Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park
Llanaber
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL42 1YR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01341 280262

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 240
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 202 Reviews
              9/10 from 202 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Statics for Hire 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (12)

Reviews:  202 in total, now showing 181 to 190                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lpeedy 24 reviews from this member

This site is in a great location for visiting Barmouth.  The walk down the beach or promenade to the town is only about 15 minutes.
 
It's a very busy site with a lot of turnover but, despite this, the facilities are always clean and you don't feel hemmed in.  The site is a large one and stretches over quite a distance but each section is separated by walls / hedges making it feel much smaller.  The beach is only a short stroll away and the trains do not really cause any disruption.
 
The drive as you arrive in Barmouth is quite spectacular with the bridge and estuary straight ahead of you.  As with all seaside towns there is the usual seaside paraphernalia but it is not overly tacky.
 
If you have a dog, there's a great pub in Barmouth that welcomes them inside with open arms, which is great if it's raining!  I think it is called the New Inn (it's the white one on the bend opposite the marina).

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Siana 2 reviews from this member

Just spent a long weekend here, it is a great site, quiet and well looked after with hot showers and kept clean. Very close to the sea, only a short walk to the beach.
Barmouth is a lovely place to visit  I could have stayed a lot longer. Will go back very soon. The site staff are very friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melissa100 1 review from this member

Well what can I say we had a lovely time, the site was immaculate toilets very clean, small shop on site brilliant for all those nick nacs and more.

Two minutes from the beach and a 15 minute walk to Barmouth itself which was lovely .

Did not have any food from the cafe so cannot comment on that. We cannot fault the whole site, we could of stayed forever

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lovecamping 1 review from this member

This is one of the best campsites we have visited - and we have visited many all over the UK. Lovely and clean, all facilities well cared for and staff friendly and helpful. The train passes in only a very few minutes and I think is only noticeable because of the quiet, especially in the morning.

The gate to the beach across the railway is down the footpath and shouldn't be a problem for little ones if they are well supervised. We had no problems with our grandchildren. The beach is glorious, safe and sandy - what more could you want! It is a very popular site and does at times get very full - but that speaks for itself ! There are always campers who do not think about others whilst they are having "a good time" but that happens everywhere. Whilst we were there a group were asked to leave after disturbing people the night before.

I would recommend this site to both families and couples - if you do not like it too crowed then avoid peak times! Barmouth is a typical seaside resort but is not tacky - some of the shops are great and the standard of catering has improved over the past 2 years. Surrounding countryside is beautiful. We love it

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WebbyFamily 5 reviews from this member

I can see why this campsite is popular, it's tidy, clean, and well maintained, and also has very good facilities, (the ladies toilets and showers were close to our pitch, but it was a mile hike for my husband to get to the gents!) The site was very crowded, when I rang to see if we had to book a pitch, we weren't told it was first come first served, we were told to just "come along" and there would be room for us (I double checked this twice), which we did, (travelling 211 miles) and then arrived to be told that there was no room. A kind gentleman told us about a site he was staying at just up the road, called Caerddaniel. However, I think we were overheard, as we were promptly offered a pitch! The pitch seemed like it was built on hardcore and rubble, it took ages to find anywhere to knock a peg in, and the view from the tent was, well, other tents! I can see why people with kids were worried about the railway line, the gates were very easy to open even by small children, and whatever you do, don't order a breakfast to take away in the morning, unless your watch is synchronised with the cooks! I was 6 minutes late picking ours up, and got shouted at!

All in all we didn't have a great experience here, the only upside as I say, are good facilities and the beach within easy walking distance. If that's your thing and you dont mind overcrowded pitches and bodies everywhere, then by all means go. Oh and last thing, I agree with the comment about the park security being hopeless, especially as at 3am a group of drunk men in the site were raucously singing football songs for the best part of an hour. And if you think we're moaners, you should read the sparkling reviews we've written for more deserving campsites!

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LillyK 1 review from this member

Brilliant place. Especially the weather ! Beautiful, clean site with stunning views towards the estuary and also the lleyn peninsula. Showers, toilets, shop, exceptional. Only downside were noisy teenagers allowed on to site at 10:15 on our last night who kept us awake until 2:30! Train is a bit disturbing at 6:40am, but not too bad so long as you don't drink too much the night before. We will definitely go back again and would recommend the site to anyone with kids.

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nigelt 1 review from this member

This is a nice clean site, with excellent and well maintained facilities. Ideal for a trip to Mid-Wales. Well laid out pitches and lovely shower block. There is a shop and cafe on the site - you will want for nothing. "Best site in Wales" - they say...No. There are no views, other than the pitches adjacent or opposite, and the railway track separates you from the sea front. The trains are infrequent, but when they do come, they inevitable sound their horn and it feels like thay are about to hit the van! Having said that, its certainly good for a long weekend in Barmouth.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madlizzie72 3 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Barmouth, and we fully enjoyed our stay at this site. The toilets and showers were always clean, the queue for the showers was a bit of a pain but were always hot, we found if you waited till 7pm there was no queue!!!!

The shop was well stocked with everything you coould possibly need and more. The girls loved the play area which was not too far from where we had pitched the tent. The beach wasnt far to walk to just over the train track which had gates to keep it safe for the kids. We would go back again as we had a fab holiday here.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Murko 1 review from this member

Facilities at this site are very good with electric and water right next door to your pitch and the shower/toilet blocks clean and functional. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away and the town 20 minutes. The town itself is your typical tacky seaside job with amusement arcades etc.

Mid/North Wales has a wealth of natural attractions, so your never stuck for anything to do, just be prepared to travel a bit.

The downsides of this site are:-
It is between a railway line and a main road.
The first train comes through at about 6:40am and sounds it horn.
The main road is above the site and is also busy.
The site itself is very very busy with lots of children/teenagers

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Jaspercat 1 review from this member

My family and I visited Hendre Mynach Caravan And Camping Park for a long weekend break in early August, after the initial concerns over driving for 140 miles with no reservation at the campsite, as it was on a first come basis, we were very pleased to find a wonderful campsite, with nice clean toilet & shower facilities which include free showers.

My wife felt that the distance to the toilet & shower facilities was quite a long walk if you camped in the bottom fields - I felt it was fine but then it was my wife who was running up and down to the toilets all day with the children. I am not convinced that the children really wanted the toilets but had just figured out that next to the toilet and shower facilities was the children’s playground!

The campsite is right next to a railway line although trains do not pass that regularly and to be honest we hardly noticed them. The track passes between the campsite and the beach which is lovely and sandy and has a wonderful promenade which runs all the way into Barmouth which is a very pleasant twenty minute walk from the campsite. Beautiful sunsets can be seen from the promenade.

Along with my family which includes 3 young boys of 2, 4 and 6, we had a brilliant time and would certainly recommend this site to anyone who wants to have good holiday.

Previous     202 Reviews in total, now showing 181 to 190      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5553 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0938
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £120 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £500!
Open Today's Window