Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01643 851432

Facilities:  (Key)
                  

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  1m  10m  5m   5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 12th March To 18th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
              9/10 from 176 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (11)

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 29 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site. We were met by a very friendly warden who gave us lots of useful information. We had a lovely big pitch by the River Exe. The facilities were very clean. The shop however, could have stocked a little more food essentials. A walk to the pretty village of Winsford is well worth doing. Whilst there pop into the Royal Oak Inn. Highly recommended and very picturesque. The Exmoor walks are breathtaking and if you want to get to Tarr Steps, ask yourself 'Are the signposts pointing the right way?' We ended up walking 12 miles! The pub in the village of Bridgetown is also worth visiting but not open everyday. We would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MickR58 1 review from this member

We stayed here the weekend after the late May bank holiday. Really impressed with the site. It is very pretty. We had our dog with us so used the dog walking area. Some visitors without a dog may not go there, but it is very pretty, overlooking the weir and with a few picnic benches dotted around (don't worry - the dog owners are good at clearing up). We liked being on the river side but many seemed to prefer the millstream side - maybe because it gets longer hours of sunshine in the evening. The toilet/shower facilities are modern and clean. There were only two male toilet cubicles but there never seemed to be a queue. (Didn't ask my wife how many there were in the ladies) The local pub is good - we ate a very decent meal there and it has a nice 'local' feel to it. And Exmoor itself is a lovely part of the West Country. We'll certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pelro 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site. Toilet and shower facilities are of a very high standard. The site itself is picturesque with a river and mill stream bordering each side. Very peaceful site with a lovely dog walking area. Wonderful opportunity to visit the on site mill house and learn the history of the working mill. Even got to meet the resident bats which was a real treat. Area itself is quite remote but perfect for walking and cycling. Lovely to receive a coffee on arrival 👍

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rlemin 3 reviews from this member

Visited the site a number of times before and it never fails to impress. The site is kept immaculate by the very friendly wardens Kath and Nikki, both of whom will go out of there way to provide assistance. The shower block has been completely refurbished since our last visit and is kept in a pristine condition. It must be said that the recent weather has kept the site very quite, we had it almost to our selves but I know it is often very busy.

Only one comment, when we arrived the showers were excellent, but during the week the flow reduced to a dribble, making them very difficult to use, this was not from overuse by the campers on site!

I am sure that this must be a fault in a control valve the will be rectified by the proprietor otherwise an excellent stay in a stunning location.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 23 reviews from this member

Imagine you are driving along a winding A-road through the Exmoor National Park in South Somerset. It is a fine early spring day, and the pheasants are out in force. To the right and left of you are wooded slopes rising gracefully from the valley floor. There, neatly bordered by a sparkling mill stream on one side and the river Exe on the other, lies a long triangle of green loveliness where the wardens offer a very warm welcome to campers and tourers alike. The wide end of the triangle, where the reception, facilities and picturesque mill house are to be found, has broad grass pitches; as you head down towards the narrow end, the grass gives way to hardstanding, and it was there, by the entrance to the dog walk, that we parked our motorhome for 2 nights. There is a small shop in reception, an information hut with a payphone (no mobile signal for our vodaphone network). We were at the far end of the site from the facilities so used our on-board washroom a lot, but did check out the shower block and toilet block to see how they were (very clean and well lit). There are plenty of water stands strategically located around the site. We were totally enchanted by this place. The river and the mill stream are both crystal clear, the grass is beautifully kept, and the dog walk - bounded by a high wall which made us feel like we were in the grounds of some stately home - led to a dam of surprising size and real beauty. Grey wagtails, wrens and dippers were active in the area, and a kingfisher made a couple of welcome appearances. For those who, like me, aren't too good at photographing wild birds, a sextet of runner ducks in assorted colours mooched around near the water mill and provided easier subjects. Just off site and across the bridge, a walk off to the right follows the Exe upstream; when you intersect with the road, turn left, walk a few hundred yards and take the forest track up the hill. Just before the switchback, you will find a heronry with 8 nests and plenty of birds in evidence. Do keep an eye on your dog if you go up the tracks, as there is a fairly steep drop as you get higher up. The dog and I were very happy with the whole area. Last night we stood in the moonlight listening to the owls calling, and really regretted we could not stay longer. We will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyskip 15 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site three times this year. It is a lovely peaceful site with plenty full dog walking facilities.

The newer toilet block is clean & tidy, however we found the older toilet / shower facilities untidy & unclean this visit, there were numerous dead spiders & flies etc. All over the block, & my husband had to clean the shower before he was able to use it. It is a shame, but a great little site is being let down by its shower block which really does need refurbishing now.

Would we return. Yes we still would.

Management response: Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to know that on your next visit, the shower block will have been totally refurbished, and should be a pleasure to use.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Finnruss1 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite. Only drawback we thought was lack of lighting up top end of site and maybe extra shower block top end of site. But other than that beautifully kept site. Welcomed with hot drink on arrival. Very friendly wardens. Choice of pitches, we went on hardstanding but were able to face whichever way you wished, so pithed with awning on grass at side of river. The site was quiet even though road ran along side. More noise from pheasants than road. Would recommend this site to anyone

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this lovely campsite and we stayed for six nights.

We first encountered this site almost ten years ago and were blown away. Since then if we are in the area, we make a point of staying here.

It's a long narrow site, a single access track with very spacious grass pitches indeed to either side. One side backs onto a small river, the other a mill stream, which is why no children are allowed.

At the entrance to the site is the reception, which also stocks a selection of food and equipment. The wardens are lovely, pleasant and helpful.

Toilet blocks are scrupulously clean, and one small block has recently been renovated to a very high standard. Showers are electric and free.

Being a very elongated triangle the site narrows towards the far end. There we find small non-electric pitches and some hard-standing which I have to say looked very tight - happy we stayed on grass (which is our preference anyway).

This is also the entrance to the dog walk, and I think it's fair to say that it must be the loveliest and most picturesque dog walk in the UK. It's grassy and overhung with trees, with the aforesaid river and stream either side. At the end there is a weir, with benches provided to make the most of the view. If your dog likes water, as ours does, they will be in 7th heaven.

By car the site is close to numerous small towns and villages and excellent pubs. This was fortunate because the local, the Badgers Holt, has taken a turn for the worse since our last visit - we couldn't drink the stale ale and the landlord couldn't have cared less. That's a shame.

It's also, of course, in the Exmoor National Park with great touring and great walking.

I cannot speak too highly of this site.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: St.bernard 6 reviews from this member

Just come back from a lovely break, having spent two weeks at Exe Valley. Thank you Kath and Paul.

Toilets and showers were, as always, immaculate. The grass was also kept low and cut at every opportunity. Fabulous walks around the area.

Such a very friendly site, the wardens are very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. Will be back again next year.

Thank you,

Bagman

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eriba Ric 2 reviews from this member

Exe Valley is a long narrow site with a track down the middle and units on either side. On one side you are next to the river on the other you are next to a mill stream but also the A 396 which is only a matter of feet away. There is a reasonable distance from your unit to the track but neighbours on either side were too close for our liking. The site is surrounded by trees or hedges so there is no view outside the site and all you can look at are the other units. There is a dog walk but this is used by a great number of dogs whose owners don't always clean up. It is limited in size especially when the site is full. Other walks outside the site are either impassable due to muddyness or have the same dog mess problem. The facilities are clean however when the site is full there are queues and the shower I used was dated and small.

Management response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit: the poor weather and rain on the night you stayed did not help.

The layout of the campsite is pictured on every page of our website and also on our brochure, so you would have been aware that you would be able to see other caravans.

The campsite is spread over an area of 4 acres, whilst our riverside dog walk measures a further 300 yards by 20 yards with well maintained turf and trees, and we are surprised that you found either of these areas too small for the number of units on site.

We do not own the 'other dog walks outside the site'.

Our showers are popular because they are free and provide a strong flow of adjustable hot water, so occasionally there may be a wait in the early morning at high season.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a KAMEI Husky L Roof Box worth 225! Win a Coolbox Cool n Store Package worth over 235!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 1 - 2 July
Derbyshire - An amazing fun weekend for all the family, camp on site ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3232 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016