Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lydford Caravan And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Lydford Caravan And Camping Park
Lydford
Okehampton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX20 4BE   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01822 820497

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  1m 5m  10m  10m  10m  5m   10m  5m  1m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 15/03/13 To 04/11/13

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
              8/10 from 46 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6)

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: WWLL 33 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fantastic break at Lydford Caravan & Camping Park we enjoyed heat wave weather which was delightful. We received a warm welcome with plenty of information and helpful advice from the site managers and their team. The site is in Dartmoor really beautiful with lovely views, is very quiet and peaceful with it's many ancient hedgerows being the home of common and unusual song birds. The showers and toilets are spotless and the water is warm and plentiful. We enjoyed plenty of time in the national park with it's many beauty spots and easy access parking with the camper van. West Devon's towns are not the easiest for camper van parking however we managed to park legally with a bit of care. The village of Lydford with pub, church, castle and famous gorge are within walking distance.

The site is about an hours drive from the north Devon and north Cornwall coast and we enjoyed a lovely day on the beach and in the magical town of Tintagel.

If you are looking for peace and quiet and a restful holiday this is the site for you. We will return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 116 reviews from this member

We have just spent a warm and wonderful weekend at Lydford, a return visit for us.

With the site being just an hour from home for us it's great for the odd long weekend away, although I would happily spend more time there! The site is split into 3 separate sections, each with various types of pitches and some with fantastic views over Dartmoor.

On arrival, check-in was simple, quick, efficient and friendly - just how it should be. You are given lots of information about the site and things to do locally. Daily papers can be ordered from reception for collection each day for a 10p delivery charge (per day). There are no shops in the local area but the on-site shop does stock the odd essential if you run out.

We were offered a choice of pitches and looked after very well by one of the friendly wardens who took us to our chosen pitch.

There is a central toilet/shower block that was spotless at all times and has privacy cubicles in the ladies. This block also houses a laundry at one end and an under-cover wash up area at the other that also doubles up as the information room. There is an extensive dog walk on site and it's probably one of the prettiest we've come across.

The village of Lydford has its own pub (The Castle Inn) and offers a good selection of food (we ate on site this time!) and local real ales and cider. It also has the ruins of an old castle, a church and Lydford Gorge (National Trust), all worth a visit. The Granite Way cycle trail also runs from just outside the village along the old railway line, approximately 11 miles to Okehampton, with a small on-road section through the pretty Devon village of Bridestowe. There are at least 3 pubs en-route too!

Another lovely stay at Lydford. A great campsite, in a wonderfully peaceful area (we even heard a daytime owl hooting!) with plenty to do - what more could you want? We'll be back again and again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daisyted 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 2 nights and had warm sunny weather as a bonus. Having visited Lydford village and gorge previously we knew the location is good for walking etc. The views from this site are excellent but I was a little disappointed with the shower facilities in that although clean were quite dated. I also felt that the ceilings desperately need painting as mold was evident above the showers. Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would consider returning. Visited the Castle Inn for a spot of lunch and found the food to be average pub food and nothing more. Probably wouldn't bother eating there again.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Outinthesticks 5 reviews from this member

This is a bit of a gem.

We booked at the last minute for a couple of days during a very cold Easter. The web site wouldn't accept our booking the night before but a phone call before setting off the following morning secured us a pitch. It's well signed and easily found from the A386. Check in was simple with the bonus of good tourist information. Despite the weather the site was well filled but we were able to select a good, level, stoned pitch close to the facilities block. There was a good EHU and the pitch was just about within reach of the (free) wi-fi. There's a better signal in the laundry room with its own dedicated desk, not to mention some impressive looking washing machinery.

The showers were warm (both air and water temperature) and clean with plenty of supplementary wash basins and a handy warm-air hand dryer. Decent washing-up facilities are provided. Basic groceries (including chilled) are available in the site office and there's a newspaper ordering service. For us motorhomers there is the added bonus of a proper service point with drive-over grey waste drain as well as a water point.

We weren't in the area long but had chance to do the Lydford Gorge walk (National Trust; entrance fee payable), only about half a mile from the site, which is scenically impressive and has the bonus of the Castle Inn for a pint on the way back to the van. The Dartmoor Way passes the site entrance and we used part of it on the way to Bridestowe, rewarded by a decent lunch at the White Hart. We also strolled along a bit of the footway/cyclepath on the line of the former railway just to the east of Lydford.

So - a well-equipped and friendly site with lots to see and do nearby. Everyone we spoke to on the site - staff and visitors - was friendly and cheerful; quite an achievement considering how cold it was. At under 22GBP (2 adults + pitch) per night we were well pleased and will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Campingcaz 27 reviews from this member

A well kept site with excellent facilities. Staff are very helpful. There is free internet access.

In good weather this site would be lovely with views of Dartmoor from the back fields. We had a very wet weekend so it blighted our enjoyment; the rain hangs around the moors so the site gets quite a lot of weather!

Having said that the advantage in being so close to the moors is that you can walk from the site to some great walks.

Pretty village and lots of other attractions to visit nearby. Would definitely come back in better weather.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bouncy71 6 reviews from this member

We visited Lydford Caravan and camping park the end of July 2012. Surprising that the weather was the hottest of the summer so far, up to then the summer had been very wet.

We viewed the camp site website before we booked for two nights and was put off my the website. The website was like someone had just jotted down some words with not much thought. There was a lot of info on what you could not do on site and not enough on selling the site for all its glory.

We booked anyway as it was prefect for our base to explore Lydford gorge, the church and castle and all of these were in easy walking distance.

The Site was very peaceful and the grounds well kept. The shop was a bit basic and there is no shop in the village, so come with everything you need, but we knew this anyway from the website.

The shower blocks were always very clean and site site staff were very friendly and able to give good advise.

The views from the tent field were amazing across the moors. So worth a walk up to this field.

In the village we drunk and ordered food each night at The Castle Inn, the new landlady had only taken over a few months before and she was very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent pub food. Try the steak and ale pie. I know my steak and ale pies and this one is one of the best I have ever tasted. The steaks are also very good.

To round up, the site is far nicer than the website says. Perfect little piece of dartmoor if your looking to relax. The site very clean in all areas and good sized pitches. Will go back again for sure.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to add a review and your positive comments.

We are a bit perplexed by your comments regarding our web site though and wonder if you were perhaps looking at an unofficial one. Our website (linked from UKCampsite.co.uk) is often applauded for the information it supplies and also links onward to a myriad of other sites telling you what we think is all you need to know about our area and the services provided.

We are openly honest about what we do not do i.e we cannot accommodate American RV's and 5th wheelers, we do not have a childrens play area and neither does the village but we do however appeal to a more mature clientèle that come here
for the walking and peace and quiet in a naturally beautiful area.

Our shop, although small, stocks all daily essentials plus some indulgences and we also
obtain newspapers to order. We also pride ourselves upon the personal service we provide as regards local and tourist information, booking
services etc something not always available on other sites.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Dining Package, worth £124.98 from Yeomans Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Somerset Motorhome Show 12/09 to 14/09 Shepton Mallet
All the latest Motorhomes and a host of accessories. Win Tickets or buy Discounted Day Ticket Offer!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


474 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.0938