Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Slapton Sands Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Middle Grounds
Slapton
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 2QW   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01548 580538

Facilities:  (Key)
              

Nearby:
1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 115
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 03 Nov 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
              9/10 from 51 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (5)

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kateandjames 30 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, 5 minutes from Slapton Sands (which are shingle) and 5 minutes from Slapton village centre with shop, church and two pubs; our best UK site this year.

Most of the site is flat but there are some sloping pitches around the edges, especially the ones with a sea view.

Toilets, laundry etc always clean and seemed to cope well despite a fairly busy site.

There is a small on site shop and a bakery calls every week day morning. Monday night is fish and chip night with a mobile van arriving about 6pm.

There are some lovely walks from the site and if you want to go further afield there is a regular bus service between Dartmouth and Kingsbridge.

If you are planning visiting with a caravan then you need to be a member of the Camping and Caravan Club, and only 8 caravans are allowed on site at any one time.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 33 reviews from this member

Booked 2 nights and then extended to 4 nights on a standard grass pitch. Heavy rain the 1st night, and constant light rain on the last day meant the ground never totally dried out despite the great weather in between, but never became a problem. My pitch was gently sloping and required the use of small ramps.

Not surprisingly this time of year, the site was pretty much full mainly with families in tents. The only downside was that the small toilet/shower block could not cope in the morning (it was cleaned in the afternoons) and there were queues for all facilities, including dishwashing.

The wardens were always helpful during my stay. Mobile phone (O2) and 3G ('3') reception was good, radio and digital TV OK. Recycling facilities were near the entrance.

Slapton Ley is a 5 minute walk away and it was great to wander down to the shingle beach on the sunny evenings. Torcross can be reached on foot in about 15 minutes - the pubs/restaurants there and in the village of Slapton next to the site were always busy.

All of the routes to the site are narrow in places. There is a pretty good farmshop just outside Torcross, on the road to Kingsbridge which was a very busy town at this time of year with a good selection of small shops. I never made it to Dartmouth due to the limited bus timetable on the Sunday and then the poor weather on the last day, so that's for another time.

The closest I got to visiting Salcombe again was the NT's Overbeck's gardens - a lovely place with a good coffee shop, but the recommended driving route was. Er. Memorable! Very tight and twisty in places with plenty of parked cars to add to the entertainment. Somehow squeezing between a high wall and an oncoming Mini was a particular highlight.

Not the easiest site to get to/from but a great location and I will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Griffpt 4 reviews from this member

We arrived in a motorhome having phoned ahead, the wardens were welcoming and helpful and we were shown to a lovely spot with great sea views up the coast toward Dartmouth, the pitches were nicely spaced and quite flat. The whole site had a nice relaxed feel to it.

There are two nice pubs about half a mile into the village, and the bus along the coast can be caught on the hour at the bottom of the hill, short walk from the campsite. Close to the site is a long shingle beach with beautiful views with good parking area and toilets.

Dartmouth's just a short bus ride away, great town very traditional, with boat trips up and down the river and where you can get a ferry to the other side of the river and then a old fashioned steam train to paignton, to return by boat along the coast to Dartmouth, what a lovely day out, the tickets can be bought by the railway cafe, (called a round robin).

We had a smashing couple of days and couldn't fault the site at all. Will definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Travellerrr 2 reviews from this member

Slapton Sands is by far the best campground we have stayed at within the UK this year.

It has great clean facilities, free showers (there's even a separate room with a baby bath for little ones), a wonderful atmosphere - our 4 year old got together with other similarly aged kids in the late afternoon to whizz around on their scooters and bikes on the ring road - going past our tent every lap with a huge grin on his face!

Despite the rain we had on two of our four days we found lots to do locally - walking down to the beach (5min) or up to the village (3min) - no shops in the village but two pubs open for lunch and dinner (but not in between, ie closed from 3 - 5. 30pm), biking along the beach road, walking and running around the nature reserve trails of Slapton Ley, playing in the pebbles and rockpools of Torcross (icecream shop here too).

Then there's Dartmouth, with it's well presented castle (English Heritage) and the little ferry into Dartmouth centre. And a day at Blackpool Beach (7pounds entry) would be well spent - we dropped in for an hour on our way home. We didn't have time to get to the nearby lighthouse, but it was on our list of things to do. Highly Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ashworth55 6 reviews from this member

Have just got back from our holiday and had good weather.

The toilet and shower block was always clean only had to wait once for a short time for the shower given that this was high season didn't think this was bad.

The play park area seemed to be very popular with the younger children.

Great fish and chips at the Brill Plaice, Stoke Flemming, went there twice!

We also went to Blackpool sands beach for the day great beach.

The site is a bit of a hidden gem for caravanners don't be put off by the narrow roads through the villages take your time in getting there its worth it.

I should say that this is our second year here and find it a wonderful location. The sea is a 20 minute stroll away or 3 mins with a car load of essentials e. G. Kids, picnic, body boards, fishing gear etc.

We will visit again perhaps for a long weekend as that is the bonus of living not that far away from the site.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pansy Potter 13 reviews from this member

We had a very pleasing stay here over half term for two nights. Although we were not members we were welcomed and every effort was made to accommodate our late booking. The weather was dreadful, but the site was always clean and cheerful.

The showers were modern and roomy, with plenty of hot water. The location of the site is great, within walking distance of Slapton and its two super pubs and within 5 mins of the beach.

There is also a good bus service along the coast if you don't want to drive everywhere.

Only annoying thing was the man on the sit on lawnmower!

Highly recommended.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3388 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0527