Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Teign Valley Barley Meadow Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Crockernwell
Dartmoor
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 6NR   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 024 7767 0642

Facilities:  (Key)
                

Nearby:
1m  1m 1m  5m   5m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 13 March To 03 November 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
              8/10 from 39 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MartinJan 2 reviews from this member

We used this as a stop of for a couple of days before heading into Cornwall. The only mistake we made was not booking for longer and we will certainly return.

This is a great site with very friendly and helpful wardens who go that extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay.

The site is well laid out with plenty of space between caravans. Jenny the owner ( it is a franchise for c&c club) was wonderful taking us around the site and allowing us to pick a pitch. She also assured us she would make sure our friends arriving the next day could have the pitch next door. We were shown a booklet they have done themselves showing the many places of interest in the area. A copy of this is kept in the information room.

One real bonus was free wi fi as we have never known any site before not to make extra from this.

This is a quiet and peaceful site, the facilities though dated are spotless and more than adequate.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SandraScot1 23 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights at Barley Meadow Site. Owners very welcoming. Small site, adjacent to a fairly busy road so there is some traffic noise. This site is on the very edge of Dartmoor and wherever you go you do need to drive.

We tried to walk to Fingle Falls but it's quite a distance and when you leave the site you are on the main road as mentioned above with no pathway.

Buses and HGV's use the road regularly so it's not ideal for walking if you want to access the Two Moors pathway. The site doesn't have a dog walking area.

The toilets are very clean although they need updating. Good hot showers but no where to hang clothes and towel etc except for 2 hooks on the rear of the door.

There is full laundry facilities available. I do think however the site is slightly overpriced for what you get, but it's a nice clean site, and you are made to feel welcome.

Their saving grace is the free WiFi they provide. TV Reception is also good. I think if I visited Dartmoor again, I'd try to book somewhere more suitable for walkers avoiding the main road situation.

Overall though, a good site with helpful and friendly owners.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Camper1971 7 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a beautiful setting on the edge of Dartmoor and the site itself is an oasis. As you drive in you get a feeling of the variety of nature on offer.

There is a warm welcome from owners and staff who are also very helpful; nothing was too much trouble, helping us out with pitching, lending us pumps etc.

We stayed on a grass with electric pitch next to the well tended play area which was great for our children and even if you didn't have children I can't imagine it would be a problem as it is a sensible size.

The games and information room was very useful particularly as we had some rain during our stay. Toilets and facilities are well appointed and kept very clean.

There is plenty to do around the site with walks, nature and places to visit, all within easy reach and some within comfortable walking distance.

Added extras include availability of warmed bakery products for breakfast daily and Fish and Chip van visiting on Monday evenings.

A great all round site. Great!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Louadej 6 reviews from this member

We like this site and use it for last minute weekend get-aways. We have camped here in tents and caravan and had a good experience each time.

Wardens are friendly and happy to help with anything you might need.

Shop is very well stocked and not pricey. Toilet and shower blocks small but modern and clean.

Good play area and games room for the kids.

Close to National Trust's Castle Drogo. Drewsteignton about 5 mins drive for local pubs and shops. Chagford is about 20 mins drive away with an outdoor swimming pool and lots of shops, pubs, restaurants etc.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smokin beats 2 reviews from this member

This site is a very pleasant and friendly. We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The site is part of the camping and caravan club franchise, so the standards were fairly high in terms of service and cleanliness.

We stayed in one of the 'grass with electric' pitches at the far end, which was pretty quiet despite the playground being close by. We arrived during a high season period mixed in with half term, so their were a fair few kids running in and around the tents and caravans, but this was never a problem as they were really enjoying themselves and were respectful.

The showers and toilets were nice and clean. A mop had been left out for the visitors to clear up their own mess but as is always the case, not many of them did! A couple of times I walked in to see muddy and grassy floors, but I think this was more to do with people being lazy rather than the site owners not taking care of things. They did close both blocks for a couple of hours each day to do a full clean, but I would have liked to have seen a bit more presence on the checks before and after this time.

The campsite runs very close to a main road but never posed a massive problem for noise. Lots of lovely birds and the occasional comical Moo from a cow in the next field is what we heard most of the time!

Overall a great site which we enjoyed and could relax in, instead of worrying about late night noise and anti-social behaviour. Mature, respectful and friendly campers all made for a pleasant time!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 33 reviews from this member

Stayed for 1 night in late October, on gravel hardstanding with EHU. There were plenty of free pitches for me to choose from this late in the season, which was lucky for me because my 10m cable would not reach on my first choice.

Since I arrived early evening and left early-ish the next day I cannot give too detailed a review, but the warden I met when I arrived was friendly and the central toilet/shower block was very clean. The same block has a washing-up area outside under cover and a CDP around the back.

Cannot comment either about the surrounding area since it was just a stopover as I headed eastwards from Cornwall. The site is handily situated near the A30.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4994 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




UKCampsite.co.uk Advent Calendar

Prizes Every Day til Christmas! Open Today's Window




0.1094