Home

   Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Steamer Quay Caravan Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Site Reviews

Steamer Quay Caravan Club Site
Steamer Quay Rd
Totnes
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ9 5AL   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01803 862738

Facilities:  (Key)
       

Nearby:
5m  5m  5m  10m  10m  5m  5m   10m  1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 43
Open: 04/04/2014 To 06/10/2014

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
              8/10 from 13 Reviews


Units accepted:   No Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes 

Photos (6) and Video

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jane Fanner 2 reviews from this member

This is a really convenient camp site. If you stay here you won't have to use the car as it is easy to walk to the plethora of individual food shops in Totnes. It is delightful to be able to hear the South Devon steam railway whistle calling you to travel with them. My little caravan is a vintage one with no shower and only a portaloo but I found the shower and toilet facilities perfectly adequate. The site does not have electric hook-up but as it is only open from Spring to Autumn that is not a problem. The whole area is wonderful with so much to do that another visit will reap even more rewards. I recommend the Round Robin trip involving a bus, train and river boat journey. Very friendly wardens and visitors.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Browndog 1 review from this member

The Steamer Quay site is owned by the local council and run by the Caravan Club. This was our second visit to this site and the wardens as always first class. The site is small and the grounds well maintained, the toilet block is small and in dire need of refurbishment but is maintained and cleaned to a high standard by the wardens. There is also a small washing up area.

The location is superb and an exellent base for exploring nearby Torquay, Paignton, Brixham and also Plymouth. The site is situated alongside the River Dart and is a two minute walk from the centre of the historic town of Totnes. There is also a Morrisons supermarket no more than 5 minutes walk away. The town has lots of quaint shops and more than it's fair share of great pubs. It is always busy rain or shine and has a lovely atmosphere about it.

The site does not have electric hook-up but this would appear to be a bonus as I doubt it would be easy to book into should this not be the case.

On the downside, if you visit this site try to avoid pitch numbers 8/9/10/11/12 as these pitches back onto local housing. Although the houses are in the main obscured by trees the occupants have no regards for their neighbours and loud music, singing and constant dogs yapping can be heard throughout the day from early morning to late at night. The warden informed me that two particular houses were causing the noise and it was an ongoing problem. It eventually caused us to leave 2 days earlier than planned.

Overall a fabulous site and highly recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hopesy 4 reviews from this member

This site is next to Steamer Quay in the centre of the town but was vey quiet and the roads to it were easily accessible. It is quite a small site with a nice atmosphere and the wardens friendly and helpful (we couldn't choose a pitch because of recent very heavy rain).

The toilets/showers were very clean and well maintained.

Easy walk into Totnes main streets with all shops, large and small, nearby. Excellent pubs very close by. Very convenient for touring the area. We took the boat trip down to Dartmouth from right outside the camp-site gates.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elsiekay 43 reviews from this member

We spent one night at this site whilst touring Devon. The situation is fantastic, a couple of minutes walk over the river bridge into Totnes which is a lovely town, lots to do.
The site is next to the jetty where you can take a boat trip to Dartmouth, well worth doing. I really liked this site. It was small, quiet and well kept and the wardens were friendly.
The loo block was very clean although in need of a refurb. I understand the site is actually owned by the local council although the CC run it. Despite the CC's best efforts to persuade them, the council are unwilling to spend any money doing up the loos.
Don't let this put you off though. This site is well worth a visit and we shall certainly grab a few nights there when we can. I would also recommend the Royal Seven Stars Hotel as a good place to eat and only a couple of minutes walk from the site.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Russsylv 14 reviews from this member

Found this site by accident whilst looking for a parking space and decided to call in on spec. We are so glad we did, this place is a little gem. There are no hook ups and the toilets / showers, although clean could do with a bit of updating.
However, the site is so peaceful and a short walk (100 yds) from Steamer Quay, where you can take a boat trip to Dartmouth, which is absolutely fantastic.
Totnes is a nice little town and they have an Elizabethan market on Tuesday - which we thought would be a waste of time, but was in fact very good. The wardens were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed ourselves so much that we extended our stay. Brilliant.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suemcd59 1 review from this member

Had a very wet week in Devon on this site.

Its a lovely site. Friendly wardens and level ground. Pleasant if old fashioned tolet block. Showers could have been hotter.

I would highly recommend the site as a great base to see this part of Devon. Totnes is lovely, very trendy. Lots of great bars and restaurants and a Morrisons within walking distance.

Some very nice walks especially to a local vineyard called Sharphams whose white wine is terrific.

A small quaint cinema (in a barn) a Dartington hall shows a varity of family and arty films. There is also a cycle path to this which in the other direction will take you to Dartmouth. You can also get to Dartmouth on a river cruise.

I would like to apologise to the wardens for the fact that the caravan and the car did rut the ground due to the wetness and softness of the surface after a week of rain. It couldnt be helped but I hate to spoil the lovely aspect of this site.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Submit your Review for a chance to Win Prizes!
Sponsored by the Caravan ClubSubmit a review to UKCampsite.co.uk of any caravan park or campsite, for a chance to win a caravan towing course or motorhome manoeuvring course worth up to 145, or 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of The Caravan Club. Join the Club for just 44 per year to enjoy access to a great range of caravan sites, benefits and special offers.

If you've visited this site, then please submit a review for a chance to win.

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Devon (South)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Vehicle and Personal GPS Tracker from Towsure.com Visit the UKCS shop for exclusive discounts and offers

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Caravan Show 14/10 to 19/10 NEC Birmingham
Back at the NEC Birmingham this autumn - we have 20 pairs of tickets up for grabs

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4808 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews]  [Facebook]

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2014




0.0469