Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337

Facilities:  (Key)
                   

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m  5m  1m  1m  5m  5m   5m  1m  5m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
              8/10 from 211 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics on Sale  Glamping 

Photos (24)

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz Leftwich 1 review from this member

This is one of my, if not the most, favourite camp sites. We've stayed here 5 times in total now over the last 9 years, and wherever else we might go I always feel myself drawn back here. It's in a beautiful location, and the site is extremely well maintained and eco-friendly. The staff are lovely - really cheerful and they couldn't be more helpful. There's a great olde worlde bar if you want it, which often has live music or a magician entertaining people. And it's quiet when it's supposed to be quiet, so no inconsiderate people to spoil it for everyone else. I definitely recommend this camp site, and will of course be returning again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bernie47 13 reviews from this member

We have just returned from this site which we have visited several times in the past.

The magnificent views from the site, the fantastic bar and the friendly staff are still as good as ever but unfortunately since our last visit the site has been rearranged to its detriment.

Part of the site adjacent to the facilities now houses two rows of static caravans. The area for tents and tourers has been terraced to provide more level pitches, but many if not all of these pitches are a piebald mixture of grass and pea gravel and are unsightly, uncomfortable and not great for standard pegs. Luckily I carry a range of pegs and used the heavy steel 'V' type, but one night when it was windy we could hear people hammering in extra pegs for their tents and awnings.

The static caravans runs across the otherwise short route from the touring pitches to the excellent facilities, so a visit to the toilets or showers means a detour around them. A pathway between the statics could easily have been incorporated into the site layout.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ballycfc 5 reviews from this member

Fabulous site, away from everything but also not too far away.

Greeted on arrival and taken to our spacious plot. Pitch was a mix of grass and gravel so hard pegs needed. But as the weather was inclement to say the least, tent was spotless and dry when we took it down. Bit of a walk from near the top of the site to the facilities, but all helps keep us fit. Fabulous little bar with some games for older kids and a small soft play area for the kids. Wash up area clean and spotless with plenty of hot water, and large washrooms with a couple of fsmily bathrooms.

Weather was shocking but the site was not, will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdrive 1 review from this member

The Quiet Site is one of the best sites we have stayed on being very well laid out with large individual pitches and superb views over Ullswater from the top of the site. It is well maintained and the toilet and shower facilities are excellent including family bathrooms. The pitches are a mixture of grass and pea gravel which can make it difficult to hammer tent pegs in, but at least they do not get too muddy when the inevitable Lake District rain comes! There is a great real ale bar on site. The site is dog friendly and has a good dog walking area. There are plenty of walks from the site.

We have stayed on the site a few times and will be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hartley 2 reviews from this member

Just returned home from this site and I have mixed feelings

We arrived on Thursday and the staff were wonderful and more than helpful at first I loved the site everything was clean and tidy and well laid out I was saddened that my shampoo etc was missing after I'd leftbitvfor only an hour which I've never had before in 30 years of camping but

Then the bank holiday started and I expected the site to get busy but I felt hemmed in by cars and other units I had over half hour wait for the shower in the morning and it certainly wasn't the quiet site and the silent rule was not adhered to sadly and the static caravan based at the back of us were rowdy until 2. 30 am which again I've never come across before

I think if I was to go back I'd only go out of season

The facilities were fantastic there was a great dog walk area and again the staff were great

It may be as I'm used to walkers sites which are normally more traditional but all sai and fine this is a great site

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saints on tour 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to the Quiet site where we have just spent 4 nights camping. All the facilities are excellent and always clean. There are 4 showers in both the ladies and gents plus family bathrooms and two hairdryers in the ladies. Wash up area has 4 sinks with a step for younger children to help with the chores. Didn't use the washer or dryer, but would definitely stay for more than 4 nights next time so we would make use of these then. Large fridge/freezer was great and the kids loved the pub and the play facilities where they made more friends. We invested in electric hook up while we were there and expected to pay more for the last 3 nights, but it was all included in the original price which was very reasonable compared to many other sites. Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ron22 17 reviews from this member

I really can't add anything about this site that hasn't already been said. The location, the standards of the site and the walks from the site are wonderful. We were met by the warden Claire who had only been in the job for less than a week. I can truly say that we had the warmest, friendliest welcome that we have experienced. She was very helpful and a credit to the site. We will return.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Iain Shaw 4 reviews from this member

We initially stayed for three nights and liked it so much that we booked a seasonal pitch until December :)

The site is laid out very well and the facilities are very clean and modern. The bar which has an open grate fire is very welcoming and comfortable. They have live acts most weekends during the season and is very varied. There is also a mobile caterer open in the morning and the evening for several hours. There are many things to do in the Lake District and nothing is too far away. We are looking forward to the Fell walking which is the main attraction for us.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dougal1999 3 reviews from this member

We have been coming here for many years now & leave our caravan in storage with them. There have been significant improvements to the pitches over the winter with the newer caravan pitches having water & drain on the pitch. Pitches vary in size, all have space for awning & parking on the pitch. There is a good children's adventure play area outside with a big field for them to play in. Older children are safe to run & play without need to worry. You can see them from most pitches when playing in the field. There is plenty of places to walk & ride bikes. Well behaved dogs are welcome on site & there is a lot of space to walk them. The bar is fantastic and has its own unique personality complete with soft play area for young children, pool table, table football, air hockey, table tennis & the best bit - a big open fire. This does get very busy during school holidays. The site has a well stocked shop with the basics. There is a Morrisons & Go Outdoors in Penrith for any major items.

The site has 3 family bathrooms as well as showers. Which are well maintained and very clean.

The site is relaxed with a brilliant view of Ullswater. This is the perfect place to come & relax. There are many people that are regulars & everyone is friendly. There are plenty of ideas for days out by the bar, so you should never be bored, but it's nice to sit & watch the world go by. The staff are warm & welcoming. If you want to party all weekend. This is probably not the place for you.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziehood 8 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site! The location is amazing, surrounded by a variety of gorgeous walks, the facilities are spotless, modern and plentiful, the service is outstanding, and the bar is one of the best I've experienced in a site (think Canadian hunting lodge with mood lighting). There are pubs nearby for food, but even after we'd eaten We couldn't wait to get back to the Quiet Site bar. We extended our stay as we enjoyed this site so much. If you're looking for a loud 'hen party' style site do not come here. This campsite is all about relaxation and exceptional standards. We will definitely come here again!

Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100!
100 for your reviewEvery month someone who has left a review of any caravan park or campsite will win 100 of Amazon vouchers So, if you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three Car Seat Protectors / Hammocks to be won Win an Outwell Flagstaff 5a Inflatable Tent Package worth over 1000

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Volksworld Show, Sandown Park, Surrey - 25th to 26th March
Europe`s largest VW Show with 100s of cars inside and out, traders, live music and more ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2705 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1270