Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Runt In Tun Public House Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Runt In Tun Public House Camp Site
Maynards Green
Heathfield
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN21 0DJ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01435 864284

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m   10m  10m  1m  1m  1m   5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 9
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
              9/10 from 29 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (4)

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents, space permitting. It is a member only site - you may be able to join on arrival - please check direct with the site.

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EstherP 7 reviews from this member

Great little site.

There are only a few pitches so the quietness of the site was great - all the other campers seemed there for the same thing too - peace and relaxation. There is a bit of traffic noise as it is just off the road, but the conifers etc help mask this with the wind in the leaves etc, so I barely noticed it and I am quite sensitive to noise. You do hear and see a lot of aeroplanes but I wouldn't say this was a problem at all. Also, there was some noise from the pub garden of children having fun but this stopped fairly early anyway.

The facilities were good and kept clean. There is a cold water washing up sink and washing line. There is one toilet and one shower which are housed in portaloo cubicles. The toilet has a hot water basin. The shower was 20p for 3 mins and 40p for 6 - and was pretty powerful and stayed a steady temperature.

The location is really handy, easy to get to lots of places.

We would visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigalw35 9 reviews from this member

So we returned to The Runt In Tun yet again, now that's got to say something of the way we feel about the place, super.

We were camping again, as usual. Since our last visit in October 2013, a fair amount of work has been carried out, quite a few neighbouring trees have been felled and removed and a new 6ft fence has been installed, along with new electrical hook up points, creating 3 separate pitches.

We met up with old friends in the pub from previous visits, nice to catch up on the local news, we dined in the pub a few times and the meals if anything have only got better (if that's possible ?)

Andy, one of the proprietors said that he likes it when he gets a call from me, as we always bring the good weather with us, which happened again this year, the weather was superb, really hot and sunny every day, some days a little too hot.

Apart from 'just liking The Runt In Tun' it's fairly central to a vast amount of 'olde' English history, of which just about all of the local attractions you CAN visit, and they are generally within a radius of 10 or 15 miles, including places like Eastbourne, Brighton and Newhaven.

I've put 1 out of 10 for 'Child Friendliness', that only applies to the camp site because of some children in the past being untidy and messy (as I understand the situation to be?) children are still welcome in the pub's rear garden and there are various play item for children

Long live 'The Runt In Tun' and thanks again Andy, Martin and the team, hope to see you all again later in the year.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mgbt 3 reviews from this member

This was our first stay & what a gem this place is. The owner met us & showed us to our pitch and pointed out the facilities. The pitches are a good size. A few steps to the toilet & shower which were both kept in excellent clean condition. We didn't actually use the shower as we have one in the van.

A few more steps & you are in the pub. We have not come across such a friendly pub in a long time. Our dog Oscar was allowed to come in with us & there were various other dogs in there from time to time. The food is beautifully cooked.

Oscar had the time of his life, the walking is fantastic with open fields, woodland & you can walk the 'cuckoo trail' for miles. There are many attractions close by but we just walked, ate & drank at the pub and chilled out, wonderful.

The road is quite busy during the day but you hardly know its there, very peaceful. There are a good range of shops nearby to get all the necessary items. All in all we loved it & plan to return soon.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigalw35 9 reviews from this member

We have visited the Runt in Tun twice this year, we especially like the site, facilities, the pub, the food and more so the staff. The site/pub is run by Andy & Martin, 2 very nice people and very accommodating.

The site is fairly quite, its a little way off of a main road, but the traffic noise is not that bad.

It's only a 50 mtr walk to the pub and a very friendly atmosphere awaits from the hosts and locals, and the food and drinks are superb.

We will be back in 2014.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow girl 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights, were made to feel so welcome by the bar maid and shown to our pitch.

Unisex toilet and shower ( 1 of each) were spotless.

There are plenty of walks to keep you and your dogs happy down the old railway line which was great.

The pub is dog friendly, we had Sunday roast and I can honestly say its one of the best roast dinners I've ever had. Beautiful. As for the locals. They were so friendly, they made us feel at home.

Well done guys you tick all the boxes for me!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whibs 1 review from this member

We have just returned from The Runt in Tun after a four night stay. 4 adults, 2 children plus our 2 dogs.

We can't speak highly enough of this beautiful site - our hosts were very welcoming. The pub offers extremely good freshly cooked food and very reasonably priced. The pub is also dog friendly.

Despite my initial reservation about the loos and shower - we were very impressed by the high standard of cleanliness, and despite all the pitches being in use - we never had to queue for either. Three minutes is adequate time to shower and we made a game of 'countdown' with the children, which made it fun for them.

The added bonus of a playground in the pub, was a highlight for the two children aged 6 and 8. The vast fields adjacent to the site are a dog walkers dream !

We will definitely return

Management response: To all readers, please note, that as of September 2013 the site is adult only.

Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3546 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1104