Log in or Register
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 109 Reviews
              8/10 from 109 Reviews

Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  109 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Electric kev 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights in late May 2015 on the start of our tour of Scotland. We arrived in late afternoon in the middle of a rain storm and was met by a very welcoming staff, who continued to be helpful and friendly throughout our stay.

As has been stated by a number of reviewers the site is on the shores of Loch Lomond, and while we were there it was very wet and some of the pitches were flooded out. The good thing was that due to the weather there was a lack of midges; which the site staff say can be a problem at certain times of the year.

The site is well laid out with a good 3 meters between pitches, which are level and did not feel overcrowded at all. However, when it is wet it is difficult not to cut up the grass around your pitch when parking your car over the end of the pitch. There are two amenities blocks but only one Laundry. Although they are looking a bit tired they are clean and well maintained.

I would recommend that you have a pair of wellingtons if it is wet and especially if you want to use the dog walk.

The site is a good base for exploring Loch Lomond, Glasgow and the Trossachs. The village of Luss is worth a visit, but for groceries you need to go to Balloch, which has a good supermarket and some good fish & chip shops. We used a local dog, who looked after our 2 dogs for a day while we went into Glasgow Ė she was excellent and the dogs had a great day.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Burton 29 reviews from this member

The bonnie bonnie banks of Loch Lomond! We booked in for 5 nights on our Scottish tour. There was so much we wanted to do. Canoe over to the islands, climb Ben Lomond, cruise on the Loch, explore the area. However after just two nights we retreated to England. We were at the far end of the site where the road noise was very intrusive and each day we were plagued by swarms of midges that seem to be breeding in the puddles on the site. I felt sorry for the site managers and those in tents. Many were wearing mosquito nets over their heads. My wife was covered in bites from the mossies. I would have liked to have transferred to another C&CC site but they were not prepared to do this. I lost 3 nights fees, around £60. I was thankful I hadnít booked for a whole week or more. I donít think any holiday insurance would pay out. Iíd recommend anyone planning a visit to Luss to only book about 2 nights max, and then extend it if the conditions are OK. Luss is a beautiful place and the site is a convenient stop over for anyone travelling north or south.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alaire 2 reviews from this member

Pass this site frequently and have long wanted to stay. Paid for 3 nights in advance over phone, though on arrival it turned out there was plenty of space (though no electric hook-up for tents remaining). Spectacular setting from a scenic point of view, but absolutely continual road noise made sleep in tent IMPOSSIBLE. Left after 1 exhausting night and went to Milarrochy instead Ė only 30 mins away and perfectly quiet on the opposite side of the Loch.

If you are in a tent and need to sleep I would seriously recommend thinking twice about whether this is the place to stay.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike13 3 reviews from this member

I could have replicated the review below, site was sodden due to weather, as members of the club we paid about £55 for 2 nights in a self contained motorhome, its too expensive for what it provides, you're paying for it's location to Luss, admittedly a lovely village. Staff appeared friendly, toilet blocks had dirty plasters in shower cubicles, sweetie papers on the cistern, can't blame staff for that, down to dirty patrons.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 66 reviews from this member

This is a nice enough site, well located on the shores of Loch Lomond and only a 10 minute stroll from the pretty, tourist village of Luss. However it a a very dark site being situated in a heavily wooded area (most pitches did have a glimpse of the Loch through the trees) the pitches are quite small and extremely tight to get into due to the trees and the entire area has a severe drainage problem (we had an overnight storm which left 50% of the pitches under and inch or two of water - felt sorry for those in tents or with awnings up !) There is also a lot of road noise 24/7 ! The facility blocks are quite dated but are kept very clean and the wardens seemed friendly enough. Don't think we would use this site again as there are a lot better & cheaper sites in this part of Scotland.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrdandmrc 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 6 nights and had a wonderful time. The pitch was lovey, right next to the loch and the facilities immaculately clean. Great power showers and loads of free hot water. I found the wardens very polite and helpful, although I didn't really need them to sort anything out except booking onto the site, there was always a wave and a smile if you saw them. The sound of traffic from the A82 is constant even through the night, but the site and locatiom more than makes up for this. It's a great place to explore the Trossachs from and not too far from Striling and Callender. Also managed a day trip to Bute, which is worth the steep ferry prices just to see the west coast of the island with it's beautiful deserted beaches.

Previous     109 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win £100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win £100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win £100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Rack Scorpion 2 Bike Carrier Win a CUBO Breeze Inflatable Campervan Awning!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camperex 2016 - Liverpool Exhibition Centre 8 - 10th January
Brand new leisure show for touring caravans, motorhomes, campers and park homes. Win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

2004 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015

Advent Calendar
Advent Calendar
Coming Soon!
Sign up for an email reminder