Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 299 Reviews
              10/10 from 299 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  299 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
Win 100Submit a review of this site for your chance to win 100 of Caravan and Motorhome Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club. Join The Club from just 48 per year to enjoy access to over 2,700 sites, exclusive member benefits and site special offers.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Peterchapman374 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend in one of their cabins,fab!

Perfect for early/late season.The site is immaculate as are the toilet/shower facilities.Water for washing/showers and dish wash is piping hot.Dish wash area sheltered and clean.Use of freezer and microwave plus ironing and laundry area all available.

Pitches are a good size and enclosed with various shrubs.The reception and shop are excellent with fresh bread available daily delivered to your door!

There are numerous walks available from the site with plenty of info available.We went to the Tor and walked into Glastonbury town and back direct from the site.

Camping stoves sre available to hire if you don,t fancy packing your own.

All in all a grade 1 site with wonderful owners and wardens.I couldn't recommend this site enough and can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevor57 33 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site many times and it is one of our favourites. Every time we go the owners have made more improvements. The majority of pitches are now hard-standing and quite a few are full service with waste and water.

Pitches are a good size and separated by shrubs which gives a bit of privacy. The owners and wardens are very friendly and always around if required. An additional new toilet block is to be added during the winter which is good as the current one does get a bit crowded when the site is full.

Nice pubs around the area, details in Reception, we tried the Camelot Inn which was very good.

The surrounding area and the views from the site are excellent and peace and quiet are the norm. Lots to see and do in the area details of which can be found in the Tourist Information room on site.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jandjstott 29 reviews from this member

Have just returned from a short 3 day break at this lovely site. We stayed in one of the six cabins which are for hire. We were very impressed by the cabin which was warm and snug and well equipped with king size bed, small fridge, heater, electric kettle, toaster and table and chairs. The outside decked area is large and well protected from the elements and is where any cooking must be done.

The shower block was very good but can imagine they would be under pressure when the site is full. They were supposed to have an additional block this year but the bad winter has delayed it and it should be built over the next winter.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and kept the site immaculate.

Whilst it is only about a one and a half mile walk into Glastonbury it is a pretty steep up and down and not for the fainthearted or unfit.

The site is very peaceful and almost the only noise is birdsong.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blunmurr 12 reviews from this member

A little bemused by previous reviewers comments. This is clearly an adult only site where people go to relax and chill out. For those who want to get away from the possibility of noisy families with uncontrolled kids, then this is ideal. All pitches have hard standing and large grass areas between pitches. The owners have worked hard to build up the site from its original CL status some years ago. All staff work hard to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. We were upgraded to a super pitch with water and drainage at no extra cost. Toilet/ shower facilities were spotless and always nice and warm. There was a resource room with a good collection of books and information pamphlets.

For some strange reason a few pitches found it difficult to get the satellite dish working although the cheap status aerial on the roof worked a treat.

Some nice touches like the daily homemade cakes made available for purchase from the shop.

Some walks and cycle paths clearly marked from the site. Glastonbury is a one and a half mile walk and the town of Street with its designer outlet shopping area is great to visit with lots of bargains. Wells is a must with its lovely Cathedral.

Overall probably the best site I've visited in the uk in 50 years of camping and caravanning.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dax 743 2 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the carnival in November this I must say is one of the best sites we have stayed at. The toilets and showers were heated and spotless. The pitches were extra large hard standing and small hedges around. The site is well kept. The staff make you very welcome. They have a small shop on site. The taxi service from the site was very reasonable. Also a good place for shopping is Clarke's village, you will find all the major retail outlet shops there. The view from the site is breath taking and the only thing that wakes you in the morning is the cows. Will be back in the new year.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rodgey1 2 reviews from this member

Without doubt the facilities are good and clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly too.

Impeccably manicured grounds but I found the place a little bit spooky. I suppose it was the absence of children (we didn't know it was an adults only site)

Our kids are grown up now, but for me, camping is a fun family affair and it's nice to see youngsters around. We visited other sites and kids have never disturbed us.

We walked in to Glastonbury via the Tor and got some shopping so we got a taxi back. Via Bath! So watch out for rogue taxis

Owner's comments: Many thanks for your comments, all feedback is very welcome. However, I would like to defend the taxi drivers of Glastonbury by suggesting that perhaps you may be mistaken with regard to being taken back from town via Bath. Bath is approximately 30 miles away (as opposed to 3 miles from Glastonbury to us) and so a 60 mile round trip would have taken around an hour and a half at best, at a cost of around 100.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Middlemouse 9 reviews from this member

We were only here for one night but will definitely be back next year. We have stayed at countless sites over the years and this is easily the best yet. Beautifully laid out with large pitches, the site is immaculately kept. Hedges divide the several sections of the site and in the case of the Orchard (the grassed tent area) apple trees mark out the pitches. October was a good time to visit as the windfalls were delicious.

The toilet/shower bock was warm and clean and laundry facilities even included an iron and ironing board. There is a freezer for ice blocks and a microwave. Wi-fi is available although we didn't use it.

The shop was well stocked for a camp shop and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

There are plenty of walks for dogs and lots to do in the area. Unfortunately, My brother and sister-outlaw joined us in their new motorhome for their first camping trip. They will be disappointed hereafter as they will think all sites are like this!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gill Withagee 3 reviews from this member

Having read the glowing reviews of Old Oaks we decided to spend a week there and we certainly were not disappointed.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and at this time of the year have time for the odd informative chat. The facilities are very well kept and spotlessly clean at all times.The site has five star rating, but if six stars were available then they should certainly deserve them.

An added attraction is the availability of delicious home made cakes for sale, a different flavour every day(indicated on blackboards about the site).

The individual pitches are mostly very large and have magnificent views of the surrounding countryside.

It is only a short drive in to Glastonbury and the famous Glastonbury Tor is just a short walk away.

Our original plan had been to move on to Dorset for a second week but we decided that nowhere could be better than Old Oaks,so we stayed on there instead.It is magnificent!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RoaminNL 3 reviews from this member

A very well kept site.

We stayed at 6 sites on our tour in September and this was by far the best.

The showers and toilets were very good, heated and always clean.

If I'd have seen them going around the hedges and grass with a pair of scissors I wouldn't have been surprised. They were perfect.

They were very friendly and helpful in the reception.

Internet facilities all over the site, but these could be cheaper.

If I return to the area I wouldn't even look at any alternative site.

All in all a site to recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jojomad 3 reviews from this member

I left a review following my visit to this superb site last September and just wanted to update it following my first experience of camping on hardstanding.

I know a couple of people were concerned and felt that this was no longer a site for tents, but after this holiday, I honestly don't think I'll be camping on grass again! I brought a couple of good groundsheets with me and have a self inflating matress.

It's at least as comfortable as being on grass and in some respects, more so (it's not as cold/damp and it's much, much cleaner) - plus there are the electric hook ups, so I have an fan heater rather than a gas one and feel much safer.

Maybe you think I've sold out, but I don't think so.I still love camping in my Vango 350 and won't be getting a caravan any time soon, but what's wrong with a bit of comfort?! The site, as ever, is wonderful - peaceful, exceptionally clean and Tara's cake are a lovely bonus. Can't recommend it enough.

Previous     299 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite for your chance to win your choice of 100 of Club vouchers or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of this month's sponsor, The Caravan and Motorhome Club

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent Win tickets to the NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan Camping & Motorhome Show - 21st to 26th February
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, holiday lodges and 1000's of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2934 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1323