Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 190 Reviews
              9/10 from 190 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Reviewer: jomitchell 1 review from this member

August 2003
Brilliant, The outdoor pools are really good, the staff were very friendly, the childrens entertainment was rather amusing but this is in a positive way, they also had singers on, who were of a good standard.

I really did enjoy my stay, the only problem I had was I had my dog with me & there was myself, my mom & my 3 yr old son, My mom couldnt join in with us in the pool as there are Zero facilities for the dog, as in to tie her up on a post ! That is my only gripe.

Reviewer: Emma G 2 reviews from this member

11th July - 17th July 2004
What a breath of fresh air this campsite is!!!

As soon as we arrived this site gave a great impression. It is set off the main road and has masses of land, (fantastic if you've got two boisterous dalmatians!!) The staff in the reception are very helpful and the site looks fantastic. The showers and the grounds are immaculately kept with maintenance happening every day. The staff in the bar were very pleasant and helpful and the family bar is kept smoke free. A relief, as some of the campsites we have visited before have been awful.

The shop is well stocked but if you want to eat out I would recommend The Anchor in Cockwood. Had a fantastic meal here, the fish was delicious - really fresh. For the kids I would recommend the River Dart Adventure Park as a great day out.

However, if you are looking forward to a peaceful time do not go when the schools are on holiday, the popularity of this site showed on the Saturday after the schools broke up as the site was already mobbed!!

Would highly recommend this site as I had a fantastic time and would definitely go back. (Out of peak season!)

Reviewer: pobrey 2 reviews from this member

August 2003
Stayed Thursday to Thursday over Bank Holiday weeknd. Very impressed with the site. Friendly and accommodating staff. Will definitely go again, although at a quieter time.

Good pool, and good fishing (our first time!). Very very busy, and facilities struggled to cope with this -more shower blocks needed, and the club got crowded in the evening. This was ok for us because we have a shower in the caravan, and don't really use the clubs. When we did use the showers (in the new blocks) we found them to be very large, convenient, and hot!

Found the best pub in the area on the last day -The Atmospheric Railway Inn, in Starcross. Great food, and both indoor and outdoor family areas out the back.

Staff were helpful when some fools let their dog mess outside our pitch.

Reviewer: Claire Bennett 1 review from this member

August 2003
Just got back and really enjoyed it. First time camping for longer than a weekend.

Need to update/increase the shower/toilets in 10 acre field but they were cleaned 3 times a day.

Shop - good, Food - Good, Swimming Pool - good, Staff - very friendly.

Will definately go again.

Reviewer: Ren 1 review from this member

9th - 16th August 2003
Set out at midnight on Friday night and got stuck for over an hour on the M4 at Slough. Arrived on site at about 8 o/c and a very helpful chap took our details and we were shown to our pitches as we had booked two next to each other for caravan and tent, was impressed with check in because reception didn't open til 9 o/c.

We had a lovely position in Coombelands with great views and very handy for all facilities. The pool area was very nice with a play area beside it which the kids loved. There's an army style assault course in the woods aswell.

Toilet and shower blocks were kept clean which is a thankless task given the state that some fellow campers left them in !! Did not find a problem with waiting for showers as we were up before 8 o/c every morning. The shop was well stocked and all of the site staff were brilliant. Don't bother taking ice packs as you cannot freeze your own, they are available from the shop for £3 deposit and 25p each time you get one.

We had food from the take away several times and it was very good, the snacks from the Swan were very nice and the service was very quick, there is also a Chinese take away beside the turn off to Dawlish Warren and the food was lovely.

Dawlish Warren was a nice seaside area and Kents Cavern is worth a visit.

Dawlish Carnival was on and we were treated to a good air display over the beach with a fine performance from the Reds.

There's a few pubs in Dawlish that show the footie on Sky for those interested.

We had an excellent week and the site was great, we were very impressed and will definately return.

Reviewer: sue bot 13 reviews from this member

06/07/2003
hi just come back from cofton very nice site clean toilet and showers
but we where in ten acres and you could not get a telly pitcure only itv some got channel 4 but very poor
we went with a rally and only paid £8 with elhook up
the men went fishing caught a few little fish but could not get the big fish for the little ones
very nice swimming pool
if you have dissablities go the right of the site and nr the the lake as the site to the left is very hillynice famliy site if you are going with a tent becafull if they put you up ten acres as they where on top of one another
i would not pay the site prices it would of cost us 2 adults and 1 dog £17 90p a night

Reviewer: Ian & Family

11th July 2003
We stayed for 3 nights and arrived about 2:30pm Friday afternoon, we booked a basic pitch at reception with the extremely cheerful and helpful reception staff, whereupon we were handed over to a very pleasant, helpful young man who asked us what kind of location we would prefer e.g. quiet, away from roads, by a playground etc.

We asked for a pitch next to a playground and away from a main road, for our son. We were spoilt for choice, and chose one right alongside the playground fence.

We were amazed at the sizes of these basic pitches, which had a low fence separating each pitch which were about 25' wide x 25' long.

After pitching the tent, we headed straight for the pool. We were gob-smacked that we actually found a campsite that lives up to it's brochure.
What you see in the brochure, of the lovely pools and surrounding grassed area is exactly what we got - beautifully maintained to a standard we have never come across before.

The toilet and shower blocks were too still kept to the highest standards as everything else, and have got to be the cleanest and most spacious we have ever used to date.

The onsite shop was also excellent, it sold everything you could need including toiletries, medicines, camping spares, barbcues, magazines, alchahol, and obviously food, etc. All of which was reasonably priced.

Other campsites should take note, and realise that this atandard and quality can be acheived.

We could go on and on about this site, but we shall just say that we will definately be going back soon!


Reviewer: Chris and Susie 2 reviews from this member

9th - 15th June 2003
This was our first ever camping holiday and couldnt of wished for a better campsite.

The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful. The grass was kept short and the amenities included shower rooms with individual cubicals, superbly kept toilets, 7 sinks with drainers for washing up those mucky pots, and the hot water was free!
There was a launderette reasonably priced only £3 a wash and large tumble driers 20p cycles.

Our daughters enjoyed using the large swimming pool, heated, and the arcade whilst we enjoyed the use of the fishing lakes. There were excellent parks for the kids, slides and climbing frames gallore!

All in all, we had the time of our lives and cant wait to do it again, in fact we are planning on going back there at the end of September.

We did take the girls into Paignton just down the coast road, about 30-45mins.... to the Quaywest water park however it is only open May-June and September-October. Nearby Dawlish town is also very nice, narrow streets but well worth visiting.

Well we cant praise this site anymore it was just fabulous and the weather was wonderful...... a great way to begin a camping future!

Reviewer: Mandie Rose 8 reviews from this member

May 2003
Lovely site, lots of different locations to choose from - terraced pitches, in the orchards and open fields. Good facilities - shop, swimming pool, pub, take away, laundry and games room. They are just finishing updating the main shower/toilet block - very nice.
Excellent fishing which is the reason we picked this park. Nice friendly site - both staff and fellow campers.
Can't wait until next year when we make our return.

Reviewer: Bubbles & Family

16/08/02
We got up at 3.30am to drive the long journey from Soutport to Dawlish....but it was well worth it!
Arrived midday in the blazing sunshine, over the moon to see a site that looked exactly like the picture in the brochure.
Booked in quickly and we were given a choice of electric hook up pitches, chose 1 right next to the shower/toilet block....not everybody's ideal position but with 4 children it cuts out the wee's in the nappy bucket!!
Tent up A.S.A.P and straight to the pool....excellent!!! Immaculately clean with lifeguard on duty all the time the pool was open. Pub located next to the pool, so adults can chill out in the sun,have a beer or three and watch the kids!!
I'd promised to be super Mum and do plenty of B.B.Q's and cook on our camp cooker but all ideas of this were out the window when I saw the take-away menu list.....brill!!! Good food at decent prices!
Pub grub good also, kids well catered for.
Great shop on site selling everything U could need, freezer pack hire too and cash back available from reception for a £1 charge....ideal when the weather was as good as it was for us, saved travelling off the site for cash.
Showers and toilets reasonable and cleaned throughout the day.
Pitches great, well spread and not breathing on your nextdoor neighbour!
I could go on and on but all in all an ideal holiday, highly recommend it!!!
Not a lot of play facilities but entertainment on an evening and the rest of the site more than makes up for this!!
We had 4 kids with us, aged 15,13,11 and 8......15 year old got a bit bored but then what do you expect stuck with us grown ups but even she loved the pool! Rest of them didn't want to come home!!
Enough from me.....try it!!!!

Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190     Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3942 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0625