Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cashel Camping In The Forest Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Cashel Camping In The Forest Site
Loch Lomond
Rowardennan
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G63 0AW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0845 137 633  or  024 7642 3008

Facilities:  (Key)
        

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 220
Open: 1 March - 27 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 78 Reviews
              8/10 from 78 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6)

Reviews:  78 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gallachers 5 reviews from this member

This is a good spacious site on the shores of Loch Lomond. We have visited several times. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Our grandsons love the freedom and can run around in relative safety. There is a play area for kids or just explore the woods, shore. The facilities are spotless. There is a shop with groceries and freshly baked bread. They also have a great range of camping/caravan goods for if you've forgotten anything. Only drawback is the road is quite bumpy at bits after Balmaha

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahw6789 4 reviews from this member

This site is in an amazing location, right on the shores of Loch Lomond. The staff were friendly and helpful prior to us getting there and on arrival. Yes, there are a lot of rules, but the rules are fair enough and make it a cleaner, safer campsite. Best shower I've ever come across on a campsite, too! Piping hot water, and very clean.

The pitches were big enough, and the small shop had emergency supplies. We'll go again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purps68 4 reviews from this member

Upon arrival the site had to be checked to find a suitable pitch for us as apparently it has the tendency to flood in some areas due to a stream that comes down from the mountain and runs through the site.

I would say it was one of the more expensive sites we stayed at, but it had fantastic views of Loch Lomond.

Once given the go ahead, we tried to pitch our Tent which was unfortunately broken due to a pounding from a storm the night previously.

I went back to the reception to say that unfortunately we couldn't stay as our tent had broken beyond repair (never buying a pop up again!) and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They even supplied a Tent we could borrow (free) for the night and one of the staff helped us to set up the tent.

Facilities were good, Pitches quite hard & stony. So make sure you have the right pegs!

Great site and great location.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two WheelCamper 7 reviews from this member

This is not a cheap site ! We planned to stop for only 1 night in a motorhome, but ended up there for 3 as we liked it so much. We pitched right at the shore of Loch Lomond, beautiful views and a flat pitch.

The site is level, it is well maintained, well designed and very well spaced (and be warned, the wardens will enforce the spacing rules !) The toilets and showers were immaculate, regularly cleaned and nice, hot water all the time.

The shop on site is well stocked, the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a smashing walk up the hillside just outside the site (the staff will show you how to get there and even give you a printed guide) this is well worth the effort to get up there as the views are spectacular !

No fires allowed, even on the shore, but barbecues are welcomed. We had great weather and very few midges - there are even gas powered midge killer machines on the site - with the exception of the cost, I'm struggling to find any negative to be honest !

I would recommend this site to anyone, tent, caravan or motorhome.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sf04031 2 reviews from this member

The campsite itself and facilities are really good. Being able to camp a few meters from the loch when you have a canoe and a dog is great.

The pitches are really flat however you do need to be aware that if you pitch near the water its on hard standing and need the correct pegs. We saw a group girls struggle for several hours trying to put up their tent with basic pegs.

There are several things that let down this site. The first and most important is the customer service, we have been here twice now and each time the staff (security guy) has completely irritated us. On our most recent visit he managed to do this within 5 minutes of us arriving. We arrived with 2 cars at separate times and although the 1st car was parked outside the campsite due to there 1 car policy we still had to argue about getting the 2nd car through the gate. Then when we got to our pitch we got out the car and the security guy came over to moan about dog not being on a lead even though we had just stepped out the car barely 20-30 seconds and didn't have a chance to put lead on.

There are several more instances but could take a lot more space to write them all.

The second let down is the lack of shops\attractions nearby, although this didn't affect us too much because we are active and go canoeing\walking, on days when it rained there was nothing else to do in local area.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldoscott 19 reviews from this member

We spent a lovely weekend here in June 2013.

The site is in a great location and the facilities are OK.

If you don't mind jumped up wardens, no hand wash in the toilets and messy pitches then this is the site for you.

All joking aside, when we arrived we informed the warden that our party of 5 was only 3 for 1 night then 5 for the second night. She informed us that we would have to pay for 5 for both nights. She told us to pay then call head office to request a refund. My wife stated that she wasn't prepared to do this. So after a huge sigh and tut she changed the booking.

The next day we asked if it was ok for our guests who we had paid for to stay the night to bring their car in to drop of their belongings. We were told that they could bring the car in for 10 mins only. Considering that there was no other pitches taken anywhere near us I thought that it was a little unreasonable.

When they arrived they were told that their car would be towed by police if they were not staying on site or they would be charged before they could explain that we had already paid.

Finally there was no hand soap in the toilets from Friday lunch time until we asked for some on Saturday evening.

All in all it is a nice location for a site but the hard standing pitches need weeded and tidied, the showers need cleaned and above all the wardens need to become a little more customer friendly before we would return.

Previous     78 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3190 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1055