middle of our football pitch / cricket field / frisby line.
The highlight for the young and the old was the camp fire to toast marshmallows or olive oil and balsamic vinegar dipped bread in.
The wood costs £3.50 a bag and we got through 2 bags per night but you can go foraging in the woods for your own if you prefer.
The camp shop (table outside the farmhouse kitchen) supplies eggs and any local produce in season all reasonably priced.
 
The only thing that we thought was missing were maps of where you are and what you can do or go to from here.
In saying that Kelling Heath campsite is just through the woods (7 mins on a bike) and they have loads of maps , great showers and really good nature tails etc. For the kids.
 
We will definitely be returning to this site and probably with a few others due to the relaxed atmosphere and space available.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Norfolkcamper 1 review from this member

I visit Breck Farm several times a year and love the relaxed atmosphere and open space.
 
The family are very helpful and do there utmost to maintain a quiet site even at busy periods.
 
Next year the owners have informed me they are going to build a new toilet and shower block and improve there other facilities.
 
 
 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: L.mcghee3 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week's stay at Breck Farm. It was a very enjoyable time, helped by the fact that we were allowed to make camp fires at night! The facilities are very basic and not very clean, but if you can persevere with this, I would recommend this very friendly site, with plenty of space for the kids to play. Lots to see and do in the local area.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Celestial tent 1 review from this member

This is a lovely easy-going campsite which allows fires, dogs and tents to be pitched wherever you like in a large field. The facilities are basic but clean and the showers are nice and hot. The owners are working farmers with free range chickens running around. They sell eggs, wood, honey, you know the bare necessities!

The field is adjacent to a large wood with lots of paths and about a mile and a half from the village of Weybourne and the sea. There is lots to do nearby with the beautiful north Norfolk coast and towns like Holt and Sheringham.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Olaf_IV 6 reviews from this member

First impressions of the site were good though on approaching the site you had to be aware of kamikaze chickens!
 
The site was much larger than we expected and soon filled up as it was a week-end (and sunny!). The site is not marked out and you can camp pretty much anywhere. Camp fires are allowed for those that want them and it can be fairly noisy late into the night. Not the place to go if you're looking for a quiet site!
 
The showers and toilets (especially for for blokes - only one cubicle) are pretty basic and inadequate to deal with the large number of campers especially at week-ends so take this into consideration when deciding when to stay. There were queues for both facilities at all hours of the day.
 
Overall - Nice spot to use as a base for exploring, shame about the toilets!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matthewandalice 8 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a gloriously sunny weekend on Breck Farm.
This was our first stay at this venue.
The site is huge and has the ability to open up extra fields when busy.
Talking to the owners they rarely get that busy although the good weather this weekend meant there had been a rush of campers.
Despite this, the place did not feel crowded and was quiet.
Lots of families, couples and older groups.
The fields are flat and are not restricted to a certain pitch size and so would be good for anyone who has a bigger tent.
In certain areas of the site the owners allow fires.
Unfortunately, the major drawback of this site are the very basic toilet & shower facilities.
Expect long queues for showers and toilets- a bit difficult with young children.
It is a real shame because the setting is perfect.
I like the uncomplicated feel of Breck Farm- no shop/no bar/no set pitches etc but the toilet facilities are to small and unable to cope with demand in high season.
Overall a good flat site but with very basic toilet & shower facilities. Great base for exploring North Norfolk.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne9 16 reviews from this member

Second visit to this site with my boyfriend and it was as good as the last time.

On arriving there were two fields - told we could go in to either - decided on the same spot as last year as very handy to go into the woods and obtain wood for our camp fire.

You now have to pay a £1 for 5 minutes to use the shower but found this was plenty of time even for me being a woman. The owners are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The surroundings are lovely and loads to walks to go on. Also not far from the sea although when we went we did have some rain on the second day but didn't stop us having a good time - definitely recommend to everyone. Looking forward to our next visit which hopefully will be soon

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fairweathercamper 1 review from this member

Based on a farm complete with cows and chickens, this is a back-to-basic site with few facilities apart from toilets and showers. We liked this site because of the lovely woods surrounding it, the lack of regulations and because you are allowed to build camp-fires in the 'wood field'. It felt like proper camping.

We went on a bank-holiday and it was very busy. Although there was lots of space between the tents, we were right at the end of the field meaning we were a REALLY long way from the loos. There are only two ladies toilets but they are modern, self-contained and they remained clean during the time we were there. The farm-shop is actually a table selling eggs, honey and fire-wood.

There were lots of lively groups, mostly families, some of whom seem to be regulars judging by the fact that they had brought toilet tents; some seemed to have several generations with them. Whilst it was quite noisy, we weren't too bothered at first, since it was a happy atmosphere however, whilst most of the noise stopped at midnight, there was one drunken group playing loud music and talking until dawn. This rather ruined it for us but we plan to go back when it is less busy, or at least get there earlier so we are nearer the farm house where it was quieter.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ryan + Ryan 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights camping and it was excellent value for money, we could'nt get over how cheap it was. Although saying that, the toilets and the showers were very basic and had that pleasant farm/animal smell. Opting for toileting in the woods could be an option!

When we arrived at the farm the owner was very helpful giving us directions etc. The farm was split into two fields. One for camp fires and the other for NO fires. I would highly recommend buying the wood from the farm shop and having a fire as it will warm you up. (many other sites don;t allow camp fires & dont forget your own alcohol) The other good thing is that you can put your tent where ever you want and take up as much land as you wanted if there was a large group its great.

The weather wasnt to good for the bank hoilday weekend but we made the most of it. Didnt opt for going for a walk in the rain it find bars or shops but did drive down the road to Holt and Cormer for fish and chips, yummy. These being only a 5/10 minute drive away. The Kings Head pub would be somewhere to visit again in Holt as they cooked brillant food but I would recommend booking in advance.
We shall be returning again in the summer.

Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4198 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0859