Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Luss Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Luss
Loch Lomond
Argyll   (Browse area)
G83 8NT   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01436 860658

Facilities:  (Key)
            

Nearby: (within x miles)
5m  5m 1m  1m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 01 Apr 2015 - 26 Oct 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 100 Reviews
              8/10 from 100 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes  Glamping 

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  100 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Submit your own Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of this site for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pjproby123 6 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to Luss site, the last was 2008 as we are in Essex we tend to travel overnight. We arrived at the site at 09:30 as there is a very large parking area at the entrance to the site, the barriers to the site are in place by a rope meaning you have to get out of your vehicle on entry or exit from the site. We parked outside site and walked round to reception, the lady warden was very friendly but was having a bad day, due to the bad weather she Was having to phone people booked on grass pitches to cancel them, we paid our fees an she said that as soon as one of the hardstandings were available her husband would come and get us. Unfortunately for us the husband was busy and forgot, eventually getting us at 11:45. But as 12 oclock is arrival time couldn't moan. Once we were on site and settled we took a look round, the toilet's were clean and the water hot showers again clean but dated. Reception sold a few basics, the area is beautiful, I spent sometime talking to the warden about the site, the land is owned by a trust whom won't let the site put more hard standings or draining etc, very informative as I thought the club were holding back from doing the site up. Overall had a great 8 nights at this site.

Outside of the site there is so much to do and see the walks are great an the dog was in heaven either in the Loch or on one of the many walks

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 21 reviews from this member

Spent 3days here. Very wet 3days. Got a hard standing which was good. Site just opening up. Wardens working hard to get the site fully ready, lots to do. Toilets clean. Very slippy with wintery green slime on paving slabs around toilet blocks, high slip risk. Sure wardens will get round to make it safe, they are going to get a slip mat for laundry. Good Wi-Fi on site. Repeater post being installed. Cost of site increased. 57 for 3nights with age concession. 10min walk into Luss to shops for paper, s.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: HayLee 12 reviews from this member

The site was very wet when we arrived here. On arrival we were told that the site was as full as it could be owing to the wet ground. We were shown to our pitch which we reversed onto and consequently got stuck, very stuck! The site warden did his best to get us out as did other people on the site. After about an hour we were finally free and shown to a hard standing pitch which was fine. In our opinion, this site would benefit from making more of the pitches hard standing.

The site is right beside the main road and the noise from it does get a bit annoying.

You can get down to the shore of Loch Lomond which is nice and our dogs enjoyed a nice swim. We didn't use the site dog walk as it was to muddy. There were lots of dog poo bins dotted around the site.

The views of the Loch from the site are limited as it is surrounded by quite a few trees.

The toilet and shower facilities were clean and we never had to wait to use them.

Luss village just a few minutes walk from the site.

Would probably not visit this site again.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bradys 4 reviews from this member

Set in a beautiful location beside Loch Lomond. Well maintained site with good shower facilities and friendly site. Close by to the hotel and restaurants plus there is a small supermarket and arts shop. Worth trying a boat trip on the Loch. Thoroughly enjoyed this site and would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wigtowner 16 reviews from this member

Although this site is located beside Loch Lomond there are a few disappointing things which need attention and could really improve the site.

The entry and exit barriers have a thick piece of rope that loops over a pole which keeps them closed. It's so annoying to have to get in and out of your vehicle to open and close them, especially when its raining. It's hardly going to keep the site secure as anybody can get in.

The roadway round is good but no passing places exist. Small wooden stobs have been hammered into the roadside to prevent you from going over the grass verges. To be fair the ground was soaking wet but couldn't there be some gravel passing places and perhaps a one way system introduced?

The toilet block was nice and warm but there didn't appear to be set cleaning times, or did we miss seeing them? There is only one place to empty your toilet cassette and no water to rinse them out.

There had been heavy rain and one of the hard standing pitches was part flooded where there was a porch awning. The whole site would benefit from some better drainage.

A few more hard standings wouldn't go amiss.

Could some of the smaller bushes at the loch side get cut down to allow most pitches a better view of the loch?

The main road does get noisy at times even through the night but it wouldn't put me off going back.

On the positive side the wardens were pleasant, the ducks and tiny rabbits were entertaining. The village of Luss is very picturesque and some really good eating places are there especially The Lodge on the Loch which is just a short walk away.

I hope that my comments are taken as constructive criticism.

Things can only get better.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 12 reviews from this member

We arrived here to stay for one night, it was cold, wet and miserable but the Wardens were so friendly that this was soon forgotten and we were shown to our pitch, the Wardens were also relieved that we had booked as because of the weather they couldn't accommodate anyone on the grass and the site was full. Eventually the rain stopped, the sun came out and we walked down to the shore of Loch Lomond and it was lovely, a little bit of heaven. The toilets/showers were spotlessly clean and warm and dishwashing/laundry facilities good. I cannot comment on Children's facilities. The village of Luss is within walking distance but as we arrived at teatime and left at 9. 30 the next morning we didn't visit. The only downside was the noise from the A82 but it's not horrendous.

Previous     100 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit a Review for a chance to Win 100 of Amazon Vouchers
Win 100 of Amazon vouchersSubmit a review of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win 100 of Amazon vouchers!

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Parks Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Codicote, Hertfordshire 02/05 to 31/05
A massive range of tents, trailer tents and accessories on display to wander around

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


8588 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2015






0.0859