Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 208 Reviews
              9/10 from 208 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Love-camping 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Cotton, I doubt it will be our last.

Upon arrival, we were told we could pick our pitch, after driving around we decided upon the front fields. Yes as other reviers have said there is traffic noise from the A379, but to be honest it became 'white' noise where we didn't really notice it. I think the local birds were noisier, we choose this area as there was space for our rather large tent, it was not packed (out of school holidays) and there was plenty of space.

We didn't choose the terrace options as I couldn't cope with being looked upon ( just my personal preference), we were happy with pitch although being close to hedges we had visitors of the mice variety at night. We made sure no food was left out and plates and cutlery were covered and every morning we disinfected prepping areas and tables. It didn't ruin the holiday, we just thought if we bunk up next to wildlife, its a possibility to happen, first time in over 25 years though.

The toilets were spotless while we were there, although not in high season, reception staff, well actually all staff were helpful and chatty. The park has so many features, from the fishing lakes, walks through the woods with zip wire. We were very impressed, we didn't go to any entertainment so can't comment, but used both pools inside and out (outside freezing, but very hot day so refreshing)

I'm giving the site a 10 rating for our experience there, being mindful it was out of school holidays, and we like quiet, it would possibly be a different vibe with it being full and busy, we were fortunate with the weather too, that always makes a holiday.

Just a note to say, had we gone in school holidays we probably would not have fit on a pitch of our choice (due to huge size of tent) I'm sure they would have found us somewhere, but just something to think about and mention when booking.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leeturner4666 9 reviews from this member

We visited Cofton in May 2015, from the moment we arrived we were impressed with the site, staff and facilities.

The weather was fine and sunny and we had elected to pitch upon an all-weather pitch which is at the bottom of the site close to the main road. The pitch was very roomy but was a struggle to get into due to the fact that I don’t have a mover, although the lady who showed us to the pitch assisted ably.

There are seven lakes near to the all-weather pitches and there is a lovely walk around them, which is quite peaceful.

The site is quite large and spread out although never felt crowded, upon reflection I would have elected for a grass pitch which are tiered, away from the road and offer brilliant views across the countryside out to sea.

The facilities are second to none, the outdoor area is clean and the pools although a little chilly always attracted swimmers. The indoor pool does attract a small fee but is well worth it, there are jets of water and bubble pools for the kids and adults to enjoy and a steam and sauna room for adults only.

There are a number of places to eat including a local style English pub and although we didn’t eat there looked very nice, a terrace looks out over the swimming pool and the up market café offers a variety of hot and cold drinks and some very tempting cakes.

Both Dawlish and Starcross are within walking distance from the site, the ferry to Exmouth can be caught at Starcross and these walks are safe to negotiate with very little traffic.

There is a reasonable priced Fish and Chip shop on site which serves beautiful fayre, we all enjoyed it a few times.

Showers are immaculate with cleaning taking place all of the time, I cannot recommend this site enough, it is well kept, with friendly staff, excellent facilities and a whole host of activities to keep everyone entertained including great adventure playgrounds for the children. I rarely visit sites a second time due to the choice available but I will make an exception for Cofton.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blackwolf1000 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the early May bank holiday for 3 nights as we are trying to visit different sites with the kids so that they don't feel tied to the same place. We booked one of the hardstanding pitches and upon arrival were directed to the Oak field down towards the fishing lakes. The only hiccup on arrival was the lack of space for more than 2 vehicles to pull up which on a bank holiday weekend did cause a little confusion. After a brief wait one of the staff came around on a golf buggy and led us to our pitch. The pitch was very clean and fairly newly prepared and a decent enough size although with a large van and no motormovers it could be a little awkward to position the van.

The toilet facilities and showers were very clean and the water was easily hot enough.

We didn't use the washing up facilities or laundry so can't comment on those but they looked to be ok.

As far as amenities go there are 4 restaurant ares to choose from varying from a pub style to a carvery. We chose the upstairs area as it was a little quieter due to the entertainment going on downstairs.

The indoor pool was lovely having a soft liner so pleasant on the feet. A daily charge is in place for the pool but bearing in mind the relatively cheap pricing we did not complain.

Overall the site was very clean and well looked after. Considering the size of the site we felt it was more like staying on a smaller site because of the way it was broken up into separate areas and not just one big open field.

Access was a little tight through Dawlish Warren but no real problem.

My only real concern is that if the kids wanted to go to the pool or shop they had to cross the road that splits the site. I do hasten to add that this road wasn't too busy and we were not overly worried but parents with younger children might wish to supervise.

Overall we would definitely stay there again and would recommend to families wanting a base to explore this part of Devon.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CoolCurly 1 review from this member

First review, only a small one for now.

New Year Week break with Friends and the site was chosen by them. What a great pick!

Pitches - really well laid out and serviced (we had hard standing deluxe pitch - getting the water is half the fun of vanning).

Clubhouse and Swimming Pools are amazing. Nearly new, very large and although being well out of season some of the facilities were closed we still had the bar, pool tables and kids play rooms to keep big kids and small kids entertained. Good stocked bar, and very well priced. Indoor pool was very warm, clean and my two boys loved it to the point we had to fight them to get them out! Outdoor pool was obviously closed (it was freezing outside), but in the summer I can see this being a massive bonus to the site.

We ate on one evening in the restaurant and the Cofton Burger was a great choice (and I'm a fussy Burger person!).

Staff - all extremely friendly and polite. You can see they enjoy working here and the team should be praised for their can do attitude.

Location - amazing! Two minutes towards Dawlish is a large Sainsburys (with Petrol Station), and two minutes further Dawlish and Dawlish Warren. Both worth a visit for sure.

Dog Walking Field keep the wife busy and the ever young Labby nicely worn out.

A small walk from the site along Church Lane are two very nice pubs (the Anchor Inn) and the Ship Inn. The Anchor I can recommend if you like your fish - great (if not a little overwhelming) menu and the Gumbo was Awesome. The Ship is a little more dated (not in a good way) and staff attitude needs sorting however Id still go back if not only to wind the locals back up!

This site was amazing for out of season trip with two small kids. We have already said we would love to get back when its a bit warmer and the rest of the facilities are open (specially the Chippy!).

Great site - will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycampus 11 reviews from this member

This is a very good well managed site. Location is fine with easy walks to the pubs at Cockwood. Showers and facilities are clean and well maintained. There is lots to do for kids with a couple of playgrounds and an adventure area in the woods.

Food and drink in the leisure centre is good and not too badly priced but a pint of Peroni costs £4. 85 (ouch)

The indoor pool with steam room and sauna were available at a charge but worth it. The outdoor pool was available when we visited earlier in the year was great if the sun was shining but did get a little crowded on hot days.

In summary a very good site to which we would return one day.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Callie968 52 reviews from this member

Very expensive considering Fishing & Swimming is extra.

Pool disappointing cold, jacuzzi broken and only waist deep all over £5 for 1 adult & 1 child to swim, Outdoor pool looks better.

Toilet block and shower block separate from each other which doesn't work

Pitch sizes good and well drained but whole site looked overgrown and unkempt including the fishing lakes

Staff & entertainment ok

Poor location apart from Sainsburys nothing to walk to really

Play areas ok for smaller children under 8s

Biggest concern little or non existence site lighting and no security presence, no noise control or security barriers in place.

Mediocre wouldn't be in a rush to re visit too expensive for average facilities offered. Fishing has been let go.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue warner 6 reviews from this member

This has been our second visit this year and have been lucky with the weather on both visits. We returned as it has everything we look for in a site, very clean toilet/showers, very good indoor pool/outdoor pool fantastic food including the carvery on Friday nights and Sunday in Amelia's pantry and warrens retreat. The reception staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble. The site is kept clean and tidy from grass cutting to bins being emptied OH was more than happy with the fishing lakes. We took a trip on a steam train and day out to Exeter so easy to get about by train as the station is 5 minutes in the car £1 for the car park for the day or bus stop outside the site entrance. Sainsbury is also only 5 minutes drive away. All in all a brilliant week and we will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rawtenstall 1959 2 reviews from this member

For me, this camp site sets the bar. I compare everything to this place for efficiency, cleanliness, facilities, modernity and shop stock (its the warm bread that clinches the deal!)

I have been to more beautiful settings but this place with its wood, sheep and wild pigs close by, harbour and fish pub just a wooded walk away, cant be beaten.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen564 1 review from this member

This was our 2nd stay at Cofton. We enjoyed it so much last year that we went back.

The location -

Getting to the site is complicated by getting through Starcross. There is part of the road that is single file which makes it difficult on days when there's a lot of coming and going. Also your SATNAV will send you down the first left to the site, my advice is take the 2nd left. Then if you meet a caravan coming out there's room to pass.

The pitches -

Our foot print is 10m x 5m with our awning and we fit on their standard electric pitches.

There's plenty of variety of pitches close to or further away from the central facilities. We camp between the 10 acre and 12 acre fields up on the top terrace. The pitches are a little sloping in places but overall quite flat.

The facilities -

There are plenty of showers. They're always hot and clean, sometimes at peak times there is a short queue.

The above is also true of washing up facilities.

The central area with pools, shop, restaurants and bars is very good. There are charges for the indoor pool but the outdoor pool is free. My only gripe with the pools is that they charge 16 year olds adult price to get in but you have to be 18 to supervise an under 14 year old.

The sauna and steam room are excellent as is the gym.

The food in Amelia's cafe is good but I found that when they were quiet it wasn't as good a standard or as fast a service, not sure how they manage to do so much better when very busy.

If you like ice cream please visit The Orange Elephant in Kenford, about 20 minutes away. Well worth the trip!

If it wasn't for the pool supervision and the odd problem with food in Amelia's it would definitely be a 10/10!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blueinternet 5 reviews from this member

We (Two adults and an 8 year old boy) stopped for 10 nights camping on a standard electric pitch. The pitches are great and we were in a very quiet area of the park (if a little distance from the facilities). Level pitches with ample room for our Outwell Montana 6 and porch extension. Tin tops and tents mix in these pitches (although all the super pitches seemed to be for vans). A low hedge backs the pitches allowing some shelter but not interrupting the view of the surroundings.

The site is set in Starcross but closer to Dawlish. Handy beaches nearby and the railway line for handy day trips to Teignmouth, Torquey or Paignton etc. You can bus it towards Exeter or Dawlish from the site entrance. Nearest supermarket is Sainsburys (it's a big one) less than 5 mins drive towards Dawlish, and there are pubs off site nearby (although we didm;t bother with any I hear the Smugglers Retreat is nice).

We were welcomed, and hastily shown to our pitch by a chap in a buggy, with no messing or nonsense setting up (such as other sites where we were asked to move the tent 1 foot to the left, half way through setting up in a high wind – needless to say – I “said I moved it” when he came back the next day).

There are a mix of slightly older and more modern facilities on site. A free outdoor pool (great and slightly heated), a pub (serves food in recyclable boxes) and the new (2 years old) complex, complete with the obligatory arcade, two restaurants (same menu), entertainment centre and the indoor pool. Well kept, tidy and staffed by very friendly young staff the complex was most welcoming

The Indoor pool is nice, not massive but me and the lad managed to throw a ball around without upsetting anyone. There is a charge for the indoor pool, which I'd didn't mind as the whole holiday was £90 less than similar sites where there are free pools. I didn't spend that on swimming as we only ever go a couple of times, and in any case once you have paid you can come and go all day (handy for a campsite day).

There is an adventure playground and donkeys on site – and they have regular events throughout the week (free falconry display for example). They have a number of other playgrounds too but all down at the bottom near the complex. Another minor criticism is the lack of anywhere to chuck a ball up on the top pitches. It's ok if there is an empty pitch but when it's full you have to walk down to the park areas to throw a rugby ball!

The food we sampled was great, tasty and fairly reasonably priced. There is a carvery most days with a reasonable (if a little unoriginal) menu. There's also a chippy (not tried but I'm sure it's great). Finally an on site shop which is as you would expect, you can get most basics and newspapers etc. Not over priced but not Asda price.

One slight criticism of the restaurant eating areas is they can get very noisy, especially if they are showing films (as they where on our rainy last day). It's a little like a canteen yet they serve restaurant quality food –which you want to enjoy. An odd atmosphere to create. That said, they’re clean, service is quick and with a smile and there is proper Heinz ketchup!

The site is very kid friendly. And we found lots of younger kids around (2 -6). There were some teenagers but not masses and by no means spoiling anyone's fun by forming gangs etc.

Toilets and showers not the best, but by no means the worst. It's clear some blocks are more modern than others. The ones we had I would describe as adequate – and there are enough so as not to be waiting for showers or toilets unless you go at obvious peak times (8-9 or 4-6). All very clean though – another slight downside they seemed to clean our block at those peak times and on occasion there were female cleaners in the male block, which can be a little odd when trying to shower, shave etc. I'd suggest they clean during the off peak times?

All in all though a great, welcoming and friendly site which I would visit again.

Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4612 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder