Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Oban Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Barcaldine By Connel
Argyll
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA37 1SG   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01631 720348

Facilities:  (Key)
               

Nearby:
Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01 Apr 2014 - 27 Oct 2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
              8/10 from 27 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MAGBOY 6 reviews from this member

We have passed this site for years while staying at a larger site in the area. It is now in our two top sites.

Wardens are so helpful and cheerful they seem to work all hours. The toilets block is one of the best we have used.

It is sheltered and quiet at least at this time of the year when the weather was good for us the birds sang and the wild flowers were spectacular. The proximity for dog walks and the cycle track is great.

The on site shop is useful for basic items nearby Benderloch has a great general store and a garage/ caravan shop which over the years we have made good use of.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AJTx2 2 reviews from this member

The site is absolutely lovely, nestled in a walled garden close to a river (you can fall asleep to the sound of the water flowing!) and the facilities are really good too (it's nice to be able to wash dishes indoors rather than under a lean-to!).

The only downside was trying to pitch the tent. We were told to pitch in the middle of the site next to the shower block however we had an awful job trying to get the tent pegs in because the ground was SO rocky just under the surface.

The Sea Life centre down the road is worth a visit although quite expensive for what it actually is (we managed to get a £4 off voucher from the tourist information at Fort William).

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

Lovely. Quiet, pleasant and relaxing. The grassed areas are extremely boggy in wet weather so stick to the paths and hardstanding areas. Facilities have now been updated and are fantastic.

The walks around the forest area are great, especially for the dogs.

The information room is very helpful as are the staff. I did notice the kiddies playground and wouldn't think that any parent or child would be too impressed.

The main drawback of this site is the lack of amenities in the immediate area, ie. Shops, pubs, etc.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tomahawx 5 reviews from this member

A quiet site, enclosed in a large walled garden. We received a warm and friendly welcome at reception and were shown to our pitch. The site is well laid out with plenty of space between each stand.

The central toilet / shower block has very recently been completely rebuilt and now offers first class facilities. Very clean and generously provided.

Immediately adjacent to the site is the Forestry Commission site of Sutherland's Grove which offers excellent forest trails and picnic areas. Dogs are very welcome.

An excellent touring site. Not many facilities for children except for the nearby forest.

'Oban' is a bit misleading. It is actually situated about 20 minutes drive from Oban on the southern shore of Loch Creran.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arkwright01 7 reviews from this member

This is a very quiet and peaceful site (although it wasn't full when we visited). It's ideal for people with dogs as the site adjoins a forest walk(s) and they can be accessed via the camp dogwalk. There are also separate cycle trails.

There's a brand new toilet/shower block with dish-washing facilities. These were kept very clean.

We managed to pitch in a very secluded area rather than the main tent field and rock pegs were necessary here, not sure about the other areas.

There's some great walks in the area but not a lot else as Oban is some distance away.

All in all, I would recommend this site and would stay there again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: X5Avante 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this site and would go back.

We climbed Ben Nevis and visited the towns of Oban and Fort William and drove through Glen Coe and Glen Orchy. We toured the islands Mull and Iona and cycled on the islands Lismore and Kerrera.

We ate at the Creagan Inn near the site and the Ben Nevis Inn at the foot of the Ben - both to be recommended.

Regarding the site;

PROS

The site is very picturesque and in an ideal location for exploring the area between Oban and Fort William.

The staff were polite and knowledgeable.

The facilities are basic but adequate, we rarely queued for showers.

The site shop sells the essential items.

There are waymarked walks and cycle tracks in the neighbouring forest.

The midges and weather were no worse than average for Scotland!

CONS

There isnít a view from the site as it is in a walled garden.

There are no local amenities.

The child play area is poor and outside the main site.

Oban is 12 miles away!

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Nemesis Ultra Wheel Clamp! from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the Northís biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0352