Home

   Log in or Register
   
Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Putts Corner Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Putts Corner Caravan Club Site
Sidbury
Sidmouth
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX10 0QQ   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01404 42875

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby:
1m  5m  5m  5m   5m  10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 118
Open: 20/06/2014 To 03/11/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
              8/10 from 20 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (7)

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MAT912E 6 reviews from this member

This is a lovely small site with two spotlessly clean shower blocks, maintained to the usual CC high standard. Extremely helpful staff helped us enormously when we had a problem with our caravan on leaving.

Great location for exploring the area, easy to access and nestled in the trees it is sheltered yet spacious. There is a shed which is full of local information - very helpful.

Reception sells a small range of essential items including levelling blocks (you will need them) / hookup cables / groceries, local eggs etc and bottled water - the site water is from a bore hole and unsuitable for babies.

It is under the flight path of the local airport - but they don't seem to fly much after dark. Also, the site does get a wee bit waterlogged (when you have put up with 5 solid days of rain where doesn't?) I would choose a hard standing next time.

The play area is basic but good for smaller kids.

The local pub - Hare and Hounds is a short walk away and offers reasonable food - not cheap and not exactly service with a smile, but ok and very busy.

Ottery St Mary (2.5 miles away) has a range of takeaways etc if you can't be bothered to cook and Tesco has a store in the other direction at Honiton if you can!

Fish and chip van calls on a Monday - excellent!

We would stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: D S B 24 reviews from this member

The site is very pleasant and the facilities are up to the usual high Caravan Club standard. A quiet site and pitches seem a reasonable size. The wardens were very pleasant, but would not accept payment for our one night stay as we arrived after they had shut off the card payment machine at 6pm. We had to leave our membership card and pay after 9am the next morning. Had we have wanted to leave before 9am, this would have been a problem. I wished we could have stayed here longer, so we must return again.

The site gave us a 10% off voucher to use at the local pub, The Hare and Hounds. There is a path that leads to the pub from the campsite, but I suspect the walk is about a third of a mile - not so bad if you pitch near the top of the site, but if you pitch nearer to the entrance, then you have to walk to the top of the site as well. We went in the car and had an enjoyable meal here.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 119 reviews from this member

A nice tidy little site with really friendly wardens. Swift, easy check in and then you choose your own pitch. 2 small toilet/shower blocks (spotlessly clean)on site, probably not quite enough when the site is full, with a laundry and washing up area in each.

Good information room housed near to reception and some food and camping essentials available from the shop / reception. Some hardstanding pitches that are large and lots of grass pitches in small sections.

2 nice dog walks, one near the site entrance and the other at the far end, which takes you to the local pub (Hare & Hounds). The wardens give you a voucher for £1 off each main meal on arrival should you want to eat at the pub. We didn't this time, but plenty did and it looked very busy inside especially the carvery area. Dogs welcomed too.

This is a great site to use as a stop over for us but we personally wouldn't use it for any longer as nothing within easy walking distance for us.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carousel 25 reviews from this member

A lovely quiet site but we did find that the pitches were quite small and where people had awnings cars were overflowing onto the narrow roads which made hooking up to leave quite difficult. Two toilet blocks but we felt that having only three toilets in each is insufficient when the site is full.

The walk through the woods to the pub at putts corner is well worth it (especially with a £1 off each meal incentive card given when booking in!) They catered for all weathers and dogs were welcome too.

Exmouth beach is well worth a visit with parking all the way along so if you forget the sun cream it's not a hike to get back to the car.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barb n Barney 12 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to a Caravan Club site - we are newbies to all of this. It was so much better than we had expected for such a small site. Very clean facilities, extremely pleasant and helpful staff and good spacing between the units.

There was a pub within walking distance but we didn't visit as the weather was brilliant and we had a BBQ but a lot of the people on the site were going there.

It is a few miles down to the coast, Sidmouth, Budleigh etc and as it was a very busy hot weekend we decided to walk locally. We walk a lot with our dog and it is important to us to have lengthy walks available from the site and we weren't disappointed. It had been dry but I guess these woodland walks would be pretty messy in the winter - we shall see as we will return.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jacqueline1 7 reviews from this member

Putts corner, been back to this site many times,just wonderful,wardens are very friendly and helpful. Visited peak times and off peak and love it every time.Lots of lovely places to visit from the site, and only 20 min into Exeter.Will keep going back

The pub just outside the site is also very friendly, lots of very nice walks from the site so take your walking boots.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to £145, or £100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just £44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Sleepy - The Wearable Sleeping Bag! Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 15 to 18/01/15
Start the season with a trip to the North’s biggest outdoor leisure show. Win 10 pairs of tickets or claim discount entry

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014






0.1143