Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
              8/10 from 24 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tomahawx 4 reviews from this member

A quiet site, enclosed in a large walled garden. We received a warm and friendly welcome at reception and were shown to our pitch. The site is well laid out with plenty of space between each stand.

The central toilet / shower block has very recently been completely rebuilt and now offers first class facilities. Very clean and generously provided.

Immediately adjacent to the site is the Forestry Commission site of Sutherland's Grove which offers excellent forest trails and picnic areas. Dogs are very welcome.

An excellent touring site. Not many facilities for children except for the nearby forest.

'Oban' is a bit misleading. It is actually situated about 20 minutes drive from Oban on the southern shore of Loch Creran.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arkwright01 6 reviews from this member

This is a very quiet and peaceful site (although it wasn't full when we visited). It's ideal for people with dogs as the site adjoins a forest walk(s) and they can be accessed via the camp dogwalk. There are also separate cycle trails.

There's a brand new toilet/shower block with dish-washing facilities. These were kept very clean.

We managed to pitch in a very secluded area rather than the main tent field and rock pegs were necessary here, not sure about the other areas.

There's some great walks in the area but not a lot else as Oban is some distance away.

All in all, I would recommend this site and would stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: X5Avante 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this site and would go back.

We climbed Ben Nevis and visited the towns of Oban and Fort William and drove through Glen Coe and Glen Orchy. We toured the islands Mull and Iona and cycled on the islands Lismore and Kerrera.

We ate at the Creagan Inn near the site and the Ben Nevis Inn at the foot of the Ben - both to be recommended.

Regarding the site;

PROS

The site is very picturesque and in an ideal location for exploring the area between Oban and Fort William.

The staff were polite and knowledgeable.

The facilities are basic but adequate, we rarely queued for showers.

The site shop sells the essential items.

There are waymarked walks and cycle tracks in the neighbouring forest.

The midges and weather were no worse than average for Scotland!

CONS

There isnít a view from the site as it is in a walled garden.

There are no local amenities.

The child play area is poor and outside the main site.

Oban is 12 miles away!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Probbie 1 review from this member

This was my first time camping since I was a child and That was not yesterday. I bought a small four man tent and a few bit and bobs and off I went with my sister and our two seven year olds, I loved it. Discovered this site on the web but missed the sign on the road coming from the north as it is right on the corner but just turned around at the next wee village and found it no bother. The site is nice and quite and surrounded by a high wall with lovely walks in the adjoining woods. The staff were very friendly and the toilets and showers were spotless. Visited Oban and what a pretty place this was, full of shops and we were spoiled for choice as far as eating was concerned. Would highly recommend and I would return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Almaz 34 reviews from this member

There was a lot of rain during our visit and has been pointed out before, the potholes on the route round the site are pretty big. As a result almost the entire track was flooded and the grass (not a problem for us in the van) was sometimes like a marsh. I talked to several campers who had to bail their tents out.

Toilet facilities were clean if in need of some updating.

Even though I knew the site was some distance from Oban, despite being billed as Oban site, I was still a bit disappointed there wasn't more in the immediate vicinity. The Club info indicates the site is in the village of Barcaldine, but unfortunately there's nothing in the way of shops, pub, etc there itself.

The general area however is beautiful and there are enough walks / climbs round about to keep you occupied in most conditions.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tomtait 10 reviews from this member

Beware it is no where near Oban some 12.5 miles away. A bit like Ryan Air who land miles away from the stated destination city. Poor bus service makes this sight somewhat isolated if you wish to leave your unit on site.

What was really bad was the number of deep potholes on the main route around the site. I witness one motorhome scraping its exhaust due to the large pothole it failed to navigate. Quite frankly, you expect the site to be in a better state of repair considering it is a Camping and Caravan Club site!

The facilities are adequate but it has a good shop on site for basic items. Some lovely walks too and a newly completed cycle trail are easily accessed from the site.

The staff were very helpful. If you plan to visit this site an insect repellent is a must and a sack of hardcore for the potholes would come in helpful!

Previous     24 Review in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Clarke IG22000 2.2kW Generator worth £467.98! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest Peterborough
Exciting family entertainment, and you can make a full long weekend of them, by camping on site!Plus win tickets!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6060 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469