Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 306 Reviews
              10/10 from 306 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  306 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

Wow! There are caravan sites and then there is The Old Oaks! We booked the last 4 days of a 4 week holiday here to break the journey home from Cornwall and at the same time take the opportunity to visit Bath.

The sign at the top of the drive announced the site was full but we had booked! You just had to look at the reception building to know that we were in for a treat! Inside the greeting was warm and friendly.

At the back of reception was a well stocked shop which has free tastings as well as home made cakes every day!

We were shown to our super pitch in Walnut Circle which had water and waste as well as electric. What a brilliant pitch it was with an immaculate lawn area next to the hardstanding which felt like a garden! The site landscaping was stunning!

Wifi signal was excellent! Great TV reception. The toilet and shower facilities were spotless and despite the site being full we never had to queue.

Laundry looked spotless too. Excellent recycling. There is a walk from the site up to Glastonbury Tor.

Wells and it's cathedral are just a few miles away, as is Cheddar Gorge. Bath lived up to it's expectations. There is a Sainsbury's supermarket at Street, about 10 mins away as is Clarks Shopping Village - much nicer than some outlet villages.

Glastonbury has much to offer the hippy in you! The weather was glorious when we were there so it would have been great to have a little more time to just sit back, relax and enjoy the views of the Mendips Hills.

Will we go back? You bet we will and for longer!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joan Larkings 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for seven nights with our caravan. We were a bit apprehensive at first as it was not our first choice. As soon as we had driven up the drive and then checked in at reception we knew that it had been an excellent choice.

The site was spotlessly clean

All the wardens were exceptionally nice, helpful and friendly.

We were escorted to our pitch and the warden explained the layout of the site etc.

Our pitch was 'the orchard'. We had a lovely secluded spot with grass on either side of our caravan. There was a tree in the corner giving the pitch shade on one side, whilst the other side had plenty of sunshine. It was absolutely perfect for us and our 14 yr old boxer dog. Who does not like to be too hot.

The toilet block was very clean with plenty of hot water.

The Orchard had a mixture of caravans, and tents. We would highly recommend this site to anybody who wishes to visit the Somerset area.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulus76 4 reviews from this member

It's very difficult to find anything to say that hasn't already been said before about how good this site is. We loved it, the site is beautifully maintained and the pitches are a good size and well spaced and this is a very quiet site. It doesn't really matter whereabouts you are on the site, all areas are of equally high quality. We were on the Walnut Terraces and had no problems with our pitch, the Walnut Circle is popular and gets booked up quickly but the other areas around a green are just as nice.

Arrival here is excellent with a very warm welcome at reception and an information booklet that contains everything you need to know for your stay, ranging from where the nearest supermarkets are to local taxi numbers etc.

The only potential downside is that there are only 3 showers and 3 toilets in each washroom (plus 3 unisex ones) which could be difficult if the site is very busy, having said that the site was about 75% full during our stay and I never had to queue for a shower. I believe there are plans to add another amenities block soon.

Loved the site, loved the area and we will definitely be back soon.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coveney_d 3 reviews from this member

Me my husband and pooch stayed here I absolutely love this site its excellent they have everything including a bath !

Old oaks is at a perfect location for touring and a lovely walk to glastonbury tor and town.

On site is a fishing lake and small holding with chickens the staff are really friendly and they have a shop that sells everything from tent pegs to cider, home made cakes and bbq meat from their own livestock,

Its a really well laid out site and has a laundry room with use of a fridge freezer and microwave

They have yurts for rent and although their prices are high you don't mind paying them for such a lovely site

This is adults only so its really peaceful and quiet

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T4terrier 3 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful well run site surrounded by lovely countryside yet within walking distance of Glastonbury and the Tor.

We have stayed twice in the old orchard which is spacious and well laid out surrounded by apple trees. The toilets and showers are immaculate and the site has a laundry facility, a freezer for freezer blocks and a spacious pot wash area.

The whole site is very clean and tidy and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

There is a well provisioned shop and the home made cakes are gorgeous.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andysvwt5 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights and must say this site is one of the best. The staff were really nice and helpful,toilets and showers immaculate,and a well stocked shop which you can get essentials.The pitches are really big, spacious, and well maintained.It doesn't take long to realise how peaceful it is, so if that's what you want this is the place. Nice walk into Glastonbury if you want to as well which we did do and walked back.The surrounding countryside is also a pleasure to look at and breath in the fresh air. We will be going back to this site for many more years to come and hopefully stay longer sooner rather than later. Absolute stunner.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mephsy 5 reviews from this member

This has to be one of the best sites in the country. The location is peaceful and in the middle of the countryside (yet it is only 1.5 mile walk to Glastonbury). It has immaculate showers and toilet facilities, the laundry room is superb and the washing up facilities excellent - the water is piping hot. The wardens are friendly courteous and helpful and although it is a largish site it is divided into sections. Each pitch is huge (hardstanding) and is semi-enclosed with bushes so being over-looked is never a problem. Being adult only is a distinct advantage to me.

Are there any disadvantages? Only one. I'm going to have to book early to make sure I can visit again next year!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Peterchapman374 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend in one of their cabins,fab!

Perfect for early/late season.The site is immaculate as are the toilet/shower facilities.Water for washing/showers and dish wash is piping hot.Dish wash area sheltered and clean.Use of freezer and microwave plus ironing and laundry area all available.

Pitches are a good size and enclosed with various shrubs.The reception and shop are excellent with fresh bread available daily delivered to your door!

There are numerous walks available from the site with plenty of info available.We went to the Tor and walked into Glastonbury town and back direct from the site.

Camping stoves sre available to hire if you don,t fancy packing your own.

All in all a grade 1 site with wonderful owners and wardens.I couldn't recommend this site enough and can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 37 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site many times and it is one of our favourites. Every time we go the owners have made more improvements. The majority of pitches are now hard-standing and quite a few are full service with waste and water.

Pitches are a good size and separated by shrubs which gives a bit of privacy. The owners and wardens are very friendly and always around if required. An additional new toilet block is to be added during the winter which is good as the current one does get a bit crowded when the site is full.

Nice pubs around the area, details in Reception, we tried the Camelot Inn which was very good.

The surrounding area and the views from the site are excellent and peace and quiet are the norm. Lots to see and do in the area details of which can be found in the Tourist Information room on site.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a short 3 day break at this lovely site. We stayed in one of the six cabins which are for hire. We were very impressed by the cabin which was warm and snug and well equipped with king size bed, small fridge, heater, electric kettle, toaster and table and chairs. The outside decked area is large and well protected from the elements and is where any cooking must be done.

The shower block was very good but can imagine they would be under pressure when the site is full. They were supposed to have an additional block this year but the bad winter has delayed it and it should be built over the next winter.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and kept the site immaculate.

Whilst it is only about a one and a half mile walk into Glastonbury it is a pretty steep up and down and not for the fainthearted or unfit.

The site is very peaceful and almost the only noise is birdsong.

Previous     306 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3259 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1309
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Open Today's Window