Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Killegruer Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Site Reviews

Killegruer Caravan Site
Woodend Glenbarr
Tarbert
Kintyre
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA29 6XB   See Map                                 Share Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
Tel: 01583 421241

Facilities:  (Key)
             

Nearby: (within x miles)
1m  5m  1m 5m  1m  10m   1m 
Featured Site

Pitches: 44
Open: April To Beginning Of October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
              9/10 from 36 Reviews


Units accepted:    Tents  Caravans  Motorhomes Caravan Storage Storage  Statics for Hire 

This site has chosen to use the availability calendar. You can check for availability here.

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here.

Photos (22) and Video

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 7 to 12                 Previous 6          Next 6
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SMEESH 4 reviews from this member

Been going to Killiegruer on and off since I first started caravanning nearly 30 years ago with my first 200 2 berth glass windowed caravan special and can honestly say apart from the new toilet block has not changed a bit since my last visit last year. Still holds the peace and tranquillity with panoramic breathtaking views. When I say new toilet block think it has been up for a while now. For a shoreline small site the toilet block is more than adequate and meets every campers needs and kept up to a good standard of cleanliness. If you want decent 4g Wifi and Freeviw telly don't come here but with the onset of satellite and they Dongo things you can bring your technology.

Beautiful shore line beach walk to the Argyll Hotel in Bellochcantuy. That will get rid of your city cobwebs. Although I have seen the hotel owners come and go over the years in the struggling tourist industry the hotel has very good reviews for food and drink. Have witnessed porpoise slowly swimming past off shore. Have seen sea otters chasing salmon at the mouth of the River Barr near the site but my best memorys of all are the panoramic sun sets over Jura and Islay. Will live with you for ever.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ancell 1 review from this member

The family have been camping and now caravanning here for three decades so it suits us rather well.

We like the dramatic location facing the Atlantic next land the USA.

There is a long beach mostly sand for several miles and the sunsets eagles gannets and otters are the big draw for us.

We did see otters from our caravan window two years in a row.

I am disabled and need a stick to get around so the disabled toilet with shower is appreciated.

EHU gives no problem for microwave heating or kettle just remember the maximum load.

The signal for Vodaphone and Giffgaff that's O2 is excellent.

My wi-fi ipad is 3 and that works ok.

The toilet block has been spotless in june.

It is a children's paradise if they like rock pools and beach life bring kids wet suits surfing is possible but there is an excellent beach five minutes drive away.

Glenbarr cafe shop and garden centre is nearby excellent food gas can be obtained there.

Dogs are welcomed by Ann the owner who like her father Neil before her is very friendly and helpful.

Remember it is a west coast beach site we have had two dry sunny weeks but be prepared for any weather.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vicbrown 9 reviews from this member

The appeal of this site is in its location, and the care which its owners have for its upkeep. On-site facilities were very good, and many customers return there time and time again. Indeed, it was a customer who greeted us and gave us the 'low-down'. We even found our plot by a plaque which read ' reserved for vic brown'.

Motorhomes are located within yards of the beach, giving breathtaking views towards Jura. Many happy hours were spent watching diving gannets, and a Golden Eagle was spotted on one of our trips out.

Don't miss it.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Honest Al 3 reviews from this member

We have travelled many a mile and stayed at many a campsite, but this one ticks all the boxes. Peaceful, friendly, quiet, clean, idilic.

No noisy clubhouse, bar. Just an expanse of golden sands, clear tropical coloured sea's and views to die for, and as for the sunsets across the isle's, simply the best !

The Owner 'Ann' is a little star, nothing is too much problem. 'nee bother'.

Set in a great location, and despite being set aside the main road and bloodline for Kintyre, the road is never intrusive. Caution needs to be taken pulling into the site as it is a fast A road and locals do drive a tad fast, but this cannot be held against the site and at no times did it spoil our time spent there.

Showers nice and hot, toilet block always clean and in fully supply.

Glenbar is a short 5 min drive away and an idilic little village to visit and get provisions, if you need anything more major, campbeltown is in striking distance.

Yes the ground can be a little bumpy with a few holes here and there, but this is not a manufactured site, this is a natural place to come spend some natural time. If its WIFI and guaranteed phone signal you want, look elsewhere. But if its a great connection to nature you look for, this place is great !. The only thing Ann cannot guarantee is the weather, but she certainly has all the right elements for a great time. We shall return, time and time again. Arrived as tourers, left as friends.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin the campervan 8 reviews from this member

We stopped for 2 nights at the site on arrival our pitch was marked for us as the owner wasn't on site. We had a .great view over the beach and out towards Islay and Jura. The facilities are adequate, clean and tidy. Shower/toilet block, pot washing area and chemical disposal.

The site is situated about half way down the kintyre peninsula and a good location for seeing the whole of the area and just 10 minutes to the ferry stop for gigha - a must for visitors to kintyre.

The fact that there is no warden on site isn't really great but we had no problems and the walk down the beach with the dogs in the evening is lovely.

All in all a good value basic site with a great location for touring the area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nessie287 3 reviews from this member

This is a nice small site with a combination of static caravans, seasonal tourers and touring/tent pitches. Direct beach access and brilliant views over to Islay and Jura. On a good day, fantastic views to Ireland. The site has all grass pitches with enough electric hook ups. Non- electric pitches also. The ground is quite soft, so good drainage but also need good pegs to 'stick'. Shower/Toilet block has two showers (only know of Ladies' facilities) and enough toilets and sinks. Never had to cue even though quite a few people on site. Showers are free and water is hot at all times. Small outside wash up area and a chemical disposal point which also doubles as grey water disposal. Brilliant price. Anne is a very nice lady, she came to collect our money after we arrived and a few days in to check if everything was ok. Other than that you are left alone. No activities on site, nearest shop with cafe is about a mile away and Campbeltown with a Tesco about 15-20 minutes drive.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 7 to 12      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review for a chance to Win 300 of Prizes!
Sponsored by Ordnance SurveyWin a 300 Prize Package including 100 of Amazon vouchers, courtesy of our sponsor Ordnance Survey If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Further info and prize details here

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Argyll   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win 3 AutoSock car snowsock sets worth 49.95+ each Win an OLPRO Caravan Cover in your size

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 18 to 21 January 2018
Advanced booking discount plus we have 15 pairs of tickets to give away ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7014 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Pensions Auto-enrolment

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017






0.0859
UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar

Coming Soon!
Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 100 and a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 500!
Get an Email
Reminder on 1st Dec