Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 240 Reviews
              9/10 from 240 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  240 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WENDY1065 1 review from this member

My husband and I have not been camping for years and we chose this site because we know the area anyway, (have self catered down this way for past 15 years) and because of the reviews that we have read on this site. We stayed the weekend of 8/9/10 June for 2 nights.
The owner could not have been more welcoming. We did not book in advance, just enquired by phone about turning up and this was OK. We were able to pitch more or less where we pleased due to the site being fairly quite.
The facilities were fantastic. Wonderfully clean toilets, lovely hot showers, good dish washing facilities, freezers for cold blocks. Pitch sizes very good to, not sure what it would be like when busier in the main season, but certainly not on top of each other at all.
Would definitely recommend this site. Laid back and relaxing.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deemus 1 review from this member

What a great campsite! My partner, I and the dog stayed for the Easter break just gone. The site was busy but didn't feel overcrowded at all. The slope of the field did mean that it took a night or two to achieve a comfortable night's sleep. However, waking up to the sound of the surf breaking was worth it.

Most other dog owners abided by the dogs on leads rule. We luckily didn't find any nasty surprises outside the tent or anywhere else on the site for that matter.

The noise level was generally tolerable and the no vehicular movement after 11pm was most appreciated.

The only downside was that there was a longer than average trek to the facilities. The washing up tends to get a bit heavy whilst walking up the hill back to the tent pitch.

All in all a great site that was friendly, quiet and clean.

Would definitely recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Droberts011263 1 review from this member

Friendly family campsite, very clean facilities. Nice pitches, lovely holiday, eventhough, busy quite by late evening. Lovely Cornish pasties in Hayle and excellent Fish & Chip shops. Going back to try out at Easter, the children had such a good time playing both on the site and on the beach which is about 10 minutes walk. It is excellent for walking cycling, surfing or just relaxing, with the bonus of a really great family running the site who will do their best to accommodate your requirements

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Holgates 1 review from this member

We (Mum, Dad, three children aged 8, 6 and 2 and the dog) stayed here for two weeks in September and had a wonderful time. Being shoulder season the site was not full to capacity and we had good weather which always helps. 
 
The site is great and met all our camping needs. The shower and toilet blocks are very clean and supply free hot water. Particularly brilliant is the family shower room and the children's bath.
 
Mike and Clair are lovely, helpful and relaxed whilst running a busy operation. Clair makes great scones - the cream teas at the farm house were a real treat!
 
The site was just right for us - not too commercialised or developed but with the facilities we need to make camping with children easy.
 
The nearby beach is pretty and we had some good surf, the coastal walks are fabulous (we saw lots of seals swimming in the sea) and there is lots to do within easy reach should you wish.
 
We would definitely return

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sally16 1 review from this member

We stayed at Gwithian for 2 weeks this summer at peak times in the school holidays and it was one of the best sites we have had the pleasure to visit. Our pitches were spacious and well kept which was true of the site as a whole. The toilet and shower facilities were great-always clean and plenty of hot water. In a 2 week stay I never had to queue for a shower! The short walk to the beach was fine and the beaches themselves were fantastic.

The site owners are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. They recommended the 'Sunset Surf' cafe for a birthday celebration meal during our stay-this was superb, they opened especially for our group of 13 on a Sunday evening and we had a lovely evening. We also enjoyed the fish and chips and the pizza from the visiting vans on Sundays and Wednesdays-nice change to bbq food

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saints13 7 reviews from this member

Visited the week of August bank holiday for 6 nights. Site was full and although initially we thought that we would be on top of each other we were given a corner plot with plenty of space around it - although some of the inner plots did look rather on top of each other. Although busy the site was laid back. It was extremely clean and well laid out. The toilet facilities were great. The family bathroom and shower room where amazing. One go and the lot of us where showered - well thought out by the owners. I think that there is one thing missing at this site and that is a proper children's play area. A few climbing frames and a swing would make all the difference. The beach at Hayle is spot on. About 10 minutes walk from the site through the farmers fields and your there. A must if you visit this site is to have a cream tea at the owners cottage. They are fab. Don't think much of the pub that previous people have been on about - it is very small and the menu is not exactly varied. Would recommend this site to families and we will definitely be back again one day.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campasarow 4 reviews from this member

Stayed the middle two weeks of August.

Weather was generally OK but like a lot of the UK, August turned out to be a bit of disappointment given the July we had.

We arrived on Monday 14th to lovely sunshine but quite a bit of breeze which as ever made putting the Frame Tent up a little bit tricky.

Difficult to say if it is generally a well sheltered site but due to the very windy August we had this year our feeling was that it was a wee bit susceptible to the elements.

Whilst the pitches were fairly generous the field was slightly sloping which meant positioning the tent some way from the rear boundary of our pitch to make sure that the living area at least was as level as we could get it.

I'm not sure about the overall layout of the main part of the site with the play area in the middle. I think the overall effect is one of giving the site a slightly overcrowded feel. Unless you have a perimeter pitch (reserved for EHU) you feel surrounded by other tents.

When you look at the photos of how the site was in as recent as 2004 (posted in the freezer room), you realise that Mike and Claire have spent a lot of dosh upgrading the site.

The reception area was good with an adequate shop for all your basics plus very reasonable wet suit and body board hire (£5 a day). Within the reception block is the room with freezers for your ice packs plus the usual tourist leaflets.

I have to say that the freezer system DOES NOT WORK! Two freezers to split ice packs alphabetically on surname, and a third freezer with Gwithian ice packs you can borrow whilst yours are freezing; except they hardly do! At worst we had two ice packs that after 2 days still hadn't frozen proerly. The problem is the constant opening of the freezers and people chucking ice packs about in an attempt to find their own. I belive a controlled system where you hand over ice packs in the morning and collect the following day would probably work better.

Super new toilet block. Much has been said about this in other reviews but needless to say it is good and kept pretty clean. Only had to queue once for a shower and then for only 2 or 3 minutes tops.

Ample washing up sinks but no designated clothes washing/rinsing sink which is a definite negative.

Two washing machines and 2 tumble driers and an iron!

A family shower room, a family bathroom plus a disabled shower room with baby bath and baby changing shelf.

Pretty good recycling facilites (card, paper, cans and bottles) but no plastic recycling yet.

The weekly Pizza van visit (Wednesdays 7.00 to 9.00 p.m.) is most welcome (the pizza base is obviously home made and very good). Alas no curry van anymore. Turned out to be so successful that they have now opened a restaurant instead. The alternative is a fish and chip van that comes on Sundays. However we didn't use this so can't comment on quality.

They have a curfew regarding noise but it is not strictly enforced. The 9.30 p.m. Limit on games in the play area was more like 10.30 p.m. The 10.30 p.m. Guide on noise that could disturb other campers was also not strictly enforced; however people were generally considerate with total quiet from no later than midnight (on one occasion my wife had to get up at 11.45 and go the family group - all adults- next to us and ask them to pipe down as they were talking and laughing at the tops of their voices.

You have to drive at 5 mph around the site, not least because you have so many young children riding around on their bikes (some of them very dangerously) and Mike and Claire enforce this with, at times, curt messages written up on the whiteboard outside reception ("if you can't drive at 5 mph then pack your bags and leave").

The local beaches were excellent and the short drive to Godrevy Point was well worth it. Two evenings we took our BBQ there and watched the sun set.

We are seasoned visitors to Cornwall so have visited many of the attractions (near and far) many times before. For those who are newbies this is a well paced site to do the whole Penwith area (Penzance, Marazion, St Ives St Agnes) and slightly further afield (Newquay, Falmouth and Truro).

So, would we return? Possibly. This the sixth site we have used in Cornwall since 2000 (Beacon Farm; Mother Iveys Bay; Trelowarren; Kelynack and Treago being the others). It's up there but not the best. If they could sort out the ice pack system, instal a discrete clothes washing sink/s and possibly consider relocating the play area then it would definitely be a highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: John campa dl 4 reviews from this member

2nd year we have camped here and just as good as the first time. Yes there were a lot of bikes and two accidents resulted in strict controls being put in place, also dog owners were warned about mess and this may result in a ban on both dogs and bikes. Still a busy site and I noticed that there are now 139 pitches not the 130 as on the website and they can be a bit small, noise levels were good and there is a ban on cars after 11.00 which was ignored a few times. Mike will remove anyone who causes trouble and is only to happy to help anyone.
i would recommend this site to anyone. Simply the best I have stayed on.
Red River Inn not as good as last year so we only went in once, try the Bucket of Blood look for signs in Hayle limited menu but good beer. Avoid the Curry leaf indian in Hayle small portions and very expensive (90.00 for 4).

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surfandcamp 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic time at Mike and Claires campsite. The campsite was well taken care of and very clean. In the grounds there is an outdoor cafe that does an awesome cream tea The beach is a short walk away and is out of this world - 3 miles of golden sand to stretch out on. Also had some excellent surfing lessons at the Gwithian Academy of Surfing. We've already booked for next year!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheHarrisFamily 1 review from this member

Fantastic camp site! Plot was perfect. Shower and toilet block was the cleanest we have ever experienced. Clair and Mike made us feel very welcome.

The shop is very reasonably priced. Newspapers, milk, food, everything all at normal shop prices. Wetsuit hire is cheaper than anywhere you'll find and Mike threw in body-boards for free!

Best beach in Cornwall for surfing, rock pools, sunbathing etc.

Great family feel to the place. Lovely village with traditional pub over the road.

We can't recommend it highly enough. We're going back next year.

Previous     240 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100!
£100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win £100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over £1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6088 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1289