Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01736 753127

Facilities:  (Key)
           

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  
Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 245 Reviews
              9/10 from 245 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (15)

Reviews:  245 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs E 35 reviews from this member

Gwithian Farm has been in my virtual brochure for a while now. We'd not been to this part of Cornwall in over a decade and wanted to also take my 73yr old Dad away with us. After checking the reviews again we booked our week earlier in the year.

We didn't leave home as early as we'd planned so arrived late afternoon. On booking in we were greeted by name. Apparently we were the last caravan to check in! Our welcome was friendly and relaxed and we were given a map of the site, shown where our pitch was and also the best way to get to the beach from the site.

The pitch was spacious with a gravelled hardstand and plenty of room for our car and awning. Pitches were separated by low level sections of fencing and planting. The park was immaculately kept and clean and tidy.

We stayed in the lower area of the park so we were closer to Reception and the washblock. The showers ran warm from the time the button was pressed unlike some which take 2 or more pushes to bring them up to temperature. They were also spacious with no curtain (to stick to you!) and a shelf and hooks to hang clothes and a towel from. I never had to queue despite it being main season, but then again I often showered fairly late in the evening.

As others have said, catering vans visit the site all week. We had fish and chips from one of the vans on the Sunday and later in the week - they were delicious and freshly cooked to order. There was also a pizza van, pasty van and a mexican themed food van. So, if you don't want to cook some nights you don't need to.

The pub 'The Red River' is just across the road but we never managed to get there. There is also a seafood restaurant and another cafe/restaurant (Sunset Surf) nearby, but again we didn't manage to visit them.

There's lots to do in the area. We went to Paradise Park one day which is in Hayle (about a 15 min drive) and we also visited St. Michaels Mount at Marazion and walked across the causeway as the tide was out. We also visited The Minack Theatre which is well worth a visit even if you don't see a production or play as it's worth going for a daytime visit for the views alone. The waters are so blue and there is also a beach at Porthcurno.

It's a beautiful part of Cornwall and we'd certainly return to this campsite in the future.

Thanks for a lovely, relaxing stay.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badger 2k 1 review from this member

Had a brilliant time at this gorgeous site. We stayed for 8 days and from day 1 Mike and Clair were outstanding with their help in making sure we were happy with the pitch etc. Really quiet site and had brilliant weather (supplied by the Cornish tourist board for the holiday makers). We took our 2 dogs with us and I must admit the dog owners who were there made sure everything was kept clean. Children have a great time at this site with the Childrens play area. Overall we were very pleased with this site and the family who own and run it. Many thanks for the week of stress free relaxing guys. See you again shortly

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SeriousSerenity 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for a couple of nights at the beginning of summer, and wish we'd had the chance to stay for longer as it's a lovely campsite in a great location. Check-in was hassle free and the friendly staff were very helpful in providing info about the site and surrounding area. There's a well equipped shop which will kindly charge phones and an enterprising fresh coffee service in the morning! There are food vans which turn up in the evening, although we never tried them, and the pub opposite the site is an added bonus. The shower and toilet facilities are wonderfully clean and modern, and the whole site is clearly very well looked after. It was a pleasure to stay here and for the facilities available, including wifi, it was great value for money, especially considering it's so close to the beach.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JCWB 6 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed at this site for six nights. We were well received and given our pitch with a site map provided which showed all the sites relevant information. The site itself is on a gentle slope, with plenty of room on your pitch for an awning if you wish. It is very well maintained and in very good condition. The toilet block is excellent with plenty of showers, toilets and sinks etc. Plenty of hot water to use also. There is a shop on site which provides an adequate list of essentials with fresh bread etc. A fish and chip van, and a pizza van visits the site so you have other eating options. The staff are very helpful and willing to answer any questions you may have. You can walk through the site and over the dunes to the beach if you wish or you can take a short drive and park your car, there is a charge to park your car. We visited places around Gwithian including St Ives which we prefered. For eating options you will find it difficult to beat the Red River Inn which is directly across the road from the campsite, a great change from having to walk half a mile or so or drive to the pub. It has a very good atmosphere and serves excellent food and ales at reasonable prices with accommodating staff. Dogs are very welcome too if you need to take your pooch along. All in all a very nice site and would recommend as have previous reviewers. I didn't see a playground for the kids but there is a large grassed play area in the middle of the site and there are animals to feed.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 38 reviews from this member

This is a large-ish well laid out campsite and it has a real family atmosphere.

The site slopes gently uphill from the entrance which is a tight turn-in from the coast road. Reception, the facilities and hardstanding pitches are conveniently grouped at the lower end of the site. Tent and non-electric grass pitches at the higher end. The site is fairly exposed to the wind, especially at the top.

Surfaced tracks provide access and cars can be parked on each pitch. The numbered pitches are spacious and enclosed by attractive low hedges of flowering shrubs and ornamental grasses.

Dogs are welcome and there is a dog-walking path directly from the top of the site. The pub opposite the entrance is also dog-friendly.

The owners live on site and are very helpful and friendly. The site was very quiet at night during my stay.

The toilets and showers were kept clean and supplies were replenished regularly. The showers were good with spacious cubicles. The laundry has washing machines, tumbledryers and ironing facilities. There are plenty of water points around the site.

During my stay, there was a good mix of tents, motorhomes and touring caravans using the site.

From the site, it's a half-mile walk to Gwithian beach or a mile to Godrevy beach.

Mobile caterers come to the site so you don't have to cook. The Guardian newspaper says: 'Visiting street food vans have become a regular feature at this feted seaside campsite. This year’s line-up includes Mexican street food, wood-fired-pizzas, curry, daily hot croissant delivery and proper fish and chips. ' There are also several cafes and bars in the area including the National Trust's excellent Godrevy Beach Cafe.

I have used many camp sites in Cornwall and Gwithian Farm is among of the best. Recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Family Robinson 1 review from this member

What a fantastic site, owners very friendly and welcoming.

Plenty of pitch space. Site shop has all the things you need should you have forgotten them.

Mobile catering van for those evenings you don't want to cook. A quite and friendly pub literally just less than than 50 metres from site entrance,

Fantastic walks to the beach, not far from St Ives /Penzance should you want to explore.

Site has wifi for those die hard internet people.

Shower blocks vary clean, no coin slots for showers, as all incl in pitch price !

Certainly recommend this site. Having stayed in the lower numbers and just departed from pitch 27 which was hard standing and grass.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BillBeech005 7 reviews from this member

We visited Gwithian farm again this year for our annual 'lads weekend' which now is made up of girls and boys, plus this 'venerable old one'.

We use this site because of the ease of access to the beach without the need to use the car, and the always friendly and helpful welcome we get.

The site has the benefit of a great little country pub opposite the entrance, that serves up some superb meals, but you need to book in advance when the site is busy, as a lot of people eat there.

The site has superb access and great facilities, plenty of hook ups and numerous water points. The pitches are exceedingly generous with ample for room for caravn/tent/motorhome, car, awning, bbq and sitting out area. The toilet block is second to none, with even a family bathroom and several sinks dedicated to washing up, there is also a laundry room with all the usual fittings.

All the pitches are well drained and we have never encountered a problem with grass too wet, most are fairly level with little adjustment needed when setting up, one wheel ramp/leveller being sufficient, or even none at all depending on orientation of your caravan/camper. Another nice touch is the wet suit wash, very handy for the surfer/kite surfer boys and girls.

Other little helpful bits are the excellent pastries sold by the children and the fish and chip van that calls, also an ice cream man in the warmer months.

Access to the beach is out of the top of the site and takes at most 20 mins for the slower walkers, usually 15 mins for the less 'loaded'.

The site attracts all sorts of people with the older campers (me for one) mixing happily with the younger ones, lots of smiles and greetings are the order of the day, due to the relaxed and happy outlook of the owners Clair and Mike, a great couple and very very helpful.

The local shops are handy, Lidl a short distance by car away and then in Hayle you have the Co operative with a new Asda at the other end of Hayle. Hayle also boasts some excellent public houses and at least a couple of chip shops.

All in all, given its easy access to the A30 and all the local attractions, this site can form the perfect base to give your holiday every chance of success.

I have no reservations in recommending this site, for families or the surfin/sporty types and it is more than peaceful enough for the older campers like me that like a bit of peace and quiet now and then.

So give yourself a break (literally!) and go ahead and book a 'dream site', you will not regret it, I guarantee.

Oh! and I forgot to mention, it is a dog friendly site, but please clean up after your dog, both on site and on the walk to the beach.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phill Noble 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site on Saturday 2nd May 2015, and herewith give our feedback on our experience.

Hospitality

Without a doubt 10 out of 10, on arrival we ‘were greeted’ with a smile, and the friendly character of the two people at reception. We were politely book in, give details of the site, and given directions to our pitch.

Facilities

10 out of 10, We found the site to have all the facilities required, including plug sockets for my companions hairdryer, hair tongs.

Pricing

10 out of 10, we found the pricing accurate for what the site offers, and our needs and expectations.

Cleanliness

10 out of 10, No rubbish seen anywhere.

Would we stay again?

Definitely yes, when we next down in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KWDerby 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site - really one of the best sites we have ever visited. The pitch was excellent, clean spacious and surrounded by shrubs and flowers. The shower and toilet block was immaculately clean and modern. The campsite was full when we were there, but it wasn't noisy. Visiting pizza, bread and croissants, fish and chips and curry vans all very good. The shop was well stocked and everyone on site was very helpful. The Red River pub at the entrance to the campsite serves excellent food and ale! Next to the pub is the village shop and the bus stop is right outside the entrance. A short walk over the sand dunes gets you to the very spectacular beach, with a café\bar where you can sit and watch the surfers. This site is an ideal position for touring some of the most beautiful places in Cornwall. To go to St Ives use the park and train ride from St Erth (£4 return per adult), which was excellent value. All in all couldn't fault this site and can't wait to return again!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penguin73 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from this campsite. What a gem this is. Will be returning. Yes it was full with it being the school holiday but only had to queue for showers once and I timed how long I waited. 57 seconds. I know, how sad to time it!. Brush and mop to clean shower out after was at side of them. Lovely and clean.

Previous     245 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win £300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a £300 Prize Package including £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth £49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.1279
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec