Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chip2 1 review from this member

We visited early season so the site was actually quiet which was nice but there was a lot of rain and this caused sticky mud around our pitch. This seems to hit the lower pitches more so. When the rain cleared the views are great though and its peaceful with good hot showers.

The bar is handy with some nice beer although its a bit spooky with many old stuffed animals on display. Its good when the log fire is going

Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul roden 1 review from this member

We had a nice week at the quiet site last Easter. It's well situated with great views over Ullswater. The toilets and showers can be crowded at peak times, and the staff have a strange habit of propping open the door to the facilities so that gusts of wind aerate shower users. Brrr! Having said that, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Big gripe however. We found the site overpriced for its facilities, charging 4 star prices for 3 star facilities. There is a major problem with electricity supply to the campsite, such that if usage exceeds supply over a short period of time, then sections of the camp are blacked out. This is a major drawback both for staff (who have to come round and manually reset the circuit breakers) and for caravanners who rely on the power for heating and lighting.

Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brittanicus 2 reviews from this member

I can only highly recommend this site. This was our families 1st camping experience, and it made us become regular campers. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The toilet and shower block wasn't exactly 5 star, but it was clean and pleasant enough. We took a boat trip on Ullswater and suddenly a thunder and lightening storm struck, my family were frightened but I found it awesome. A must visit place is the Aria falls, one of the most beautiful walks I have ever experienced. The nice thing about this area is there is plenty to do whatever your budget. We found the little pub on the site filled with a lake district atmosphere very homesome and also dog friendly. There was plenty for our children to do on the site that didn't constantly involve putting your hand in your pocket.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Intruder 2 reviews from this member

Arrived mid afternoon to find shop closed and note to effect staff would be there 5.30 to 6.30 for checkins. Bar to open at 8pm. Found a pitch and at allotted time returned to check in. At this time when I mentioned the bar was told it would not be opening because it wasnt worth it because the site was QUIET this weekend. If I knew this before we would not have booked. Shop pricy,toilets ok. Avoid the lower pitches which get a bit waterlogged. Bring your own drink incase it is QUIET!

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yeti185 1 review from this member

Had a great week despite the gale force winds & torrential rain, the site still suffers with waterlogged pitches. I have to say the staff are very friendly and helpful, the Bar is great especially perching in front of the log fire, Toilet block is clean with a small onsite shop supplying most of the basics with good walks within easy reach one such being Aira Force. Still undetered we have booked a pitch for a few weeks earlier in the 06 season.

Date of Visit: September 2005
Reviewer: Blue_bumble25 3 reviews from this member

We have been to this site a few times and would agree that the staff are very helpful and friendly. The site is good and has beautiful views from the top terraces.

However my only gripe is the price and toilets/showers. I agree that the toilets/showerblocks need a bit modernising and do get rather busy in peak times for the size of the site. I also feel that the price is a bit steep compared to other sites of the same standard. Having said that we have been a few times and find the location is stunning and no doubt we will return.

All in all a good site - we found drainage at the top is fine its only at the lower end of the campsite thats a problem but then its a steep walk to the top terraces from the loos.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Pepsicola 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay in a tent at the quiet site. Found the main camping area to be on a slope,needed to support the air-beds on one side to stop us falling off!! There are flat terraced pitches which are dearer and as mentioned on another review are made up off gravel. We had no rain so cant comment on the drainage problem.

On the plus side the site is in an excellent location away from the busier and more commercial southern lakes, the toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water,the large play area was great for the kids as was the games room which is next to the bar, which itself is a fantastic cosy retreat with log fire.The staff are very friendly and the walks from the site are fantastic with views you would not be able to see from a car.We would stay here again....

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Pdsscb 8 reviews from this member

A friendly site with good facilities in a beautiful location. Site staff always easily found and helpful. The familiy bathroom was an unexpected bonus and made a big difference. Minor grumble was that we occasionally queued for a short time for showers at peak times. Adventure playground and play field appreciated by children and adults alike.

I would return here if in the area again.

Reviewer: Diabl0 3 reviews from this member

May 2005
We visited this site for a few nights earlier in the summer and had a lovely time. The location is beautiful and we found the staff to be very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The children loved the play area especially and I have no gripes about the pitches on the tent area at all.

My only gripe was the toilets - they were kept clean, but the toilet cubicles were very small as were the showers and there were no privacy cubicles. The washbasins were very close together so it got very 'cosy' at times in there. More updated and spacious facilities would bring me back.

Reviewer: LilyQ+Co. 1 review from this member

August 2005
Very impressed with this beautiful site but admittedly did not have any very wet weather so did not find the drainage a problem. Staff were amongst the friendliest we have encountered and the facilities on offer made for a pleasant stay, the family bathroom was especially appreciated being a family with 4 young children. The very quaint bar has a large non-smoking playroom area,(upstairs, away from the actual bar) making it welcoming for everyone without spoiling it for those wanting some adult space. We were able to enjoy a drink whilst keeping a close eye on the kids. Staff seemed pleased to assist us with planning suitable walks which the whole family could manage and made us feel very welcome. A fantastic family site. We hope to visit again.

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Abberley 2 Lightweight Touring Tent Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough - 22nd to 23rd April
Car crushing Monster Trucks plus much more fun for all the family ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1595 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.2649