Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cofton Country Holidays

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Cofton Country Holidays
Starcross
Dawlish
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX6 8RP   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 0800 0858649  or  01626 890111

Facilities:  (Key)
                         

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  5m  1m   10m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 450
Open: All Year Round

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
              9/10 from 198 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire  Statics on Sale 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (19)

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Uk_chris2000 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here during the 6 week holiday for 10 days, and I would say the site was pretty much full to capacity, it was also the weekend of the Dawlish airshow.

Staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledable, Our electric went off at 11ish one evening and we managed to get someone come out and sort it within 10 mins, Staff in reception are and shops also friendly.

The shower facilities we used were modern and kept clean whenever I visited. I also paid a deposit (which was refundable) for the bathroom so the child could have a bath.

We went to the clubhouse once but left as it was so busy, no seats, and found the alcohol a bit on the expensive side.

Pitch was fine, flat, nothing to complain about.

The child loved the donkeys. The playgrounds were busy (but it was the summer holidays). I didn't use any of the pools but they looked busy (which is a good sign). We walked all the way into Dawlish through the campsites pathways beautiful views, but a long uphill slog on the way back.

There is a Sainsburys just down the road and we also found a morrisons just past Dawlish.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay. If we decide to venture down south again would stay.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Argies 1 review from this member

Wow! We have just returned from our first camp here and it was perfect! We were allocated the overflow field with no EHU which suited us perfectly. Close enough to all the great facilities but far enough to feel like 'real' camping!

The shower/toilets by us where not the best, think portable cabin! The main showers and toilets were spotless! Lovely hot water and a private sink and mirror facing each shower cubicle. We also said £10 deposit for family bathroom key which was worth it.

The outdoor pool was great, very clean. Indoor was also great, especially the steam room.

We met some great friends and plan to meet up here next year. Beautiful site if you are debating about going here. Just do it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewjb 6 reviews from this member

Good pitch by the lake-only down side was noise from the people fishing early which was to be expected. When full down there pitches were tight to get the vans and cars out as some people decided to park their cars side ways on along the path-and wondered why they got scratches from the kids on the car???? Site was very clean along with the toilets and good showers. The pool is smaller than I thought it would be and with a rammed site was at times too busy. The food was very expensive, beer prices ok (except the Peroni £4. 50!) however all very flat. What spoiled the two weeks was the dire evening entertainment. I have seen better at a child's party and because if this we ate and drank out the comes must evenings-such a Shame as they are making most if their money during this period. Because of this I won't be coming back again-supermarkets very close and the Harvester overlooking the harbour in Torquay was lovely!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawney09 1 review from this member

This is our 2nd year we have come to this site and can honestly say we love it here, the site is easy to get to and there is a bus service right out the front that will take you to torquay one way or exeter the other.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The site is kept very clean and the surroundings are beautiful.

Each of the main tent pitches are sectioned off by bushes and trees and have electric hook up points, there are a number of different play areas for children including a climbing area up in the wooded area at the top.

There are a number of fishing lakes with a number of different varieties of fish.

The showers and toilets are always kept clean and over a 10 night stay in peak season, only once did we have a problem with hot water for the showers which was quickly rectified! There is a shop on site which sells all necessary items and there is a lovely pub with a nice outside area to sit in. There is a club downstairs for the entertainment and there is a games room with an arcade and bowling in.

When you go upstairs there is a restaurant with outside dining too overlooking the site and the outdoor pool. There is a small ballpark for toddlers and a couple of pool tables. There is a gym and an indoor pool which you pay for to use, the pool is lovely with a sauna too. The outdoor pool and surrounding area is kept very clean and is a good size, although in peak season it probably could do with being bigger, there is a small toddler pool next to it.

We have booked to go back again next year.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benstuart 3 reviews from this member

Following a 4 night stay at Cofton in 2010 we were always keen to go back. Having visited many of Devons' many lovely tourist attractions we decided to have a more relaxing holiday and stay more on site. This time we stayed for 6 nights.

We already knew that Coftons facilities are excellent so no need to worry about the basics such as showering and washing up. They were kept as clean as ever and there was often good friendly banter at the washing up area.

We were given a generous pitch on the 10 acre field which is built on a terrace. I, like many others had not planned for the ground being so hard. About an inch under the ground it almost felt like rock, so would advise any camper to learn from my mistake and bring good quality steel rock pegs (these were available in the site shop and also in the good nearby camping shop).

We had excellent weather so were all able to make the most of the facilities on site; the outdoor pool, the numerous playgrounds and trails. We were also able to give our daughters a little independence.

There were lots of things organised throughout the week and many were free and these are the type of thing that set places like Cofton apart from others. These included a reptile display, small animals from Pennywell Farm, inflatables on the sports field and an excellent pond dipping session which was very informative and well organised by the enthusiastic staff.

We only left the site by car once and the new local Sainsburys was only about 3 minutes away. For everything else the site shop was as good as ever and included some excellent local produce - the sausages being particularly nice.

We enjoyed walks to Dawlish Warren Beach and also to Cockwood Harbour, both within a 30 minute walk. I would have loved to have taken my bike and done some of the rides in the excellent leaflets in reception. It was nice to discover the immediate local area more.

We made sure that we visited the new complex and whilst the bingo, arcades and cabaret aren't our cup of tea, we did visit briefly. At night the main complex does get busy but the old Swan pub sells the same things and serves up a good pint of Doom Bar!

The new indoor pool is excellent, especially when one of your aims is to help the children learn to swim again. It was a good temperature, not too deep, had a lovely soft floor and an area for children to splash about in. We bought a 3 day pass which happily saw us through a day of bad weather.

The food is not the cheapest but it is very good. We had a nice meal in the pantry.

We were a little unlucky to be near a group of inconsiderate people for a couple of nights and this did take a small amount of shine off an otherwise fantastic holiday. The people who camped next to us for the last couple of nights were lovely.

Overall, I would rate it very highly again and I think we will go again at some point.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Youlbury 14 reviews from this member

We liked Cofton overall, this took a few days adjusting after arriving from a quiet site Golden Cap on a tour of Dorset and Devon.

We arrived on a Friday and site was very busy as expected at the beginning of the school holidays, we had to find our own pitch and after some time we found quite a large wide pitch with some good fortune.

Once pitched you really did notice how busy the site was particularly the field nearest to the shower block, it did look more like a refugee camp than a campsite.

On site the swimming pool was extremely popular and was packed over the weekend, the entertainment was pretty poor and we avoided it, the restaurant upstairs served decent food and the outside decked area was pleasant.

For a short stroll from the site you can find two pubs The Ship Inn and Anchor Inn, both decent and worth visiting. The surrounding area was nice and there is plenty to do.

Some of the clientèle were poorly mannered and some to appear to have skipped evolution, the fact my wife and my friends wife’s handbags had to be checked by security every time we went to the restaurant was not only intrusive but may summarise the customer base Cofton get.

This site was a bridge too far for own personal camping tastes and needs, it is popular because everything is done well, but for us it was a little too much and too busy.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Taylor56 1 review from this member

Stayed at Cofton many times and loved our stay again this year. The new pool and bar area is fantastic and a credit to the owners, would be nice if dog owners could use the balcony though as we had to stay down in the pub patio when our girls were eating and swimming upstairs.

We also feel that the season pitches are looking very tatty compared to the rest of the site which is kept immaculate.

Toilets very clean and tidy with hot showers every time, some of the children may want to learn to respect them though as I caught some trying to break a door.

We always do the walk through the forest to Dawlish Warren but I am sure the hill coming back gets higher, the clothes shop on the sea front has gone more up market and relieved us of £90 while we were there, only supposed to be taking the dog for a swim in the sea!

Overall a lovely site though on the expensive side especially if you have a dog, nice staff and good facilities, they have even made our favourite pitch bigger which confused me a little when I arrived.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sandy167 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here in May 2014. It really is an excellent site. The facilities are first class. The toilets were spotless, the bar area really nice and the pool area superb. It is a great location - we did the river Exe cycle way from the site all the way up to Exeter and then down to Exmouth and then the ferry across back to Dawlish. Would recommend and will go back again one day!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bradtourer 27 reviews from this member

This is the 2nd visit to dawlish within 7 years and 1st time at this caravan park, I must agree with the majority of reviews, this site is fabulous, facilities where spot on, coarse fishing with a great choice of lakes with different specimen of fish, my wife had the 3 day gym pass for 9.95 which seems reasonable, also up to date equipment, outdoor pool which was closed at early may but could imagine it being very busy through peak times, playground, adventure park in the forest on site, entertainment in clubhouse, restaurant, shop etc, toilet and shower blocks were immaculate, off site there is dawlish warren with 1 mile and dawlish town with 2 miles and teignmouth 5 miles, all worth the visit, also if you like your golf there is a great 9 holes course within 2 miles, very reasonable priced. Would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 33 reviews from this member

We spent a week at Cofton just before the onslaught of the Easter holidays. Firstly the location of this holiday park is very good unless you want to be on top of a beach. There are some lovely walks you can make from the site and if you want to keep off the roads walk through the woodlands or make the 20 minute walk to Dawlish Warren. The site itself has lovely views and you can choose to pitch on a hillside or down by the lakes. There are numerous small villages and towns (plus Exeter) you can easily visit from Cofton.

The on site facilities are excellent and the quality of the finishes and furnishings in the new leisure complex are far above what I would expect to find in a holiday park. I won’t list all the facilities as they are so many.

The on site meals are not cheap but are not overpriced and are of good quality, we especially enjoyed the Sunday carvery. The take-away fish & chips were good too – a very useful facility, especially if you have children as they also sell burgers, sausages etc. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful – I would especially like to mention the gentleman behind the bar at the Sunday carvery – I think his name was Tony – who was very polite and attentive.

The touring pitches are generously sized and you can choose between super pitches, hard standing and grass. There are also a lot of holiday homes to rent plus a handful of cottages. We were impressed by the well stocked shop and the amount of toilet and shower blocks. However, the first shower block I frequented wasn’t very warm in the mornings (the terrazzo tiles although very sumptuous were cold on bare feet), so I preferred to walk the extra distance to a more modern block which was definitely warmer and also a bit cleaner.

The only thing that niggled me was the price of the wifi. Most sites we stay on offer wifi for free, and if not free then a modest charge. I felt that the wifi charges at Cofton were on the high side.

That said, it would not put me of going to Cofton again it would just put me off buying wifi.

A great site and if you have children there is a lot for them to do.

Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a bundle of VARTA camping essentials worth over £100! Win a Festival Starter Pack, worth over £100!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 20th – 23rd August
The world’s biggest tribute band music festival in East Yorkshire - PLUS exclusive 10% discount on tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7530 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0586