Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01458 831 437

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 20/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 303 Reviews
              10/10 from 303 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (16) and Video

Reviews:  303 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rupaul 5 reviews from this member

Stayed at the Old Oaks with our little Fox Terrier, Reggie, for six nights. Beautiful, well maintained site with fantastic attention to detail. The toilets and shower block was like stepping into a luxury hotel and dish washing up was a pleasure in the designated area. The dog walk was excellent, especially the enclosed dog exercise area with the fabulous dog shower and welcome doggy bins and free poop scoop bags. The walk from the back of the campsite towards the Tor is very steep but the views were amazing and worth the breathlessness. We did the walk on three occasions but had a taxi back to the site (average fare 8). Six nights was probably a little too long to stay as the town is only small and there doesn't seem to be any decent pubs offering food although we did have a late lunch in the 'Who'd a Thought It Inn'. However, the pubs were dog friendly. The market was worth a visit with lots of fabulous food. The shops and churches are worthy of a visit but we felt slightly uncomfortable with the beggars in the town. Back on site, however, the shop sells everything you could wish for and staff are more than friendly. My partner, Paul, fished a couple of times and said it was good. I can say it is a pleasant walk around the pond too. We did make use of the site minibus into Glastonbury on one occasion, which was a bargain. All in all a truly wonderful site but we probably would only for two or three nights as there isn't much within walking distance.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M + M 6 reviews from this member

First class facilities.

Excellent & friendly staff.

Thoughtful attention to detail.

Paradise for doggies too.

Lovely walk into Glastonbury, a town from another world.

Carlsberg don't do campsites, but if they did.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyskip 17 reviews from this member

We have only been lucky enough to stay here for two nights, we have to leave in the morning to continue our tour down to Cornwall. Although the weather has been pretty dreadful, the site is still immaculate. The staff were very friendly & knowledgeable of the local area, there are local walks in the TV lounge to take away & try. We walked straight from the site very easily to Glastonbury Torr (very steep climb to the top but worth it)!

The amenities block is second to none, immaculate & warm in this dreadful weather, just what was needed after our walk.

They arrange 'take always' for you most evenings, we had a curry last night which is a really good service if you do not wish to cook.

All in all, one of the best sites we have visited & we have already rebooked, hopefully we may get some better weather next time.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

Just 1 night here en-route to Cornwall

Will stay longer next time!

This site is excellent all round. Location, 5* facilities, supersize pitches, security, everything!

Friendly helpful wardens

Managed a walk up Glastonbury Tor, amazing views. Walked on into Glastonbury. Not over impressed, seems a bit tired. Plenty of funky hippy shops, didn't find a decent pub, maybe we're getting too fussy!

Taxi back to site 7. 60

Stunning site, will return.

Bonus of free wifi a plus.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

Very little to add to the previous reviews, we had a lovely relaxing bank holiday weekend in a quiet part of the site, we were slightly elevated with lovely panoramic views over the countryside and beyond.

As bird watchers we were delighted to see so many different birds on the site and surrounding countryside.

We didn't attempt to climb the TOR this trip as we had sore feet from walking in the New Forest, really well laid out site with really clean showers and W/C, didn't try the new block. Washing machines block was being refurbished at the time.

Really good shop, with daily papers, booze and camping gear, the old shower block although spotless could do with updating in my opinion.

This is a beautiful site in a beautiful part of the country, its a site we always wanted to see, however may not visit again due to the tariffs.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lolandmart 2 reviews from this member

We found this site by chance and what a find. This must be the Rolls Royce of caravan sites. Lovely friendly staff, a well stocked shop, excellent facilities. Etc etc. We couldn't find anything to fault.

They are totally geared up for dogs too (which really appeals to us). There is a great secure exercise area where dogs can romp and socialise with other canine visitors, free poop bags and plenty of dog waste bins.

It is a relatively easy walk up to the Tor straight from the site. This is a must if only for the views. We will definitely be back. A well-looked after site that sits well within its' environment.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 26 reviews from this member

This will be my second visit to the old oaks, the previous one being many years ago. I was very interested to see how the site has developed over the years.

I wasn't disappointed. The new toilet block was just an idea the last time I visited and now complete. Well what can I say other than 5 star excellence. It was like walking into a 5 star hotel. You have to see it to truly admire the thought and effort which goes into this site.

The approach to the site is down a single lane road. The instructions from the site advise you to go via the mendip hospital to avoid speed bumps. I don't know if they have been removed recently but we went home via Glastonbury and never came across the speed bumps. So at this time access could be made by either route from the north or the south of Glastonbury.

Access to the site once checked in was by number plate recognition and electric barriers. This is a brilliant idea, no codes to remember or cards to scan or getting out opening gates then closing again. Well impressed!

Everything is catered for espeicially our 4 legged friends of which we took two. An excellent exercise field, doggy showers, free poop bags and lots of poo bins scattered around the park. Excellent walks both on and off the park. We took them up Glastonbury tor whilst there, a bot of a trek but well worth it. The stunning views which greeted us each morning were spectacular.

The site is located within a short drive from Glastonbury (wells is not too much further afield) local shops in Glastonbury include a Morrison's and a Tesco. If your a Morrison's fan then use the one at wells (a much better store which only discovered on our last day sadly)

We enjoyed days out in Brean (National Trust), Wells, Glastonbury, Montacute House (National Trust), Street Shopping Village, Stonehenge (National Trust and English Heritage -nearly 20 each if your not members -not worth it if you have to pay- put puts another tick in a box if you like that sort of thing- would have been very disappointed if we had paid). Cheddar gorge was spectacular.

Lots of other activities in the area also, too numerous to mention but the site has very detailed information in their information centre.

The site is very well laid out into different sections. We were allocated the walnut circle and were tucked away very nicely in a very private corner. Plenty of bins and water and waste points if needed. The site has a reception and a small shop. Newspapers can be ordered as can bread and other items. The landscaping and gardens are excellent. A small fishing pond is on site and a very pleasant walk around it if you just fancy a stroll with the dog.

We found general digital TV reception very good, but satellite reception was poor (i think mainly due to our location on the site) - maybe something to add to pitches where there is no signal is to add a satellite point. Mobile phone reception was really good considering how rural the site was. 3g/4g speeds on both three and EE. Free wifi is included in the price but very unreliable sadly. (this is not a fault of the site owners)

This is a very beautiful part of the country and would suit a variety of interests and tastes. If you have never been before then try it. You will not be disappointed. Certainly in all my years caravanning this is the best of the best of the best EVER!

Will I return?? most definitely, it is a 4 hour drive from home so not somewhere I can go for a weekend but some lucky people who live closer can certainly enjoy this site as often as they like.

Overall excellent and thank you for a lovely week.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pillbowd 2 reviews from this member

This site is superb, if only every site owner could visit this site to see how its run and its excellent amenities as it would show what modern camping is about.

The toilet block is the cleanest we have ever seen in the UK, there is fishing on site excellent landscaped gardens a small shop free WiFi and very friendly staff.

We have visited many sites in the UK, France and Spain but keep returning to this site time and time again because of its amenities.

You can walk into Glastonbury from the site or there is a minibus laid on the site is also very close to the Clarks outlet village in Street and the Cathedral city of Wells.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeannie51 1 review from this member

Picked up our tourer from Devon and towed (first timers) to this beautiful site. We had a lovely reception and were shown to our pitch, which had hedges on either side for complete privacy. The shower block is the best I've ever seen and were immaculately clean. Even though we live 220 miles away, we will definitely be returning here.

Glastonbury town is about 5 mins away by car with plenty of shops and places to eat. The site offers a taxi service to this town and various other places with return fares costing between 4-8pp depending on where you travel to. A great idea if you fancy a night out eating and drinking and not worry about having to drive.

A must is the walk from the site to the Tor, the view at the top is spectacular.

The only fault we had was the weak wifi connection, other than that, I would fully recommend this site, it's my top site and we've been campers for more than 20 years.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mjjones17 18 reviews from this member

Simply Outstanding.

From the moment you arrive to time you leave you will struggle to find a a more cleaner, quieter peaceful site than this one.

The site is not on a bus route and about 2 mile walk into town along very bust road or if weather is fine you can use the public footpath.

That said they do have a minibus that does trips around local area on first come first serve basis or it's ideally placed if you have own car.

There is path leading from site that is easy walk to and then up the Tor.

The pitches are perfect be it the basic EHU or the Premier pitches. Basic is just EHU but room for caravan, awning and car with room to spare and each pitch has a hedge or picket fence separating them so not over looked.

Super pitch has water and waste plus TV connection on pitch and then the Premier pitch has its own picnic bench, chimera and bird table.

The facilities are simply out of this world and would not look out of place in high end hotels.

Then there are things like cake of the day and fresh croissants or on certain days they take your food orders for either Pizza, Indian, Chinese and Fish and Chips and arrange delivery to site.

The information room has communal TV and a pool table with countless leaflets and info on local things to do and even have a book borrowing exchange service.

Cant recommend this site highly enough if its peace and quite you are after then look no further

Previous     303 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin 200 Walkers Camping Kit and Tent AND 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzzwing Tilting and Folding 4 Bike Rack Win your favourite OLPRO Windbreak from 6 Fab Designs

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Autumn Motorhome & Caravan Show 2nd to 3rd September
Season-finale event, taking place at Newark Showground, discounted tickets too ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7564 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1406