Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby:
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 94 Reviews
              8/10 from 94 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 12 reviews from this member

We arrived here to stay for one night, it was cold, wet and miserable but the Wardens were so friendly that this was soon forgotten and we were shown to our pitch, the Wardens were also relieved that we had booked as because of the weather they couldn't accommodate anyone on the grass and the site was full. Eventually the rain stopped, the sun came out and we walked down to the shore of Loch Lomond and it was lovely, a little bit of heaven. The toilets/showers were spotlessly clean and warm and dishwashing/laundry facilities good. I cannot comment on Children's facilities. The village of Luss is within walking distance but as we arrived at teatime and left at 9. 30 the next morning we didn't visit. The only downside was the noise from the A82 but it's not horrendous.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brenstwin 1 review from this member

Have visited this site many times and some things don't change. The location is perfect, right on the lochside. The village is a short stroll away where are various places to eat and drink. There is a local bus to take you to Balloch where there is a supermarket and a good variety of shops. There is some road noise and then there is the midges. The site facilities are showing their age, the CDP was temporarily out of order during our visit, the trees and shrubs are overgrown obscuring the loch and some of the grass pitches are in a right state caused by wheel ruts.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Profjackpot 7 reviews from this member

Nice site in a fantastic location with great views and direct access on to Loch Lomond. It was popular with canoeists while we were there but is also good for less active visitors (such as us!).

The facilities are modern with two decent sized toilet blocks and indoor washing up facilities. The showers were advertised as power showers and they were when they worked but this was intermittent with most of our showers being under what resembled a slow running tap. Unfortunately the wardens closed the blocks outside of the advertised closing times on most days which did cause some issues.

The grass is quite uneven so did get boggy in the day's rain that we had. This is something that the Camping and Caravanning Club should address as it probably causes quite a mess in longer rainy spells.

The site is within walking distance of the small village of Luss which has a pub/hotel, a couple of coffee shops and a village shop. For decent shopping facilities you would need to go out in the car, the best locally being in Dunbarton which is about a 30 minutes drive. Loch Lomond Shores is a 15 minute drive where there is an indoor sea life centre - perfect for a rainy day with great loch views but get your tickets from Tourist Information in Balloch as it is a big saving.

The site is close to the busy A82 which is great as it makes it perfect for a stopover and easy to find but obviously has the drawback of road noise although this didn't really cause us an issue as it was fairly quiet at night.

This site offers what you would expect from a Camping and Caravanning Club site (except for ad-hoc facility closing) but really benefits from a great location. Ideal as a stopover or for longer stays.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frog 5 reviews from this member

Had a quick overnight stop here on the way further north and so glad we did. Yes it was nice to break up the journey but to do it in such a lovely place was such a bonus.

We were welcomed and as we only had a small tent, camped on the grass area at the front of the site about 4m from the Loch! Beautiful views, facilities where as to be expected from a CCC site (very nice) and the village of Luss is well worth the short walk as there are a couple of places to eat and drink.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bonnie + Clyde* 9 reviews from this member

I arrived here and the people that run the site were initially concerned that the grass areas were too wet for me to camp. They really did bend over backwards to find me a spot suitable enough. I had a fantastic time. Really needed this overnight to practice my new tent. Great site, well run and very friendly.

Toilet blocks good. Showers warm. Used electric hook up. Luss is beautiful, small village with excellent walks. My wee Westie had a brilliant time and there is a very good dog walking area in the site

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clickerjac 7 reviews from this member

This was the last stop on our Highlands & Islands tour and it was a good one. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The site is all level, but rather soggy from lots of rain and a bit stony for getting tent pegs in. The facilities block is clean & well maintained, with private cubicles for washing as well as loos & showers (push button showers but good and hot).

There is no shop but eggs and ice creams are available from the office. Not sure if there is an electric hook up for tents, we didn't need one that night. It is a beautiful spot on the shores of Loch Lomond, but unfortunately the A82 runs alongside and the traffic noise spoils a tranquil setting, especially as tents are not soundproofed!

The village of Luss is a short walk down the road, it is very picturesque and offers various places to eat.

I expect we would stop here again, I don't think we would stay more than a couple of nights though. It is a good halfway point on a journey further north or south.

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Wisport SilverFox 30L Rucksack Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Music Festival 14/08 to 17/08 East Yorkshire
An affordable, fantastic weekend away listening to some great live Top tribute bands. Claim discounted entry!!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7697 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0508