Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jac123 1 review from this member

Really loved this place!  Chose Gwithian for first camping trip with our kids (4 and 2) who just loved it. 
 
It's a beautiful location, just a short stroll to the Gwithian beach which is fantastic, and a nicely laid out campsite - it doesn't feel too big yet I didn't feel we were crammed in too much either.
 
Mike and Claire who run the site are great - gave us lots of tips on where to go on beach/for eating out etc
 
Really clean showers/toilets, which always had hot water, launderette - and a useful shop.
 
Most importantly it had the atmosphere we were after - lots of families, quiet at night and thankfully no entertainment/bingo/karaoke etc!
 
Highly recommend this one!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drew28 2 reviews from this member

We spent a week at this lovely site. There was plenty of space for the children to play games and run around. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The toilets and showers were very clean and the family bathrooms were great. The large sandy beach was a short walk away, great for body boarding and rock pooling. The pizza and fish and chip van visited once a week, this was a welcome break from cooking. We are definitely returning.   

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shino 1 review from this member

On the whole a great campsite with well maintained new facilities and a well stocked shop. Good sized pitches and lots of water points. You can also hire wetsuits, body boards and surf boards from the site. Van visits nearly every evening through the week of either fish & chips, pizzas, fresh fish or homemade curries, and bacon butties on Saturday mornings.
 
Great pub just across the road, dog friendly with lovely staff and great food.
 
Very slight negatives would be due to the sites elevated position the wind can play havoc with your tent, the walk to the beach is  fairly short but over hefty sand dunes and then down some very steep steps. This walk would not be suitable for families with pushchairs/wheelchairs, although I do believe you can take the road route to walk which will take longer but be a little easier.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoare 1 review from this member

Date of visit 6th July - Friday 20th July
What more can we say.
Get down to Gwithian Farm! Having spent 3 fantastic holidays at Gwithian Farm I felt Compelled to post a review as we are all experiencing one of the worst summers,with the lack of Sun!
My partner and I were very reluctant to book a camping holiday, but we did and again at Gwithian Farm. The process of booking couldn't be easier. Clair and Mike the proprietors are magicians, athletes, professional tent erecters, multi taskers, what more can one do with a pair of hands in one day.
With storm force 9 gales and continued rain, they still keep a genuine smile on their faces, Clair, Mike and Mick can do it all, just ask and you will get!

We were there during full capacity at one point, with the sites new and immaculate toilet & washing facilities holding up well with capacity to spare. The pitches are the biggest we have ever pitched on 10m x 10m is the norm but ours seemed enormous even with our tented village erected on it, our car could easily be parked adjacent to the tent.
I hired a wet suit and body board from the on site shop and ventured into waves of 5-6 feet on the miles of clean EEC awared beaches. 5 minutes walk from the site with areas patrolled by life guards, the experience was so fantastic, on the advise of mike I purchased my own wet suit and board from a surf shop called "Down the line" in Hayle.
The guys in the shop could not have been more helpful, with my second week experiencing a some what "Flat" period I ventured to "Fishing Cove" with my new found mate Andy, where we had the most amazing time swimming in crystal clear water with a bull seal and its family.

On site the camping grass areas were continually being cut by Mick and his trusty mower. The 16amp electric hook up worked perfectly, I had a fully functioning fridge, 800w halogen heater, flat screen TV, laptop, oven and grill and kettle all working simultaneously,(Dont tell Mike and Clair) with no tripping out, what more can one ask for, and its FREE electric!.
There is an on site shop selling all the basics and more, with a newly opened Marks and Spencer, Next, Boots, Costa Coffee, Co-Op and a lidl food emporium all within 10 minutes drive away.

For those who don't fancy cooking there various catering vans which visit the site, fish and chips, pizza's, curry nights and bacon rolls on Saturday morning, perfect when your packing up your tent and dont want to cook and have any washing up.

All in all there are many camping sites which can learn from Gwithian Farm, so what are you waiting for, book up and enjoy, we have and will be there again in September 07 with 08's booked already.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel16 8 reviews from this member

This must be the most relaxing site we have been to in Cornwall and we have been to quite a few. The site is well laid out with a number of electric and non electric pitches. We arrived on the day of the Gwithian Surfing competitions and while the site was nearly full, it was not cramped and the 10mx10m pitches are quite adequate.
The shop is basic but holds the essentials. There is a large new block which houses the ladies and gents, showers, washing up facilities, family washroom/shower etc all of which are kept very clean.
There are no entertainment facilities on site so I would not recommend it to families with young teens who need to be kept occupied, but it has good space for younger children to play and for the older teenagers, the beach is only a 10 minute walk away.

There is a nice pub over the road from the site but since it was competition weekend there was not even standing space by 7.00pm on the Saturday although it was fairly quiet on the Sunday. We were however told to make a booking if we wanted to eat as it can get busy and it is only a small local pub.
We were really pleased with our visit to the site, the willingness of the owners to stand and chat even though they probably had more important things to do, and the quiet and tranquility of the site as a whole. While we were only there for a long weekend we will certainly be going back quite soon.

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WENDY1065 1 review from this member

My husband and I have not been camping for years and we chose this site because we know the area anyway, (have self catered down this way for past 15 years) and because of the reviews that we have read on this site. We stayed the weekend of 8/9/10 June for 2 nights.
The owner could not have been more welcoming. We did not book in advance, just enquired by phone about turning up and this was OK. We were able to pitch more or less where we pleased due to the site being fairly quite.
The facilities were fantastic. Wonderfully clean toilets, lovely hot showers, good dish washing facilities, freezers for cold blocks. Pitch sizes very good to, not sure what it would be like when busier in the main season, but certainly not on top of each other at all.
Would definitely recommend this site. Laid back and relaxing.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deemus 1 review from this member

What a great campsite! My partner, I and the dog stayed for the Easter break just gone. The site was busy but didn't feel overcrowded at all. The slope of the field did mean that it took a night or two to achieve a comfortable night's sleep. However, waking up to the sound of the surf breaking was worth it.

Most other dog owners abided by the dogs on leads rule. We luckily didn't find any nasty surprises outside the tent or anywhere else on the site for that matter.

The noise level was generally tolerable and the no vehicular movement after 11pm was most appreciated.

The only downside was that there was a longer than average trek to the facilities. The washing up tends to get a bit heavy whilst walking up the hill back to the tent pitch.

All in all a great site that was friendly, quiet and clean.

Would definitely recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Droberts011263 1 review from this member

Friendly family campsite, very clean facilities. Nice pitches, lovely holiday, eventhough, busy quite by late evening. Lovely Cornish pasties in Hayle and excellent Fish & Chip shops. Going back to try out at Easter, the children had such a good time playing both on the site and on the beach which is about 10 minutes walk. It is excellent for walking cycling, surfing or just relaxing, with the bonus of a really great family running the site who will do their best to accommodate your requirements

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Holgates 1 review from this member

We (Mum, Dad, three children aged 8, 6 and 2 and the dog) stayed here for two weeks in September and had a wonderful time. Being shoulder season the site was not full to capacity and we had good weather which always helps. 
 
The site is great and met all our camping needs. The shower and toilet blocks are very clean and supply free hot water. Particularly brilliant is the family shower room and the children's bath.
 
Mike and Clair are lovely, helpful and relaxed whilst running a busy operation. Clair makes great scones - the cream teas at the farm house were a real treat!
 
The site was just right for us - not too commercialised or developed but with the facilities we need to make camping with children easy.
 
The nearby beach is pretty and we had some good surf, the coastal walks are fabulous (we saw lots of seals swimming in the sea) and there is lots to do within easy reach should you wish.
 
We would definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sally16 1 review from this member

We stayed at Gwithian for 2 weeks this summer at peak times in the school holidays and it was one of the best sites we have had the pleasure to visit. Our pitches were spacious and well kept which was true of the site as a whole. The toilet and shower facilities were great-always clean and plenty of hot water. In a 2 week stay I never had to queue for a shower! The short walk to the beach was fine and the beaches themselves were fantastic.

The site owners are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. They recommended the 'Sunset Surf' cafe for a birthday celebration meal during our stay-this was superb, they opened especially for our group of 13 on a Sunday evening and we had a lovely evening. We also enjoyed the fish and chips and the pizza from the visiting vans on Sundays and Wednesdays-nice change to bbq food

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5803 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1309
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec