Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Breck Farm Caravanning And Camping
Weybourne
Holt
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR25 6QL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01263 588236

Facilities:  (Key)
          

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  5m  1m  5m  1m  10m   1m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 187 Reviews
              8/10 from 187 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (3)

Reviews:  187 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
Win £100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Si.chef 1 review from this member

Great laid back site, yes the facilities are basic and a long way from the tent but a small price to pay pay for a great w/end. Campfire is a must only bad comment is that a lot of dog owners didnt keep their dogs on leads which was a bit of a pain with our dog who was on long lead all the time. 1 dog in particular was running round all morning on its own the owner didnt know where it was. Will be back soon but probably during the week rather than w/end when its less busy.

Thanks to all who wrote reviews otherwise would not have known this great site was there.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Detta40 3 reviews from this member

Visited here after reading that they allowed camp fires, which we thought would be great fun for the children. Stayed for 2 nights during the May half term, and returned 3 weeks later with friends for another two nights.

The fields are really big so you could have pretty much as much space as you wanted. Pitch anywhere, have a fire, barbecue. Very laid back. Our friend took his dog for a walk in the morning and walked as far as Weybourne, which is on the coast. He said it was fantastic being on the beach watching the sun rise. During the day we walked to Weybourne station, which is a steam railway. Watched the trains going in and out while having lunch in their tea rooms. Only took about 20 mins to walk there. Haven't explored any further than that so far.

The farm sells wood for fires, marshmallows for toasting, free range eggs, potatoes and home-made marmalade. Absolutely terrific place. The only downside is the lack of toilet and shower facilities. As an early riser I didn't have to queue at any stage, but I'm sure that later in the day it would have been busier. However, they plan to have a big shiny new shower and toilet block by the summer, which should improve things a lot. Will be returning in 4 weeks' time for another weekend.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theholleysx7 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned after spending the late May Bank Holiday at Breck Farm. Although the weather did its normal for a Bank Holiday we stayed put and had a fantastic weekend.

The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and after pointing out the fields to camp in, off we went to pitch our tent. Two huge fields in which you can have a campfire, which I have to say made the weekend. This is the first site we have been on which is camping at its best. My two children were concerned there was no park to play in or shop to go in, or clubhouse! But as we pointed out there were woods to play in, trees to climb, walks to go on, and marshmallows to toast!

The only minor downside is that the toilet facilities although clean, are a long walk, and in busy times with only four showers, can be a long wait. Although saying this there are plans to build a new block opening this summer. In hindsight though this hasn't put us off and we are planning to go back.

Lots to see and do around this area, we took our two kayaks and went to Blakeney on the Saturday. The sea was just a little to rough for the children to handle, but as this is an esturary when the tide goes out its brilliant for them. Had a fantastic day (even caught the sun!). Both my husband and I know this area very well after spending many family holidays in our youth caravanning, so on rainy days there is lots to see and do. The children and I had a ride on the steam train from Sherringham to Weybourne which they enjoyed.

Had a thoroughly brilliant time at Breck Farm, would recommend and will be visiting again ourselves very very soon.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevej180 3 reviews from this member

Just spent the late May Bank Holiday weekend at Breck Farm and we were really impressed. We do prefer more basic 'working farm' campsites than holiday parks, and Breck Farm didn't disappoint. It's basically a huge flat field surrounded by woodlands. We did some walking and cycling - you don't have to look far to find good routes and places to visit. It's half a mile walk to Weybourne station on the preserved steam Poppy Line for example.

Yes the facilties are basic and somewhat few but they are clean, and the site is very good value. It wasn't the best weather this weekend, but we were allowed to light a campfire to keep warm and cosy. I expect we'll be going back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wildgourmet 2 reviews from this member

We just spent the May bank holiday weekend at Breck Farm and are definately going to go back. We thought the weather would be a bit rainy but we had such glorious weather. The site was huge and since the weather forcast was rain for most of the UK the site was not too packed. We stayed in the area where we could have camp fires.
The owners were really friendly and helpful, they sell bags of wood there for £4.00 each and eggs from their chickens. The camp site backs onto a woodlands so you can go for nice walks. The toilet blocks were good but basic, especially the gents and a bit of a trek from the site. The showers are in a newer block and were much nicer than ones I have used in other sites. Good size and the water actually shoots out and you don't end up hugging the wall! £1.00 a time and lasted about 8 minutes. But they have plans to build a bigger new block that should be open this summer.

Cromer, which was about 7-8 miles away is a great seaside town. They have a pier that you can watch people crabbing off of, amusements, and really good dressed crab! Holt is another town about a 5 minute drive away and really great for shopping and pubs. Go to Bakers and Larners of Holt to the butchers for some great meats you can bbq and their cheese counter for snacking!

Overall our trip to Breck Farm far exceed what we expected and are looking forward to our next visit. Definitly recommend this site!

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gillb 3 reviews from this member

We've just had 5 great days at this site. The boys were happy to be able to run about, play cricket or football or go into the woods at the bottom. We parked so that we were near to the field where campfires are allowed and the boys (8 and 12) loved this, we cooked sausages, onions and sweetcorn one night - great fun! Remember the skewers and tin foil! Most evenings they had a sausage or two to cook! The campfires made the holiday for them!

We enjoyed the free and easy style of this site - e.G. That the kids could play without being frowned at which helped us relax. The facilities are basic but we knew that and it wasnt a problem, worth it to us to have two happy kids!

It is a working farm and one day we saw a calf just one hour old and there are lots of chickens running around. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to you if you have kids or prefer a basic site without big brother owners on your back with a list of rules! The only rule was that fires should be in the one field designated for fires. Cheap too at £12 a night including electric hook up.

There is a Morrisons in Cromer about 7 miles away and a local post office a mile or so away. BeWILDerwood is about 40 minutes away and fantastic - recommend this if you are in the area - zip wires, big slides and tree bridges etc, a boat trip and adults can go on most things too! Also they didnt try to sell things to the kids, happy for you to bring a picnic and at £10 each we thought it was great value.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foliage 1 review from this member

Me 3 kids of 12, 10 and 3 and elderly parents of 70+ who havent camped before!
 
This was our first visit to Breck farm and we were pleasantly surprised that this type of site is still available.
The weather predicted that this week was going to be the best of 2007 so 2 weeks before, this was the only site on the north Norfolk coast with any availability (having seen Pinehills at Wells go down hill in the last few years).
On arrival we were directed to the far field as we wanted to have the option of having a camp fire.
The site was pretty quiet due to the weather forecast being wrong and strong winds and rain are now forecast.
We found that the facilities were VERY basic but this was a small price to pay (baby wipes are always usefull) for the back to basics camping holiday that we had.
Great fun was had by all, even when on Friday afternoon/evening another 20+ tents pitched up in the middle of our football pitch / cricket field / frisby line.
The highlight for the young and the old was the camp fire to toast marshmallows or olive oil and balsamic vinegar dipped bread in.
The wood costs £3.50 a bag and we got through 2 bags per night but you can go foraging in the woods for your own if you prefer.
The camp shop (table outside the farmhouse kitchen) supplies eggs and any local produce in season all reasonably priced.
 
The only thing that we thought was missing were maps of where you are and what you can do or go to from here.
In saying that Kelling Heath campsite is just through the woods (7 mins on a bike) and they have loads of maps , great showers and really good nature tails etc. For the kids.
 
We will definitely be returning to this site and probably with a few others due to the relaxed atmosphere and space available.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Norfolkcamper 1 review from this member

I visit Breck Farm several times a year and love the relaxed atmosphere and open space.
 
The family are very helpful and do there utmost to maintain a quiet site even at busy periods.
 
Next year the owners have informed me they are going to build a new toilet and shower block and improve there other facilities.
 
 
 

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: L.mcghee3 1 review from this member

Just returned from a week's stay at Breck Farm. It was a very enjoyable time, helped by the fact that we were allowed to make camp fires at night! The facilities are very basic and not very clean, but if you can persevere with this, I would recommend this very friendly site, with plenty of space for the kids to play. Lots to see and do in the local area.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Celestial tent 1 review from this member

This is a lovely easy-going campsite which allows fires, dogs and tents to be pitched wherever you like in a large field. The facilities are basic but clean and the showers are nice and hot. The owners are working farmers with free range chickens running around. They sell eggs, wood, honey, you know the bare necessities!

The field is adjacent to a large wood with lots of paths and about a mile and a half from the village of Weybourne and the sea. There is lots to do nearby with the beautiful north Norfolk coast and towns like Holt and Sheringham.

Previous     187 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of £100 of Caravan Club vouchers or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan Club. Join The Club from just £48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Festival Starter Package Win a BioLite CampStove and USB Charger!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival, East Yorkshire - 18th to 21st August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival and an amazing fun weekend for all the family. Find out more, claim 10% discount or win tickets

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4110 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2016






0.1133